Cancun treats every day as a holiday, but also plans a few organized events throughout the year. The biggest event is Carnaval, a joyous, usually drunken celebration held in February right before Lent's period of fasting and penitence. Inmaculada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Only way to visit an archeological site is with an archeologist and Frank was one. He shared tons of facts on the drive down so when we got there we knew what we should be looking for. It was funny seeing other guides tours face the wrong direction and be in the wrong location doing demos that failed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a really good tour! We got started super early though, a 5:15am pick up. Since we were first we drove around and waited around for the other tourists to get to the bus, which took probably another hour and half. After that though was great!! The area was practically empty, we weren't really hassled by vendors and Freddie and Santos made sure the experience was great as well. This is really the only way I would take this tour. As we were leaving the site around 1pm, we passed a ridiculous line to get back into the area. I'm so glad we didn't get stuck in all that!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

If you're on vacation, time is a luxury and it well worth booking a small group tour like this in order to save a couple of hours of transit time. Ursula and Saul were great. The key here is that they were on time for the pickup in the morning. I've been on big group tours before and other tours and they've always been late for some reason or another. This tour in my experience has been very punctual.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I've been to Tulum twice before, but this excursion was excellent. My 2 sons and I very much enjoyed the trip and all the fantastic information provided by our tour guide. The pick-up at our Cancun hotel was right on time and along the way the tour guide started with the information on the Mayans and Tulum itself. Although I have informally studied a bit, much of the information was new and his passion for the subject was obvious. Good thing getting there early because the crowds really started pouring in once it got to mid-morning. Even as the guided part of the tour was over, my sons and I continued our discussion with the tour guide and really enjoyed our time there. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of Chichen Itza and visit to a Cenote (swimming hole)! During a 5 day vacation in Cancun, my wife and I wanted to visit and explore Chichen Itza. Costs for the tour through operators at our hotel and referred by others were $75-100. We checked Viator on our phone from the beach and found a better price by 30% for the next day!

We had to call the tour operator that night to confirm the pick up time (7:45am). The bus was right on schedule and the tour guide called out our names when it arrived. There were several tour buses arriving at the same time so that was helpful.

The bus ride (2.5-3 hrs each way) was fine and smooth. We first went to the Cenote, a nice natural swimming hole / tourist trap. Then we went to a very cheesy restaurant / tourist trap for lunch. Then on to Chichen Itza. Our tour guide took us around for about 90 minutes to the various sites and we had about an hour on our own to explore. That was definitely enough time for the main attractions and the rest of our group made their way to the bus earlier. Then we made it home by about 8:30pm. A long day but such a cool trip!

The only negative was how much our tour guide talked on the bus ride out in the morning. For the 2.5-3 hr trip, he probably talked and repeated himself for about 1.5 hours. He then repeated everything during the actual tour. There was no reason to talk so much, so loudly, so early in the morning when most of us were trying to sleep or at least rest. The tour itself was fine, but the guide needs to wait until we get there.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Roblyn
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Had a great tour. Our two tour guides were excellent. Very knowledgable on the Mayans. Took the time to answer all questions and told jokes too. We had a great group and time. We highly recommend this tour with our two tour guides.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The early morning 5:30 am was an initial whoa for us. But it was well worth it to beat the crowds and heat. Frank was extremely informative. This is his passion. Would recommend for professionalism and value. Would take this tour again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must go trip. A long day, but well worth it. Nice lunch

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite the early pickup (5:45 am), by the time we reached the site there were already a significant number of groups. By the time we left it was crowded. The tour guide was amazing, and knew her subject well. This spot has an interesting maritime history of how ships navigated into the port and the use of the buildings in this regard.
Would have been better had the bus left at least an hour later so we could have had time to explore the beaches. It was a bit hurried in that respect.
As to the food, take your own sandwich....and snacks. The sandwich was one small slice of ham and cheese, and was warm. Juice box, small snack bar, water.
I suggest a better schedule for pickups in the morning. Much of early morning time we should have been at the site had been taken up with pickups from far out places and waiting for sandwich delivery, making our arrival later than it should have been.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite the early pickup (5:45 am), by the time we reached the site there were already a significant number of groups. By the time we left it was crowded. The tour guide was amazing, and knew her subject well. This spot has an interesting maritime history of how ships navigated into the port and the use of the buildings in this regard.
Would have been better had the bus left at least an hour later so we could have had time to explore the beaches. It was a bit hurried in that respect.
As to the food, take your own sandwich....and snacks. The sandwich was one small slice of ham and cheese, and was warm. Juice box, small snack bar, water.
I suggest a better schedule for pickups in the morning. Much of early morning time we should have been at the site had been taken up with pickups from far out places and waiting for sandwich delivery, making our arrival later than it should have been.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

glitter and doom
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fantastic day out at chichen itza.Early access a godsend and a must.Arrived 9am well before the masses.Heat was not a problem that early.Really fascinating day,driver was great ,guide very knowlegable about Mayan ancient culture.Lunch included in price ,regular bathroom breaks.Overall great day out with great customer service.Would highly recommend this tour and through VIATOR.Will be booking further excursions with them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This trip was fantastic! We got there before anyone else and before the heat, our guide was perfect - informative, friendly, and didn't overload us with information - he gave us just the right amount of interesting facts, showed us around and then provided free time.

Tips: wear sunscreen and a hat, bring water, and if you're really sun sensitive, bring an umbrella.

It got so hot and so crowded that we decided we had enough site seeing and opted for some tacos and cervezas in the surprisingly very good Mayan fusion restaurant on the premises.

We had the restaurant to ourselves, but as we were leaving the ruins for the day and making our way back to the van, we had to fight through herds of people who were arriving to the site. This made us really glad we got up before the sun to take this trip.

We are not the type to get on a big tour bus and we're also not the type to get up at 5 am on our own. So this trip was really the best possible excursion. We highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome beautiful from the entrance to the end.
I recommend it .
The story was unusual , the beauty of the scenery was awesome, the dancing and acrobats was phenomenal. Even the bathroom is a cotemporary style that I haven't seen before. People came in just to take pictures of that. New built and stellar with a fantastic show worth the price.
You were even seated by girls dressed like pageant queens to set up from the beginning to get you ready for the extraordinary.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® at Vidanta Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Perfect way to visit Chichen Itza. Been to many ruins of the Americas and still appreciate learning more. Knowledgeable guide and very good driver; felt well taken care of. A map of the grounds with names of the various sites, even just a photocopy, would have been a benefit.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Perfect way to visit Chichen Itza. Been to many ruins of the Americas and still appreciate learning more. Knowledgeable guide and very good driver; felt well taken care of. A map of the grounds with names of the various sites, even just a photocopy, would have been a benefit.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message