Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Castle of Good Hope

In the late 1600s, the Dutch East India Company constructed the Castle of Good Hope as a maritime resupply station, and over the years, it became the seat of administrative and military power in the cape until the settlement grew and the civilian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Soyoung Lee
South Korea

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was excellent to spend a half day to have an idea of the capetown city. Though we could not go on the cable car, it was fabulous to see the mountain from the signal hill. We went to the capetown peninsular tour the day before the day we went for this tour. Tourist who are in short of time to join the peninsular tour, this is a good option.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had an amazing time up Table Mountain as weather was fantastic and we missed the Freedom Day holiday crowds! Awesome views and guide was flexible and extended the time we spent there. Very informative about the Mountain and the city and made it fun for all

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Eon was an outstanding tour guide....we loved his personal touches and knowledge. One of the best we've ever had.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide was excelent, very friendly and knowledgeable . Everything was great

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Gorgeous view of Cape Town and Table Bay. Quaint cafe atop the mountain. Cable car rotates and offers stunning 360 views of everything. If your tour starts early enough, you can visit and go inside the Castle of Good Hope (do this tour on a weekday to see the changing of the guards and noon gun).

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour was nice. Our tour guide, Rich was quite knowledgeable and really friendly. We got a little bit of history of Cape Town and some of the back roads. We did not get to Table Mountain though as it was quite cloudy. It's sort of a crap shoot trying to get access. But I'm told the view is amazing once you do. Cheers!

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

It was probably not quite what I expected. I did have the tour guide who was very knowledgable but I felt like I was just getting the same tour that would have been done with a group but without the group. I was under the impression that I could have had more flexibility in what I was able to ask to see/do but this did not really transpire. He did take me to a couple of places that probably would not go to on the tour such as the noon day gun. I did have some ideas of what I wanted to see but still felt I was being taken on the normal tour path. As it was much more expensive having your own guide I would suggest that it is made clear to the tour guide that there should be more flexibility around what the individual may want to see or do. Maybe because this is a new initiative it is still being ironed out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We were blessed with a beautiful day resulting in fabulous views from Table Mountain

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great intoduction to Cape Town and a brilliant,clear day to go up Table Mountain. Super ,our guide was great, and gave us a good overview of places we went back to later to look at in detail.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good tour, did all that was planned.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Tour was just OK. Weather was bad, so didn't go to table mountain; the lift was closed. Went to Signal hill for the noon canon firing ceremony, which was good. The rest of the tour (perhaps "fill in" because table mountain was closed) duplicated the route of the red and blue hop-on trolly. I'd suggest do the blue trolly line for sightseeing and make your way to table mountain cable ride on your own - either taxi or red hop-on.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The day I took this tour Table Mountain cable was closed due to weather. Tour was OK, but knowing the city better now I'd recommend taking the blue hop-on tour (it hits really all of the important stops) and then either the red hop-on or a taxi to get to the Table Mountain cable.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This trip was great because it shows you all the highlights and hotspots of cape town. Then you get to go back if your real interested and explore more leisurely. I felt I got all I needed in the time spent at each destination. I was grateful for the tour because I got to realize how close my hotel was to a good amount of the attractions of cape town. the only disappointing thing was I didn't get to go up to table mountain due to yearly maintenance.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Table mountain part of trip need reworking. Unless you pre book gondola ride you wait 15 - 30 minutes in ticket line followed by 15 minute wait to board gondola up and down resulting in 15 minutes max time on the mountain.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message