Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

nothing but fun. a dinner party on a boat? more like a dancing and singing party. great acrobats, swinging from the masts, sword fighting and canons. captain hook kept the night moving in spanish, english, portuguese, japanese and we all learned some of each language thanks to the casts interactivity with the visitors on board. the kids on board had a blast and the adults without kids had their fun too! when the 2pirate boats engaged the drama filled fun spilled over to each boat. very memorable and better than the night club scene in cancun!

Doing what: Captain Hook Dinner Cruise in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make everyone in the tour group feel very comfortable in both Spanish and English. I thoroughly enjoyed the Cenote, lunch with the show, and the tour of the ruins. Lots of great history and a well put together tour. My husband and I were very pleased with our trip and would recommend this tour to everyone who visits Cancun!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We wanted to book a day trip from Cancun to Chichén Itzá. The hotel travel agent was very expensive and lots of other operators in Cancun were too eager to push trips on us. I booked this tour via Viator online and decided on the early morning trip (6.40am collection from hotel). Oscar drove a comfortable Mercedes minibus holding about 20 and Franceso (Frank) was a a wonderful tour guide who gave a very informative one hour talk about the Mayans in both English and Spanish en route. At the site we have a guided tour from 9am for 90 minutes then had a further 90 minutes to explore on our own.

The benefit of this tour is the early start getting to see the Mayan sites before the big coach parties arrive and before the day heats up. Chichén Itzá is hot with very little shade. Light refreshments and cold water provided but do bring more water to drink.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Getting to Chichen Itza early is a MUST! We left at 12 noon and the lines were incredibly long. When you get there early you have the place all to yourself and our guide was more than knowledgeable and really knew his trade. They picked us up sharply at the pickup time and we were on our way over. Took about 2 hours to get there. This place is a must-visit if you go to Cancun, and the guys that take you from the tour company are the best!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was simply wonderful and we highly recommend this tour to get the most out of Chichen Itza. I can't imagine a better tour than this. A good price as well.

-The early departure meant we arrived at Chichen Itza before the crowd and the hottest time of the day and this also gave us a free afternoon in Cancun.
-Frank(guide) and Oscar(driver) were friendly and it was engaging but also relaxing to be on this tour.
-Frank gave a well outlined and comprehensive description of the Mayans and Chichen Itza. We feel like we know EVERYTHING about the topic now :)
-Our stay at Chichen Itza was 3 hours long: 1.5hrs guided and 1.5hrs free time. A perfect balance for us.
-The ride there and back was comfortable and fast.

We can't say enough about this tour. You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was the best tour during my Cancun vacation. Our tour guide Frank is very knowledgable and informative, and our drive Oscar is very nice as well. To go there early to avoid the heat and the crowd was an excellent choice. And we got back to our hotel at about 3pm, we could enjoy the rest our day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If visiting cancun I recommend this service. As soon as you arrive they are waiting for you outside the airport (they all have a uniform) and ready to take you to your hotel. And they will confirm your pick up with you on the day of your departure. No worries and no extra charges. Its just better and easy.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was the best tour ever! The Cenote and Mayan Ruins are amazing! Our tour guy was very knowledgeable and our bus ride to and from Chichen Itza was very comfortable being it's 2 1/2 hours from Cancun. I would definitely book another tour from Viator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This adventure is awesome!!! We really enjoyed the zip lining and the ATV circuits, we have done that twice, then the river rafting too.

Food are good and satisfying, beverages are great. Xplor staff are friendly and helpful. It just takes an hour and 10 minutes from our hotel in Cancun to the XPLOR park.

Enjoyed very much the whole days spent @ XPLOR...and might do it again next time.

Doing what: Xplor Adventure Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow! What a great experience. Freddy (archaeologist) and Oscar (driver) arrived at our hotel right on time...at 6:40 am. The tour bus was a new Mercedes Benz 15-18 passenger that was immaculate inside and out. During a warm greeting we learned that Freddy is not only an archaeologist but he is also a Mayan descendant! The first hour of our two hour drive along a very smooth highway most folks slept, while Freddy shared information in Spanish with a guest from Colombia. During the second hour he explained in English Mayan culture, number system, calendars, history, and his own personal Mayan roots, as well as an introduction to the site Chichen Itza.

We arrived about 9:00 am and were met by an empty parking lot! The temperature and humidity had not yet risen so it was quite pleasant. The ticketing and entry process was well organized and within a few minutes we were in front of the amazing pyramid with no people around...great for photographs. Freddy led us on an informative walk around the site giving detailed information about the royal and common people, religious festivals, sacrificial system, architecture, the Maya region, etc. He was very attentive to questions and has a great sense of humor! We finished up the formal tour about 11:15 and had one hour to visit other places on the site or shop. It was great that the vendors were just setting up on our arrival so we were not pestered by them during the tour. However by 11:15 they were ready for business. Not being much into shopping, my wife and I went back to the tourist center and enjoyed some great nachos and cold drinks. After leaving at 12:15 we had a quiet ride back to Cancun and were at our hotel by 2:30 with much time left in the day.

We highly recommend this tour for folks wanting to listen, learn, and appreciate the Mayan people and their amazing history and culture. We will be calling on Freddy and Oscar to take us to Tulum on our next trip to the Yucatan!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was so much fun! The waves were choppy but that made it fun and we had to speed to keep up which added to our excitement. Going through the jungle part of the lagoon was a bit disappointing because we only saw two birds but driving the speed boat made up for it. The snorkeling was fun as well and we had a very good tour guide. This is a must in Cancun!

Doing what: Jungle Speed Boat Tour from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!!!! Our guide was very well informed and really took a lot of time and care in our education , happiness, and safety. He showed a great amount of caution and reverence to our surrounding environment and to the underground river as well. Our accompanying group photographer was top notch providing us with pictures we were able to purchase that we will treasure forever. This is one of the five major excursions my new bride and I were able to enjoy while on our Honeymoon in Cancun and I were able to experience ...this being our favorite BY FAR!!

The trip was affordable, safe, and the large tour bus taking us to the perimeter of the site, had the most legroom of any of the tour buses we were on for the 10 days we were visiting.

Rio Secreto ROCKS!

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message