Naturally formed sinkholes pockmarking the limestone turf of Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula, cenotes are among the world’s most unique natural phenomenon. Used as a water source by the Incas and revered as sacred "portals to the underworld," ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jenny T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I loved this trip! Our guide to the keynotes and the beach was amazing and knowledgeable. I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Adriana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a fun and exciting experiencing. The staff was awesome and very helpful. I would def recommend this excursion to anyone who loves to have fun and is adventurous.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Kristine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great tour guide who was very knowledgeable and passionate about sea turtles. She brings a wealth of knowledge and keeps the tour fun and moving. Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

carey43

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a lot of fun, and our guide, Raul was great. We went swimming in the cenotes, and Raul explained about how they were formed and the cultural significance for the Maya. They provided a light lunch, then we drove to Akumal where we went snorkeling in the beautiful, clear blue ocean and saw lots of turtles, fish and stingrays. There was a photographer who took pictures at both locations including great underwater pictures of the turtles which we were able to purchase for 30. The group size was small and the van was clean and comfortable.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

ROBERT G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best trip I have ever been on. This is worth the money

Doing what: Cenotes Mayas Adventure from Cancun

laura.berry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had so much fun! What an incredible experience. It was much further from our resort than I had anticipated, but it was well worth the trip. Also, don't forget money for photos and to tip the driver and the tour guide!

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed our tour with Eddie, very much!!

Doing what: Cancun Cenote Tour: Snorkeling, Rappelling and Ziplining

gagsnel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An absolutely brilliant tour. Nick, our guide, was informative and fun. The tour involves an early pick up at your hotel and then were transported to a site with 3 Cenotes, one underground, one partially undergroud and one in the open. We were able to swim in the Underground and open Cenotes and just viewed the partial one. You have to shower before entering any water and remove any sunscreen even bio-degradable, so don't bother forking out for the high priced gunk. The water is refreshing and the early morning visit means the light filtering into the underground Cenote is breathtaking and the water is so very clear. After a small mid-morning snack and a drink you head to Akumal and after boxing up your towels and clothes head to the water under strict but fair instructions on how to interact but not disturb, distress or hurt any turtles. The sight of the grazing green turtles on the sea bed just happily chomping on the grasses is truly wonderful and you feel truly privileged to be in the world for a short time. The Akumal beach experience is about 45 mins and throughout the day you are shadowed by a very good photographer who presents a slideshow of his photos for the day which you can buy on a USB stick for 30USD and once you remove the pictures of other couples/families on the same trip you still end up with 60 odd pictures of the tour plus stock picture of the Cenotes and Turtles. A truly wonderful day, thanks to all involved, we shall never ever forget the experience.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

sherrysather

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Alessio was very informative. Another member of our group was handicapped and he was very patient with her. I would recommend this to anyone but make sure you ask for Alessio.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Mary Carol D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

trip was great, food was not, and no xxl tshirts to purchase, not a good variety of colors or sizes. My husband really wanted a white one

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

While this probably gets very crowded in the summer and spring break months, it was great for me in April. The entire experience, from the Shaman to the zip lines to the food was excellent. Our tour guide, Diego, was smart and knowledgable also.

Doing what: Cancun Cenote Tour: Snorkeling, Rappelling and Ziplining

montgomery.kristina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing experience, beautiful jungle, all guides were helpful, professional, and friendly. Would do again!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Edvard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding. Loads of fun. We got picked up from the Cancun hotel zone, so kind of an early pickup 6:40 AM. The group will be no more than 12 people, ours was 6. Good size for the trip. At the cenote, snorkeling was awesome. Super clear water, great underwater photos, and not too cold. Felt like we had plenty of time to explore. You're provided a light lunch there good food and just filling enough. Once we got to the turtles, the beach got more crowded. Since they don't want you using sunscreen, suggest bringing a long sleeve shirt or rash guard. May be worth bringing some kind of long pants, too--my wife got burned on the back of her legs. We saw several turtles up close we got great photos and video of them. We had a photographer riding along at both areas, he took amazing photos, they were just kind of expensive 50USD for a flash drive full. The sales were far from pushy, which was refreshing. We got back to the hotel by 3:00 PM, a very reasonable half-day excursion. Would highly recommend. Our tour guide was Louise and she was OUTSTANDING. Personable, knowledgable, and funny.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Krissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely amazing! I would 100 recommend. Our instructor Gabrielle was the best.

Doing what: Xenotes: Adventure Tour at Mayan Cenotes

Kimberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome fun! Most ziplines I have ever done. Can go crazy wild with ATV's and husband and I got totally mudded up. Not much time at cenote, though... but lots of fun. The bad back warning on site would be for the bus ride to the ATV's... rough! They charge a fortune for photos... that was the only disappointing thing.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Eileen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My 13 and 9 year old daughters really liked our guide Mercet (guessing at the name spelling). He was knowledgeable and likeable. Talking with him was a great way for all of us to learn about another culture. Zipling and ATVs were fun and the swim in the cenote was the perfect way to end the day.

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Hsiang Hsiang H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Taking this tour is the best decision we could make in our Cancun trip. Our tour guide is fun, genuine, knowledgable, sincere, and has a big heart for Mexico! Love everything about this tour and this tour is for everyone in every ages! Definitely would recommend anyone that's going to Cancun to take this tour!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great!! We have 4 kids 9,8,7,3 all of them had fun at each spot. It could not have been better day. We went on 2 other trips during our vacation and all we keep talking about is this trip. I highly recommend it hands down. The kids were entertained and we never heard are we there yet, I want to leave or this is not fun. It was amazing

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

kurt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great experience. Nice light lunch. Very informative. Focus on preserving habitat while still getting up close to cenotes and turtles.

My personal opinion is they allow too many people and hotels on this beach. The turtles deserve better.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Cara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a blast! Our tour guide was friendly and hilarious. The ziplines are incredible. Do the full package for the zip lines, and make sure you ride one upside down! The ATVs were fun. I only wish we'd had more time on them. The cenote swim was great. Make sure you get good a grasp on the metal hold for the rope swing. The lunch was fresh and delicious. I regret not buying the pictures even though they were ridiculously priced. We'd definitely do this day again if we go back to Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What an amazing opportunity to experience multiple adventures in one trip! Our guide was knowledgable and fun!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Ziplining, Cenote and Interactive Zoo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message