Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Cancun Airport can be very hectic, but I will have to give a lot of credit to the company Viator uses --Best Day. They are very quick to find you and the van you will be transferred to your hotel in. It sometimes takes a little bit of time to get everyone rounded up, but they do a good job. Best Day also has a rep. in the hotel so you have an easy access to ask questions. I will travel using Viator because I like the choices they have made to represent their company.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Incredible!! I would recommend this to anyone wishing to enjoy a fun, authentic trip in cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was awesome! A guide was assigned to each group of no more than 10 people for the entire time. The guide we had was very attentive and humorous. He made sure we were safe while caring for the conservation of this unique ecological site...even sat with us at the complimentary lunch and chatted like a friend. The tour was well organized like no others, and although it's just a half day tour you will find it very relaxing, at the same time exciting. A must do in Cancun.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Ik Kil Cenote is a highlight, definitely the most beautiful of all the Cenotes we saw on our trip to Cancun. Chichen Itza is superb, a new wonder of the world. A must see.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Carlos was a truly excellent tour guide. On this trip to Cancun I did Chichen Itza, Xcaret and this tour and truly, climbing the pyramid at Coba and feeling like you were flying when you reached the top just taking in the soaring views of the Mayan Jungle was a highlight of my trip. Something I will never forget. Truly wonderful

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent tour, worth every penny. the tour guide made it so much interesting. 12hour journey all together.
stopped of at a sink hole, local restaurant and great tour around the site.
only one thing when downloading tickets need to specify a pick up point closer to time as we had to phone the company ourselves in cancun regarding pick up point.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a long day trip from Cancun but the experience is well worth it! Highly recommended! Our guides were Hugo and Angel and they were great! We had a guided tour of Chichen Itza that really highlighted the site. We enjoyed this tour very much!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is the tour you want to go on. The staff is knowledgeable, courteous, and funny. Had a great time at Chichen Itza. We would go again if ever in the Cancun area.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A bit of a journey from Cancun Hotels, but worth it - as the guide gave commentary along the way, and the sink hole / cenote was an amazing stop. Only small improvement , the guide said follow his umbrella to keep together - we all laughed till we saw the crowds. Was easy to get lost. But then the guide hardly put up the umbrella so hard to keep in the group. But overall, fully recommend this trip with this operator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Such an awesome way to start of a trip to cancun!! Our tour guide, Jorge was so nice, made sure we had drinks when we wanted, and made sure we were being treated well by those that we met! Got to meet some great people on the tour with us and alot of others from around the world. Would highly recommend opening up your cancun vacation with this tour!

Doing what: VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun

Leslie C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I loved the early access and the information and diagrams that our guide reviewed with us on the bus ride down from Cancun. This tour allowed for more time at the ruins and some free time to wander back around as you like, and take it all in. Our guide was very knowledgeable about these ruins and also others so she could compare and contrast, which was helpful if you plan to visit some other sites. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth the trip from Cancun! The guide was excellent and knowledgeable. The day was beautiful and because we arrived early, we were on the grounds with great access for photos before the large tour buses arrived. Our group was 11 people and the van that took us was comfortable and new. Very reasonable for what you get. The lunch was average but didnt go for that!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Freddie and Oscar made the round trip from Cancun to Chichen Itza very comfortable. Freddie presented the facts and the non-facts in a friendly and balanced way. He was great. And Oscar quietly got on with his job of getting us safely to and from on the long bus trip. The tour at the site was made easy by Freddie's info presentation on the bus on the way. We both enjoyed the day. Highly recommend this tour as being comfortable, clean and thoughtfully presented.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Freddi and Oscar are Amazing..What everyone says below is true.. 1. No crowd so pics are great, 2. No Hot Mid day Sun, 3. So much information and time on your own to see the site. Freddie the archeologist was so knowledgeable that despite being up all night the day before and having to head out at 5am without coffee I still wanted to listen to him speak about Mayan History, culture, and math which I realized later is v. imp to appreciate the main temple on the drive up to Chichen Itza. I was only in Cancun for 3.5 Days so it was imp for me to get back to my resort in the afternoon and not use up a whole Day to visit this site, this tour allowed that. We were back to our Hotel Zone resort by 2pm to enjoy lunch, sand, and surf. Not a big fan of the packed lunch they give you, first of all I dont eat pork so couldnt have the sandwich and it was a bag of chips and an apple and a bottle of water. So bring your own snacks if you are diabetic or if the above menu doesnt appeal. They do a packed lunch so we can get back to the hotel in time. The calendar is nice souvenir runs you about US. 2530 and helps support the archeological society and you order it when you arrive and pick up as you leave so saves time. There are tons of other vendors to buy Chachkies from but in the hour you have free you will probably want to explore the other part of the site which is what we did. The tour only walks around the central part of the site where El Castillo, Venus Platform, and Bail Court is. So the remainder time you have you have to pick ether seeing the Sacred Cenote on your own or the older site where you have El Caracol, The Nunnery etc or shopping/eating. Oh and I loved that it was a small group approx 9ppl in a small van not a huge Mega bus with 50 people. Over all I was 100 satisfied with the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I took the Viator tour to Chichén Itzá from Cancun during the last week of January 2015. The bus arrived at my hotel at 7:50 a.m. as promised. I think I was supposed to have confirmed my tour somehow a couple of days before to get my pick up time, but I didn’t know how. Instead I used the website Customer Care contact form and heard back very quickly with the pickup time.

So after getting everyone on board, the tour guide (Antonio, I believe) explained that we would be going to the cenote first. While at the cenote, the guide and driver leave to pick up the Chichén Itzá tickets.

The cenote we went to was Ik Kil. It is really lovely and the water is great. To get to the water, you have to walk down a lot of steps. There are lockers you can rent (30 pesos I believe) and a changing room. There is also a few places to buy gifts. People ask if you want to buy something but nobody is pushy.

Then off to the lunch place just down the road. It was a buffet and I really enjoyed the food. The grounds that the restaurant are on is very nice. Have some small bills on hand for tips to the servers.

Then off to Chichén Itzá. This was really fabulous. The tour guide (our tour was in Spanish and English) was very interesting and knowledgeable. His portion of the tour was about 1.5 hours and then you are free to walk about for another hour or so. There are many opportunities for photos and souvenir buying if that is your thing.

On the trip home, they drop off in the hotel zone in the same order they picked up. So if you were first on in the hotel zone, you will be first off.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message