Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Castle of Good Hope

In the late 1600s, the Dutch East India Company constructed the Castle of Good Hope as a maritime resupply station, and over the years, it became the seat of administrative and military power in the cape until the settlement grew and the civilian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ann l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

collected on time from hotel, very well organised, your representative Elaine? was very
entertaining and made the trip fun and informative

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Astrid W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A good introduction to cap town

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

derek i

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Sadly the driver was late picking us up and the other couple who were also doing our trip were a 40 minute drive away which meant when we got to Table Mountain there was a 1hour wait to get on the cable car.The driver said to you want to wait ...of course we wanted to wait , this was the highlight of our tour...sadly a poor tour

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

JOAN JOSEP C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nice tour with very few people. It seemed as if we were travelling in our own car. The lady guide was very friendly and had a lot of patience with us. Cheap Price too. Thanks a lot.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Donald A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great guide, very informative, and just plain fun. Unfortunately, Table Mountain was covered in fog and the cable car was not operating but we did get to go to another park with a great view over the city. A really good introduction to Cape Town.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

M C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Well worth taking this trip. We were in Cape Town for our shortest short break ever so no time to spare if we got arrangements wrong. Our driver - Super- was brilliant with his knowledge and information. As a family we wholly recommend this half day trip.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Roslyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Elaine and Rodney were the perfect guide and driver for our trip. Their ability to make us feel welcome, their expert knowledge and comments and sense of fun was awesome. Elaine was able to keep us altogether and on time to enjoy her beautiful city.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Anita N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good trip with lots of time at the top and a beautiful day.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Monica L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour Guide Elaine. She kept us updated on Table Mountain opening the day of our tour and had an alternate plan if the mountain was going to remain closed.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

elisabeth r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Terrific private full day tour for my husband and myself, reasonably priced, with Eon as our guide. I highly recommend him. We only had a couple days before our cruise so we wanted to maximize our experience. He arrived on time and in addition to suggesting key area highlights, as this was our first trip, but he made sure he took us to where we wanted to go, as opposed to just following a set route. We started with the Table Mountain gondola on this glorious day and beat the crowds, then went to see the noon gun go off on Signal Hill. Eon even knew from which angle and when to get the best photo. He also took us to colorful local neighborhoods and gave us a great overview of the city in a comfortable, air-conditioned vehicle. Then on to Kirkenbosch Gardens for a walk and lunch. He really knows Cape Town and was also willing to openly talk about local culture and political issues, which we are always interested in on our tours. He inspired a desire to return to Cape Town and do more tours in this fascinating area. Five stars plus!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a half day tour and did not fall short of any of our expectations. The tour guide was awesome and was able to give a lot of history regarding the places we visit. Table mountain is a must and unless you are planning to hike the amount of time spent on the mountain is more than enough. Town tour, castle, and diamond factory was exciting.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Tanveer A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We could not take the Table Mountain Tour because of wind - but the City tour was very good.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Jade M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Waste of time and money. You are able to see everything on this tour via a hop on hop off tour for about half the price. Since the cable car to Table Mountain is not included, there is no point to this tour. I was shocked to be taken to a free museum which I could have gone to own my own. I had to ask the driver to stop in Bo-Kaap to walk around and even take pictures. He planned to just driver through and move on. While the driver was nice, I do not feel i learned anything new on this trip and was disappointed that I even booked.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

jules

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Not worth purchasing. We went to many different places and asked how we could redeem and no one could give answers. The coincerge at the hotel rang phone no and it had been disconnected.

Doing what: Cape Town City Pass including Two Oceans Aquarium and District Six Museum

Rosalie M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rodney was our guide and what a wonderful interesting man he was. The cable was not operating for us on the day however he made sure that we went up to signal hill in time for the noon day gun and took us to the castle and gave us a personal tour.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Lynn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found this trip to be very informative and really covered all areas of Cape Town No need for Hop on Hop Off bus tour after this Table Mountain itself offered fantastic views over the area and loved seeing the clouds roll in Loved the coloured houses in Malay Quarter and Camps Bay a must visit Well done for this great tour

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Mark D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide seemed quite knowledgeable about the history of the city and was able to show us quite a lot. The weather prevented us from going up to Table Mountain, but everything else was great!

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Alice B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I took this tour on the day of my arrival, and it was wonderful giving me a great overview of the city and ideas on where to spend more of my time. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate and the cable car to the top of Table Mountain was closed, but the views from as far as our tour guide could take us were absolutely beautiful. Thank you, Viator!

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Sig-Linda J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The time on Table Mountain was too short

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Tom H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Although narrative on city tour was marginal, what really went wrong was the Table Mountain tour. We had already been with the driver for almost three hours when he dropped us off at 4:15 telling us to be back at 6 pm. By the time we got through the queue and up the mountain it was 5:25. So, seeing the long return line we jumped back into line without getting to walk around . We implored one of the staff to get us back on cable car so we could meet guide ' s deadline and arrived at pick up point with 2 minutes to spare. Not seeing the van, I called the driver and asked where he was. He said he would be there in 10 minutes. After waiting for 25 minutes I called again to find he was still 10 minutes away. He finally arrived 40 minutes and two phone calls later citing traffic issues which then impacted our exit. We were delivered to the hotel shortly before 7:30pm, six hours and no sightseeing time on the mountain from pick up. If our ship had sailed at a normal time, we would never have made it. Driver commented that traffic is always a problem. Hmmmmm, perhaps somebody should take that into account! FYI, excursion from ship which left at same time was coming down as we went up. Lesson learned : stick with the ship excursions.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Alvy

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The experience was good. I have two comments. First, we definitely should spend more time in Table Mountain as the title of this tour also focusing on that subject. 40 minutes is not enough. Second with that price, I think all admission tickets should be counted in.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

geoffrey.marshall

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Unfortunately it was too windy for us to go up Table Mountain as there were gale force winds on the day of our tour but out tour guide Super was excellent and it was a very good city tour.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

CS

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Half day is insufficient to experience all the places covered by this tour. If you travel on a nice day, the Table Mountain cable car will have a long line and you need to spend quite a bit time maybe over 1 hour waiting in line. When you finally reach the top, you want to take time to enjoy the view and do a few walks. This stop at the Table Mountain is best enjoyed for at least 4 hours. This tour apparently won't provide that much time. It's a hassle to come back to do the Table Mountain in another day. In full honesty, the blue line of the hop on and hop off bus covers exactly the same route and gives you greater flexibility to enjoy every stop along the way and they are much cheaper at 180 Rands. I did this tour first then did the hop on and hop off again... On a separate note, I found the tour guide for this city tour poorly trained and irresponsible. I presume better guides have been assigned to do longer day tours. Really, I would avoid booking this tour if I knew the level of service and rushed timing.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message