Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leslie C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I loved the early access and the information and diagrams that our guide reviewed with us on the bus ride down from Cancun. This tour allowed for more time at the ruins and some free time to wander back around as you like, and take it all in. Our guide was very knowledgeable about these ruins and also others so she could compare and contrast, which was helpful if you plan to visit some other sites. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth the trip from Cancun! The guide was excellent and knowledgeable. The day was beautiful and because we arrived early, we were on the grounds with great access for photos before the large tour buses arrived. Our group was 11 people and the van that took us was comfortable and new. Very reasonable for what you get. The lunch was average but didnt go for that!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Freddie and Oscar made the round trip from Cancun to Chichen Itza very comfortable. Freddie presented the facts and the non-facts in a friendly and balanced way. He was great. And Oscar quietly got on with his job of getting us safely to and from on the long bus trip. The tour at the site was made easy by Freddie's info presentation on the bus on the way. We both enjoyed the day. Highly recommend this tour as being comfortable, clean and thoughtfully presented.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Freddi and Oscar are Amazing..What everyone says below is true.. 1. No crowd so pics are great, 2. No Hot Mid day Sun, 3. So much information and time on your own to see the site. Freddie the archeologist was so knowledgeable that despite being up all night the day before and having to head out at 5am without coffee I still wanted to listen to him speak about Mayan History, culture, and math which I realized later is v. imp to appreciate the main temple on the drive up to Chichen Itza. I was only in Cancun for 3.5 Days so it was imp for me to get back to my resort in the afternoon and not use up a whole Day to visit this site, this tour allowed that. We were back to our Hotel Zone resort by 2pm to enjoy lunch, sand, and surf. Not a big fan of the packed lunch they give you, first of all I dont eat pork so couldnt have the sandwich and it was a bag of chips and an apple and a bottle of water. So bring your own snacks if you are diabetic or if the above menu doesnt appeal. They do a packed lunch so we can get back to the hotel in time. The calendar is nice souvenir runs you about US. 2530 and helps support the archeological society and you order it when you arrive and pick up as you leave so saves time. There are tons of other vendors to buy Chachkies from but in the hour you have free you will probably want to explore the other part of the site which is what we did. The tour only walks around the central part of the site where El Castillo, Venus Platform, and Bail Court is. So the remainder time you have you have to pick ether seeing the Sacred Cenote on your own or the older site where you have El Caracol, The Nunnery etc or shopping/eating. Oh and I loved that it was a small group approx 9ppl in a small van not a huge Mega bus with 50 people. Over all I was 100 satisfied with the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I took the Viator tour to Chichén Itzá from Cancun during the last week of January 2015. The bus arrived at my hotel at 7:50 a.m. as promised. I think I was supposed to have confirmed my tour somehow a couple of days before to get my pick up time, but I didn’t know how. Instead I used the website Customer Care contact form and heard back very quickly with the pickup time.

So after getting everyone on board, the tour guide (Antonio, I believe) explained that we would be going to the cenote first. While at the cenote, the guide and driver leave to pick up the Chichén Itzá tickets.

The cenote we went to was Ik Kil. It is really lovely and the water is great. To get to the water, you have to walk down a lot of steps. There are lockers you can rent (30 pesos I believe) and a changing room. There is also a few places to buy gifts. People ask if you want to buy something but nobody is pushy.

Then off to the lunch place just down the road. It was a buffet and I really enjoyed the food. The grounds that the restaurant are on is very nice. Have some small bills on hand for tips to the servers.

Then off to Chichén Itzá. This was really fabulous. The tour guide (our tour was in Spanish and English) was very interesting and knowledgeable. His portion of the tour was about 1.5 hours and then you are free to walk about for another hour or so. There are many opportunities for photos and souvenir buying if that is your thing.

On the trip home, they drop off in the hotel zone in the same order they picked up. So if you were first on in the hotel zone, you will be first off.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

2 adults and one child 10. Last hotel to be picked up by bus at our hotel on the north end of Cancuns Hotel Zone at 8:00 am. Met up with 2 other vans from Playa del Carmen and they joined the bus before we hit the toll road. Hugo was able to orient us in English and also in Spanish/Portuguese for the guests from Brazil. Stop at Ik Kil Cenote. I really didnt know what this would entail, but it was an unexpected surprise. Bring your swim suit and towel. Even if you dont swim, its fun to look at and walk around. Hugo was really talking up the Mayan necklaces and honey liquor that were sold there but I wasnt impressed.

On to lunch at a buffet style restaurant. Food its okay is included but not drinks. You are not allowed to bring in your own drinks or water. Only cash and they will take USD but better deal if you use pesos. Staff and dancers put out baskets for tips.

On to Chichen Itza. Group split into english speaking and Spanish/Portuguese speaking. We spent at least 2 hours and Hugo gave us great tour. Very informative. Its an amazing site. We were given time after to explore and look at the vast amount of vendors that are selling their wares not authentic according to Hugo. Dropped off at our hotel around 8:00 pm. Long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My husband and I were picked up promptly by our tour guide, Delio, and our driver, Enrique, at our hotel. We were immediately greeted and offered cold drinks. There was one other guest on our tour so we each had plenty of space in the nice, clean, air-conditioned van. Delio and Enrique were both very friendly. Delio was very knowledgable about the Mayans and spoke very good English.

We arrived at Mayaland for lunch after our near 2.5hr van ride from Cancun. We each had our option of appetizer and entrée and drink. My mayan sampler plate was not to my taste, but the lime soup was reported to be good. The margaritas were also good. Delio guided us to the historical sites and educated us on the significance of the symbols and sites. It was quite warm and be sure to wear comfy walking shoes. After our brief walkabout tour, we headed back to Mayaland for an educational video in the Mayaland observatory dome. It was quite good and explained the belief system of the Mayans and their complex numerical and astrological systems.

Afterwards, tapas and refreshments were offered while we enjoyed the sunset and view of the archeological observatory on the terrace at Mayaland.

We then traveled to the Light and Sound Show at the biggest pyramid at Chichen Itza. We had 15 minutes or so before the "gates" opened, so we shopped around some of the tables outside the doors. This wound up to be some of the best priced souvenirs on our whole trip (including Isla Mujeres and Cancun). I got a lovely 0.925 silver bracelet for approximately $16 after a little haggling. In the centro market in Cancun, a very similar bracelet was priced $70! They also had obsidian carvings WAAY cheaper than the little souvenir shop in Mayland itself.

The light and sound show was AMAZING! It's all in Spanish, but I think they are working on getting English headsets... Even so, well worth it! The images projected onto the big temple were so sharp and beautiful. MUST SEE!

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Complete Chichen Itza Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Tour was on time. Bus was clean and ac worked fine. Wear comfortable shoes as there is quite a bit of walking. If you are in the Cancun area and haven't seen Chichen Itza, it is well worth seeing.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of Chichen Itza and visit to a Cenote (swimming hole)! During a 5 day vacation in Cancun, my wife and I wanted to visit and explore Chichen Itza. Costs for the tour through operators at our hotel and referred by others were $75-100. We checked Viator on our phone from the beach and found a better price by 30% for the next day!

We had to call the tour operator that night to confirm the pick up time (7:45am). The bus was right on schedule and the tour guide called out our names when it arrived. There were several tour buses arriving at the same time so that was helpful.

The bus ride (2.5-3 hrs each way) was fine and smooth. We first went to the Cenote, a nice natural swimming hole / tourist trap. Then we went to a very cheesy restaurant / tourist trap for lunch. Then on to Chichen Itza. Our tour guide took us around for about 90 minutes to the various sites and we had about an hour on our own to explore. That was definitely enough time for the main attractions and the rest of our group made their way to the bus earlier. Then we made it home by about 8:30pm. A long day but such a cool trip!

The only negative was how much our tour guide talked on the bus ride out in the morning. For the 2.5-3 hr trip, he probably talked and repeated himself for about 1.5 hours. He then repeated everything during the actual tour. There was no reason to talk so much, so loudly, so early in the morning when most of us were trying to sleep or at least rest. The tour itself was fine, but the guide needs to wait until we get there.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I've been to Tulum twice before, but this excursion was excellent. My 2 sons and I very much enjoyed the trip and all the fantastic information provided by our tour guide. The pick-up at our Cancun hotel was right on time and along the way the tour guide started with the information on the Mayans and Tulum itself. Although I have informally studied a bit, much of the information was new and his passion for the subject was obvious. Good thing getting there early because the crowds really started pouring in once it got to mid-morning. Even as the guided part of the tour was over, my sons and I continued our discussion with the tour guide and really enjoyed our time there. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was a little hard to find the correct provider as the Cancun airport was so busy. Once we did, everything went fine. Drivers were friendly. Van was in good shape and ac worked fine.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

AMAZING!!! WE SAW WHAT THE PICTURES SHOW AND MORE!!! This tour, and Julian our guide, were indeed a major highlight of our trip to Cancun. IF YOU POSSIBLY CAN......DO IT!! I am 72, Julian helped me through the rough parts which were not that much. 100% WORTH IT!! They provide everything you need...wet suits, shoes, and lockers for your stuff. I JUST CANT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT OUR WONDERFUL ADVENTURE. The lunch was very good also and all you wanted to eat.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip. We arrived early enough to actually take pictures without having a thousand people in them and our guide Frank was AWESOME! Frank knew so much about Chichen Itza he was just amazing. I would highly recommend anyone going to Cancun to take this tour with Frank and his driver Sal was a very efficient and safe driver which if you've ever been to Cancun you would know how important that is. I give this tour 2 thumbs up and 5+ stars.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Richard B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour we have taken from Cancun! "Freddy" and "Achilles" we're an excellent team! Freddy's passion for the history of the Mayan people was obvious as he also shared with us some personal photos of his family in traditional dress. Very informative and the early access made picture taking of this beautiful sight much better than when the crowds arrived later. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome experience! Going first in the morning to have the place basically for us and an archeologist leading the tour was outstanding. It was worth to start the adventure at 6 am. You are back at your hotel by 2 pm and have the rest of the afternoon available for other activities in Cancun. It was a bus for only 18 passengers, so it facilitated the discussion on the bus about the maya culture in general. Freddy made the discussion interesting and used an ipad to ilustrate details. We also learned some maya words. Freddy and Saul were always ahead to provide an excelente service. I strongly recomend this option for Tulum.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message