Cancun treats every day as a holiday, but also plans a few organized events throughout the year. The biggest event is Carnaval, a joyous, usually drunken celebration held in February right before Lent's period of fasting and penitence. Inmaculada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1088 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This excursion was soooo much fun. I am afraid to scuba dive, but my husband loves it. So when I saw this excursion where I did not have to carry a tank or wear a mask, I was really excited that I had found something my husband and I could both do. The scooters are quite slow, so I guess if one encountered a shark they would be in big trouble, but that didn't happen. We got to see the reef, a sea turtle and hold a starfish. I loved that the guide took a video and photos so we have memories from this excursion. I would do it again in a heartbeat. The only downfall to this excursion was the fact that I suffered a perforated eardrum. I popped my ears at every time the guide said, however, at one point I felt a great deal of pain. As I have never scuba dived I thought that this might be normal, as my husband said that you feel discomfort in your ears. However, after the pain did not subside for the rest of the week and upon my return home I went to the doctor and found out I had a perforation. My husband said that they took us down much quicker than is recommended for scuba diving and that this is probably why. I would just recommend they slow the descent down so that others do not have this problem. It has been three weeks since we have been home and I am still waiting for this to heal. Other than that absolutely amazing excursion.

Doing what: Cancun Underwater BOB Scooter and Snorkel Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Frank was extremely knowledgable and Oscar very considerate. They make the tour! Definitely recommend going to Chichen Itza only with them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent experience! The 6:15 tour is really recommended as we got great pictures and were back in Cancun for the afternoon. Saul ans Freddie were great and realt enjoyed the trip thanks to them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Saw the ruins on 8/25/14. Freddie and Saul were terrific and they did a great job getting us there early before the crowds They gave us ample time to take pictures and swim in the beautiful ocean and provided a light lunch afterwards. I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I went with 4 other friends. We loved our tour and tour guide. The day was well planned with activities and delicious food. The tour was bilingual, and everyone enjoyed the trip as much as we did. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a terrific day with Freddy, our tour guide, and Oscar, our driver. Chichen Itza is a must-see destination if you are in Cancun, and the experience did not disappoint. Freddy provided a wonderful overview of Mayan culture and is incredibly knowledgeable- as a Mayan and native of the Yucatan Peninsula, he had a terrific connection to the information that made it more personal for us. Another perk to this tour is that you really do beat the crowds- although there weren't a lot of people there while we visited, there were easily three or four times the number of people when our tour finished at 12:30 than when we started at 9:30. We got some incredible photos that would not have been possible later in the day. Also, though it goes without saying, it was much hotter at noon- so a morning visit is absolutely recommended and is worth the early start time. Also, this tour takes a toll road that is shorter and smoother than the longer routes other companies choose, so even though it's a long way from the beach we were still back mid-afternoon with plenty of hours left for laying by the pool.

My only frustration was not due to Freddy or the tour itself, but our fellow tourists- the tour starts early, and two separate groups of passengers made us wait for 15 minutes each while they finished getting ready. I think Freddy and Oscar were generous to wait for them, but if mornings aren't your thing, don't choose this tour and inconvenience other passengers. It's too good an experience to force everyone else to have a delayed start and that many more people at the site before you get there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tulum was a big surprise for us; we decided to visit after a strong recommendation from a friend, and we loved every second of the trip. Our tour guide Freddy and our driver Oscar picked us up right on time (a few minutes early in fact!), and we had a fantastic 1.5 hour tour of the site. Tulum is picturesque and an interesting contrast to Chichen Itza, so consider both trips and don't pass this one up in favor of the more popular ruins. Freddy provides a great deal of information, both from a historical perspective and from a personal one as a Mayan himself. He also prides himself on providing only the facts; he even carries a history book with him in case someone asks a question and he needs to look up an answer. His dedication to demystifying Mayan culture and history and making it accessible to us really made the trip for us.

Beating the crowds was a huge highlight for us (the ticket line was very lengthy when we were leaving- and it was much, much hotter!). We had 1.5 hours to tour on our own, which we used to check out some ruins in-depth and to watch the numerous iguanas running throughout the complex. The drive from Cancun isn't too long (not even two hours- and Oscar is a great driver!), and we were back by 1:30 PM. Take some water with you- they don't sell it after you get your ticket- and don't miss this experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide Hugo was very knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the whole tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our experience was fantastic. Freddy Hoit and Saul took us to Chichen Itza. It was a treat from the beginning. We were supposed to meet them at the airport since our hotel was far away and they called and said they would pick us up! Then, Freddy is a Mayan descendant and he knows so much about them. He shared his heritage and knowledge with us. Then we felt very special once on site since we arrived much earlier than most people. We got the Mayan calendar for our birthdays and he even taught us the number system Mayans had. We definitely recommend the local tour operators and next time we get in Mexico we will reach out to them for our local tours. Thanks Freddy and Saul. From Kobus and Claudia :)

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour itself was quite good, Frank was very knowledgeable but the hotel pickup was very frustrating for a couple of reasons:
1.We were advised by Viator to contact local rep - to confirm hotel pick up time. They promised to send email and call in the night before the tour to confirm the pickup. Neither of these happened. I sent a follow-up email the night before the tour but they did not replied.
2. They picked us up at 630 a.m. at the hotel zone but had to return to the hotel zone to pick up another group after we left the hotel zone.
3. The next pickup location was about 30 mins away outside of Cancun hotel zone.
There were only 3 groups to pick up but we did not start the 2 hour drive to Chichen Itza until 8.15 am. Very disappointing!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Archeologist was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was definitely smart to go in the morning. We were so happy to have the place pretty much to ourselves. We had a decent sized group so we were able to take pictures and see quite a bit with little or no interruption. It was pretty humid toward the end of the tour. All in all the long drive from the hotel to the site was worth it. We learned so much about the Mayan and the ruins on the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was ver knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was incredible. I highly recommend it! The crew was fantastic- very helpful and fun. Isla Contoy is beautiful and it was not "touristy". The food that was prepared on the island was delicious. Cannot say enough good things about this trip.

Doing what: Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message