• USD ($)
  • English

Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Bo-Kaap (Malay Quarter)

The brightly colored houses of this lively neighborhood in the Central Cape are perched among the rocky crags of Signal Hill. Cobblestone streets wind through the multicultural township where freed slaves and Muslim immigrants settled. Visitors can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide Norman was wonderful. The township tour exceeded our expectations, we had a chance to meet the residents and learn about their lives, hear the children's choir sing and visit one of the shanties, The resident's resilience and spirit was remarkable and awe inspiring considering the harsh conditions in which they live and the cruel treatment they suffered under apartheid. Everyone should know their stories and I know I am glad I did.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very knowledgeable guide. This was a great experience!

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

The cultural tour is a great way to experience a country. It's not for the destination; it's for understanding the people who live in the destination.

Doing what: Cape Malay Cultural Tour of Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our guide was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed her hospitality and hearing about a lesser known Cape Town story.

Doing what: Cape Malay Cultural Tour of Cape Town

AKU
Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This tour should be a must für all interested visitors. I've learned a lot about the history of apartheid and the townships. Dustin was a wonderful guide and his explanations
helped me to understand this wonderful country a little bit better.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Outstanding tour! It's great to see the positive things happening in the South African townships. Some of the friendliest people I've met. The tour guide was great in sharing his personal experiences with apartheid, too. Overall A+ tour.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

A little more depth could be added. ie local store, bar, and local home.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

Carolyn R
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

This trip gave such an informative and interesting insight into South African life and how it has changed. Informative guide, and the trip to the church was wonderful.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Must see tour! The first that should be taken upon arrival. It will leave a powerful impact to see poverty first hand while driving through the townships. Please dont just stay on main roads if it is possible to deviate, and use the opportunity to purchase hand made items at the skill centers, They're beautiful! Ask lots of questions, take lots of photos, and Dont be afraid, although you may be stared at like some rare specimen regardless of color - race. Again take advantage of buying some things there. They'll be less expensive than the formal markets, and sometimes even the vendors at the tourist sites.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very interesting and enlightening. Guide was pleasant, friendly and very well informed.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town - Langa and Khayelitsha

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message