Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Aquila Game Reserve

Combining the thrill of an African safari with a 4-star luxury vacation, the Aquila Game Reserve is a top adventure destination in the Cape Town area. You'll see wild game in their natural environment from the vantage point of either a 4x4 offroad ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was good to see 'The Big Five' animals around the park. Tour was great with well informed guides. Good food at breakfast and lunch.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very nice tour with both breakfast and lunch included, totally worth the price!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

No onboard guide, driver was terrible, very poor driving skills, the reserve was fine, good guide/ driver

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out. Location was stunning, and food (breakfast and lunch included in tour) was first class. Very clean, helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Saw lots of wildlife in natural surroundings-was great fun.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

It was a very pleasant day out. Our driver from the hotel to Aquila was very kind and did everything he could to make the group happy. Doing a tour around the game reserve is nice, and enjoying the swimming-pool inside after the tour was great. However, it is not the real safari experience - animals are few, kept separate from each other in some cases. And we also had the truck that had to drive us around the reserve broken down, it took a long time for us to get a new truck and the change was managed poorly.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

I WILL NOT RECOMMEND, 2 ANIMALS OF EACH KIND DOES NOT MAKE A GAME PARK!!
P.ROQUEMORE

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent day out. Very well looked after at reserve, loved the animals. Our driver in the reserve could not have been more helpful in getting good views of animals, and he was a mine of information...he clearly loved his job. We were also well catered for. Lunch was very good, and the breakfast buffet on arrival was a real bonus that we were not expecting. The only disappointment was our driver to and from the game reserve, who was uncommunicative and even surly throughout, unlike any other driver I have ever encountered on a Viator tour.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Waaaay overpriced for what it was. During the 2 hour drive to the place, there was no commentor or travel guide. The driver was a speeder. WE had coffee free at breakfast, but was charged for it at lunch time, something we call gouging. AFter lunch we hung around for two hours doing nothing. The guide in the 4-wheeler was hard to understand with his broken English and had somewhat of a chip on his shoulder by the way he responded to questions directed at him. Save your money.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

great way to see a safari without the extra days.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The lodge and food was great.. Our guide Daniel was awesome and was very knowledgeable. We were incrediblely close to the animals. It just didn't feel like we were really in the bush with wild animals. It felt like a larger version of Disney's Animal Kingdom.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Malcolm S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day trip if you are short on time and can't do a full safari. Saw all the Big 5 and were even treated to "play time" with the elephants. Served bubbly on arrival, followed by a full buffet breakfast, 3 hour drive around the reserve with more bubbly halfway and then lunch - an unexpected bonus. Staff extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Well worth the early start!!!!!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a EXCELLANT time and got some great photos!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very professionally organised and great value for money.
A lovely glass of sparkling wine and breakfast on arrival at the game park was a great way to start.
Our drive around the game park in a jeep was an amazing experience, being up close with lions, rhinos and hippos, and we learnt so much about animal behaviour.
Lunch and relaxing around the pool was a wonderful way to finish the day before our bus trip back to Cape Town.
A once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Aquila from Cape Town. We saw all of The Big 5, our driver was very knowledgable and we were even provided with blankets and ponchos for the unpredictable weather! The food provided at the Reserve (breakfast and lunch) was great, with a huge selection provided buffet style.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

fantastic, pick up great, people friendly, helpful, was greatred with chanmagane for breakfast, lovely crowd, very disabled friendly.
even the animals came outy to play(if uv not got time to visit kruga, u have to go there!, they have all the big 5), so go go go, and your in cape town, just visit well wort it, photos to follow

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I had a great time at the reserve. We saw the big five up close and personal. Would definitely recommend to other family members and friends.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Trip from Cape Town Hotels was uneventful but not very informative. The reserve main lodge is very nice. Good food (breakfast and lunch) were included as well as champaign stop at the midpoint of the 2 hour safari tour. The safari felt like Noah's Ark ( two of these, two of those) and is more of a small park than the vast plains teaming with wildlife that we hoped to see.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Lots of fauna to view in this reserve. I did not appreciate the driver for the tour tailgating most of the way on the return trip.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Pleasant day however be aware the animals are pretty regimented, 2 elephants 2 giraffes etc hardly on safari but lovely setting and lunch etc

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great day out at a fabulous location. The day started with a wonderful full breakfast. We enjoyed the benefit of a greatly experienced ranger guide, who located all the Big Five, my personal favourite being the White Rhinos!. We had a nice break stop, enjoying a little winter warmer (a glass of Sherry). after around 4 hours of touring round the reserve in our 4x4 (worth noting we where supplied with blankets and hot water bottles) we spent some time with the big cats, then returned to the lodge for an extensive buffet lunch. I just wish I had more time to stay overnight at one of the wonderful lodges. All in all a great experience anyone should participate in whom only has a short time to visit this wonderful area. Yes, its not the Serengeti, but thoroughly a memorable experience!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We only had a few days in Cape Town and wanted to see as much as possible. This tour gave us the opportunity to experience a game reserve within a couple of hours drive of Cape Town. Pick up arrangements worked well ( very early start! ) excellent breakfast provided on arrival at the reserve followed by approx 3 hour tour. Bit disappointed we didnt see giraffes but did see lots of other animals and quite close up. Lunch was provided, again good, before making the trio back to our hotel. Good value trip

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

I went into this knowing I wasn't getting a real safari. But even then it was still pretty lousy. Two elephants, one giraffe, two rhinos. The lions are kept in a cage and they pretend like you're lucky to see them. It's all staged and really not worth the trip.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

a-        The brochure did not mention that this game reserve is actually so small that it could almost be called a big zoo, without the partitions among animals. They actually ad a lion reserve, and although it was nice to see them, it was also not the ‘wildlife’ experience we had hoped for.

b-        The greater concern involves the driver. He came on duty while suffering from a full blown flu infection. Throughout the journey he coughed, sneezed, blew his nose and spit, almost non-stop. We were trapped in a closed vehicle with him for several hours and by the end of the day I had contracted the infection and my entire trip to South Africa went south from then on. We went on the trip on May 17 and by the time the trip was over I was having sore throat and sneezing. On May 18, I started having fever and flu symptoms. I suffered all through the trip and ultimately had to seek medical help and use antibiotics.

When I asked the driver why he came to work although he was so sick, he said that he would not get paid if he did not come to work. I found his attitude extremely irresponsible and callous. He was fully aware that he had a severely contagious illness; yet he chose to put the health of all his passengers at risk by exposing them to the flu virus. This is the height of irresponsibility, both on the part of the driver and the company who will not take appropriate measure to prevent such incidents. The driver got his pay, and I am still paying the price for it!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a great time. We saw all of the Big 5 close up and personal, especially the elephants, their clash with the rhinos (the rhinos the winners), and finally the lions at feast. There were also the hippopotami in and out of their pool, and in the latter situation getting very nervous when a delicate little impala came tripping up to the water for a drink. The guide could have been clearer for the folk at the back of the truck, apparently, but we were seated up front, which was a great listening as well as viewing platform. Good breakfast and lunch at the hotel, and really the only criticism is the length of time we had to wait after breakfast was over for the tour to start; a bit wearing when we had made a very early start indeed from Cape Town (2 hours away). The drive through the Franschhoek mountains and the Heck valley was beautiful both ways.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message