Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Aquila Game Reserve

Combining the thrill of an African safari with a 4-star luxury vacation, the Aquila Game Reserve is a top adventure destination in the Cape Town area. You'll see wild game in their natural environment from the vantage point of either a 4x4 offroad ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent day out. Very well looked after at reserve, loved the animals. Our driver in the reserve could not have been more helpful in getting good views of animals, and he was a mine of information...he clearly loved his job. We were also well catered for. Lunch was very good, and the breakfast buffet on arrival was a real bonus that we were not expecting. The only disappointment was our driver to and from the game reserve, who was uncommunicative and even surly throughout, unlike any other driver I have ever encountered on a Viator tour.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Waaaay overpriced for what it was. During the 2 hour drive to the place, there was no commentor or travel guide. The driver was a speeder. WE had coffee free at breakfast, but was charged for it at lunch time, something we call gouging. AFter lunch we hung around for two hours doing nothing. The guide in the 4-wheeler was hard to understand with his broken English and had somewhat of a chip on his shoulder by the way he responded to questions directed at him. Save your money.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

great way to see a safari without the extra days.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The lodge and food was great.. Our guide Daniel was awesome and was very knowledgeable. We were incrediblely close to the animals. It just didn't feel like we were really in the bush with wild animals. It felt like a larger version of Disney's Animal Kingdom.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Malcolm S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day trip if you are short on time and can't do a full safari. Saw all the Big 5 and were even treated to "play time" with the elephants. Served bubbly on arrival, followed by a full buffet breakfast, 3 hour drive around the reserve with more bubbly halfway and then lunch - an unexpected bonus. Staff extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Well worth the early start!!!!!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a EXCELLANT time and got some great photos!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very professionally organised and great value for money.
A lovely glass of sparkling wine and breakfast on arrival at the game park was a great way to start.
Our drive around the game park in a jeep was an amazing experience, being up close with lions, rhinos and hippos, and we learnt so much about animal behaviour.
Lunch and relaxing around the pool was a wonderful way to finish the day before our bus trip back to Cape Town.
A once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Aquila from Cape Town. We saw all of The Big 5, our driver was very knowledgable and we were even provided with blankets and ponchos for the unpredictable weather! The food provided at the Reserve (breakfast and lunch) was great, with a huge selection provided buffet style.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

fantastic, pick up great, people friendly, helpful, was greatred with chanmagane for breakfast, lovely crowd, very disabled friendly.
even the animals came outy to play(if uv not got time to visit kruga, u have to go there!, they have all the big 5), so go go go, and your in cape town, just visit well wort it, photos to follow

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I had a great time at the reserve. We saw the big five up close and personal. Would definitely recommend to other family members and friends.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Trip from Cape Town Hotels was uneventful but not very informative. The reserve main lodge is very nice. Good food (breakfast and lunch) were included as well as champaign stop at the midpoint of the 2 hour safari tour. The safari felt like Noah's Ark ( two of these, two of those) and is more of a small park than the vast plains teaming with wildlife that we hoped to see.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Lots of fauna to view in this reserve. I did not appreciate the driver for the tour tailgating most of the way on the return trip.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Pleasant day however be aware the animals are pretty regimented, 2 elephants 2 giraffes etc hardly on safari but lovely setting and lunch etc

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great day out at a fabulous location. The day started with a wonderful full breakfast. We enjoyed the benefit of a greatly experienced ranger guide, who located all the Big Five, my personal favourite being the White Rhinos!. We had a nice break stop, enjoying a little winter warmer (a glass of Sherry). after around 4 hours of touring round the reserve in our 4x4 (worth noting we where supplied with blankets and hot water bottles) we spent some time with the big cats, then returned to the lodge for an extensive buffet lunch. I just wish I had more time to stay overnight at one of the wonderful lodges. All in all a great experience anyone should participate in whom only has a short time to visit this wonderful area. Yes, its not the Serengeti, but thoroughly a memorable experience!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message