Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1548 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Freddie and crew were great. Wife and I really enjoyed our day at Chichen Itza. Highly recommend the early tour to escape the crowds and heat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely awesome! Our tour guide, Saul, was very entertaining and knowledgeable. This tour includes some really unique and personal experiences that I don't believe many tour companies are offering. We were taken into rural Mayan peoples' homes, blessed by a Mayan elder, and allowed to swim in a sacred Cenote sinkhole which was a highlight of the trip. I strongly suggest jumping off of the high ledge into the water because it is one of the most refreshing experiences I've had in my life, and the water is so deep there is nothing to worry about. Lunch was delicious and all you can eat! The Coba ruins are, of course, stunningly awesome as well. Climbing to the top of the tallest pyramid was scarier than I expected because the steps are very steep, but it was totally worth it. Take advantage of the opportunity to climb to the top of this pyramid before they discontinue that option! It is the only Mayan pyramid that still allows it, so there is no telling when they will stop. Overall, this tour is a 10 out of 10. You will really enjoy it if you have any interest in the Mayan culture or just different cultures and customs in general.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pickup for the tour was at 5am (!!) but it was worth it. We got there before the long lines and crowds and we were able to do the tour before the heat became unbearable. Our tour guide, Freddie, was great. Definitely pack snacks because there's a long time between 5 am and lunch at noon.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Tour, very interesting and the tourguide was funny and nice. We got a lot of information about the mayan culture.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing trip!! Guide was very knowledgeable. Beautiful Mayan people. Swimming in the Cenotes was awesome. Chichen Itza was great, but bring plenty of water as it was very warm. Lunch buffet was good and the place was very clean.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Freddie, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable, passionate and gave a few opinions of what he thought may have happened in the ancient Mayan civilization based on his research. There are some fascinating stories and sites at these ruins, which are still very well preserved. Main interest probably lies in the stories of the different kinds of human sacrifices performed and the reasons for them. Freddie will discuss all of this with you and give you plenty to think about. His driver, Oscar, was outstanding as well. A good bus driver is probably necessary since it was a 5-hour round trip to and from our Cancun hotel. I recommend getting up early and getting done early so you don't use up your entire day and so the hot sun isn't hitting you during the peak of the tour. We left our hotel at 5:30 a.m. and returned at 3 p.m.
Also notable is the vendors lined up throughout the exhibit. They are allowed inside so you will have to walk by them numerous times. We did buy a few nice things for some good prices. Freddie can advise you with this as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Freddie, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable, passionate and gave a few opinions of what he thought may have happened in the ancient Mayan civilization based on his research. There are some fascinating stories and sites at these ruins, which are still very well preserved. Main interest probably lies in the stories of the different kinds of human sacrifices performed and the reasons for them. Freddie will discuss all of this with you and give you plenty to think about. His driver, Oscar, was outstanding as well. A good bus driver is probably necessary since it was a 5-hour round trip to and from our Cancun hotel. I recommend getting up early and getting done early so you don't use up your entire day and so the hot sun isn't hitting you during the peak of the tour. We left our hotel at 5:30 a.m. and returned at 3 p.m.
Also notable is the vendors lined up throughout the exhibit. They are allowed inside so you will have to walk by them numerous times. We did buy a few nice things for some good prices. Freddie can advise you with this as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Freddie, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable, passionate and gave a few opinions of what he thought may have happened in the ancient Mayan civilization based on his research. There are some fascinating stories and sites at these ruins, which are still very well preserved. Main interest probably lies in the stories of the different kinds of human sacrifices performed and the reasons for them. Freddie will discuss all of this with you and give you plenty to think about. His driver, Oscar, was outstanding as well. A good bus driver is probably necessary since it was a 5-hour round trip to and from our Cancun hotel. I recommend getting up early and getting done early so you don't use up your entire day and so the hot sun isn't hitting you during the peak of the tour. We left our hotel at 5:30 a.m. and returned at 3 p.m.
Also notable is the vendors lined up throughout the exhibit. They are allowed inside so you will have to walk by them numerous times. We did buy a few nice things for some good prices. Freddie can advise you with this as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide, Freddie, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable, passionate and gave a few opinions of what he thought may have happened in the ancient Mayan civilization based on his research. There are some fascinating stories and sites at these ruins, which are still very well preserved. Main interest probably lies in the stories of the different kinds of human sacrifices performed and the reasons for them. Freddie will discuss all of this with you and give you plenty to think about. His driver, Oscar, was outstanding as well. A good bus driver is probably necessary since it was a 5-hour round trip to and from our Cancun hotel. I recommend getting up early and getting done early so you don't use up your entire day and so the hot sun isn't hitting you during the peak of the tour. We left our hotel at 5:30 a.m. and returned at 3 p.m.
Also notable is the vendors lined up throughout the exhibit. They are allowed inside so you will have to walk by them numerous times. We did buy a few nice things for some good prices. Freddie can advise you with this as well.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip from start to finish with Freddy as our tour guide and Oscar the driver. The coach was one of the most comfortable we have been on in many years. Freddy was full of information and passion, nothing was rushed and we loved getting there before the crowds and heat. Brill

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Ramon was our driver and Freddy was our tour guide.Freddy was an entertaining and knowledgable guide . We learned a lot about Mayan history in a short time. The early start was the way to go. We were first in the park and we beat the heat and the crowds. Would definitely reccommrnd.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

From first to last, this trip was extremely worthwhile and met all of our expectations. The return transportation was prompt and very comfortable thanks to Oscar, our capable and friendly bus driver. Freddy Hoil, our archaeologist, exemplified all the qualities desired in a tour guide: excellent background and knowledge, discriminating and effective in his communication of both historical fact and conjecture in a manner that brought the past to life, openness to questions, pacing and sense of humour. The only slight area for improvement, in our view, would be that the quality of the box lunch could be a bit better. We strongly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely gorgeous scenery. It is so interesting to hear from Freddie all the little details of why this location was selected, why some buildings have roof and others do not, the temples that were created to help guide ships and to know which way the wind is blowing, and so much more. All I wish is I could buy a book with all of Freddie knowledge in it so I don't forget it all! If you are going to do these tours, I heavily recommend the early access ones with Freddie and his fabulous driver Ramon. I like that this particular tour is smaller so more intimate and more time to ask questions with Freddie,

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Getting on a bus at 5:40am is hard,...but once you've done this tour this early you will never go back. Not only was Freddie the best tour guide, but we missed the crowds, the heat, and got great photos before the crowds and so very few people in our pics. Freddie was fantastic in explaining and educating us on the history and how the this calendar works. And if you like local shopping, the prices on wares here are better than Cancun. My mom, step-father, my sister and her boyfriend all loved this tour. It was a highlight of our vacation. And although we got picked up early, we did get some nap time there and back with Oscar driving us there and back. I heavily recommend if you are going to see Chichen Itza, you will not regret picking this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Our Guide Alex was informative and nice. Arrived at our resort on time. Ruins were imressive as were the Mayan families we went to visit.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Chichen -Love it, really learned a lot and the people are really friendly. The dophin excursion - thought we were going to be just me and my friends but whatever. But the prices for the photos way to much and hard to understand what he meant.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tulum- amazing, but it was hot. Tour guide was really informative.
Xelhal - GO ! Fun place but lost my waterproof disposable camera :( lots to do and really good food

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide Frank was very knowledgable and highly entertaining. We had plenty of time at the site to explor. The early access is well worth waking up earlier for, it allowed us to beat the large crowds, avoid the extreme heat in the middle of the day and back at hotel by 3

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Darrell W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth the early rise - felt sorry for the groups arriving as we were leaving, as the heat was getting unbearable by that time and there is very little shade. Freddy and Frank were both excellent guides.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Transport was good as picked up and dropped off from our hotel. Our guide was brilliant very knowledgeable and funny! The caves were breathtaking and got 1.5 hours down there. Picked up at 8.45 and got back.at 4.30. Food was delicious and relaxing in the hammock was a nice touch :-)

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide merak was brilliant! Full of knowledge and fab sense of humour.The mayan ruins are magical. The zoo is amazing and you get so close to the animals. Partner loved driving the hummer! Zip line and ATV were fun - ATV is extremely bumpy!Centote is beautiful and refreshing. Private beach/food fab!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Snorkeling, Ziplining and Interactive Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding tour. Early morning a must. Frank was so informative and Oscar was a great driver.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message