Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The transport company was ready upon my late evening arrival into Cancun. They were dependable also on my departure. One of the most important aspects of my vacation is to have transportation on arrival and departure in a different country. I am very happy with the service provided.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We booked our early morning tour of Chichen Itza through Viator before we arrived in Cancun, based on the reviews and we were not disappointed! The pick up was bang on time in a smart air conditioned Mercedes van. We were greated by our guide Freddy and driver Achilles. There were only 5 on our tour (I believe the maximum is 19, so it will always be a small group). Freddy is an archeologist of Mayan dissent with a real passion for his subject. After a short while for a knap the second half of the journey there Freddy explained many areas of the Mayan culture, the hierarchy, Mayan calendar, etc etc which really helps with your understanding once at Chichen Itza.

We arrived at 9am just as it was opening, there were only two other vehicles in the car park (when we left it was packed with huge coaches, mini buses and plenty of cars!) the vendors were only just setting up, so no hassle from them as they were busy, allowing us to get straight out to the main court yard, Freddy gave us 15 minutes to get photos while there were no crowds, then he began the tour which lasted 1.5 hours taking in most of the key sites, after which we then had a further 1.5 hours to explore on our own.

The journey back was smooth and included a packed lunch of sandwich, drink, fruit, biscuit and water. The tour was very good and as a result we decided to book direct with the tour company three days later, for the early morning Tulum tour. We had 14 on this tour but even with the extra pick ups we were there as it opened. This was again with Freddy as the guide but the driver this time was Saul, who like Achilles was very helpful and courteous and did a great job of getting us there and back exactly to the timings set out in the itinerary.

Would definitely recommend both early morning tours to any body wishing to visit Chichen Itza and Tulum, beat the crowds, the heat and get the best pictures and information!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Freddie (tour guide) and Saol (driver) assisted the group with the tour. The early morning pickup was important, we got to Tulum by 8:30am and we were one of the first in there, the key to this was getting good access for pictures without a lot of people around. Within 90 minutes of our arrival, the place was mobbed. The tour information was particularly interesting, with a history of the Mayans on the way there and Freddie's extensive knowledge of the site itself and the culture. I am not a hardcore history buff, but Freddie's information made this tour extremely interesting. I would highly recommend it. Logistics were solid as well, they picked us up at our hotel and dropped off. they called the day before to give us our time. The one drawback is the further away from Tulum you are, the more likely you will be first/last picked up/dropped off. That said, we were still back into the hotel zone in Cancun by 2pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My friends and I had THE ABSOLUTE BEST TIME EVER on this adventure! The entire staff - Orfa, Angel, Eduardo, and all the others - made it their mission to ensure we had the best time possible. The breakfast was simple but sufficient, but the lunch was incredible and delicious. The snorkeling was awesome, and our guides made sure safety was top priority. The visit to Isla Mujeres was fun too (but honestly, by this point, things were getting blurry - it is OPEN BAR after all). But best of all was our trip back to port, from Isla Mujeres - the staff dressed up in costumes and put on a show for all the passengers to enjoy. It didn't take much for me to jump right in and end the day dancing my butt off with the crew - this was truly one of THE BEST values during our week-long vacation to Cancun. This is one of the best values in all of Cancun - sign up now!!!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Picked up on time, and transferred to bigger coach. There was eleven in our group, which is tiny compared to some of the groups we saw being guided around. Before the included lunch, we stopped for a swim in the Ik Kil Cenote, great fun. After the very pleasant lunch we went to Chichen Itza, and had the guided tour of this fantastic site. We then had plenty of time to wander around on our own taking pictures. Back on the bus for the trip back to Cancun. It was a long, but very satisfying day at a really good price. Lunch and all entrance fees were included.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

the day trip to Chichen Itza was wonderful! the guide was extraordinary! he was full of history and information about the pyramids and the cenotes. i would definitely recommend this trip to anyone staying around the Cancun area.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience. Fun crew was entertaining and took away any nerves while on the zip lines. Everything was very organized, including transportation from our hotel. Would definitely book again if in the area and recommend to anyone traveling to Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What can I say a fantastic experience one of the best nights we had the dinner was delicious the entertainment was amazing I must do in cancun

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Whooooohhhh what an incredible night .Our two gorgeous tour guides show us the time of our lives Saw three mind blowing night clubs my favourite The City was out of this world Thank you so much Dorox and associate for looking after us soooo well ,we had a night we will never forget. A must do in Cancun.

Doing what: VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

awwww this cruise was amazing, the captain hook show is awesome I wouldn't say this is for children its more a booze cruise with adult entertainment, food is the best ive had at cancun, treated well but waited on drinks was getting a bitta of a pain

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

OMG!!! this was amazing! from start to finished we had a ball.
From when we got on the boat/ship lol we were treated excellent with tea coffee and a different verity of pastries, then we cruised over to see some ruins which I cant remember what is was called, this wasn't for me but my husbands all into it and loved it, so back on the boat again and sailed on to where we did our snorkeling at this point the booze was out and when your glass was empty it was topped up in no time ;-) after snorkeling jumping off the diving board and sliding down the slide we then headed to isle muries cant spell it properly lol but it was a lovely wee town were you can rent a buggie and drive around it,shopping or just chill on the beach.
After a few hours relaxing it back on the dancer for amazing entertainment and time to party, lots of cocktails beers shots you name it they had it, this is a must do if your heading to cancun I would say there was a few older ones on it that sat there all day with big head on them so if your not into dancing and having fun or getting a tad bit tipsy then stay at your hotel! don't recommend kids either. thanks again to our lovely crew had a ball and will defs be doing again! xxx

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

On the night of my tour it was only myself and my friend, the tour guide was one of the nicest people I have ever met. We were treated so well and had one of the best nights ever in cancun! I would recommend to all my friends

Doing what: VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I booked this vouch for mu last night in cancun and it Was great. We didn't have to worry about anything the two host take care of everything. No line. All you can drink and the best clubs ever.

Doing what: VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a terrific day with Freddy, our tour guide, and Oscar, our driver. Chichen Itza is a must-see destination if you are in Cancun, and the experience did not disappoint. Freddy provided a wonderful overview of Mayan culture and is incredibly knowledgeable- as a Mayan and native of the Yucatan Peninsula, he had a terrific connection to the information that made it more personal for us. Another perk to this tour is that you really do beat the crowds- although there weren't a lot of people there while we visited, there were easily three or four times the number of people when our tour finished at 12:30 than when we started at 9:30. We got some incredible photos that would not have been possible later in the day. Also, though it goes without saying, it was much hotter at noon- so a morning visit is absolutely recommended and is worth the early start time. Also, this tour takes a toll road that is shorter and smoother than the longer routes other companies choose, so even though it's a long way from the beach we were still back mid-afternoon with plenty of hours left for laying by the pool.

My only frustration was not due to Freddy or the tour itself, but our fellow tourists- the tour starts early, and two separate groups of passengers made us wait for 15 minutes each while they finished getting ready. I think Freddy and Oscar were generous to wait for them, but if mornings aren't your thing, don't choose this tour and inconvenience other passengers. It's too good an experience to force everyone else to have a delayed start and that many more people at the site before you get there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tulum was a big surprise for us; we decided to visit after a strong recommendation from a friend, and we loved every second of the trip. Our tour guide Freddy and our driver Oscar picked us up right on time (a few minutes early in fact!), and we had a fantastic 1.5 hour tour of the site. Tulum is picturesque and an interesting contrast to Chichen Itza, so consider both trips and don't pass this one up in favor of the more popular ruins. Freddy provides a great deal of information, both from a historical perspective and from a personal one as a Mayan himself. He also prides himself on providing only the facts; he even carries a history book with him in case someone asks a question and he needs to look up an answer. His dedication to demystifying Mayan culture and history and making it accessible to us really made the trip for us.

Beating the crowds was a huge highlight for us (the ticket line was very lengthy when we were leaving- and it was much, much hotter!). We had 1.5 hours to tour on our own, which we used to check out some ruins in-depth and to watch the numerous iguanas running throughout the complex. The drive from Cancun isn't too long (not even two hours- and Oscar is a great driver!), and we were back by 1:30 PM. Take some water with you- they don't sell it after you get your ticket- and don't miss this experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message