Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 438 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Polina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was really very good! First of all, there were only 6 participants. Our guide Leopoldo was amazing and very knowledgeable, he gave us very good information about the places and managed to answer all questions. Don't hesitate too book this tour, it's a good deal compared to other offers in Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza, Cenote Ik Kil and Coba Ruins from Cancun

raj M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Driver, Manuel, was great. Very polite and courteous. Its a long drive from Cancun and almost nothing to see on the way, but Chichen Itza is very nice. Worth the trip. Go early, its very hot by noon. Cenote was the highlight. Bring pesos as the dollar rate is very poor. The buffet lunch was terrible. They cram you in a room with hundreds of people. You can't get more than 1 serving because the lines are so long. If you don't have pesos, the dollar equivalent cost is 30USD per person.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Elise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Phenomenal! Our guide, Carlos Noel Moo, was outstanding! He is a walking Mayan documentarian. He is Mayan and speaks English, Spanish, and Mayan interchangeably. He makes the 2 plus hour drive from Cancun fly with the amazing history and his vast knowledge of the Mayan civilization. They provide one water bottle during the trip so I suggest you bring your own. However, they do stop at a convenience store for a bathroom break and to purchase drinks and snacks. Bring your bathing suit, towels, water shoes/flip flops as you will stop at Cenote Il Kil, world's largest sinkhole for a swim. It is a breathtaking, natural swimming pool, within the earth, like a bottomless well, filled with clean, refreshing, aquamarine water. It is much hotter at Chichenitza so take a hat and sunscreen. Carlos gave us awesome archeological information as well as unbelievable facts of how and why the pyramids were constructed. Spectacular knowledge of astronomy sound and light engineering and design. The list is endless. I would recommend videotaping his explanations while you are there to share with your friends and family because it is quite fascinating and he explains it so passionately and succinctly. When I return with my kids I will definitely do this tour again! Do not hesitate...book now and ask for Carlos. You will gain an enormous appreciation and love of the Mayan civilization.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had an amazing time. Next time in Cancun, I will definitely do it again.

Doing what: Flyboard in Cancun

jceplouff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had so much fun on this tour! We were impressed that the show lasted the entire cruise of about 3 hours. Our waiter was very attentive and he was part of the show too! We highly recommend this dinner cruise. The crowd was engaged throughout the evening thanks to the crew. They know how to get people involved. We enjoyed the food too.
Thank again Captain Hook and crew for a wonderfully fun evening. It was a highlight of our trip to Cancun.

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Khadijah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best excursion I've ever been on! I've been on excursions in Jamaica, Nassau, and Grand Cayman Islands. This was my first trip to Cancun and I highly recommend this one. The tour guides were awesome Shrek is the lead tour guide. They kept the drinks coming and were able to answer any questions we had about the different stops we made. They kept doing a headcount to make sure everyone was on board when it was time to leave the island and head back to the boat. The boat was clean and the restroom onboard was clean.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

Melody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. I've recommended this tour to all my friends planning to visit Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Thais S R G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Chichen Itza is probably the most complex set of pyramids in Mexico and the tour was amazing. We got there early and were able to see the entire site and explore before the tour buses arrived and before it got too hot. Our guides were awesome and we were back in Cancun early enough to still cath some sun on the beach.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I must say that I was impressed by Viator from beginning to end. The online booking process was smooth and easy. I even made schedule changes to both of my tours and the amendments were made with no fuss. When I got to Cancun, I realized that a 48-hr window for booking a hotel pickup was recommended. I had less than 24hrs before my tour! I called the local agent's number and they quickly and easily gave me a pickup time. They arrived on schedule in a modern, immaculate tour bus/van. The tour guide Mauricio and driver Benito were dressed very nicely and they were very warm and welcoming. They've done this tour so many times that all the pickups and bathroom stops were perfectly timed to allow us to get to Chichen Itza at an appropriate hour. They gave out bottles of water before the tour began and again for the ride home. FYI, bring bug spray! The walk to the main pyramid was not far. Along the way Mauricio pointed out several structures and he gave us a graphic and dramatic depiction of Mayan life and culture as it related to each spot. My head was spinning with the mathematical significance of these structures and I didn't follow it all. I just know that the Mayans were really smart! After seeing and experiencing the various points of interest, we went to the Hotel for lunch, which is included in the cost of the tour. You must purchase drinks and you are encouraged to tip the Mexican dancers who entertain during the meal. After that, you're free to swim in the pool, lounge at the bar, or go back to the pyramids to take more pictures or shop and bargain with the many, MANY vendors selling various items. And be prepared for the upsale from the tour guide as there are specialty items that they are promoting. Even so, it didn't ruin my enjoyment of the whole day. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

DEBORAH C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

After the chaos at Cancun airport on our arrival it was great to see the happy, smiling face of our driver! The return trip was just as smooth. Excellent all round

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

lannalicious89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing ! The tour guide was helpful and knowledgeable. The food was amazing and I would it all over again! It was the highlight of my trip to cancun. I learned so much.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sonya M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time. We already decided to take our kids on this cruise the next time we are in Cancun. The show was a little crude at several times, but overall very lively and fun. Food was good, not great, but better than expected. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Cancun Pirate Dinner Cruise and Show on the Jolly Roger

alex l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

crew was awesome and I had a blast. Def a must if you're going to cancun.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Totally amazing night aboard Captain Hook, we were lucky enough to be onboard with Cap. Jack Sparrow and Monkey and these guys were awesome. The show was amazing and the food was beautiful!! I'm going back to Cancun in December and this is definately going to be done again!!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot stress enough how helpful and informative our guide was, Carlos Moo is an embassador for the Mayan people and was basically like a Mexican Father while we were on the tour, we were lucky enough to get him on our Cancun Tulum and Coba tour so we already had met and that made the day much better as we walked around Chichen Itza. Carlos you are a legend!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the first tours we did when getting to Cancun. We met a lovely guide, named Carlos Moo, who was basically an encyclopedia on everything Mayan. He showed us different buildings, explained what was what and made the whole trip a lot more entertaining. Would love to get him as a guide on our next trips :D

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Elisabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I booked this tour online shortly before we left on our trip and was a little concerned about confirming the hotel pickup time as we were arriving in Cancun late on the day before our tour. I needn't have worried as a prompt email gave me the information the day before we left home. The bus arrived on time at our hotel and everything went very smoothly.
Our guide Frank was great, very informative and entertaining during the drive and during our tour of the extraordinary Chichen Itza site. Ramon was a very good, safe driver. Afterwards we were dropped at our hotel first which was good because we'd been picked up first --and earliest!
Despite the early start getting to the site at 9am was brilliant because by the time we left at 12 it was hot and everyone was beginning to wilt. Other groups were just arriving!

Don't underestimate the sun and be prepared to walk and stand for some time around the ruins in limited shade. Hats and water are a must. We came prepared and thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Clapping in front of the main temple and hearing the astonishing echo effect is something we'll never forget!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Joe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our first tour in Cancun and it was very good. Our driver for the entire trip, William, arrived early and called the room to let us know he arrived. When we first stepped into the van it was very clean and smelled like cinnamon. I could tell William took pride in the appearance of the van. During the ride to and from Chichen Itza, William was very cautious and courteous and was always driving at the speed limit. At one point, he even swerved to miss an Iguana that was sunbathing on the highway.

Once we arrived, we were escorted to a room and given options to buy. I chose the buffet and tour guide option for a reasonable price. The guide was very informative and friendly. After the tour, we ate at the buffett. Most of the food was decent but the Mayan tacos were amazing. We spent the rest of the time at the pool before returning to our hotel.

Overall, the trip was well worth it. I would definitely do it again but try and do the earlier trip to avoid the heat and humidity of the afternoon.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

Edvard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding. Loads of fun. We got picked up from the Cancun hotel zone, so kind of an early pickup 6:40 AM. The group will be no more than 12 people, ours was 6. Good size for the trip. At the cenote, snorkeling was awesome. Super clear water, great underwater photos, and not too cold. Felt like we had plenty of time to explore. You're provided a light lunch there good food and just filling enough. Once we got to the turtles, the beach got more crowded. Since they don't want you using sunscreen, suggest bringing a long sleeve shirt or rash guard. May be worth bringing some kind of long pants, too--my wife got burned on the back of her legs. We saw several turtles up close we got great photos and video of them. We had a photographer riding along at both areas, he took amazing photos, they were just kind of expensive 50USD for a flash drive full. The sales were far from pushy, which was refreshing. We got back to the hotel by 3:00 PM, a very reasonable half-day excursion. Would highly recommend. Our tour guide was Louise and she was OUTSTANDING. Personable, knowledgable, and funny.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a beautiful island. The boat ride was enjoyable and the stop for snorkeling was fabulous. We saw lots of coral, fish and sea life. The island was quiet and the tour to the other side was interesting. Lunch was delicious! The crew were attentive to everyone's needs and we had a wonderful relaxing afternoon on the beach and enjoying the shallow water. The departure location was easily reached from our hotel in the hotel zone via the local bus. I've already recommended this to friends returning later this month and I'll probably book this again on my next trip to Cancun.

Doing what: Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I believe this was the highlight of our trip. Every piece of the tour met or exceeded our expectations. The hotel pickup was on time and comfortable. Appropriate time was taken to settle us in to our excursion and swimming/snorkeling abilities were assessed and prepared for. The snorkeling locations were spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the reefs and shipwreck. Highly recommend this and I will book this activity again on my next visit to Cancun.

Doing what: Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun

CYNTHIA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

When we finally escaped the airport after customs and being accosted by people selling us tours, etc., the driver was waiting outside with a sign with my name on it. We were promptly directed to our van where we ended up being the only passengers. The drivers and porters were very professional and courtesy. We were at our hotel in 20 minutes or so and already had many recommendations on places to see and tours to go on while in Cancun. At the end of our trip, it was easy to confirm our pickup the day before. We were picked up at 10:00 AM on the dot and only had to stop at one hotel on the way to the airport. I really believe having such a positive experience at the beginning of our trip really set the tone for our stay. We didn't want to leave! Thanks so much Viator!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

martinmcleanlit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were very happy we chose Viator Cancun airport round trip transfer. The cost was reasonable and it was well worth it. We didn't have to hassle with all of the taxis and other drivers trying to drive us. The instructions for meeting the driver at the airport were simple and complete and the driver was there waiting for us when we arrived. The round trip was easy also. We called to verify pick up the day before and they were there right on time. The drivers were very polite and helpful. Thank you!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was on our last day in Cancun. It is rather a long trip but worth it. The driver was amazing, plenty of stops for bathrooms along the way. The food as great. We walked around the site, watched the sunset, the planetarium is great to go along to if you don't speak Spanish as the sound and light show at night follows the same kind of story. Go to the sound and light show, it is amazing. So well done. It is rather late when you get back to Cancun but worth it. The temple complex is really great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Complete Chichen Itza Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message