Cancun treats every day as a holiday, but also plans a few organized events throughout the year. The biggest event is Carnaval, a joyous, usually drunken celebration held in February right before Lent's period of fasting and penitence. Inmaculada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Freddie, our Mayan archeologist, seemed extremely knowledgeable in the Mayan history and had a wonderful presentation throughout the site. We would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fascinating trip. Very knowledgable tour guide. Although as we were small there was one tour guide for 3 languages so I think we could have learned more if he did not have to take the time to say everything 3times. But still he was great, knowledgeable and patient. Learned a lot. Highly recommend

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Nice trip. Excellent tour guides.

Doing what: Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wonderful place. So much to see and do. The aquarium is amazing.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fun adventure with an attentive and helpful staff. The zip lines into the Cenotes are just challenging enough to accommodate the whole family. Those who needed extra help to go down the zip line were treated with respect and encouragement by the staff. I would highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a very compact trip without a lot of frills - just what we wanted. Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the Tulum and the history of the Mayans. Half of the tour was with the guide explaining the ruins and readily answering questions. The rest of the tour allowed time for you to explore on your own. I liked that it was an early morning tour and that we had time to visit the ruins before large crowds arrived. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantastic! I was so impressed with Freddie and Saul! Very professional, trust worthy and knowledgeable! They arrived at the hotel exactly when they told me. Yes, it was early, but it was a smart choice. Avoiding the crowds, the heat, the heavy traffic. Freddie started his presentation on the way there. Being a Maya descendant, his presentation was from his heart,even more interesting, intelligent and funny. We have time for questions, pictures, shopping. I hope you can choose your guide for the tour, because it makes a big difference! Thank you so much for one of my best experiences of my life.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The early start was very worthwhile as we were able to view the ruins before it became too hot and crowded. The guide, Frank, was excellent. He was very informative and interesting and never boring....well done.
The boxed lunch was not really necessary given the availability of tasty and reasonably priced food at the site, water and a banana would have been sufficient or the "lunch" served on the way to the site as at my hotel breakfast was not available before our departure. A very enjoyable trip, thank you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Freddie (tour guide) and Saol (driver) assisted the group with the tour. The early morning pickup was important, we got to Tulum by 8:30am and we were one of the first in there, the key to this was getting good access for pictures without a lot of people around. Within 90 minutes of our arrival, the place was mobbed. The tour information was particularly interesting, with a history of the Mayans on the way there and Freddie's extensive knowledge of the site itself and the culture. I am not a hardcore history buff, but Freddie's information made this tour extremely interesting. I would highly recommend it. Logistics were solid as well, they picked us up at our hotel and dropped off. they called the day before to give us our time. The one drawback is the further away from Tulum you are, the more likely you will be first/last picked up/dropped off. That said, we were still back into the hotel zone in Cancun by 2pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We booked our early morning tour of Chichen Itza through Viator before we arrived in Cancun, based on the reviews and we were not disappointed! The pick up was bang on time in a smart air conditioned Mercedes van. We were greated by our guide Freddy and driver Achilles. There were only 5 on our tour (I believe the maximum is 19, so it will always be a small group). Freddy is an archeologist of Mayan dissent with a real passion for his subject. After a short while for a knap the second half of the journey there Freddy explained many areas of the Mayan culture, the hierarchy, Mayan calendar, etc etc which really helps with your understanding once at Chichen Itza.

We arrived at 9am just as it was opening, there were only two other vehicles in the car park (when we left it was packed with huge coaches, mini buses and plenty of cars!) the vendors were only just setting up, so no hassle from them as they were busy, allowing us to get straight out to the main court yard, Freddy gave us 15 minutes to get photos while there were no crowds, then he began the tour which lasted 1.5 hours taking in most of the key sites, after which we then had a further 1.5 hours to explore on our own.

The journey back was smooth and included a packed lunch of sandwich, drink, fruit, biscuit and water. The tour was very good and as a result we decided to book direct with the tour company three days later, for the early morning Tulum tour. We had 14 on this tour but even with the extra pick ups we were there as it opened. This was again with Freddy as the guide but the driver this time was Saul, who like Achilles was very helpful and courteous and did a great job of getting us there and back exactly to the timings set out in the itinerary.

Would definitely recommend both early morning tours to any body wishing to visit Chichen Itza and Tulum, beat the crowds, the heat and get the best pictures and information!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The night was lots of fun. The staff was able to get everyone up off their feet and having a blast!!!! The show was delightful - included a sword fight, fireworks, etc. The pirates were amusing and made sure that all ages could participate

Doing what: Cancun Pirate Dinner Cruise and Show on the Jolly Roger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed the tour of Tulum but wish we had more time at the site. Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about the culture of the Mayans.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, great tour guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Love the tour. Guide is knowledgable; gave us enough time to explore the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message