Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 336 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

highly, highly, highly recommend this tour! At first we didnt know what we were getting ourselves into, but this experience ended up being the highlight of our trip. Learning to cook with Santiago in the quaint setting was a romantic and adventurous experience for my husband and I. The food was incredible and the experience was intimate and personal. It was so refreshing to get away from the hotel zone and truly experience the real flavor of Cancun. Go on this experience--you wont regret it!

Doing what: Cancun Food and Markets Tour Plus Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was extremely fun. Our guide, Marco Polo, was so nice and very, very well-read about the Mayans and Chichen Itza. He gave the tour in Spanish and English, so everyone could understand. The drive from Cancun to Chichen Itza is a bit long, and you will get extremely hungry before lunch, so bring snacks. I'd also bring a hat or umbrella for shade. Overall very fun and exciting--and the Ik Kil Cenote is amazing as well!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pretty great tour, avoid the heat and the crowds!

We were a little concerned when we first boarded the bus because the amount of people was over the 20 described but once we got to Chichen Itza it split into an English and Spanish group. Frank, our tour guide did a great job of showing us around explaining the history and meaning of the buildings as well as revealing some of the cool unique quirks the Mayans built into their temples and courts.

At the end of the guided tour you have a bit of time to explore more on your own or shop for souvenirs. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone going to the Cancun area who wants an informed and hassle free tour of the famous Mayan city.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a beautiful experience for our family of six including four teenaged boys. The trip from start to finish was highly organized and efficient. We were picked up promptly at our hotel in the morning. Travel to Xel-Ha was easy with a brief video on the bus trip about 90 minutes from the Hotel Zone in Cancun to inform what the park offered. The park was absolutely beautiful - very natural but well organized so we could find our way around. Aquatic sealife was everywhere - you could see gorgeous tropical fish as you crossed bridges to get to the different portions of the park. The park was well marked with different colored trails to identify where different activities were. We purchased the all inclusive package which included breakfast, lunch, and snacks and drinks of course. The food was absolutely delicious and well beyond our initial expectations. The service was terrific. The best part of course was the snorkeling. We took the Stingray SeaTrek tour, and it was great. I was able to wear my glasses, and we were able to touch several stingrays that swam into the area. There were divers with our group who helped direct us into the water, through the walk, and back out again. Truly something I never thought I'd try but it was a great memory for all of us and we felt more comfortable snorkeling later in the day as stingrays came through the area we were swimming in. We also did the zipline bike tour which was fun. We probably would have been happier just doing the stingray tour and snorkeling the rest of the day as having a schedule of activities kind of broke up the relaxing rhythm of the day. My suggestion would be either to just snorkel as there are a TON of places to do that and see many types of fish OR pick one tour and get that done as early as you can to allow yourself more time to relax. We also bought waterproof cameras and reef proof sunscreen on Amazon.com before we came and saved that way. Highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Best Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I definitely recommend this tour. It was an awesome experience. Carlos Moo tour guide and Javier Driver were excellent. Carlos had so much acknowledge friendly and funny. My husband and myself went for our anniversary and this was the best part from our visit to Cancun. They pick up us at the main lobby from the hotel at 7:30am and we came back around 7:30pm its a all day trip but it was totally worth it. I highly recommend it. I good part about this package is that they provide a lunch buffet style with different kind of food, pasta, rice, chicken, pork, fruit, vegetables, beans, dessert pretty much a huge variety to pick. This is my second time on Cancun, first time we didn't go to Chichen Itza but if i have the chance to go again i will definetely will take this tour again. If you thinking to do it. Just do it. You are no going to regret it. Bring comfortable shoes, sun block, sombrero and glasses. By the way, good place to buy affordable souvenirs cheaper than Cancun. And most of them are handmade. I compare the prices of the kitchen magnets with Chichen Itza and Cancun and the prices are lower in Chicken Itza. My husband bought a cool sombrero for only 5.00 and in Cancun they were asking for 13.00.
Have fun and hopefully you have the good luck to get the same tour guide. Carlos Moo.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was a blast!! The boats went really fast and the scenery was beautiful! Lots of fun for the price!! They were also very reasonable with the price for the photos they took. If I go back to Cancun, I will do this again!! Wish I was there right now on that boat!!

Doing what: Jungle Speed Boat Tour from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Tour guides were excellent. They were kind and very knowledgeable. Food was good for a person who has some restrictions. I loved the cenote. When you visit Cancun, it is must tour activity

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We visited Cancun for our honeymoon and my partner list Chichen Itza as a must see place. We participated in the small group day tour and enjoyed it thoroughly.
The ruins are pretty well preserved and It was an eye opening experience how all those wonderful architectural structures were built centuries ago and the magnificent scale of each of them.
Our tour guide Faustino did an excellent job in explaining the history and the cultural aspect, and demonstrating the acoustic aspect of some of the ruins. The our also include a lunch buffet at the Mayaland Resort which has good food and include the usage of its pool to relax which is nice because it was VERY VERY hot and humid there before the 2 hours trip back to Cancun.
One annoying fact besides the HUGE swath of tourists are the vendors that would just approach you pitching the items and some of them have those wild-animal-sound-making thing that they are trying to sell and they constantly demonstrating it, which is super annoying....

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing does not begin to describe!!!!! My Boyfriend and I decided to do this excursion last minute and luckily got a spot. This was my first time on a zipline, my boyfriends third. I was really nervous but the staff was AMAZING and hilarious!!!! By the third zipline i was not nervous at all. The view was beautiful! We both ziplined upside down which was awesome! The ATV option was not so amazing but it was fun i ended uo with a lot of dust in my eyes! The Cenote was the most beautiful thing i saw in Cancun and was a much needed cool off after the day. I recommend this excursion 100!!!! Chuy and the staff at Selvatica are so much fun i will definetly be going back my next trip to do the extreme canopy!

Doing what: Cancun Zipline, ATV and Cenote Swim Adventure at Selvatica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour pickup in Cancun was 4:30AM. That was the only bad part. Our guide, Frank, was a fountain of information. Perhaps a little fast for some, but for us it showed his enthusiasm for sharing the history. He even continued his tour during our free time for those who were interested.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely an amazing experience! My kids had an awesome time. The Cenote was a great part of the adventure as well. Very close to Playa del Carmen and Cancun.

Doing what: Turtle Snorkeling Adventure from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I recommend this service 100, very polite and helpful at your arrive to cancun.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Came back from Cancun in mid Jun. I was very glad I chose this tour. It was so worth woke up so early to go to the Chichen Itza because after around 10am...the site is sooooo hot. Also there is no body around the site that early. We got a perfect pictures. Our tour guide Freddie and driver Oscar is very nice and experience. Freddie is very funny and informative for the history of Chichen Itza. He has the best tour guide I ever met. I am sure he told the Chichen Itza history everyday but you can tell he still full of passion for his job. Highly recommended!!!
tips : buy souvenir in Chichen Itza, you won't see them anywhere else in Cancun. Remember to bargain!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite having to get up at 4am for a 4.30 am pick up, the tour was worth it! As we were leaving, there were a lot of buses arriving and were finished by 11.30.
The tour started around 8.30 am when we arrived at Chichen Itza and you are guided for 1.5 hours and the other 1.5 hours you are left to wander around yourselves.
Our tour guides Freddie, Francisco and the driver Oscar were fantastic. They were friendly, courteous and provided us with in depth knowledge about the Mayan ruins and the history of the Mayan people with a touch of humour which made the tour much more fun. Other tour guides will recommend buying things from the grounds but these guys were honest and only recommended a stall which was 100 hand made and worth the money you pay.
I would like to thank Freddie, Francisco and Oscar for a wonderful tour and recommend anyone visiting Cancun who would like to go on a tour of Chichen Itza to go with the local tour operator and go with Freddie, Francisco and Oscar.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience. The bus was comfortable and our tour director was very good at explaining the history and importance of the ancient Maya in a way that was informative yet fun. The brief visit to the cenote was a welcome chance to cool off from the heat of the day and the area around it was beautiful. Lunch was basic but tasty. Be sure to bring plenty of pesos or US to tip the dancers and staff at the restaurant. I wish we could of lingered longer at Chichen Itza but we still had plenty of time to view most of the site before having to return to the bus for the long drive back to Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of the best experiences in Cancun. Felipe the pick up driver was right on time and very nice! Alexis was at the Selvatica entrance to welcome us! After registering, getting our lockers 10 refundableand using the toiletsrecommended by Alexis Alexis and Fernando demonstrated how to properly and safely use the zip line. They were funny and very professionals. They were always with us and made us feel very safe. the 50 min. swim in the cenote after the zipline was amazing and so welcome after the heat in the jungle! Back in Selvatica we were served lunch chiken, rice, refried beans and tortilhas with iced tea or water by Alexis and Fernando too! A special thanks to Alexis and Fernando for making this experience even more enjoyable!

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went to Cancun mostly to see the Chichen Itza and it was worth it! I highly recommend that you take the early access tour! We arrived there around 8 a.m. and there was already 1 bus there. You can take pictures without any strangers in it! I liked learning how the Mayans thought and did things, the history is pretty interesting! Our tour guide was Freddie! Our driver was Oscar and he was so nice and acommodating! By the time we left there were over 30 buses and hundreds of cars. The place was packed and there is no way I would have got pictures of the Temple alone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip, great guides! Would definitely recommend it too everyone travelling to Cancun

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Zipline and Off-Road Buggy Adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was my second time using Best Day for round trip transfer to the airport. They are very well organized and prompt. Our drivers, Luis Albor Rodriguez and Pepe , were very friendly and had great communication skills! I would definitely use their services again for my next trip to Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

Raj
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour.A must see when you are in cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our pick-up from Cancun airport was extremely smooth. We found the operator easily and we only had to wait a few short moments for the drivers to come and help us with our luggage into the van and drive us to our destination. Our destination was 1 hour outside of Cancun the drivers were very friendly and helpful and got us to our destination safely and comfortably. Our pick-up from our hotel was just as smooth. The driver came into the hotel to help us with our luggage and got us into the van. The driver spoke English and was very friendly asking how our holiday had been and what we enjoyed. The drive back to Cancun airport was very smooth and safe. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone traveling to Cancun and surrounding areas.

Doing what: Private Cancun Roundtrip Airport Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tulum and Xel -Ha all inclusive trip was one of the best excursions if you are staying in Cancun, Riviera Maya or Playa Del Carmen. You cant beat that it all inclusive and round trip transportation from your hotel is included. Tulum was our first stop and it was impressive to see how well preserved the Mayan ruins have been kept. Our tour guide David was very knowledgeable on the Mayan People and how they lived. He even quizzed out group on certain aspects of history. I do recommend taking bug spray, sunsceen and an umbrella because there is very little shade and a lot of walking. David did provide us with water at the beginning of our tour. Of course people are selling all of these items once you get there for a nice price but you will need the bug spray. After Tulum, our next stop was to Xel- Ha. This was truly a lot of fun in the sun. The staff, food and drinks were awesome. Lockers, towels and snorkel gear was all included. Snorkeling was so much fun and just floating in the river was really relaxing. We hopped on the bikes feeling like a kid again and met Deer on the trail. That was an eye opener. It was really breathtaking to see some people swim with the dolphins and with the stingrays. The tour through the cenote was adventurous. If this is your first time visiting I do recommend both trips to get the experience and history of the Mayans. If you just want the fun and adventure, then just book the all inclusive Xel-Ha trip. You will not regret the fun and food that you will have while there.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Experience was great!! Tour guides were awesome!!! Had a great time!! I recommend this tour to all go to Cancun for the first time.

Doing what: VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful time - very friendly staff takes you on an incredible tour of underground flooded caves. All of the equipment was in fine shape, all sizes were available and great care has been taken to keep the caves free of damage from the tours. One tip, be sure to take along the walking stick! A must do for all vacationers in Cancun.

Doing what: Best Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was well worth the early start from Cancun to be one of first groups at the site. Freddy the guide/archaeologist and Oscar the driver were both great. Chichen Itza is truly spectacular but the visit was made even more impressive by Freddy's expert knowlegde and commentary. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message