Cancun treats every day as a holiday, but also plans a few organized events throughout the year. The biggest event is Carnaval, a joyous, usually drunken celebration held in February right before Lent's period of fasting and penitence. Inmaculada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1740 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Informative tour guide and excellent bus driver. Tulum was breathtakingly beautiful and we had plenty of time to explore the ruins on our own after the informative guided tour. The visit to the cenote included an interesting, spiritual Mayan cleansing ceremony as well as an enjoyable, refreshing swim in the crystal clear waters of the cenote, whose natural beauty was marred by a few plastic bags and bottles that were littering the area and should have been removed prior to our arrival. Cobá was amazing with its Mayan roads, temples and ball court. Delicious Mayan buffet lunch prior to walking to the Coba ruins, with its ancient limestone Mayan roads and ruins. Climbing up the Cobá pyramid was challenging and coming down was even more so, due to the uneven steep and narrow steps, but the view from the top was well worth it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day tour. Picked us up from our hotel and we were away from the main hotels.
Antonio, our tour guide for the day was very good and charismatic which made him engaging to listen to. The journey was smooth and comfortable AC was quite cold at times.
Tour was well thought of and planned. Cenotes was a great experience and we didn't feel rushed.
We are vegetarian and the choice of veg food at the restaurant wasn't great aside from salads and refried beans and rice.
Would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It took us about 2-2 1/2 hrs to get there, but it was WELL worth it! Freddie is extremely knowledgable about the Mayan history and the Chichen Itza was fascinating! To beat the crowds for the best photo ops is a plus! Boxed lunch is basic, but when you are tired and hungry.....anything tastes good! Oscar, our driver, was great and we felt safe and in great hands during the drive to and from! Rich with history and highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The place has now transformed into a big marketplace. it would have been better if they were able to preserve the serenity of this sacred ground.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

What private archeologist? It was just a tour guide. I went to Chichen Itza previously this trip was planned for my partner, and this tour guide or aka private archeologist lacked knowledge or insight. One and half hour guided tour was weak and lacked substance, and he even failed to describe other important sections of the Chichen Itza.

Only positive from this trip was early access.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome had extremely good time with my kids and wife.

Doing what: Wet 'n Wild Cancun Water Park Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and great value for money. The guides were fantastic, the transport was excellent and the buffet was superb. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was worth every penny!! Our guide Carlos was excellent!! He was so knowledgeable about the Mayan history which made this all day tour enjoyable. Swimming in a cenote was a blast too.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great! Wake up at 4.30 am and start a tour at 5.10 am worth it, true story! You avoid crowds, you avoid burning sun, you can make great pictures almost without people, only you and Castillo de Kukulkan! Unforgettable experience! Special thanks to Amigo Tours team: our driver Osacar and our super professional guide Freddi, who not only gives you the information, but makes you a part of the story about the Maya people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie, Freddie, Freddie!!
My family and I decided to take this early morning tour and we're glad that we did. The main reason is that Freddie was our tour guide. You see, I have a recently recovered broken leg and couldn't keep up with the pace of the rest of the group. Freddie realized this very quickly and rearranged the group so that he could stay with my family at the pace I could walk. We did catch up with the rest of the group and got to see the breath taking views of the ruins and learn about the Mayan buildings and people all the while Freddie kept making sure that I was okay. He really went above and beyond to make our tour quite a success. Our advice is to go early with Viator, as it get s hot very quickly, and you really have the ruins to yourself bring water and wear very comfortable shoes, as there is a lot of walking. There is a cart that for 2 a person, can bring you up to the main entrance, which is helpful when you are tired. There is a little time for touristy souvenirs and remember to haggle.The box lunch had the freshest fruit, a sandwich, cookies and juice and a water. Going back to Freddie, it was so nice to find a guide with that kind of compassion, and really great sense of humor. Thank you, Freddie for helping make our tour that much more enjoyable! And Viator, please give Freddie a tour bus with his picture on the side of it, he so deserves it!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Paul T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative. Friendly and fun guides. Freddy, Frank. and Oscar great job!,

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The pyramids were amazing and there is a lot of history attached to Chichen Itza. The only downfall was that it was very hot and the bus ride roundtrip was almost 6 hours. Other than that, it was a lot of fun

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie was a FANTASTIC guide and his knowledge was endless. He provided the background information on the Mayans which was crucial to understanding life at the time the Mayans lived in Chichen Itza. The early access is a must to avoid the heat and the crowds. Oscar also did a great job getting us to and from safely.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Frank was a FANTASTIC guide and his knowledge was endless. Freddie also provided the background information on the Mayans which was crucial to understanding life at the time the Mayans lived in Tulum. The early access is a must to avoid the heat and the crowds. Oscar also did a great job getting us to and from safely. Tulum is a bit too commercial these days but still worth the trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is an amazing dinner cruise, very romantic ,great food and entertainment.

Doing what: Lobster Dinner Cruise from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome!!!! Tour guy was very nice and very knowledgeable! I would recommend viator to everyone. The food at the restaurant was good also. No complaints at all!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. The bus ride was insanely long, a total of 6 hours just on the bus. It was miserably hot at Chichen itza. Hugo said they usually rent umbrellas, but they were all rented by the time we got there. Hugo was great, very informative. The cenote and lunch was my favorite part of the day. All and all definitely worth the money. Don't know why people say bring bug spray, we brought it but didn't use it. Bring sunscreen and a big hat!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The early access was great. At first I was not sure I wanted to get up that early, but so glad I did. I'm from Florida and used to the heat, but I don't think I could have done it if we got there late because of the extreme heat. Very educational and fun time!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ursula, Freddy and Oscar were great. Very informative and very knowledgeable. Trust me it's worth waking up so early just to beat the crowds since you get the best pictures. I liked it bc half the time is a tour and the other half you can roam on your own. Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was terrific. I wish I remembered his name. Going early was the ticket too. Learned so much. Really awesomene

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great. A full, varied, well-planned day with an excellent guide. We loved the cenote swim: cool crystal water after very hot ruins was much appreciated. Coba has two major buildings far apart. You can rent bikes or be pedaled for a few pesos, but you can't use US dollars.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message