Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 468 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joanna T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it!!! The tour guide was very informative, a must do if you are in cancun!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Lacey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a mixed review because we loved Xel-Ha but you need to seriously rethink if you are booking this from Cancun. The original bus took us one hour to pick up everyone from the different hotels THEN we were switched to another bus that took another hour and a half to get to Xel-Ha. Once we got there, our tour guide tried to upsell us on everything under the sun and ate up another almost 20 minutes of our time. When you only have a day, 2-1/2 hours on the bus and 20 minutes listening to upsales is too long.

The park itself is beautiful and pristine. We loved it! Good snorkeling is found where you see the fish flags throughout the park. Our favorite was the lazy river and floating through the mangrove forest canopy - truly breathtaking! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this park if you were traveling from Playa del Carmen. I would not recommend this park if you are traveling from Cancun. You lose too much of the day on the bus. Should you decide to do it anyway, take clothes to change into once you are done swimming. It will make your travel time much easier on the way back!

Doing what: Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Leigh Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great way to travel from the Cancun airport to our hotel. Jorge was our driver both ways and he was awesome. Gotta love a cold Corona as a welcome to Cancun! Avoid the people selling tours etc, head straight outside and you are set to go.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

LIZMARIE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This dinner cruise was A-MAZING!!! El NORTEñO was the best pirate and kept the drinks coming!!! The pirates have an amazing show scripted and suitable for adults and children alike! We were in Cancun for a week and this was BY-FAR the best activity we did there! There was good dancing music, the food was great, and this is a MUST DO if you are in the area!! We would definitely return when we are in Mexico!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Ciara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Xcaret was the best part of our cancun trip! IT's just so fun and amazing to experience both water activities and cultural exploration in one place. HIGHLY recommended

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

cmartin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was so awesome!! They picked me up right on time. The tour guide was so knowledgeable about the civilizations and surrounding areas. Coupled with her super friendly attitude, this made for an excellent day sightseeing. We visited Coba where we got the chance to climb a pyramid that had breathtaking views of the surrounding areas. Then we took a dip in an underground cenote that was not only refreshing but beautiful to see and experience. Then we were whisked away to a nearby local restaurant that served up a delicious buffet of Yucatan style dishes, and we were able to do a little shopping. Afterwards, we visited Tulum on the coast, which was smaller yet very interesting and beautiful to see. It was a long ride home, but it was very comfortable. In all, I have and will continue to do so recommended this tour, and I know that I will definitely consider it the next time I visit Cancun.

Doing what: Coba Tulum and Cenote Tankach-Ha with Lunch

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour! Guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable, wonderful and very cozy tour bus. Would definately do again on our next trip to Cancun.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha Tour From Cancun and Riviera Maya

Ernesto G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was definitely a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for me. The tour guide provided was very knowledgeable and fun and definitely a must see for anyone who visits Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Aside from confusion initially linking up with the driver, which was due to the arrival crowd in Cancun and not the driver's fault, it was a great experience. They got us to the van, were greeted with a cold water and cold Corona, and quick ride straight to the hotel. We figured out the return trip time right on the van, and they were at the hotel at the appointed time on departure day. Also with a cold water. Straight to the airport in plenty of time for departure. Cheaper than using hotel service, didn't have to deal with waiting for anyone else, and didn't have to deal with taxis. Would definitely use again.

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

carey43

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, and our guide, Frank was awesome. The group was a little large, but Frank managed to keep us all organized and I had no difficulty hearing his narrative. I highly recommend the early access option - it is VERY hot and gets really crowded later in the day. Bring sunscreen, bug repellent, a hat, and plenty of water. It's a long drive 2.5 hours from the hotel zone in Cancun and the bus a it cramped for long-legged Americans, but comfortably air conditioned.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Annette N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great service. There was a woman standing outside the airport with our name on her board with a Viator sign as well so it was easy to spot, they were also wearing bright green shirts so they stood out. She walked us to the van which was nicely air conditioned waiting for us. David was out drive and he was awesome. He answered any questions we hard in regards to currency or places to visit. Pick up from the hotel was also on time. We would book with them again if we're ever back in Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth getting up super early for. Pick-up was from our hotel in Cancun and we where driven to the Tulum ruins in a nice air conditioned bus. They divided us up into 2 groups so we only had maybe 12 in our group in the end. The guide/Arch. was very informative on the history/culture. He made himself available for questions even after his part of the tour was done. We had enough time to explore the ruins on our own and visit the beach. There are tons of local trinket shops on the way out and a big official souvineer shop at the entrance/exit too. We were back at our hotel by 2:00 pm and had the rest of the afternoon to do whatever we wanted!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the better tours that we took during our vacation. Pick-up was at our hotel in cancun. Then we traveled in a passenger van to the Mayan Village where some of the tour people split to do the adventure part. Zip-line and repel We toured the Mayan Village and was blessed by their Shaman before jumping into their Centote. Afterwards we went back and met up with the group and had a wonderful traditional Mayan lunch! Loved the Chicken! Food was fresh and well made! Next onto the Coba ruins where we had our Mayan tour guide educate us on the Mayan culture and history!

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Wilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this transfer was amazing. when we arrived in cancun, the driver stoped at the cancun sign for us to take pictures and then gave us a belief took around cancun, then took us to our hotel.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Graciela Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you go to Cancun and don't experience Xcaret is like you did not go to Cancun. I would have like to spend two days in this place and experience all of the activities and shows they have. Here, the food was also delicious. Swimming in the underground river was like a dream. The 7:00 o'clock show was amazing. They tell you with music and dances the history of Mexico and how the culture became so rich. The show is included in the entrance, but we decided to upgrade it so that it would include dinner. The dinner was a seven course gourmet meal absolutely delicious. This trip is a MUST DO!

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Jacqueline E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

picked us up from the cancun airport. on time and no wait. friendly lady had my name on her board so she was easily to find. the shuttle was comfortable and our driver was awesome!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

ladyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Tour was fantastic and lasted about 11 hours. We were picked up promptly from our Hotel and proceeded to pick other tourists from different hotels prior to leaving Cancun.We got to Chichen Itza around 12 noon. Our tour was Ricardo, was very entertaining, also our driver and guide helper were also good. The weather was very HOT HOT, make sure wear light clothing, hat and apply sunscreen. If I have to do the tour again, I will definitely go with the early tour with pick around 4 am. Despite the weather, the tour was awesome, no regrets.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Kimberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had an amazing time on this tour with Frank. I wasn't a fan of having to meet at 5:30am after a night of partying in Cancun, but am SO glad I did so, as the Early Access Tour is the best way to go-- you get there before thousands of other visitors arrive more chances for unobstructed pictures, beat the worst of the heat although it still feels like hell-- water and a hat is beyond necessary, and also beat the vendors before they start harassing you to buy from them although you will still get harassed-- just not as much. Frank was very knowledgeable about the history and it was clear that he was passionate about it. It's great having nice pictures to share of the ruins, but knowing the history behind it gives you an unbeatable experience. Unfortunately with the Early Access tour you won't get to swim in a cenote or visit any of the nearby towns, but I was back at my room by 3pm, giving me the rest of the day to enjoy the beach. Other tours won't have you back until 7pm-ish. I definitely recommend this tour and if it weren't for the oppressive heat, I'd probably visit again!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Joel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Biggest bang for ur bucks. If your in cancun, this is a MUST DO!!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Sailing and Snorkel Cruise from Cancun

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was amazing. Our guide Frank and our driver Jacinto were great! Frank was very knowledgable and had lots of pictures to show us. The early tour was awesome because it wasn and #39;t too crowded. This is a must see if you are going to Cancun. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing tour. Our guide Carlos and our driver Alex were great. Carlos was an amazing guide, he was very knowledgeable and friendly. We were picked up from our hotel promptly and dropped off at a good time as well. This is a must see your if you and #39;re visiting Cancun.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Xel-Ha is a must see if you and #39;re traveling to Cancun. They picked us up promptly from our hotel and were very organized when it was time to go back to our hotel. Xel-Ha is amazing, I highly recommend doing the the dolphin trek, a one of a kind experience. The all inclusive buffets were really good!

Doing what: Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Polina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was really very good! First of all, there were only 6 participants. Our guide Leopoldo was amazing and very knowledgeable, he gave us very good information about the places and managed to answer all questions. Don't hesitate too book this tour, it's a good deal compared to other offers in Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza, Cenote Ik Kil and Coba Ruins from Cancun

raj M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Driver, Manuel, was great. Very polite and courteous. Its a long drive from Cancun and almost nothing to see on the way, but Chichen Itza is very nice. Worth the trip. Go early, its very hot by noon. Cenote was the highlight. Bring pesos as the dollar rate is very poor. The buffet lunch was terrible. They cram you in a room with hundreds of people. You can't get more than 1 serving because the lines are so long. If you don't have pesos, the dollar equivalent cost is 30USD per person.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message