Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2344 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

halladaymary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was a great guide with all the information and even Mayan words. Would highly recommend it to get there early and be able to see it. Jacinto was a great driver

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ricardo was our tour guide. He was amazing! He was clear and informative. The driver was great too. And the assistant. We stopped in a Mayan city and met very nice people and got astrology charts. We toured through Chichen Itza and then we also went to a cenote and ate lunch. This was such an amazing trip. Thank you!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

sdl80

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

it was truly a wonderful trip,my wife and I felt we were literally in PARADISE!!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Tom's Vacation ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We are still talking about our trip to Chichen Itza. At 60, this was the perfect tour length for us. We were picked up at our hotel at 5:30 a.m. and rode the 2 plus hour trip in an air conditioned bus. We were given a lunch, that was mediocre, but enough to keep us going for the day. Since we had early access to the park we were able to beat the crowds that were lined up as we were leaving. The tour was about an hour and a half with an hour of free time afterwards to shop the vendors or visit other areas of the grounds. Our tour guide, Frank, was amazing. As a Mayan descendant, his passion for his people, his heritage and the history of the Mayans was evident. We learned a lot and came away with a new appreciation for this brilliant people and what they accomplished. He was able to tell us a lot of background of the buildings, the symbolism, the architectural phenomenons and what brought it to an end. It truly is difficult to wrap your mind around. This was a 100 degree day, but we were in and out before the peak of the day and back to our hotel by four to enjoy a relaxing evening. We would highly recommend this tour. Even if you are not a fan of history you will come away with a new understanding, respect and appreciation for these people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful place to see with some great ocean views!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic, very informative tour.
Frank, our tour guide had great knowledge and was able to comprehensively answer all of our questions. Our coach driver, Jacinto was friendly and an extremely safe driver.
I would definitely recommend this tour, which was operated through A Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot stress enough how helpful and informative our guide was, Carlos Moo is an embassador for the Mayan people and was basically like a Mexican Father while we were on the tour, we were lucky enough to get him on our Cancun Tulum and Coba tour so we already had met and that made the day much better as we walked around Chichen Itza. Carlos you are a legend!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the first tours we did when getting to Cancun. We met a lovely guide, named Carlos Moo, who was basically an encyclopedia on everything Mayan. He showed us different buildings, explained what was what and made the whole trip a lot more entertaining. Would love to get him as a guide on our next trips :D

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Debra I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was great. Take a blanket or shawl for morning ride. Youll want to sleep. Very good value and the early morning allows to see the ruins without crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We would highly recommend. Tour guide Freddie and driver Ramon were excellent. Freddie was knowledgeable and took extra time to explain the significance of the different parts of the site. Going early was a plus with smaller crowds and cooler weather.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

srupab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome tour and I recommend it highly.
I did not know how much to expect of it when I booked on Viator, but the reviews seemed good so I went for it. Travelling with a young child and elderly parents, I was worried. But starting with the pre-tour notifications from Amigo Tours, a prompt pickup at 5:00 am as was promised, to the clean and nicely maintained air-conditioned bus, and of course our jovial and knowledgeable tour guide Freddy and driver Jacinto, everything was perfect.
We reached Chichen Itza around 9, and the heat was tolerable. The crowds were minimal at the time. By the time we were boarding the bus again after 3 hours of guided and free touring, the place was swarming with tourists and was unbearably hot.
Recommend this to everyone interested in avoiding the crowds and the burning sun. To my family, it was worth waking up early.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Samantha L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Long drive from where we were staying - Cancun in the hotel zone - but it was worth it! The site was wonderful and our guide was really passionate about Mayan culture and history. Lots of opportunities to buy souvenirs!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Nicole W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Early morning start was worth beating the crowds and seeing such amazing structures. Frank our guide was great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jo Graff Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Marco our guide was very good.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Valerie M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Booked using the app, very easy, no hassles and had pickup information emailed in under 45 minutes. I would not recommend drinking so much the night before because you wake up so early for this one. It's totally worth going before the crowds and the heat. The bus was about 20 minutes late, so I was starting to get a little worried, but they were just running a bit behind. Eat breakfast or bring something with you, and water, too. When you get on the bus, they give you a lunch sack, that's what I ate for breakfast. sandwich on white with meat, cheese and mayo, banana, peach drink and cookies It's a three hour ride each way from Cancun, so be prepared for that. Once we got there our tour guide was amazing, and very informative. After he took us around we had about an hour and a half to explore and shop on our own. Our bus left to return back at 12:30, we had some time to kill so we decided to each lunch at the restaurant there, so glad we did. The tacos are amazing.
My only complaint is that it is a long ride each way, other than that it was an amazing trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

STEVE S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

view and ruins were awesome. Scaling pyramid was a high-lite. Tulum was nice, met and talk with people from France. Nice lunch. A little long on the ride, but your on vacation, all good.cenote swim was ok. stayed about 1/2 hour and back on the road. Blessing was pretty cool. Nice way of spending some time off resort and exploring country side.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

William D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour was good once we got there. They overbooked and there was a lot of confusion at the final pick up at the Marriott Courtyard. The guide was a little flustered and he was on the phone for most of the 2 hours to the tour and then most of the way back to Cancun. Freddy gave a great tour once there

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Joe

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Bus had an accident going through a small tourist trap town, on the way to Chichen Itza, the town was not even on the itinary. We were put in old hot cabs and the driver thought he was flying instead of driving, we had to ask him to slow down. Our swimming event was cut short and the lunch had no folk show as stated in the brochure. We arrived back to our hotel over an hour late, missing a dinner reservation we had. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the accident was not the drivers fault, but I still question why we were even in that small town, the only thing there was a very large expensive sourveneer store. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great tour! Our guide Frank was very knowledgable and did a wonderful job. The early access was so worth getting up early on vacation. We literally arrived right as the doors opened. By getting there early it was cooler, there was hardly anyone there, and the vendors aren't set up so they don't bother you. The only thing that was frustrating was that we were told our pickup would be at 5:15 am but it didn't come until almost 6. Not fun to sit for 45 minutes when you're already up early! We legitimately thought they weren't coming and the number that was provided to us went to voicemail. A suggestion to the operator-they should add a tour option for a combo early access and cenote visit. I know it's a long day already but we would have loved to add a cenote stop and still get the early access. It was a wonderful tour though and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Eesha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great trip!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Fangdi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide, Carlos Moo, was fantastic! We learned much more with him around than if we had visited these places on our own. The only complaint we can think of is that the cenote visited by this tour is extremely crowded.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this trip, a definite plus to our time in Cancun. We were the first bus there in the morning so there were very few people at the site. Freddie, our guide, gave us a lot of information while we were still on the bus, then expanded that information about each specific part of the site as we went from site location to site location. His knowledge helped up understand much more about the amazing history of this location. It is hard to believe all that was accomplished when this was built. When we left the location was packed. Everything was on time. The tour was fantastic thanks to our tour guide Freddie. My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great!! We have 4 kids 9,8,7,3 all of them had fun at each spot. It could not have been better day. We went on 2 other trips during our vacation and all we keep talking about is this trip. I highly recommend it hands down. The kids were entertained and we never heard are we there yet, I want to leave or this is not fun. It was amazing

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Snorkeling, Ziplining and Interactive Zoo

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos was an amazing guide. Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Chicen Itza tour led by Irvin and Luis was worth the money and more. Both of them were knowledgeable and well educated on the Itza peoples, history, and culture.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message