Cancun may be known as a beach holiday destination, but there’s so much more to do than here than soak up the sun and enjoy a few frozen drinks. One of the most popular area activities is a visit to the local Mayan ruins, remnants of a sophisticated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1721 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The transportation was very comfortable and Edwin the tour guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

transportation was very comfortable

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour! Our guide Freddy was amazing and so knowledgeable! Oscar was a great bus driver too.. We were a little upset about the pick up time being earlier than promised but overall very worth the trip and wake up time of 4:30am.. If you want to see the ruins go with Freddy!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Our driver was Victor. He was 20 minutes early for us! That was unfortunate for him because we are not an early family lol! But all in all he was helpful, a safe driver, knowledgable and was extremely pleasant to be around. He recommended a guide for us, and the guide - Guillermo was waiting when we arrived. He was prompt in getting tickets etc and from Chichen Itza to the Cenote. Unfortunately due to our time constraints we did not get to spend as long as we would have liked at the Cenote.

It was lovely to learn about Mayan culture, and the guide was exceptional. The weather was extremely hot, and the less clothes you wear, the better, but load up on sunscreen or you will get burnt! Hats can be purchased as you arrive for about 5 USD before you go in to the venue itself.

Just to be clear, what's included in the package I took: 7 persons, 114 USD per person - tickets to Chichen Itza and the Cenote, buffet lunch nothing special, personalized tour times - decide your own start point and end point, as well as transportation to and from the site.

Will highly recommend this tour.

For the Mexican government or whoever is in charge of running Chichen Itza, please please reduce the number of vendors you have lining the walkways around your beautiful ruins. They are cumbersome and definitely take away from the experience.

Will highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great trip! Very early to get out of bed, but the trip out to Chichen Itza was on a very comfortable tour bus and our gracious hosts turned off the lights and everyone grabbed an extra hour of shut eye on the way out to the site. When we arrived, it was still cool early morning and there were very few people there yet, so we pretty much had the place to ourselves and were able to get great pictures without a lot of people in them. Our main tour guide, Frank, along with his assistant, Jacinto, and Driver, Oscar, were great. Frank is so knowledgeable about Mayan History and Culture and he provided an wonderful bi-lingual tour that was both educational and entertaining. My advice ... take this early access tour ... it is during the cool part of the day, there are couple of elements of the tour that would not work so well with a lot of crowds around no spoilers here and we were back at our resort, drinking margaritas by the pool by 2:30 PM. Whatever you do, don't miss Chichen Itza and I recommend this early access tour ... it is a very well done tour and well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Informative tour guide and excellent bus driver. Tulum was breathtakingly beautiful and we had plenty of time to explore the ruins on our own after the informative guided tour. The visit to the cenote included an interesting, spiritual Mayan cleansing ceremony as well as an enjoyable, refreshing swim in the crystal clear waters of the cenote, whose natural beauty was marred by a few plastic bags and bottles that were littering the area and should have been removed prior to our arrival. Cobá was amazing with its Mayan roads, temples and ball court. Delicious Mayan buffet lunch prior to walking to the Coba ruins, with its ancient limestone Mayan roads and ruins. Climbing up the Cobá pyramid was challenging and coming down was even more so, due to the uneven steep and narrow steps, but the view from the top was well worth it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day tour. Picked us up from our hotel and we were away from the main hotels.
Antonio, our tour guide for the day was very good and charismatic which made him engaging to listen to. The journey was smooth and comfortable AC was quite cold at times.
Tour was well thought of and planned. Cenotes was a great experience and we didn't feel rushed.
We are vegetarian and the choice of veg food at the restaurant wasn't great aside from salads and refried beans and rice.
Would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It took us about 2-2 1/2 hrs to get there, but it was WELL worth it! Freddie is extremely knowledgable about the Mayan history and the Chichen Itza was fascinating! To beat the crowds for the best photo ops is a plus! Boxed lunch is basic, but when you are tired and hungry.....anything tastes good! Oscar, our driver, was great and we felt safe and in great hands during the drive to and from! Rich with history and highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide with a ton of info! However the pick up in cancun took 1 hour too long . Perhaps having three main hotel pick up options since taking a taxi or bus anywhere in cancun is very easy. At least one bottle of water should be provided complementary.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The place has now transformed into a big marketplace. it would have been better if they were able to preserve the serenity of this sacred ground.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This tour was pretty nice, but not the best. There was very little off road in the hummers and that was only on a dirt road with a couple of puddles. There were only three ziplines and they were short, and slow. If you want real ziplining, this is not the place to get it and there was no snorkeling to be had on this tour at all. But that is it for the negative stuff ... the rest of the tour was pretty good. Our guide, Merak, was friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining from start to finish. The ATV trip was awesome ... literally pounding through the jungle on a quad on some narrow, rocky and rutted trails ... lots of fun, but make sure you are in good shape, because this one is not for the faint of heart. The cenote swim was refreshing and a good way to remove some of the mud and crud we collected while we were powering through some of the puddles on the quads. The stop at the El Rey Mayan ruins site was informative, and Merak took some great pictures for us. The lunch stop was at a hut type restaurant right on the beach and looked like something out of a movie ... I think my dream job would be to own and run a place like that ... and the seafood burritos were terrific. And lastly, the interactive zoo was everything I expected and more. You get up close and personal with crocodiles from babies to full grown, tropical birds you can hold and talk to some of them even talk back, snakes to hold, deer to feed and all with semi-wild spider monkeys swinging through the trees overhead. Three serious words of caution for this jungle adventure ... USE MOSQUITO REPELLENT!

Doing what: All-Inclusive Self-Drive Hummer Tour: Snorkeling, Ziplining and Interactive Zoo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

What private archeologist? It was just a tour guide. I went to Chichen Itza previously this trip was planned for my partner, and this tour guide or aka private archeologist lacked knowledge or insight. One and half hour guided tour was weak and lacked substance, and he even failed to describe other important sections of the Chichen Itza.

Only positive from this trip was early access.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The transportation never showed up to our hotel. We had confirmed with them the morning before our trip and let them know what hotel we were staying at. The excaret experience team with the red shirts took us there after calling the company that we had paid. The mix up was the name of the hotel. Our transportation showed up at the oasis cancun, not the grand oasis Palm. This was the second time nobody showed up at our hotel to take us to the planned excursion site. Very unhappy.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and great value for money. The guides were fantastic, the transport was excellent and the buffet was superb. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was worth every penny!! Our guide Carlos was excellent!! He was so knowledgeable about the Mayan history which made this all day tour enjoyable. Swimming in a cenote was a blast too.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great! Wake up at 4.30 am and start a tour at 5.10 am worth it, true story! You avoid crowds, you avoid burning sun, you can make great pictures almost without people, only you and Castillo de Kukulkan! Unforgettable experience! Special thanks to Amigo Tours team: our driver Osacar and our super professional guide Freddi, who not only gives you the information, but makes you a part of the story about the Maya people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie, Freddie, Freddie!!
My family and I decided to take this early morning tour and we're glad that we did. The main reason is that Freddie was our tour guide. You see, I have a recently recovered broken leg and couldn't keep up with the pace of the rest of the group. Freddie realized this very quickly and rearranged the group so that he could stay with my family at the pace I could walk. We did catch up with the rest of the group and got to see the breath taking views of the ruins and learn about the Mayan buildings and people all the while Freddie kept making sure that I was okay. He really went above and beyond to make our tour quite a success. Our advice is to go early with Viator, as it get s hot very quickly, and you really have the ruins to yourself bring water and wear very comfortable shoes, as there is a lot of walking. There is a cart that for 2 a person, can bring you up to the main entrance, which is helpful when you are tired. There is a little time for touristy souvenirs and remember to haggle.The box lunch had the freshest fruit, a sandwich, cookies and juice and a water. Going back to Freddie, it was so nice to find a guide with that kind of compassion, and really great sense of humor. Thank you, Freddie for helping make our tour that much more enjoyable! And Viator, please give Freddie a tour bus with his picture on the side of it, he so deserves it!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Paul T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative. Friendly and fun guides. Freddy, Frank. and Oscar great job!,

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The pyramids were amazing and there is a lot of history attached to Chichen Itza. The only downfall was that it was very hot and the bus ride roundtrip was almost 6 hours. Other than that, it was a lot of fun

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie was a FANTASTIC guide and his knowledge was endless. He provided the background information on the Mayans which was crucial to understanding life at the time the Mayans lived in Chichen Itza. The early access is a must to avoid the heat and the crowds. Oscar also did a great job getting us to and from safely.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Frank was a FANTASTIC guide and his knowledge was endless. Freddie also provided the background information on the Mayans which was crucial to understanding life at the time the Mayans lived in Tulum. The early access is a must to avoid the heat and the crowds. Oscar also did a great job getting us to and from safely. Tulum is a bit too commercial these days but still worth the trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome!!!! Tour guy was very nice and very knowledgeable! I would recommend viator to everyone. The food at the restaurant was good also. No complaints at all!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. The bus ride was insanely long, a total of 6 hours just on the bus. It was miserably hot at Chichen itza. Hugo said they usually rent umbrellas, but they were all rented by the time we got there. Hugo was great, very informative. The cenote and lunch was my favorite part of the day. All and all definitely worth the money. Don't know why people say bring bug spray, we brought it but didn't use it. Bring sunscreen and a big hat!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message