Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1517 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Freddie and crew were great. Wife and I really enjoyed our day at Chichen Itza. Highly recommend the early tour to escape the crowds and heat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely awesome! Our tour guide, Saul, was very entertaining and knowledgeable. This tour includes some really unique and personal experiences that I don't believe many tour companies are offering. We were taken into rural Mayan peoples' homes, blessed by a Mayan elder, and allowed to swim in a sacred Cenote sinkhole which was a highlight of the trip. I strongly suggest jumping off of the high ledge into the water because it is one of the most refreshing experiences I've had in my life, and the water is so deep there is nothing to worry about. Lunch was delicious and all you can eat! The Coba ruins are, of course, stunningly awesome as well. Climbing to the top of the tallest pyramid was scarier than I expected because the steps are very steep, but it was totally worth it. Take advantage of the opportunity to climb to the top of this pyramid before they discontinue that option! It is the only Mayan pyramid that still allows it, so there is no telling when they will stop. Overall, this tour is a 10 out of 10. You will really enjoy it if you have any interest in the Mayan culture or just different cultures and customs in general.

Doing what: Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Chichen -Love it, really learned a lot and the people are really friendly. The dophin excursion - thought we were going to be just me and my friends but whatever. But the prices for the photos way to much and hard to understand what he meant.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tulum- amazing, but it was hot. Tour guide was really informative.
Xelhal - GO ! Fun place but lost my waterproof disposable camera :( lots to do and really good food

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide Frank was very knowledgable and highly entertaining. We had plenty of time at the site to explor. The early access is well worth waking up earlier for, it allowed us to beat the large crowds, avoid the extreme heat in the middle of the day and back at hotel by 3

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Darrell W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth the early rise - felt sorry for the groups arriving as we were leaving, as the heat was getting unbearable by that time and there is very little shade. Freddy and Frank were both excellent guides.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Transport was good as picked up and dropped off from our hotel. Our guide was brilliant very knowledgeable and funny! The caves were breathtaking and got 1.5 hours down there. Picked up at 8.45 and got back.at 4.30. Food was delicious and relaxing in the hammock was a nice touch :-)

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide merak was brilliant! Full of knowledge and fab sense of humour.The mayan ruins are magical. The zoo is amazing and you get so close to the animals. Partner loved driving the hummer! Zip line and ATV were fun - ATV is extremely bumpy!Centote is beautiful and refreshing. Private beach/food fab!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Snorkeling, Ziplining and Interactive Zoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding tour. Early morning a must. Frank was so informative and Oscar was a great driver.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very enjoyable trip, with enough variety to keep the kids ages 5-18 happy. Our wonderful guide Israel was very informed, and shared interesting facts and and history with us. The swim in the cenote was the perfect break from the hot historical sites, and a lot of fun for the kids. Be sure to pack a towel or two to share amongst yourselves. Life vest were mandatory - so no worries if you're not a swimmer. Lunch was plentiful, traditional fare. Our van was clean, comfortable and air conditioned, and our driver was especially friendly and great with the kids. Climbing the pyramid at Coba is not for young children though - a fall could be fatal. We took turns watching the 5 year old at the bottom so we could each climb, as there was plenty of time allowed.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth getting up early to avoid the crowds and the hottest part of the day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I truly enjoyed this tour. The tour guide Frank, was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the sites. Also Freddy and Oscar were very friendly. Also I never felt pushed to buy anything. The tour was about learning about the Maya culture. I highly recommend this.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful tour--Ursula was very knowledgeable/informative. Our group was only 10-12 people, travelled in a van. Box lunch and ice-cold bottled water at the end really hit the spot. Even though it was only April, by late morning, it got really hot/humid. Everyone spent free time finding shade in sit in until van became available.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Magical spot, wonderful guide!

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Everything from start to finish was very well organized. Freddie, the guide , was informative and funny! It was worth it. To add just one more hour would be great as we felt we really rushed and didn't have much time at the end for just walking around and enjoying the place.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was exactly what we anticipated. The team from the tour company picked us up on time and gave an informative pre-tour presentation while we were in the van. Once we got on-site, Ursula and her partner were very efficient in getting us to the site and providing tickets. Ursula gave a great tour, with plenty of time for personal exploration afterward.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant tour led by Freddie, Oscar and Francesco. Definitely recommend the early start to beat the crowds but more importantly the heat. Everything worked really well from booking to going on the trip. 100% recommended. Thanks boys!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Picked up on time in a fancy bus with a bathroom. Friendly tour guide and driver. Very worth the money. Guide was witty and knowledgeable. Highly recommended

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Everything went very smoothly. Swimming in the cenote was remarkable. Chichen Itza was most impressive and the guide did a good job describing the buildings and how they related to Mayan civilization. We could used an extra hour in Chichen Itza to explore on our own.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome! Freddy, the tour guide, was fantastic. The 5:45 a.m. pickup time from the hotel was painful but it was well worth it to arrive at the gates of Chichen Itza even before they were open, to get pictures of the ruins with no other people in the them and then to leave -- all before the masses of people had overtaken the park. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice tour with friendly guides. The cenote was fun to swim in beautiful to photograph. The only downside was that we were the first on the bus at 7:15, which meant it was almost 2 hours before getting on the road. I'm not sure this would be better on any other non-private tour. It may be worth taking a bus to one of their last hotel stops, but otherwise, we had a great time

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It's a long day and I never received my e-mail confirmation, but the tour guide was great, the lunch they provided was solid, and the explanation of Chichen Itza's ruins really made the whole experience more worthwhile. You spend an hour at a freezing cold underground pool that I could have skipped but overall I would highly recommend. The bus is comfortable and air conditioned and the driver drove safely the entire time.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message