Cancun treats every day as a holiday, but also plans a few organized events throughout the year. The biggest event is Carnaval, a joyous, usually drunken celebration held in February right before Lent's period of fasting and penitence. Inmaculada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2396 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

halladaymary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was a great guide with all the information and even Mayan words. Would highly recommend it to get there early and be able to see it. Jacinto was a great driver

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ricardo was our tour guide. He was amazing! He was clear and informative. The driver was great too. And the assistant. We stopped in a Mayan city and met very nice people and got astrology charts. We toured through Chichen Itza and then we also went to a cenote and ate lunch. This was such an amazing trip. Thank you!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful place to see with some great ocean views!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot stress enough how helpful and informative our guide was, Carlos Moo is an embassador for the Mayan people and was basically like a Mexican Father while we were on the tour, we were lucky enough to get him on our Cancun Tulum and Coba tour so we already had met and that made the day much better as we walked around Chichen Itza. Carlos you are a legend!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the first tours we did when getting to Cancun. We met a lovely guide, named Carlos Moo, who was basically an encyclopedia on everything Mayan. He showed us different buildings, explained what was what and made the whole trip a lot more entertaining. Would love to get him as a guide on our next trips :D

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Debra I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was great. Take a blanket or shawl for morning ride. Youll want to sleep. Very good value and the early morning allows to see the ruins without crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

lucy.mclaughlin.lm

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The guides were amazing. They were fun, friendly and knowledgable. The only thing about the trip I did not like was the option for pictures. They took tons of pictures but they were so expensive to purchase at end of trip we now have not one single picture from the trip. If I would have known how expensive they were I would have managed to take my phone or camera for sure but they told us to leave them in the lockers.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Samantha L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Long drive from where we were staying - Cancun in the hotel zone - but it was worth it! The site was wonderful and our guide was really passionate about Mayan culture and history. Lots of opportunities to buy souvenirs!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Nicole W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Early morning start was worth beating the crowds and seeing such amazing structures. Frank our guide was great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jo Graff Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Marco our guide was very good.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

William D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour was good once we got there. They overbooked and there was a lot of confusion at the final pick up at the Marriott Courtyard. The guide was a little flustered and he was on the phone for most of the 2 hours to the tour and then most of the way back to Cancun. Freddy gave a great tour once there

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great tour! Our guide Frank was very knowledgable and did a wonderful job. The early access was so worth getting up early on vacation. We literally arrived right as the doors opened. By getting there early it was cooler, there was hardly anyone there, and the vendors aren't set up so they don't bother you. The only thing that was frustrating was that we were told our pickup would be at 5:15 am but it didn't come until almost 6. Not fun to sit for 45 minutes when you're already up early! We legitimately thought they weren't coming and the number that was provided to us went to voicemail. A suggestion to the operator-they should add a tour option for a combo early access and cenote visit. I know it's a long day already but we would have loved to add a cenote stop and still get the early access. It was a wonderful tour though and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Eesha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great trip!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Fangdi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide, Carlos Moo, was fantastic! We learned much more with him around than if we had visited these places on our own. The only complaint we can think of is that the cenote visited by this tour is extremely crowded.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this trip, a definite plus to our time in Cancun. We were the first bus there in the morning so there were very few people at the site. Freddie, our guide, gave us a lot of information while we were still on the bus, then expanded that information about each specific part of the site as we went from site location to site location. His knowledge helped up understand much more about the amazing history of this location. It is hard to believe all that was accomplished when this was built. When we left the location was packed. Everything was on time. The tour was fantastic thanks to our tour guide Freddie. My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos was an amazing guide. Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Chicen Itza tour led by Irvin and Luis was worth the money and more. Both of them were knowledgeable and well educated on the Itza peoples, history, and culture.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Aaron R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very knowledgeable and animated guide. This site has been on my list for a long time. It is worth the trip, even for cruise ship passengers.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Satch57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Freddy ,our guide was informative, funny and overall great.going early is the key. Definietly check it out.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

blondetammie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

absolutely wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing. Food, show, audience participation was perfect.

Doing what: Cancun Pirate Dinner Cruise and Show on the Jolly Roger

Victoria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing! Really good customer service and very interesting history

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message