Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1087 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Archeologist was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was definitely smart to go in the morning. We were so happy to have the place pretty much to ourselves. We had a decent sized group so we were able to take pictures and see quite a bit with little or no interruption. It was pretty humid toward the end of the tour. All in all the long drive from the hotel to the site was worth it. We learned so much about the Mayan and the ruins on the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was ver knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guy Αntonio was amazing!!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was simply wonderful and we highly recommend this tour to get the most out of Chichen Itza. I can't imagine a better tour than this. A good price as well.

-The early departure meant we arrived at Chichen Itza before the crowd and the hottest time of the day and this also gave us a free afternoon in Cancun.
-Frank(guide) and Oscar(driver) were friendly and it was engaging but also relaxing to be on this tour.
-Frank gave a well outlined and comprehensive description of the Mayans and Chichen Itza. We feel like we know EVERYTHING about the topic now :)
-Our stay at Chichen Itza was 3 hours long: 1.5hrs guided and 1.5hrs free time. A perfect balance for us.
-The ride there and back was comfortable and fast.

We can't say enough about this tour. You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was the best tour during my Cancun vacation. Our tour guide Frank is very knowledgable and informative, and our drive Oscar is very nice as well. To go there early to avoid the heat and the crowd was an excellent choice. And we got back to our hotel at about 3pm, we could enjoy the rest our day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The early access was great. It's summer. It's Mexico. It's hot. We got there before it was crowded or too hot. The guide was really knowledgeable about the history of the Mayans and the area.
Very comfortable ride and great time. Recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Freddy was awesome! My husband and I were the only ones on the tour that day so it was extra personalized. Freddy was extremely knowledgable and we definitely learned so much. Tulum gets hot so I'm glad we left early.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with guide Freddy and driver Saul. We were given background information and some basic education on the Mayan number system and meaning of some of the most common glyphs. We had a small group - a total of 5 - 2 couples and myself, plus Freddy's son came along who ended up being a "volunteer" in some of Freddy's demonstrations! Arrived before the bulk of the crowds. Very nice to be able to wander around a bit on our own after the first part of the tour. I would recommend this approach to visiting the ruins. Very personal and direct attention to everyone's questions and always nice to meet new people! Go!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Getting to Chichen Itza early is a MUST! We left at 12 noon and the lines were incredibly long. When you get there early you have the place all to yourself and our guide was more than knowledgeable and really knew his trade. They picked us up sharply at the pickup time and we were on our way over. Took about 2 hours to get there. This place is a must-visit if you go to Cancun, and the guys that take you from the tour company are the best!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome cultural experience of the Mayan people. The tour was very private with only 8 in our tour. Very informative and professional. Love the information given and shared with us. Learned so much and more understanding of the MAN MADE MOUNTAIN NOT PYRAMID as I thought it was. Definitely fun for those who are into the cultural background and even history. Great Team!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Frank and Oscar was our tour guide and driver. They promptly pick us up on time and we got a good jump start on our drive to Chichen Itza. Frank did a awesome job showing us around the Maya Ruins and giving us valuable information about the site. We spent about a 1:45 minutes with our guide and another 1:45 on our own to see more of the site. This site is a awesome place to visit and just hear the information about the Mayan people. We got some great pictures while there and was surprised at the amount of venders that come in there to sell their wares. If you want a great tour that will get you there early with great information, this is the one. Although you get a box lunch (nothing but a sandwich, juice box and small snack) I would suggest you bring some additional food with you to tide you over.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was Fun as well as informative. The Tour guide was funny and knowledgeable. Will recommend doing this tour.
Transportation was quite confusing at first but once we met the Tour Bus it was ok. We waited in our van for 30 mins for the Tour bus.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour but very hot. Hugo was great

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message