Cancun treats every day as a holiday, but also plans a few organized events throughout the year. The biggest event is Carnaval, a joyous, usually drunken celebration held in February right before Lent's period of fasting and penitence. Inmaculada ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Comfortable bus, bilingual tour guide, very comprehensive explanations of sights at the archeological site, lunch was delicious, sufficient time to explore on our own.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Dean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was fabulous it was really something to see learned a lot our guide was Ricardo Esquivel he was excellent did a super job the whole trip The swim in the sunken lagoon was really cool ...a must do!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Evo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We booked the trip the day before, it was half the price the hotel were offering the same trip for. We were collected on time our driver was very courteous. Our guide was brilliant speaking fluently in Spanish and English, the tour of the Chichen Itza and the Cenote was brilliant. A Great Day out.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Verner P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Frank is a total pro. His knowledge is extraordinary. He keeps you spellbound the entire journey.. A tour jot to be missed when in Cancun. Two suggestions for Frank: slow down your narrative a bit reduce OK significantly. A most enjoyable and educational adventure!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Dru

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Freddy and Jacinto were absolutely amazing. I highly recommend this tour. Freddy was so incredibly knowledgeable and made sure that everyone had a good amount of time to explore on their own as well as walk us through the city. Jacinto got us back very quickly and smoothly, I slept both on the way there and back and as a light sleeper didn't wake up once!.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful experience thanks to our guide, Martin!

Learned a great deal about the site and the hidden features of the pyramid you don't learn about anywhere else. The Mayan ice cream in Valladolid was an added bonus at the end!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I chose this tour on price and the concept of early access. Since it was my first trip to Mexico, I was a little weary all around. Booking with Viator was very simple and easy. Trying to arrange for complimentary shuttle pickup was a little challenging since I never was out of USA, I did not know how to make the call - our concierge was kind enough to help us.
The ride from Riviera Maya to Cancun then to Chichen Itza and back was exhausting, so going in the morning helped this nap when we got back to hotel. Also, going in the morning, you definitely miss the crowds and get better pictures.
The best part about this tour was the kindness, professionalism and courtesy of our drivers and hosts, especially Jacinta tour bus driver and Freddy the guide.
Freddy was very informative, but also entertaining! He added just the right amount of colorful comedy to what could have been a very boring subject. He enticed you to pay attention, made fun of 'pop quizzes' and told great stories to explain the Mayan culture and the object of the city.
I would recommend this tour to anyone and have already shared our experiences with many of the guests here at our resort.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day trip. Really enjoyed the island. The snorkeling was okay but not great, however the island part of the trip more than made up for it. The tour guide and the crew were wonderful. Very hospitable and knowledgeable. What a great day!

Doing what: Best Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was outstanding. We took the early morning trip and returned around 2:30 in the afternoon. I highly recommend the early trip as it is cooler in the morning and you arrive prior to the large groups. We had a small packed lunch and two bathroom stops.
Freddy was our guide and was great!!! Highly recommend him and his driver.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was incredibly generous with his time and knowledge. We had the opportunity to learn more about the Maya and the city than we expected to.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Chantale C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had so much fun! The pirates show is hilarious and the dinner was delicious.

Doing what: Cancun Pirate Dinner Cruise and Show on the Jolly Roger

AIK LEONG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Despite the early start, which was probably the only thing I was dreading, the tour was very good! Highly informational. We were one of the first groups there, were able to take pictures before it was very crowded.
Freddy, our guide was very knowledgable and shared interesting facts and information about the place. Jacinto, the driver was also very friendly and cheerful.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Keverley G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Even though we had to leave our hotel at 5:30 am, I would recommend this tour to anyone that wants to avoid the hot sun and the crowds of people. We had a fabulous tour guide named Frank. He is actually a Mayan descendant and had so much to add to the explanation of the customs and life of the Mayans. When we arrived, we were the only bus and 2 hours later when we left, there were tons of people. It is a great, informative tour. The view of the ocean is incredible. Would do it again!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

ADRIAN C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

stunning show. shorter than expected or than i was willing to experience.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® at Vidanta Riviera Maya

Linda M W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour for Tulum, cenote swim and Coba were great!!! Suzanna was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We would strongly recommend this for anyone!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Myself and two family members took this amazing trip together and made memories to last a lifetime. I was very impressed with the professionalism of our guides, the itinerary, the cleanliness of the bus, and the overall experience. I would have given 5 stars except for the Viator Guarantee on the products purchased at the Mayan village. We ordered a Mayan birth certificate and when it was handed out the name was not spelled correctly on the certificate. Ricardo our guide was wonderful and said he would have the shop fix it and deliver a new corrected certificate to the hotel. He did exactly what he said and dropped the new certificate off, with the exact same misspelling on the second certificate. Viator should drop the guarantee because the shop people are screw ups. Other than the shopping experience, the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Wendy E B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great experience with a guide who passionately loves his country and culture. Marco made the experience come alive. Thank you

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

fssum

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip is excellent if you just want to see Chichen Itza only and be back in Cancun before 4pm the same day. The early start helps to enter the Chichen Itza before the crowd moves in after 9am. The tour guide Freddy was great and funny.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Martha M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour staff were great and very knowledgable. The only down side was that we couldn't climbed any of the ruins and the surrounding was too commercialized.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Nupur R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Only issue was food choices are extremely limited for vegetarian.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Jim B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Good tour, very informative,great lunch,very satisfied

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Diana P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I have mixed feelings about this tour. On the plus side it was a highlight of our trip, especially Coba. You go to three different locations plus have an authentic lunch prepared at the mayan village. On the negative side you cram everything into one day and get about an hour alone time at each location after the guided tour. This is good if you don't have that many days available or if you don't mind doing a jam-packed day. Warning: you will be exhausted when you return to your hotel but your pictures will be breathtaking.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Katherine M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Chichen Itza was very interesting and our tour guide provided fantastic information. We really enjoyed the early arrival as there were very few people and it was peaceful. We were able to take great photos. However, the transportation and lunch aspects of this trip were poor. We were scheduled to be picked up at 5:20 am yet the driver did not arrive until after 6. Then we were taken to a gas station and had to wait 20 minutes for the tour bus and an overflow van to arrive. We were placed on the overflow van, which did not have the tour guide aboard. When we arrived at the ruins, we learned that we had missed out on an hour of information. After the tour, we were given our lunches which consisted of expired sandwiches. I had requested a vegetarian option and saw it listed on the sheet that I signed when the driver picked us up. However, when I asked for it after the tour, I was told there wasn't a vegetarian option for me. Some of the people on the overflow van were staying in Playa del Carmen and were dropped off first. We were stuck in traffic in Playa del Carmen and returned to our resort an hour later than scheduled. We did not have a good experience with the transportation, but would highly recommend an early morning tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful and very interesting day. There was not a thing we would have changed. The lunch would have been more interesting if there had been more local cuisine on the buffet.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Frank - our Guide - was humorous and informative - A great day trip to get away from the crowds in Cancun.

Have kids bring a small note book - perhaps even a sketchbook to remember and record the day.

Well worth your time AND? worth far more than the cost.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message