Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 384 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Verner P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Frank is a total pro. His knowledge is extraordinary. He keeps you spellbound the entire journey.. A tour jot to be missed when in Cancun. Two suggestions for Frank: slow down your narrative a bit reduce OK significantly. A most enjoyable and educational adventure!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Tim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent day long trip! Great food, excellent snorkeling and lots of dancing along with great drinks...The crew could not have been more fun. Even if a first time snorkeler the crew helped those along the way while getting to see hundreds of fish. If we go back to Cancun we will schedule again on the Dancer! Easily scheduled online and close to everything!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Imran M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Merak was an excellent tour guide and we had so many thrilling adventures. Anyone who comes to Cancun must do this.

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Snorkeling, Ziplining and Interactive Zoo

Victor P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is the way to see Chichen Itza. We were picked up at our hotel in a very nice Mercedes van and were able to relax coming and going on the 2 1/2 hour ride from Cancun. Upon arriving the host assisted us in getting our admission tickets as well as a personal guide for our family of 5. That was a great value at about 40 USD and Charlie our tour guide did an exceptional job of teaching us about Chichen Itza. After touring we did enjoy the hospitality suite which was perfect even though we only had a short time there - refreshing and refreshments.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

Godwi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My mother and I enjoyed this show very much. Our table was right in front of the stage, and the champagne and dinner put the finishing touch on a special night out. Definitely worth doing when in Cancun.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® at Vidanta Riviera Maya

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Frank - our Guide - was humorous and informative - A great day trip to get away from the crowds in Cancun.

Have kids bring a small note book - perhaps even a sketchbook to remember and record the day.

Well worth your time AND? worth far more than the cost.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

maryellenlaird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We LOVED this Cirque! We have had the opportunity to attend many Cirque du Soleil performances and found this one to be as good as any of them. I recommend buying dinner in order to get the best seats. Transportation was a breeze. We took a taxi from our hotel to the La Isla Shopping Village, in the Cancun Hotel Zone where the Cirque has a booth to check in. The shopping mall has lots of upscale stores to explore while you wait for your bus. When we returned to the mall, there were plenty of taxis willing to take people back to their hotel. There is a bit of walking from the bus to the Cirque location so if you have mobility concerns you might want to reserve a wheelchair. Highly recommend this experience.

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® at Vidanta Riviera Maya

cam t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Tour guide Alex was SUPER great. We only had 7 peoples on this tour, so everything went smoothly and moving along quite well.

The place is awesome. Need to see it before you leave Cancun

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

minimize940314

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

You should choose this tour for tulum because it gets really hot in the afternoon. So you better arrive at tulum in the morning. Although I had to wake up at 4am, it was worthwhile. My guide was very informative and gave very good explanation. He was very fluent bilingual, and that was very helpful. On the way back to cancun, you can ask them to drop you off at the highway for another attraction because tulum is the farthest attraction from cancun. They dropped me off at Xcaret without any extra charge.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

minimize940314

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Martin was the best guide that I had ever met. He was very informative and friendly. He is 100 Mayan. Although we had to stopped at one of the souvenir store while we were on the way to chichen itza, it was understandable and we did not spend a lot of time. Ik Kil was massive and fantastic. Prepare towel, and you can rent locker for 2.5 usd or 30 pesos. Lunch was ok. At chichen itza, Martin explained a lot with his profound knowledge and that helped me a lot to appreciate the beauty of them. I was in a rush to airport and Martin thankfully arranged a ride to airport. They are the best tour agency in cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Jeremy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A total must see!!!! Our guide was amazing and had a complete knowledge not only of Chichen Itza but Mayan culture in general. The area itself is awesome and I would absolutely recommend to anyone travel in Cancun to drop in and see one of the wonders of the world.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Vickie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a must if you are heading to Cancun. The only thing is that it isn't for young kids who are afraid of what might be in the water and caves. Also, its not for people with weak ankles or knees too, as there is quite a bit of uneven, not slippery, ground. Our group was delightful and the guide Benito was FANTASTIC! Do try and get into his group very well informed about the caves and the water system.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

mdm7228

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Freddy our guide was outstanding. Best guide I've had. Highly reccommend him and Amigo tours. Dean McAllister, Cottage Grove, Oregon. We were in Cancun, Orlando and Kona and he was the greatest.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Exclusive Early Access to Chichen Itza plus Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archaeologist Guide

Lakeshia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was my first experience with Cirque du Soleil and it was amazing! The theater was beautiful and enchanting. I was entertained from the beginning until the end. We just ordered tickets to the show, I would recommend the dinner or champagne option. If you are in Cancun and want to be swept away for a magical night, this is the show for you!

Doing what: JOYÀ by Cirque du Soleil® at Vidanta Riviera Maya

Dawid N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed the outing. The tourguide MO was very good and entertaining. The bus driver Alex made sure we got there safely. Would have loved more time to explore the sites, and would have skipped visiting the local market before hand, as it would have allowed more time to visit Chichen Itza itself. Definately a must do on any visit to Cancun. Will be going again next year! Thanks Viator. Well worth it and at a good price!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Sadegh H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was quite good and informative. Our tour leader was Frank and the driver as Hasinto. e got on the bus at 6:20 am in Starbucks in hotel zone. Chichen was and half hour drive from Cancun. Frank explained briefly about Maya people, rituals and culture in the bus. we reached to Chichen around 9 am. we went with a tour about 2 and half an hour. Frank explanation was quite good about the whole area. we had free time from 11:30 till 12:15 to buy souvenirs and explore by our self, which in my opinion was not enough. we went back to the hotel zone around 3:30, which was on time.

some points
1- If you wanna buy souvenirs you need to bargain alot!!. And it is better to buy with peso instead of USD. because sellers are local people, they need change dollar to peso again. So, the price in peso is better.
2- Lunch was OK, they gave us when we got on the bus in the morning.

Some suggestion:
1-If there was a brochure which would briefly explain all monuments would be better.
2- Free time, 45 minutes, was so short to but stuff and explore the area.

Overall was one of the best day in Cancun trip for me.
Thank you Frank and Hasinto.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We booked a round trip transfer from Cancun airport to our accommodations in Playa Del Carmen. Our driver arrived right on time both to and from the airport. It was a 50 minute drive but our driver entertained us with such interesting stories and folklore about the nearby areas that he made the time fly by. He greeted us with cool towels and bottled water. Not only was he a great host but also a great guide! He offered to take us to a grocery store as he was not in a rush but we declined as we were extremely tired from flying all night. We did however let him take us to souvenir shops on the way to the airport on the following week. He was gracious enough to show us the best stores. It is definitely worth the extra money to book a private transfer as you don’t need to worry about stopping at 10 different hotels before getting to yours. We recommend Cancun Experts and our driver Jose to EVERYONE. They are amazing!

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

Laura T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had an amazing driver pick us up from the Cancun Airport. He truly made us feel welcome to a city we’ve never been before. He greeted us with ice cold bottled waters and fascinating legends about the Mayan culture. He was extremely knowledgeable about the area and neighboring towns. He was outgoing and laid back. He offered to take us to a taco shop or a grocery store before being dropped off at our hotel as he was not in a rush. Cancun experts are extremely professional and courteous. We will definitely be booking with them next time we go to Cancun.

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had Carlos Moo who was fantastic. Very funny and informative. It was a pleasant experience from the beginning. They arrived on time at our hotel and while the trip from Cancun was quite long, Carlos made it much more enjoyable with an interesting history of Chichen Itza and the Mayans. Carlos was good at keeping us together and on track to see everything. The only possible negative was the food at the cenote which was kind of average but I don't blame the tour for that. We also stopped at Valladolid which was a nice break on the ride back. I would definitely recommend this tour to my friends especially if they could get Carlos as their guide.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Exie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was OUTSTANDING! We had a great guide/Carlos and the day was perfect. There were a couple added stops on the trip that surprised me and that made it all the better. The one thing I didn't realize, is how far Cancun was from Chichen Itza. The drive to the ruins was about 2 or 3 hours long. Had I known that, I might not have gone, so it's a good thing I didn't know...well worth the drive.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Kevin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time! Van was clean and had great AC! Guide was very friendly and informative. This tour really put some depth into my visit to Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

matlockjames

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did this tour with a local tour company and our tour guide was Freddie. Short and sweet - we were so happy with our tour guide. Freddie was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. He took his time and explained everything very well.

This trip was the highlight of our Cancun stay.

Recommend? Yes, going with the specialized tour of having an archaeologist and especially Freddie made this a wonderful time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

André M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best tour we did in Cancun. Everything was perfect . The on- time to look at the hotel. The very attentive guide and knows all the history of the site . The sunset on the balcony of the hotel and finally, the evening show in the pyramid of Chichen Itza. Undoubtedly worth every dollar paid .

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Complete Chichen Itza Experience

tl.kennedy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an unbelievable trip aboard the Lupita. We arrived at the port,,right at the Cancun Bay Resort at 9:30. We did have to get there ourselves, but the city busses run every 5 minutes and it costs about 10 1/2 peosos to ride. We watched the other large catamarans load up with 60-80 people. They looked like total party boats. We we were ready to go there were only 11 of us!! We felt like we were on our own personal boat trip. As many drinks as you wanted on board the boat, all day. We only snorkeled for about an hour, but two of the deck hands took us, one taking pictures the other leading. The boat met us after we had snorkeled. Lunch on the island was a buffet and was very good. Soda and water included, but liquor extra at lunch. Back on the boat after lunch and then got dropped off in the downtown area of the island.for an hour of shopping if you want. Then back on the boat for the trip back with a stop for swimming on the way. It was a perfect day!! I would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This definitely gets you in a party mood right from the start! The waiters are dancing and pulling jokes on each other, so that of course was fun, and the drinks are served in a yard long. As if those unlimited drinks weren't enough, at Coco Bongo they are too. We had a blast there too! There's different genres playing for about 30 min, so there's something for everyone. After those 30 min are up, there's live performers/impersonators that go on stage. They even do movie scenes like Tron, Spiderman, Batman, and 300. Can't go to Cancun without going to Coco Bongo!

Doing what: Cancun Nightlife Tour: Open Bar at Coco Bongo and Dinner at Carlos 'n Charlie's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message