Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 421 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Totally amazing night aboard Captain Hook, we were lucky enough to be onboard with Cap. Jack Sparrow and Monkey and these guys were awesome. The show was amazing and the food was beautiful!! I'm going back to Cancun in December and this is definately going to be done again!!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot stress enough how helpful and informative our guide was, Carlos Moo is an embassador for the Mayan people and was basically like a Mexican Father while we were on the tour, we were lucky enough to get him on our Cancun Tulum and Coba tour so we already had met and that made the day much better as we walked around Chichen Itza. Carlos you are a legend!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the first tours we did when getting to Cancun. We met a lovely guide, named Carlos Moo, who was basically an encyclopedia on everything Mayan. He showed us different buildings, explained what was what and made the whole trip a lot more entertaining. Would love to get him as a guide on our next trips :D

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Elisabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I booked this tour online shortly before we left on our trip and was a little concerned about confirming the hotel pickup time as we were arriving in Cancun late on the day before our tour. I needn't have worried as a prompt email gave me the information the day before we left home. The bus arrived on time at our hotel and everything went very smoothly.
Our guide Frank was great, very informative and entertaining during the drive and during our tour of the extraordinary Chichen Itza site. Ramon was a very good, safe driver. Afterwards we were dropped at our hotel first which was good because we'd been picked up first --and earliest!
Despite the early start getting to the site at 9am was brilliant because by the time we left at 12 it was hot and everyone was beginning to wilt. Other groups were just arriving!

Don't underestimate the sun and be prepared to walk and stand for some time around the ruins in limited shade. Hats and water are a must. We came prepared and thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Clapping in front of the main temple and hearing the astonishing echo effect is something we'll never forget!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Joe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our first tour in Cancun and it was very good. Our driver for the entire trip, William, arrived early and called the room to let us know he arrived. When we first stepped into the van it was very clean and smelled like cinnamon. I could tell William took pride in the appearance of the van. During the ride to and from Chichen Itza, William was very cautious and courteous and was always driving at the speed limit. At one point, he even swerved to miss an Iguana that was sunbathing on the highway.

Once we arrived, we were escorted to a room and given options to buy. I chose the buffet and tour guide option for a reasonable price. The guide was very informative and friendly. After the tour, we ate at the buffett. Most of the food was decent but the Mayan tacos were amazing. We spent the rest of the time at the pool before returning to our hotel.

Overall, the trip was well worth it. I would definitely do it again but try and do the earlier trip to avoid the heat and humidity of the afternoon.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

Edvard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding. Loads of fun. We got picked up from the Cancun hotel zone, so kind of an early pickup 6:40 AM. The group will be no more than 12 people, ours was 6. Good size for the trip. At the cenote, snorkeling was awesome. Super clear water, great underwater photos, and not too cold. Felt like we had plenty of time to explore. You're provided a light lunch there good food and just filling enough. Once we got to the turtles, the beach got more crowded. Since they don't want you using sunscreen, suggest bringing a long sleeve shirt or rash guard. May be worth bringing some kind of long pants, too--my wife got burned on the back of her legs. We saw several turtles up close we got great photos and video of them. We had a photographer riding along at both areas, he took amazing photos, they were just kind of expensive 50USD for a flash drive full. The sales were far from pushy, which was refreshing. We got back to the hotel by 3:00 PM, a very reasonable half-day excursion. Would highly recommend. Our tour guide was Louise and she was OUTSTANDING. Personable, knowledgable, and funny.

Doing what: Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in Akumal

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a beautiful island. The boat ride was enjoyable and the stop for snorkeling was fabulous. We saw lots of coral, fish and sea life. The island was quiet and the tour to the other side was interesting. Lunch was delicious! The crew were attentive to everyone's needs and we had a wonderful relaxing afternoon on the beach and enjoying the shallow water. The departure location was easily reached from our hotel in the hotel zone via the local bus. I've already recommended this to friends returning later this month and I'll probably book this again on my next trip to Cancun.

Doing what: Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

Elizabeth R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I believe this was the highlight of our trip. Every piece of the tour met or exceeded our expectations. The hotel pickup was on time and comfortable. Appropriate time was taken to settle us in to our excursion and swimming/snorkeling abilities were assessed and prepared for. The snorkeling locations were spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the reefs and shipwreck. Highly recommend this and I will book this activity again on my next visit to Cancun.

Doing what: Reef and Shipwreck Snorkeling Tour in Cancun

CYNTHIA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

When we finally escaped the airport after customs and being accosted by people selling us tours, etc., the driver was waiting outside with a sign with my name on it. We were promptly directed to our van where we ended up being the only passengers. The drivers and porters were very professional and courtesy. We were at our hotel in 20 minutes or so and already had many recommendations on places to see and tours to go on while in Cancun. At the end of our trip, it was easy to confirm our pickup the day before. We were picked up at 10:00 AM on the dot and only had to stop at one hotel on the way to the airport. I really believe having such a positive experience at the beginning of our trip really set the tone for our stay. We didn't want to leave! Thanks so much Viator!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

martinmcleanlit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were very happy we chose Viator Cancun airport round trip transfer. The cost was reasonable and it was well worth it. We didn't have to hassle with all of the taxis and other drivers trying to drive us. The instructions for meeting the driver at the airport were simple and complete and the driver was there waiting for us when we arrived. The round trip was easy also. We called to verify pick up the day before and they were there right on time. The drivers were very polite and helpful. Thank you!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was on our last day in Cancun. It is rather a long trip but worth it. The driver was amazing, plenty of stops for bathrooms along the way. The food as great. We walked around the site, watched the sunset, the planetarium is great to go along to if you don't speak Spanish as the sound and light show at night follows the same kind of story. Go to the sound and light show, it is amazing. So well done. It is rather late when you get back to Cancun but worth it. The temple complex is really great.

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Complete Chichen Itza Experience

Hsiang Hsiang H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Taking this tour is the best decision we could make in our Cancun trip. Our tour guide is fun, genuine, knowledgable, sincere, and has a big heart for Mexico! Love everything about this tour and this tour is for everyone in every ages! Definitely would recommend anyone that's going to Cancun to take this tour!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Snorkeling, Ziplining and Interactive Zoo

Jen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the only way to do a tour in Cancun. Our guides were fun, personal and professional. The zip lines offered beautiful views, the ATV's were fast and the cenote swim was a great way to cool off from the day's adventures. Lunch and a video presentation were a wonderful bonus and I love that photos of our adventure were available for purchase. Note: Bring cash, because purchases on credit cards take more than a Mexican Minute : special call out to Bruno for being awesome!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this trip, a definite plus to our time in Cancun. We were the first bus there in the morning so there were very few people at the site. Freddie, our guide, gave us a lot of information while we were still on the bus, then expanded that information about each specific part of the site as we went from site location to site location. His knowledge helped up understand much more about the amazing history of this location. It is hard to believe all that was accomplished when this was built. When we left the location was packed. Everything was on time. The tour was fantastic thanks to our tour guide Freddie. My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jeanene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This turned out to be so convenient. As we arrived in Cancun, our driver was waiting with a sign with my name. He greeted us and we were off to the Mayan Palace within minutes. When they picked us up at 5:00 am for our return ride, they were there a few minutes early and delivered us right to the door of American Airlines. Confirmation was made easily and they called to reconfirm the night before our pick up.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Anne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Miguel, was amazing! He taught us so much about the Mayan culture and their beliefs while we were in Coba, encouraged us when we hiked the pyramid, and was an overall great time. The tour itself was long but most definitely worth it! It took over 2 hours to drive to the ruins from Cancun, so doing it all in one day was much more preferable to doing them over a couple days. I definetly recommend this tour to anyone! If you have small kids, however, it might be a really long day for them, if not it's perfect! - Anne and Kelly

Doing what: Coba Tulum and Cenote Tankach-Ha with Lunch

Cara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a blast! Our tour guide was friendly and hilarious. The ziplines are incredible. Do the full package for the zip lines, and make sure you ride one upside down! The ATVs were fun. I only wish we'd had more time on them. The cenote swim was great. Make sure you get good a grasp on the metal hold for the rope swing. The lunch was fresh and delicious. I regret not buying the pictures even though they were ridiculously priced. We'd definitely do this day again if we go back to Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: ATV and Zipline with Cenote Swim

Chance P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was fantastic definitely a must do, the boat ride was great and got to see the whole cancun. When we gotto the reefs my girlfriend started freaking out because of all the fish and the tour guide was a life saver came in calmed her down and made her feel very comfortable had to give him a nice tip.

Doing what: Cancun Jungle Tour Adventure: Speed Boat and Snorkeling

A Scot A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was outstanding and an excellent value. Our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and made the whole experience a lot of fun. His knowledge of the history of the site made it come to life. There were other stops along the way, swimming, etc. so it's an all day experience for sure. When touring the site there isn't much walking so it is a tour that is appropriate for all ages and abilities. Keep in mind that the bus ride to Chichen Itza is about 1.5 hours from the hotel zone. Even with that, our guide kept things informative and fun while allowing us to also have quiet time and little naps if we chose. It was a truly great experience and one of the highlights of my trip to Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

ambeamega

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very effective tour, you get early in the morning among the first 100 visitors into Chichen Itza. As the group was very large, we were splitted into two subgroups. In general good explanations and enough time to see the Chichen citadel's highlights. At 3pm we were back in Cancun in our hotel, very happy and still with time to go to the beach and enjoy our time over there. Definitively this is the tour if you want to be time-wise.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Anwar P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Absolutely amazing day trip. Great tour. Great guides. Highly recommend. It and #39;s a definite and #34;must do and #34; while in Cancun!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

bawilliams2009

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If you like to party this is the event for you. Great fun, amazing hosts and drinks galore. It was our first wedding anniversary and they gave us the VIP Treatment even putting our names on the huge screen celebrating our event. This is now one of our must do events for Cancun. I highly recommend if you are a party of one or many. Cheers!

Doing what: VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

By far the best adventure in Cancun, staff is friendly and professional, the site is beautiful and we'll maintained, absolutely amazing experience, a must see!

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

Azeeka N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We took Viator tours for most of our south American tour. I and #39;v taken their tours in other countries too. So far they haven;t dissapointed me. Chichen Itza tour is a must to see in Cancun .well organised tour. Its a piece of mind knowing you are in safe hands when travelling to many places.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message