• USD ($)
  • English
Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow! What a great experience. Freddy (archaeologist) and Oscar (driver) arrived at our hotel right on time...at 6:40 am. The tour bus was a new Mercedes Benz 15-18 passenger that was immaculate inside and out. During a warm greeting we learned that Freddy is not only an archaeologist but he is also a Mayan descendant! The first hour of our two hour drive along a very smooth highway most folks slept, while Freddy shared information in Spanish with a guest from Colombia. During the second hour he explained in English Mayan culture, number system, calendars, history, and his own personal Mayan roots, as well as an introduction to the site Chichen Itza.

We arrived about 9:00 am and were met by an empty parking lot! The temperature and humidity had not yet risen so it was quite pleasant. The ticketing and entry process was well organized and within a few minutes we were in front of the amazing pyramid with no people around...great for photographs. Freddy led us on an informative walk around the site giving detailed information about the royal and common people, religious festivals, sacrificial system, architecture, the Maya region, etc. He was very attentive to questions and has a great sense of humor! We finished up the formal tour about 11:15 and had one hour to visit other places on the site or shop. It was great that the vendors were just setting up on our arrival so we were not pestered by them during the tour. However by 11:15 they were ready for business. Not being much into shopping, my wife and I went back to the tourist center and enjoyed some great nachos and cold drinks. After leaving at 12:15 we had a quiet ride back to Cancun and were at our hotel by 2:30 with much time left in the day.

We highly recommend this tour for folks wanting to listen, learn, and appreciate the Mayan people and their amazing history and culture. We will be calling on Freddy and Oscar to take us to Tulum on our next trip to the Yucatan!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so much fun! The waves were choppy but that made it fun and we had to speed to keep up which added to our excitement. Going through the jungle part of the lagoon was a bit disappointing because we only saw two birds but driving the speed boat made up for it. The snorkeling was fun as well and we had a very good tour guide. This is a must in Cancun!

Doing what: Jungle Speed Boat Tour from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!!!! Our guide was very well informed and really took a lot of time and care in our education , happiness, and safety. He showed a great amount of caution and reverence to our surrounding environment and to the underground river as well. Our accompanying group photographer was top notch providing us with pictures we were able to purchase that we will treasure forever. This is one of the five major excursions my new bride and I were able to enjoy while on our Honeymoon in Cancun and I were able to experience ...this being our favorite BY FAR!!

The trip was affordable, safe, and the large tour bus taking us to the perimeter of the site, had the most legroom of any of the tour buses we were on for the 10 days we were visiting.

Rio Secreto ROCKS!

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I just got back from Cancun and WE HAD A BLAST. The early bird to Chichen Itza was the most unforgettable experience and memory. Our tour guy is Frank and the driver is Oscar. Frank is the best tour guy i have ever encountered with. He is very knowledgeable, funny, and friendly. Truly the best tour guy!!!
Oscar is a very kind and nice guy too. Drive us from hotel to the Chichen Itza and back to hotel in a timely manner. I highly recommended the early bird to Chichen Itza before it got too crowded since you don't want any photo bombs by other tours. No doubt I recommend Frank and Oscar for early access to the beautiful Chichen Itza!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I scheduled this tour for the last activity and it was the highlight of the trip to cancun. All equipment and lunch was included and it was amazing to be underground and swim through the cave. If a person has walking problem, small children, or claustrophobia it is not the best activity.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a wonderful 8-day vacation in Cancun. One of the highlights was our tour to Chichen Itza with
archeologist Frank and driver Oscar. Frank was very informative, precise, courteous and spoke clearly. Oscar, the driver, was also very courteous and prompt. Even though 6:15 am is early for some of us, it's worth it to avoid the crowds, especially in this June weather, which is hot and humid. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Yamile
Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I booked this service on 31MAY14 @ Cancun. Excellent service, good customer service and I will use it again.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Picked up on time which was a great start. Everything from start to finish was organised so well. Would recommend it to anyone going to cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour to Selvatica to Zipline and ATV with Cenote Swim was EXCELLENT!
It was extremely well run and organized. The hotel pick up and drop off was convenient.
The greeting at the park and info presentation/demonstration was detailed, thorough and funny thanks to Benjamin. The whole crew was very professional, safety minded, friendly and fun. The Ziplines were long (12 lines a distance of 1.2 miles), fast, and perfectly spaced with some climbing.
We took a 7-9 minute jeep ride to the ATVs and Cenote. The ATV ride was 30 minutes which was long enough to experience off roading in the Mexican Rainforests. We then walked to the Cenote which you could swing on a rope to jump in. We jeeped back to the camp and had lunch.
The chicken fajitas, rice and beans were tasty.
All activities were well run and well staffed.
We went as an extended family of 7, from 19 years old to 51. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed all activities and HIGHLY recommend this as a MUST DO in CANCUN. Benjamin stayed with our group the entire time to guide us and did an excellent job!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. If you go Cancun you have to visit here. This tour is good because it leaves early and makes no unnecessary stops so you can reach back to your hotel about 3.00 pm and enjoy the rest of the day still. Oscar the driver was very good and funny. Freddy however is what takes this trip to another level. He is extremely knowledgeable on the Mayans and spends time in the van before you reach educating you on Mayan culture, counting and other tibits. This really helps make the experience once you arrive much better, He spoke English well, kept everyone entertained and educated. I would highly recommended and will definitely return to do again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour leaves Cancun early, at around 06:30 and therefore arrives at Chichen Itza early, before it gets crowded and hot. The tour guide is excellent, provideing plenty of interesting facts. Lunch is a bit basic (ham and cheese sandwich) but overall, it is really good value. We spent three hours there and returned to Cancun in time for an afternoon swim. I had a thoroughly enjoyable day and would strongly recommend this particular tour.
Greg

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

GARY K
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I have been to Cancun 3 times and have gone on many tours nothing compares to the Captain hook experience, it was fantastic. The crew was fantastic and kept everyone active and involved, they were as good as any movie crew that I have seen. The photos I took were the first to be shown to my family thank you for such a great evening.

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Kodi F
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Without a doubt, the best time we had in Cancun! Well worth the price, the show was hilarious, drinks were prompt, everyone gets to participate, and the meal was the best we had all week! Top notch entertainment! Book it!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great nighttime experience in Cancun. It was fun to meet other people and the food was delicious as well!

Doing what: Xoximilco Cruise: Cultural Mexican Fiesta in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a great tour. It was everything promised! We were picked up right on time in a new comfortable bus and transported to the Chichen Itza. There were timely breaks. En route, Frank, our guide explained what was going to happen for the day. He than went into the Mayan history. When we arrived at Chichen Itza we were indeed there before the crowds and the heat of the day. We had a guided tour of the key areas. We were given ample time to tour on our own. Chichen Itza is the place to go if you are in Cancun for the first time and not planning on additional tours. Our driver did a great job of making us feel safe, secure and comfortable while making the trip to and from the Mayan ruins.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message