• USD ($)
  • English
Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip could not have been better. The crew was very accomodating and the food was excellent. The music was great too, we will do this again next time in Cancun.

Doing what: Lobster Dinner Cruise from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pegamos este tour com a operadora mexicana mexicantour,mas compramos pela internet no Brasil pela Viator.Quando cheguei no hotel em Cancun liguei para fazer a confirmação.Nos pegaram ho hotel pontualmente no horário marcado..Os guias Hugo e Gustavo,muito atenciosos e gentis,e dominavam muito bem o assunto.Passamos por um parque que fica o cenote,onde dá para nadar.Depois almiçamos muito bem com um show típico de dança.E chegando em Chichen Itza dividiram em 2 grupos,ingles e espanhol.O guia Gustavo nos explicou tudo muito bem,e tivemos um tempo livre.São 2:30 de ida mais 2:30 de volta ,é cansativo,mas vale muito a pena,afinal é uma das 7 maravilhas do mundo.Imperdível !!!! Adorei !!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour with a great guide. Lots of fun. Five star experience. A definite must if you're anywhere in the Cancun, Cozumel region.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highly enjoyed my one week in the Yucatan, especially after putting up with 3 months of one of the coldest and snowiest winters in a long time in Boston. My guide, Victor Gonzales was very knowledgeable about the sites that we saw and very attentive to my requests . He seemed to exhibit a real sense of pride in his part of the world and this made the experience all the more enjoyable. Having had an interest in the Mayan civilization for many years, I was very impressed with all the Mayan sites that we visited and learned a great deal on the tour. Besides the ruins we visited beautiful colonial towns, colorful market places, an incredible cave (Lol Tun) and saw some exotic animals on the boat ride on Rio Lagartos.
The two hotels I stayed in were both beautiful and well situated for visiting Chichen Itza and Uxmal. My only real complaint is that Internet and WiFi access was spotty at best.
We modified the itinerary a little and spent the last night in Chichen Itza instead of Uxmal and in retrospect this made a lot more sense since my guide told me that the ride from Uxmal to the Cancun airport would have been close to 4 hours and this would have been much too long on my last day of vacation.
Overall, a fantastic tour that I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Doing what: 8-Day Yucatan Peninsula: Small-Group Tour from Cancun Including Chichen Itza, Uxmal, Ek Balam and Tulum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Exactly one week ago, I had the most amazing experience visiting Tulum Ruins (half-day tour) with Viator. I was picked up in prompt fashion, a two hour drive from Club Med-Cancun to Tulum, and rode in a comfortable and air conditioned van. I was accompanied by 9 guests and our friendly and good driver, Francisco. After 45 minutes, we arrived to Playa del Carmen, where we picked up our fabulous tour guide, Patricia. She brought iced bottled waters and fresh bananas and large umbrellas for our tour. We had another 45 minute drive from Playa del Carmen to Cancun, and during that duration, Patricia was very engaging and shared with us her knowledge about Mayan culture and her passion for Tulum and the Yucatan. Once we arrived to Tulum, we entered through a less crowded area and we were handed the waters and umbrellas, a nice perk to walk amidst the sun! We made a stop first at the toilets since there are none inside the walled city. We then walked together and enjoyed the illuminating tour by Patricia, which lasted close to an hour. We witnessed the incredible constructions of the Mayas that are still holding today and in great shape, some from as early as 900bc, and set against a magnificent view of the ocean. There's a nice breeze and surrounded by tall tress for shading. We then had 50 more minutes to walk on our own, photograph the beautiful scenery and swim in the beach. We all met again and walked back to the toilets for our last stop and then we were given more bottled water and the best tasting bananas and some crackers too, which was very generous! This tour was very well timed. Do note, that it's close to 6 hrs duration since the van will pick up/drop off guests at their hotel resorts, so take that into consideration. Tulum is a must see! Nice meeting you all! and Thank you Patricia! :)

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Akumal Beach Snorkeling and Lunch from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome tour. We were picked up on time at the hotel in Cancun.7:00am, its a 2 hour drive to Chichen itza. Small group, 18 people. Our guide, Frank, was extremely knowledgeable about Mayan culture and history. Also made it fun and not boring with dry facts.
Bring water with you, it gets hottttt. Early access definitely worth it. By the time we were done around 12:30pm, the place was busy with other tours and it was getting hot. ( it was early March)
During the drive to Chichen Itza, Frank introduced us to Mayan way of life, so drive wasn't boring either. Once we got there, we spent onether 1,5 hours with him, then we had some free time to wonder around. There is a lot to see.
Great tour. Book it, you won't regret it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Sara
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a very interesting and enjoyable tour about the Mayans. Our guide, Frank, is from the area and was very knowledgeable about the Mayan history, the culture, and the people, as well as about the site of Chichen Itza. We had 1.5 hour with the guide and 1.5 hour on our own. Once on our own, the visit was less interesting since we didn't have the same kind of insight than when we were with the guide. Nonetheless, this excursion was very worthwhile. We liked it a lot and recommend it!
We went to Chichen Itza on an early Sunday morning, and were told that it is considered a "quiet" day compared to the rest of the week. We were able to take nice pictures, without too many people on site. Even for a "quiet" day, on our way out, around 11:30-12:00pm, there were buses and crowds arriving on the site.
Our driver, Oscar, brought us there in about 2 hours, including a stop for the restrooms. This was very good considering we were back to our hotel in Cancun around 2pm, and were able to grab lunch and enjoy the rest of the day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was the best part of my trip to Cancun BY FAR! The staff was GREAT! Everyone was so accommodating and organized and we felt very safe. Lunch was great and the dance party was even better! You must take this cruise! We had 17 girl bachelorette party and it was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was simply amazing! Our tour guide, Francisco, is a Mayan and an archeologist. His knowledge of the subject matter is vast and he has a talent and passion for communicating about it. We learned a great deal about the Mayan culture on our trip to the site and then he brought it all to life on site.

On the practical side, the easly access is a delight (no crowds) and the small tour provides a nice opportunity to communicate with the tour guide. I understand that some tours do not take the modern high-speed toll road from Cancun to Chichen Itza - this tour does and you save many hours of travel back and forth by doing so. In addition to the easy travel, the tour included snacks, water, and a light lunch. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Totally recommend this day trip! Fun way to experience the true local culture outside of the touristy Cancun hotel zone. Very informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Best of any Chichen Itza tours. Pick up exactly on time, great driver and a knowledgeable and friendly guide/archeologist. Best of all, as the description said, we arrived in Chichen Itza way before the thousands and thousands of other tourists, had time to visit the main buildings and get the historical perspective, and as the heat got worse we tracked back to the exit against the flow of taffic, arriving in Cancun still with plenty of time for the beach. Highly recommended, thank you Viator.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Like Susie, I believe, had the same tour guide - Francisco - for this. We went the last week in January. There was a little glitch up front in contacting the tour company. Didn't realize we needed to dial 044 before calling the driver's number the day before for pickup time. But got through that at our hotel. Pick up was punctual via a van with ten of us between 6 and 7 a.m. at different hotels. VW van was air conditioned and comfortable enough for the 2.5 hour drive.

It's difficult to have done this for any less by renting a car for my wife and myself. If you have a party of four or more, a car rental may be worth it. To make it in 2.5 hours, you drive from Cancun along the highway to a toll way that costs about $20 one direction to use to expedite your journey. Then you have park admission and a typical $75 guide fee. We did not get the discounted tour rate because the promo wasn't running, but even at $75/pp it is a veritable bargain.

When we started out, we were given a bottle of juice and a sandwich which wasn't much and didn't eat it. Bring food for the trip or eat breakfast before leaving. There also is food at the entrance to Chichen Itza. We stopped first at the tollway entrance for people to use the restroom and fairly close to Chichen Itza we were brought to a Mayan village sales shop with clean restrooms.

Not long after we began driving, our guide Francisco began telling us the history of the Mayan peoples and their cultures, as well as giving us a basic overview of Chichen Itza. When we arrived he toured us for 90 min. at the various buildings on the site, explaining the meaning of many symbols as well as how the Mayans had to clear 14,000 hectares to build just one pyramid there. Anyway, he gave all of us invaluable insight into this center of Mayan Civilization.

Then we had another hour and a half on our and at 1 and were on our way back to Cancun as crowds arrived. Phenomenal!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was very good. We were just a small group - only 8 people. No more pick ups on the way. It made our journey shorter in time. New minibus with air conditioning, a lunch box. We left from Cancun early in the morning. So we were first or almost first everywhere.A guide Francesco was very good

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The price is fair and the early departure time makes for a much less crowded visit to Chichen Itza. Small 12 passenger Mercedes van (there were 8 people on our tour). Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. We were back in Cancun by 3:00 PM. Excellent tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I spent 9 days in Mexico and went to Isla Mujeres, Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Cozumel.
In my entire travels, nothing was more exciting, fun and adventurous then the tour to Chichen Itza.
I learned far more about the Mayan culture while there than on any video, show or book.
By far, I highly recommend this tour to everyone.
The price was perfect because taxi cabs are super expensive all over this area and the drive is not close.
You get the transfers, the tour and lunch for an extremely reasonable price.
You also get the opportunity to pass by Mayan descendants reservations, experience Mayan culture and purchase many, many gifts and souvenirs at the absolute lowest prices in Mexico...

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message