Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Frank was extremely knowledgable and Oscar very considerate. They make the tour! Definitely recommend going to Chichen Itza only with them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent experience! The 6:15 tour is really recommended as we got great pictures and were back in Cancun for the afternoon. Saul ans Freddie were great and realt enjoyed the trip thanks to them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Saw the ruins on 8/25/14. Freddie and Saul were terrific and they did a great job getting us there early before the crowds They gave us ample time to take pictures and swim in the beautiful ocean and provided a light lunch afterwards. I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I went with 4 other friends. We loved our tour and tour guide. The day was well planned with activities and delicious food. The tour was bilingual, and everyone enjoyed the trip as much as we did. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a terrific day with Freddy, our tour guide, and Oscar, our driver. Chichen Itza is a must-see destination if you are in Cancun, and the experience did not disappoint. Freddy provided a wonderful overview of Mayan culture and is incredibly knowledgeable- as a Mayan and native of the Yucatan Peninsula, he had a terrific connection to the information that made it more personal for us. Another perk to this tour is that you really do beat the crowds- although there weren't a lot of people there while we visited, there were easily three or four times the number of people when our tour finished at 12:30 than when we started at 9:30. We got some incredible photos that would not have been possible later in the day. Also, though it goes without saying, it was much hotter at noon- so a morning visit is absolutely recommended and is worth the early start time. Also, this tour takes a toll road that is shorter and smoother than the longer routes other companies choose, so even though it's a long way from the beach we were still back mid-afternoon with plenty of hours left for laying by the pool.

My only frustration was not due to Freddy or the tour itself, but our fellow tourists- the tour starts early, and two separate groups of passengers made us wait for 15 minutes each while they finished getting ready. I think Freddy and Oscar were generous to wait for them, but if mornings aren't your thing, don't choose this tour and inconvenience other passengers. It's too good an experience to force everyone else to have a delayed start and that many more people at the site before you get there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tulum was a big surprise for us; we decided to visit after a strong recommendation from a friend, and we loved every second of the trip. Our tour guide Freddy and our driver Oscar picked us up right on time (a few minutes early in fact!), and we had a fantastic 1.5 hour tour of the site. Tulum is picturesque and an interesting contrast to Chichen Itza, so consider both trips and don't pass this one up in favor of the more popular ruins. Freddy provides a great deal of information, both from a historical perspective and from a personal one as a Mayan himself. He also prides himself on providing only the facts; he even carries a history book with him in case someone asks a question and he needs to look up an answer. His dedication to demystifying Mayan culture and history and making it accessible to us really made the trip for us.

Beating the crowds was a huge highlight for us (the ticket line was very lengthy when we were leaving- and it was much, much hotter!). We had 1.5 hours to tour on our own, which we used to check out some ruins in-depth and to watch the numerous iguanas running throughout the complex. The drive from Cancun isn't too long (not even two hours- and Oscar is a great driver!), and we were back by 1:30 PM. Take some water with you- they don't sell it after you get your ticket- and don't miss this experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide Hugo was very knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the whole tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our experience was fantastic. Freddy Hoit and Saul took us to Chichen Itza. It was a treat from the beginning. We were supposed to meet them at the airport since our hotel was far away and they called and said they would pick us up! Then, Freddy is a Mayan descendant and he knows so much about them. He shared his heritage and knowledge with us. Then we felt very special once on site since we arrived much earlier than most people. We got the Mayan calendar for our birthdays and he even taught us the number system Mayans had. We definitely recommend the local tour operators and next time we get in Mexico we will reach out to them for our local tours. Thanks Freddy and Saul. From Kobus and Claudia :)

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wowzers! We had such an incredible time on our trip to Chichen Itza and learned so much about the Mayans from our tour guide Carlos! He was incredibly knowledgeable and clearly passionate about what he was sharing which brought so much of the history to life.

We would say though that the Viator description is slightly misleading. The cooking class involves cooking pre-prepared food, and the relaxation at the Mayaland resort involves eating and walking amongst the gardens on your way to different elements of the tour, but no use of the pool facilities. This wasn't a problem though as so much of your time is spent experiencing different elements of Mayan culture and of course going to the sight of Chichen Itza with our incredibly knowledgeable tour guide, Carlos, who could answer any questions you had about the sight and the Mayans.

We would highly recommend this tour as it was a huge highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Experience Mayan Culture: Chichen Itza, Cooking Class and Maya Traditions

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great. You get there early for the best pictures and beat the crowd and vendors. Freddy was a great guide and the facts he told was fascinating. The bus ride was informative and the they picked up on time. They were nice and we loved the place.

The early access was worth it. Tip well

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an incredible day trip. It was certainly worth the very early start to miss the later day crowds.
Our guide, Freddy, was amazing. He was exceptionally knowledgeable, quick to respond, and accommodating. Our driver, Saul, was great. Made the trip out and back quick and relaxing.
Absolutely would recommend this excursion to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was everything and more. I've been waiting for years to see Chichen Itza. I was definitely not disappointed. Thank you, thank you!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message