Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 234 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a terrific day with Freddy, our tour guide, and Oscar, our driver. Chichen Itza is a must-see destination if you are in Cancun, and the experience did not disappoint. Freddy provided a wonderful overview of Mayan culture and is incredibly knowledgeable- as a Mayan and native of the Yucatan Peninsula, he had a terrific connection to the information that made it more personal for us. Another perk to this tour is that you really do beat the crowds- although there weren't a lot of people there while we visited, there were easily three or four times the number of people when our tour finished at 12:30 than when we started at 9:30. We got some incredible photos that would not have been possible later in the day. Also, though it goes without saying, it was much hotter at noon- so a morning visit is absolutely recommended and is worth the early start time. Also, this tour takes a toll road that is shorter and smoother than the longer routes other companies choose, so even though it's a long way from the beach we were still back mid-afternoon with plenty of hours left for laying by the pool.

My only frustration was not due to Freddy or the tour itself, but our fellow tourists- the tour starts early, and two separate groups of passengers made us wait for 15 minutes each while they finished getting ready. I think Freddy and Oscar were generous to wait for them, but if mornings aren't your thing, don't choose this tour and inconvenience other passengers. It's too good an experience to force everyone else to have a delayed start and that many more people at the site before you get there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tulum was a big surprise for us; we decided to visit after a strong recommendation from a friend, and we loved every second of the trip. Our tour guide Freddy and our driver Oscar picked us up right on time (a few minutes early in fact!), and we had a fantastic 1.5 hour tour of the site. Tulum is picturesque and an interesting contrast to Chichen Itza, so consider both trips and don't pass this one up in favor of the more popular ruins. Freddy provides a great deal of information, both from a historical perspective and from a personal one as a Mayan himself. He also prides himself on providing only the facts; he even carries a history book with him in case someone asks a question and he needs to look up an answer. His dedication to demystifying Mayan culture and history and making it accessible to us really made the trip for us.

Beating the crowds was a huge highlight for us (the ticket line was very lengthy when we were leaving- and it was much, much hotter!). We had 1.5 hours to tour on our own, which we used to check out some ruins in-depth and to watch the numerous iguanas running throughout the complex. The drive from Cancun isn't too long (not even two hours- and Oscar is a great driver!), and we were back by 1:30 PM. Take some water with you- they don't sell it after you get your ticket- and don't miss this experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent experience! The 6:15 tour is really recommended as we got great pictures and were back in Cancun for the afternoon. Saul ans Freddie were great and realt enjoyed the trip thanks to them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

nothing but fun. a dinner party on a boat? more like a dancing and singing party. great acrobats, swinging from the masts, sword fighting and canons. captain hook kept the night moving in spanish, english, portuguese, japanese and we all learned some of each language thanks to the casts interactivity with the visitors on board. the kids on board had a blast and the adults without kids had their fun too! when the 2pirate boats engaged the drama filled fun spilled over to each boat. very memorable and better than the night club scene in cancun!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make everyone in the tour group feel very comfortable in both Spanish and English. I thoroughly enjoyed the Cenote, lunch with the show, and the tour of the ruins. Lots of great history and a well put together tour. My husband and I were very pleased with our trip and would recommend this tour to everyone who visits Cancun!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We wanted to book a day trip from Cancun to Chichén Itzá. The hotel travel agent was very expensive and lots of other operators in Cancun were too eager to push trips on us. I booked this tour via Viator online and decided on the early morning trip (6.40am collection from hotel). Oscar drove a comfortable Mercedes minibus holding about 20 and Franceso (Frank) was a a wonderful tour guide who gave a very informative one hour talk about the Mayans in both English and Spanish en route. At the site we have a guided tour from 9am for 90 minutes then had a further 90 minutes to explore on our own.

The benefit of this tour is the early start getting to see the Mayan sites before the big coach parties arrive and before the day heats up. Chichén Itzá is hot with very little shade. Light refreshments and cold water provided but do bring more water to drink.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Getting to Chichen Itza early is a MUST! We left at 12 noon and the lines were incredibly long. When you get there early you have the place all to yourself and our guide was more than knowledgeable and really knew his trade. They picked us up sharply at the pickup time and we were on our way over. Took about 2 hours to get there. This place is a must-visit if you go to Cancun, and the guys that take you from the tour company are the best!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was simply wonderful and we highly recommend this tour to get the most out of Chichen Itza. I can't imagine a better tour than this. A good price as well.

-The early departure meant we arrived at Chichen Itza before the crowd and the hottest time of the day and this also gave us a free afternoon in Cancun.
-Frank(guide) and Oscar(driver) were friendly and it was engaging but also relaxing to be on this tour.
-Frank gave a well outlined and comprehensive description of the Mayans and Chichen Itza. We feel like we know EVERYTHING about the topic now :)
-Our stay at Chichen Itza was 3 hours long: 1.5hrs guided and 1.5hrs free time. A perfect balance for us.
-The ride there and back was comfortable and fast.

We can't say enough about this tour. You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was the best tour during my Cancun vacation. Our tour guide Frank is very knowledgable and informative, and our drive Oscar is very nice as well. To go there early to avoid the heat and the crowd was an excellent choice. And we got back to our hotel at about 3pm, we could enjoy the rest our day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If visiting cancun I recommend this service. As soon as you arrive they are waiting for you outside the airport (they all have a uniform) and ready to take you to your hotel. And they will confirm your pick up with you on the day of your departure. No worries and no extra charges. Its just better and easy.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This adventure is awesome!!! We really enjoyed the zip lining and the ATV circuits, we have done that twice, then the river rafting too.

Food are good and satisfying, beverages are great. Xplor staff are friendly and helpful. It just takes an hour and 10 minutes from our hotel in Cancun to the XPLOR park.

Enjoyed very much the whole days spent @ XPLOR...and might do it again next time.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message