Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 263 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of Chichen Itza and visit to a Cenote (swimming hole)! During a 5 day vacation in Cancun, my wife and I wanted to visit and explore Chichen Itza. Costs for the tour through operators at our hotel and referred by others were $75-100. We checked Viator on our phone from the beach and found a better price by 30% for the next day!

We had to call the tour operator that night to confirm the pick up time (7:45am). The bus was right on schedule and the tour guide called out our names when it arrived. There were several tour buses arriving at the same time so that was helpful.

The bus ride (2.5-3 hrs each way) was fine and smooth. We first went to the Cenote, a nice natural swimming hole / tourist trap. Then we went to a very cheesy restaurant / tourist trap for lunch. Then on to Chichen Itza. Our tour guide took us around for about 90 minutes to the various sites and we had about an hour on our own to explore. That was definitely enough time for the main attractions and the rest of our group made their way to the bus earlier. Then we made it home by about 8:30pm. A long day but such a cool trip!

The only negative was how much our tour guide talked on the bus ride out in the morning. For the 2.5-3 hr trip, he probably talked and repeated himself for about 1.5 hours. He then repeated everything during the actual tour. There was no reason to talk so much, so loudly, so early in the morning when most of us were trying to sleep or at least rest. The tour itself was fine, but the guide needs to wait until we get there.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I've been to Tulum twice before, but this excursion was excellent. My 2 sons and I very much enjoyed the trip and all the fantastic information provided by our tour guide. The pick-up at our Cancun hotel was right on time and along the way the tour guide started with the information on the Mayans and Tulum itself. Although I have informally studied a bit, much of the information was new and his passion for the subject was obvious. Good thing getting there early because the crowds really started pouring in once it got to mid-morning. Even as the guided part of the tour was over, my sons and I continued our discussion with the tour guide and really enjoyed our time there. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a little hard to find the correct provider as the Cancun airport was so busy. Once we did, everything went fine. Drivers were friendly. Van was in good shape and ac worked fine.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

AMAZING!!! WE SAW WHAT THE PICTURES SHOW AND MORE!!! This tour, and Julian our guide, were indeed a major highlight of our trip to Cancun. IF YOU POSSIBLY CAN......DO IT!! I am 72, Julian helped me through the rough parts which were not that much. 100% WORTH IT!! They provide everything you need...wet suits, shoes, and lockers for your stuff. I JUST CANT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT OUR WONDERFUL ADVENTURE. The lunch was very good also and all you wanted to eat.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip. We arrived early enough to actually take pictures without having a thousand people in them and our guide Frank was AWESOME! Frank knew so much about Chichen Itza he was just amazing. I would highly recommend anyone going to Cancun to take this tour with Frank and his driver Sal was a very efficient and safe driver which if you've ever been to Cancun you would know how important that is. I give this tour 2 thumbs up and 5+ stars.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Richard B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour we have taken from Cancun! "Freddy" and "Achilles" we're an excellent team! Freddy's passion for the history of the Mayan people was obvious as he also shared with us some personal photos of his family in traditional dress. Very informative and the early access made picture taking of this beautiful sight much better than when the crowds arrived later. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome experience! Going first in the morning to have the place basically for us and an archeologist leading the tour was outstanding. It was worth to start the adventure at 6 am. You are back at your hotel by 2 pm and have the rest of the afternoon available for other activities in Cancun. It was a bus for only 18 passengers, so it facilitated the discussion on the bus about the maya culture in general. Freddy made the discussion interesting and used an ipad to ilustrate details. We also learned some maya words. Freddy and Saul were always ahead to provide an excelente service. I strongly recomend this option for Tulum.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

bought this for a friend who was going to cancun on his honeymoon, he was kinda scared thinking he would get abducted going off the resort he was staying at. he came back and told me it was an amazing experience and would definitely do it again!!!

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Pro:
- The tour bus was large and comfortable
- Showed a movie on the way home to make the time go by faster
- Chichen Itza was incredible
- Fantastic tour guide
- Swimming was a once in the lifetime experience, amazing view
Con:
- Travel from Cancun is long, we left at 7:20 am and didn't get back until 7 pm
- Lunch/dancers wasn't great
- A lot of venders at Chichen Itza took away from the beauty

Overall an amazing trip, worth every penny!!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We arrived at the Cancun Airport and went to the designated area to check in for our transportation . However the representative could not find our reservations and we were sidelined for about ten minutes until the matter was resolved. Then, to our pleasant surprise, we were taken in a van by ourselves directly to our hotel! That was really nice. The transportation company, Best Day Tours, had an office in our hotel, the Hyatt Zilara and we were able to check in there for our departure trip back tot he airport. The return van actually arrived ten minutes early, picked us up, made three more stops to pick up other passengers and delivered us to the airport. The vans were clean, the drivers smartly dressed in their Best Day uniforms and drove well. We definitely recommend this company and will use them the next time we visit Cancun. Also, this company offers various tours in and around Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A really worthwhile tour! We had an excellent guide and archeologist, Freddy, who is a Mayan and our driver, Saul. Freddy went into depth about the Mayan culture and Tulum itself as we drove from Cancun to Tulum There were fifteen on the tour and we were one of the first groups to arrive at the site in Tulum that morning. Freddy guided us through the most interesting portions of the site, giving us archeological information on the various buildings we encountered, on the Mayan calendar, some of the various flora and about the reef offshore. After about an hour and forty minutes, we were given free time of just over an hour to explore more or go back to the entrance area and shop before heading back. As we boarded the van for our return we were each given a box lunch to consume on the way back to our hotels. Yes, we had ot get up early for a departure at 6:00 AM, but we got back about 2:40 PM, allowing much of the afternoon and evening free to do other things. We definitely recommend this tour, and especially Freddy and Saul!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The transport company was ready upon my late evening arrival into Cancun. They were dependable also on my departure. One of the most important aspects of my vacation is to have transportation on arrival and departure in a different country. I am very happy with the service provided.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We booked our early morning tour of Chichen Itza through Viator before we arrived in Cancun, based on the reviews and we were not disappointed! The pick up was bang on time in a smart air conditioned Mercedes van. We were greated by our guide Freddy and driver Achilles. There were only 5 on our tour (I believe the maximum is 19, so it will always be a small group). Freddy is an archeologist of Mayan dissent with a real passion for his subject. After a short while for a knap the second half of the journey there Freddy explained many areas of the Mayan culture, the hierarchy, Mayan calendar, etc etc which really helps with your understanding once at Chichen Itza.

We arrived at 9am just as it was opening, there were only two other vehicles in the car park (when we left it was packed with huge coaches, mini buses and plenty of cars!) the vendors were only just setting up, so no hassle from them as they were busy, allowing us to get straight out to the main court yard, Freddy gave us 15 minutes to get photos while there were no crowds, then he began the tour which lasted 1.5 hours taking in most of the key sites, after which we then had a further 1.5 hours to explore on our own.

The journey back was smooth and included a packed lunch of sandwich, drink, fruit, biscuit and water. The tour was very good and as a result we decided to book direct with the tour company three days later, for the early morning Tulum tour. We had 14 on this tour but even with the extra pick ups we were there as it opened. This was again with Freddy as the guide but the driver this time was Saul, who like Achilles was very helpful and courteous and did a great job of getting us there and back exactly to the timings set out in the itinerary.

Would definitely recommend both early morning tours to any body wishing to visit Chichen Itza and Tulum, beat the crowds, the heat and get the best pictures and information!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Freddie (tour guide) and Saol (driver) assisted the group with the tour. The early morning pickup was important, we got to Tulum by 8:30am and we were one of the first in there, the key to this was getting good access for pictures without a lot of people around. Within 90 minutes of our arrival, the place was mobbed. The tour information was particularly interesting, with a history of the Mayans on the way there and Freddie's extensive knowledge of the site itself and the culture. I am not a hardcore history buff, but Freddie's information made this tour extremely interesting. I would highly recommend it. Logistics were solid as well, they picked us up at our hotel and dropped off. they called the day before to give us our time. The one drawback is the further away from Tulum you are, the more likely you will be first/last picked up/dropped off. That said, we were still back into the hotel zone in Cancun by 2pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My friends and I had THE ABSOLUTE BEST TIME EVER on this adventure! The entire staff - Orfa, Angel, Eduardo, and all the others - made it their mission to ensure we had the best time possible. The breakfast was simple but sufficient, but the lunch was incredible and delicious. The snorkeling was awesome, and our guides made sure safety was top priority. The visit to Isla Mujeres was fun too (but honestly, by this point, things were getting blurry - it is OPEN BAR after all). But best of all was our trip back to port, from Isla Mujeres - the staff dressed up in costumes and put on a show for all the passengers to enjoy. It didn't take much for me to jump right in and end the day dancing my butt off with the crew - this was truly one of THE BEST values during our week-long vacation to Cancun. This is one of the best values in all of Cancun - sign up now!!!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message