Think that you’ve seen it all in Cancun? Think again. Though this glittering jewel of a resort town does seem to have everything a tourist could want – white sand beaches, palm trees, night clubs, and underwater activities, there’s a whole lot more ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 288 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was awesome, exciting adrenaline pumping 12 obstacle course- my girlfriends and I had the time of our lives. Pick up was on time as scheduled from hotel. Van driver was courteous and friendly. Upon arriving at the park we were greeted by the staff and directed to the registration counter. Took pictures with two gorgeous birds and sat down for a quick safety briefings and we were on our way to the zipline course.  Did I forget to mention this was my first time zipline, had no clue what to expect so I was scared. When I got up to the first course I said no way poppi  after looking down and saw how high up I was. The tour guides  managed to calm my nerves by reassuring me everything  was going to be ok...I took the leap of faith with screams on top of my lungs that could be heard echoing  throughout the jungle...lol and the rest was history. The tour guides were amazing, they kept me laughing each step of the way - made me forget I was hundreds of feet above ground and no longer scared of heights.  Any course that was too much for me to handle one of the tour guides rode with me. ZIPLINE was the highlight of my trip to Cancun thanks Viator for putting together an awesome tour- would do it all over again in a heart beat - keep calm and Zipline.

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Absolutely amazing trip!! The facility is beautiful and the staff is so helpful and nice!! We did 14 zip lines and a Cenote swim! I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Cancun area. We will definitely be visiting again!

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I would highly recommend this tour. The Early Access option will have you arriving at Chichen Itza just as it opens, thus avoiding crowds and intense sun. Amigo Tours was very helpful and efficient, and our guides and bus driver Frank, Freddy and Oscar, were very accomodating and informative. We were picked up at our Cancun hotel at 5:45 AM at the exact time we were informed, and returned at 2:30. The bus ride is long 2 hours each way, and Amigo provides a ham sandwich lunch and water on the return trip. Frank gave us a nice introduction to the site during the bus ride, and then accompanied us for a one and half hour tour of the site. This was a very pleasant and informative trip. You might consider bringing an umbrella to provide some shade. Even in the morning, the sun it pretty intense.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great way to travel to and from Cancun to Playa del Carmen. 1st calls, very prompt and on time. Great value. No worry about having to book once in Mexico. Really a great way to travel.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My mom and I met for vacation in Playa del Carmen and used Best Day through Viator as our shuttle to and from the Cancun airport and our resort. Drivers were very kind and professional, as well as on time when picking us up for our outbound flights out of Cancun my shuttle arrived promptly at 3:40am! I would definitely recommend their services!

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent time! We snorkeled and went to Isla. The boat is spacious, no crowding. The food was very good and the entertainment was perfect! I recommended this tour for friends that were going to Cancun in April. They were on time, the boat was clean, the employees were friendly and helpful and made sure you were enjoying your time with them. I will go back and do this again next year. Using Viator was easy as well. We just went to the dock and the window was there as well as employees walking around making sure you find your excursion. Well done.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is a must see while in the Cancun area ..boat ride was picturess ...snorkeling was fantastic...lunch was excellent. ..island was spectacular. ..crew was perfect

Doing what: Isla Contoy Day Trip: Snorkeling at Ixlache Reef and Eco-Paradise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome tour, the people were great and outstanding experience! My kids thought this was the best adventure in Cancun!

Doing what: Cancun Extreme Zipline Canopy Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a long tour but was worth it. Not much choice for vegetarians in the buffet. Prepare to take some snacks from your all-inclusive hotels in Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Cancun Airport can be very hectic, but I will have to give a lot of credit to the company Viator uses --Best Day. They are very quick to find you and the van you will be transferred to your hotel in. It sometimes takes a little bit of time to get everyone rounded up, but they do a good job. Best Day also has a rep. in the hotel so you have an easy access to ask questions. I will travel using Viator because I like the choices they have made to represent their company.

Doing what: Cancun Airport Roundtrip Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Incredible!! I would recommend this to anyone wishing to enjoy a fun, authentic trip in cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was awesome! A guide was assigned to each group of no more than 10 people for the entire time. The guide we had was very attentive and humorous. He made sure we were safe while caring for the conservation of this unique ecological site...even sat with us at the complimentary lunch and chatted like a friend. The tour was well organized like no others, and although it's just a half day tour you will find it very relaxing, at the same time exciting. A must do in Cancun.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Ik Kil Cenote is a highlight, definitely the most beautiful of all the Cenotes we saw on our trip to Cancun. Chichen Itza is superb, a new wonder of the world. A must see.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent tour, worth every penny. the tour guide made it so much interesting. 12hour journey all together.
stopped of at a sink hole, local restaurant and great tour around the site.
only one thing when downloading tickets need to specify a pick up point closer to time as we had to phone the company ourselves in cancun regarding pick up point.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a long day trip from Cancun but the experience is well worth it! Highly recommended! Our guides were Hugo and Angel and they were great! We had a guided tour of Chichen Itza that really highlighted the site. We enjoyed this tour very much!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is the tour you want to go on. The staff is knowledgeable, courteous, and funny. Had a great time at Chichen Itza. We would go again if ever in the Cancun area.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A bit of a journey from Cancun Hotels, but worth it - as the guide gave commentary along the way, and the sink hole / cenote was an amazing stop. Only small improvement , the guide said follow his umbrella to keep together - we all laughed till we saw the crowds. Was easy to get lost. But then the guide hardly put up the umbrella so hard to keep in the group. But overall, fully recommend this trip with this operator.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Such an awesome way to start of a trip to cancun!! Our tour guide, Jorge was so nice, made sure we had drinks when we wanted, and made sure we were being treated well by those that we met! Got to meet some great people on the tour with us and alot of others from around the world. Would highly recommend opening up your cancun vacation with this tour!

Doing what: VIP Nightclub Tour in Cancun

Leslie C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I loved the early access and the information and diagrams that our guide reviewed with us on the bus ride down from Cancun. This tour allowed for more time at the ruins and some free time to wander back around as you like, and take it all in. Our guide was very knowledgeable about these ruins and also others so she could compare and contrast, which was helpful if you plan to visit some other sites. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth the trip from Cancun! The guide was excellent and knowledgeable. The day was beautiful and because we arrived early, we were on the grounds with great access for photos before the large tour buses arrived. Our group was 11 people and the van that took us was comfortable and new. Very reasonable for what you get. The lunch was average but didnt go for that!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Freddie and Oscar made the round trip from Cancun to Chichen Itza very comfortable. Freddie presented the facts and the non-facts in a friendly and balanced way. He was great. And Oscar quietly got on with his job of getting us safely to and from on the long bus trip. The tour at the site was made easy by Freddie's info presentation on the bus on the way. We both enjoyed the day. Highly recommend this tour as being comfortable, clean and thoughtfully presented.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Freddi and Oscar are Amazing..What everyone says below is true.. 1. No crowd so pics are great, 2. No Hot Mid day Sun, 3. So much information and time on your own to see the site. Freddie the archeologist was so knowledgeable that despite being up all night the day before and having to head out at 5am without coffee I still wanted to listen to him speak about Mayan History, culture, and math which I realized later is v. imp to appreciate the main temple on the drive up to Chichen Itza. I was only in Cancun for 3.5 Days so it was imp for me to get back to my resort in the afternoon and not use up a whole Day to visit this site, this tour allowed that. We were back to our Hotel Zone resort by 2pm to enjoy lunch, sand, and surf. Not a big fan of the packed lunch they give you, first of all I dont eat pork so couldnt have the sandwich and it was a bag of chips and an apple and a bottle of water. So bring your own snacks if you are diabetic or if the above menu doesnt appeal. They do a packed lunch so we can get back to the hotel in time. The calendar is nice souvenir runs you about US. 2530 and helps support the archeological society and you order it when you arrive and pick up as you leave so saves time. There are tons of other vendors to buy Chachkies from but in the hour you have free you will probably want to explore the other part of the site which is what we did. The tour only walks around the central part of the site where El Castillo, Venus Platform, and Bail Court is. So the remainder time you have you have to pick ether seeing the Sacred Cenote on your own or the older site where you have El Caracol, The Nunnery etc or shopping/eating. Oh and I loved that it was a small group approx 9ppl in a small van not a huge Mega bus with 50 people. Over all I was 100 satisfied with the tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I took the Viator tour to Chichén Itzá from Cancun during the last week of January 2015. The bus arrived at my hotel at 7:50 a.m. as promised. I think I was supposed to have confirmed my tour somehow a couple of days before to get my pick up time, but I didn’t know how. Instead I used the website Customer Care contact form and heard back very quickly with the pickup time.

So after getting everyone on board, the tour guide (Antonio, I believe) explained that we would be going to the cenote first. While at the cenote, the guide and driver leave to pick up the Chichén Itzá tickets.

The cenote we went to was Ik Kil. It is really lovely and the water is great. To get to the water, you have to walk down a lot of steps. There are lockers you can rent (30 pesos I believe) and a changing room. There is also a few places to buy gifts. People ask if you want to buy something but nobody is pushy.

Then off to the lunch place just down the road. It was a buffet and I really enjoyed the food. The grounds that the restaurant are on is very nice. Have some small bills on hand for tips to the servers.

Then off to Chichén Itzá. This was really fabulous. The tour guide (our tour was in Spanish and English) was very interesting and knowledgeable. His portion of the tour was about 1.5 hours and then you are free to walk about for another hour or so. There are many opportunities for photos and souvenir buying if that is your thing.

On the trip home, they drop off in the hotel zone in the same order they picked up. So if you were first on in the hotel zone, you will be first off.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

2 adults and one child 10. Last hotel to be picked up by bus at our hotel on the north end of Cancuns Hotel Zone at 8:00 am. Met up with 2 other vans from Playa del Carmen and they joined the bus before we hit the toll road. Hugo was able to orient us in English and also in Spanish/Portuguese for the guests from Brazil. Stop at Ik Kil Cenote. I really didnt know what this would entail, but it was an unexpected surprise. Bring your swim suit and towel. Even if you dont swim, its fun to look at and walk around. Hugo was really talking up the Mayan necklaces and honey liquor that were sold there but I wasnt impressed.

On to lunch at a buffet style restaurant. Food its okay is included but not drinks. You are not allowed to bring in your own drinks or water. Only cash and they will take USD but better deal if you use pesos. Staff and dancers put out baskets for tips.

On to Chichen Itza. Group split into english speaking and Spanish/Portuguese speaking. We spent at least 2 hours and Hugo gave us great tour. Very informative. Its an amazing site. We were given time after to explore and look at the vast amount of vendors that are selling their wares not authentic according to Hugo. Dropped off at our hotel around 8:00 pm. Long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My husband and I were picked up promptly by our tour guide, Delio, and our driver, Enrique, at our hotel. We were immediately greeted and offered cold drinks. There was one other guest on our tour so we each had plenty of space in the nice, clean, air-conditioned van. Delio and Enrique were both very friendly. Delio was very knowledgable about the Mayans and spoke very good English.

We arrived at Mayaland for lunch after our near 2.5hr van ride from Cancun. We each had our option of appetizer and entrée and drink. My mayan sampler plate was not to my taste, but the lime soup was reported to be good. The margaritas were also good. Delio guided us to the historical sites and educated us on the significance of the symbols and sites. It was quite warm and be sure to wear comfy walking shoes. After our brief walkabout tour, we headed back to Mayaland for an educational video in the Mayaland observatory dome. It was quite good and explained the belief system of the Mayans and their complex numerical and astrological systems.

Afterwards, tapas and refreshments were offered while we enjoyed the sunset and view of the archeological observatory on the terrace at Mayaland.

We then traveled to the Light and Sound Show at the biggest pyramid at Chichen Itza. We had 15 minutes or so before the "gates" opened, so we shopped around some of the tables outside the doors. This wound up to be some of the best priced souvenirs on our whole trip (including Isla Mujeres and Cancun). I got a lovely 0.925 silver bracelet for approximately $16 after a little haggling. In the centro market in Cancun, a very similar bracelet was priced $70! They also had obsidian carvings WAAY cheaper than the little souvenir shop in Mayland itself.

The light and sound show was AMAZING! It's all in Spanish, but I think they are working on getting English headsets... Even so, well worth it! The images projected onto the big temple were so sharp and beautiful. MUST SEE!

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Complete Chichen Itza Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message