Provence is luxuriously located in south-eastern France and next to the Mediterranean Sea. It has always been an inspiration to artists (Picasso, Matisse, van Gogh), a playground for the rich (Cannes Film Festival, St Tropez, Monte Carlo), and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 370 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We would highly recommend this tour. The description is very accurate and the trip was very enjoyable. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had lived in this area for many years. We would certainly book this trip again.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Fabulous views. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Nicholas, did a stellar job on this tour. Informational, enjoyable, funny and entertaining! His knowledge of the area greatly enhanced the tour. We can't Give enough positive feedback!

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day. Collected direct from my hostel, the van was comfortable and the tour guide really friendly and clearly knowledgeable. The time available in each location was good - would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful tour with our guide, Lea. There were just the two of us on this tour! Our guide accompanied us on a walking tour and then we had about 60-90 minutes to explore on our own. It was a good overview of Aix but you would definitely need more time to see everything. This met our expectations and more!

Doing what: Aix en Provence Tour from Marseille

Julia T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable day in the countryside. I booked this tour through the website at the last moment and received same day confirmation. The tour guide (Manuelle) arrived on time and the mini van was very clean and comfortable. As we collected passengers along the way, our guide provided a very interesting and knowledgeable commentary on Nice and its history; our guide spoke beautiful French and English, and was very witty. The four stops were well spaced and provided enough time to walk around, have a coffee, and enjoy the views. The perfumery in Grasse was interesting with no hard-sell, the lunch stop at the village of Gourdon was picture perfect (even on a sunny day, I suggest you take a light jacket), as was the stop in St Paul. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a taste of Provence (and I promise you will want to return for much longer!). I have used Viator tours in many countries and I find them to be of a consistently high standard.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thomas was an excellent guide. The country side is awesome and we had plenty of time to explore on our own. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Day Trip: Provence Countryside by Minivan from Nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Nicholas was a great tour guide. It was amazing and he was exceptional. I will definitely recommend the tour

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, convenient and comprehensive. For one day a lot of scenery and new knowledge.
Would recommend to everybody.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very enjoyable tour, knowledgeable tour guide, it was just unfortunate that the commentary had to be done in 2 languages which detracted somewhat from the enjoyment. Would recommend this tour for its content we certainly saw a lot in the day.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This was a small group tour in a comfortable van. They split up a larger group at the visitor center. One group left on time. The driver/guide for our group was 45 minutes late due to traffic so we had to wait. As we met the first group at the last stop time must have been shaved off. The guide we had was knowledgeable and spoke good English. My problem with this tour ,aside from the late start ,was it tried to do too much. Barely enough time to see just the papal palace in Avignon. Just enough time for lunch in Les Baux. Sufficient time in the other places. The wine tasting visit which I thought would be just trying to sell things was not at all and very interesting.

Doing what: Avignon, Les Baux de Provence and Chateauneuf-du-Pape Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Very knowledgeable and personable guide! We loved it!

Doing what: Aix en Provence Tour from Marseille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a wonderful tour and a fantastic way to go further into the beautiful countryside near Nice. Adrienne (sp?) was a super guide and so informative and friendly. I highly recommend this tour. Gourdon was my favorite stop.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tha tour was relaxed, interesting, friendly and thoroughly enjoyable. Our guide/driver was brilliant and only too willing to tailor the tour to what the 4 of us wanted. The highlights were Grasse and St Paul de Vente. Both towns were beautiful and not to be missed by travellers from Nice. It has been a long time since we used a private tour guide and we were not disappointed as she was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We would thoroughly recommend this tour to travellers.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great tour - taking you up into the countryside behind Nice, through some amazing scenery and giving you time to explore two small historical towns. Our guide, Thomas, was great - polite, friendly and efficient. Only suggestion would be to reduce the time at Gourdon and increase it at St Paul de Vence to reflect the relative size of the two villages. Other than that, it was a great day. Well run, on time and value for money.

Doing what: Provence Countryside Small Group Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message