This quaint harbor on the western side of the Cape Peninsula has a seaside charm that attracts both travelers and locals to its sheltered shores. Whether it’s sampling ocean-fresh seafood from one of the restaurants lining its harbor or exploring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see the city and surrounding area and good value for money.
Beware of the waiting time at table mountain when we went up it was 2 hours if you had a ticket and 4 hours without one... Needless to say we didn't wait.
We also did the free walking tour of the 6th district which I enjoyed, there was not much to see but the guide painted a great picture... Be prepared to give big tips as this is how they make there money

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Duncan J. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The peninsula day tour was an amazing day! Our guide Rodney picked us up from our hotels and was with us the whole day and provided mountains of information and hilarious anecdotes throughout the trip.
We visited the beautiful Hout Bay and took a boat ride out to see the seals. Then we drove along the stunning coastal road to Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope. After a fabulous lunch in Simonstown we visited Boulder's Beach where there is a colony of penguins. And our final stop was the beautiful botanical gardens.
I would recommend this trip, for value for money, amazing scenery, fab wildlife sightings and a wonderful day out!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a great way to see the city of Cape Town as you have the ability to spend as much time and enjoy whatever area you're interested in without being rushed. We definitely took advantage of the hop on hop off feature.... even spending an afternoon at Camps Bay beach one day.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have used this unbeatable tour on several trips to Cape Town. It is an essential ingredient of any visit to this wonderful city and the commentary on the buses is both informative and thoroughly recommended. It is the easiest way to obtain your bearings and if you have a limited time is ideal for visiting all the main attractions i.e. Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Hout Bay, Camp Bay etc. Ideally, if you have the time, take advantage of the 2 day ticket which covers both the Red and Blue bus routes and includes a free evening trip to the Lions Head and a trip on the canal. Excellent value for money and a 'must' for any visitor to Cape Town. Book a flexible ticket on line with Viator prior to your trip.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alvy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had a wonderful time with a very informative tourist guide. I have only one small comment. I wished the time arrangement of each place should be allocated based on the popularity of that place. For example I believe most of us didn't feel like we should spend too much time in Hout Bay, but we definitely would love to spend longer in Cape Point or Cape of Good Hope.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were thrilled to have a personable guide, Rodney. He was knowledgeable, friendly and just a great compliment to the tour. Never felt rushed at the various sights we stopped at throughout the tour. Although the weather was not the best he made the most out of everything that was planned.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

tessa v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day. We had nice weather especially for July. I feel like we got to see an overwhelming amount of beautiful scenery. The boat ride in Houts Bay to see the seals is worthwhile. And the penguins are great. Our guide, Garth, was super friendly and very knowledgeable- he knew about the history of areas and landmarks, about the animals, and just lots of little facts. Timing of everything was pretty good, I would have maybe said though to have lunch a little earlier ad not stay there as long, maybe do the point first and have lunch, stay for awhile then do cape of good hope photo opp and then on to the gardens. But maybe just bring a snack with you, its a long morning. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by minibus efficiently, the tour was a really great way to see the Cape Penisula! A busy day but highly recommended, we didn't take the optional boat tour but browsed the selection of street sellers stalls in Hout Bay, then onto the Cape of Good Hope, a great lunch and walk up to the lighthouse. Then Simon’s Town and the African penguins! And then a quick taste of the beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. A really great day and way of seeing more than Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

John Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day from start to end, despite poor weather. We covered a lot of ground, took in a lot of sights and learned quite a bit about this wonderful part of the world. Our driver/guide was friendly, informative, helpful and entertaining throughout, and is to be commended..

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

flamingos7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a perfect day - driving along the Cape Town coastline and down to Cape Point - magnificent views from the old lighthouse - delightful boat ride out to the Seals at Hout Bay and visiting the penguins at Boulders Beach, a quick stop at Kirstenbosch - lovely! Getting to know a great group of fellow travelers over lunch, and a wonderful guide to lead us. Could not fit any more into the day, and it was well-paced and worth the price!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Neil F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

wonderful day tour. Not having a vehicle, this was a great way to see some of the surrounding area. We were picked up at our hotel on time and were able to enjoy the scenery without worrying about traffic. Our driver was quite knowledgable. Well worth the cost

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Dean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was SUPER and the places we stopped were impressive. First to Mariner Wharf in Houts Bay with a short boat ride out of the harbor to "Seal Island", very nice take. Then stops overlooking False Bay, then to the penguin colony, then to cape point and up the furnicular to the summit. It was moving to stand at cape point (tremendous wind, surf and scenery !) and realize that the next land to your south is Antarctica ! A few baboons and ostriches added for color. Excellent tour vehicle (comfortable) and a long day (9 - 6:30), but highly recommended by a many-time Viator traveler.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Glenn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

GREAT way to get an overview of the city without spending a fortune!!!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I did the hop-on hop-off tour in Cape Town for 5 days straight on my second visit to the city and couldn't wait to get on the bus each morning. You see everything, and the drivers and hostesses are very accommodating. Be sure to schedule time at Hout Bay to see the crazy seals, and the World of Birds to see the amusing residents. I couldn't have seen most of the sights without this bus, because cabs are very expensive in Cape Town.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Taxis for tourists are expensive in Cape Town, and they don't take credit cards like cabs in other cities throughout the world. Therefore, the hop-on hop-off tour bus is the best way to get around and see everything in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The drivers and the hosts/hostesses on board are friendly and welcoming. They adhere to an exact (printed) schedule, so the "big red bus" is reliable. You can get off anywhere then catch another bus that suits your schedule, or simply spend the day riding the Red or Blue line, or both. With both routes, you see the downtown area, the majestic mountains, stunning beaches, and the V and A Waterfront. If you have time, buy the 2-day ticket, which includes a calming canal cruise in Cape Town past condos of the rich and famous., .I just spent 8 full days in Cape Town and rode the bus for 5 days. I miss the big red bus as much as I miss the city and it's people.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Giancarlo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

You have a real gem in Mr. Ludger Pooth. I am in the travel business as well and I have to tell you that he is one of the best tour guides I have had the pleasure of spending time with. His knowledge of not only South Africa but the World is what really brings it home. He has had wonderfully diverse experiences in Europe, Africa, and the United States which adds so much to his presentation. The way he managed a multi-cultural client base without losing his information flow was brilliant. I will be suggesting VIATOR and Springbok Atlas to all of my clients in Washington D.C. that are heading to South Africa. This was the trip of a lifetime for my wife and I and VIATOR/ Springbok Atlas made it very special. Please make sure that the highest levels of your leadership are aware of the poise and professionalism that this gentlemen has exhibited.

My Kindest Regards,

Travis Breen

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

William S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

This was a close to perfect day tour. The guide was thoroughly pleasant and informative and the tour packed a great deal into the day. Hout Bay with an optional trip to see the seals Cape of Good Hope with a stop at the Lighthouse Boulder Beach for the penguins the Botanical Gardens, and hours of beautiful vistas. I highly recommend this tour which was quite reasonably priced for all you saw and did.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Peter L Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Very good and interesting half-day trip to the Cape Point and to the Cape of Good Hope. We also had an opportunity to go and take a look at Jackass penguins near Simon's Town. We also saw ostriches and baboons on the way there. The tour guide was excellent and kept a great presentation of South-African history and culture throughout the whole drive to the destinations.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

Hazel D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

A fabulous trip in which we did everything available in one day without feeling stressed or exhausted.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the day started out raining. Our first stop was at Hout Bay for a bathroom stop in a souvenir shop. The stop at the Cape was very good inspite of the weather. Enjoyed the HUGE waves, ostrichs, baboons and a walk to the lighthouse. Had a very good lunch at Simonstown and then walked to see the penguins. Our last stop was Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Again, the weather wasn't good so we didn't have that nice walk to see all the plants and flowers. By that time we were very tired too. But on a good weather day the trip would have been very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

pezzhull Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

good way to see Cape without renting a car, guide good, pace reasonable, views good,

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Dean R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I booked the 2-day red/blue ticket. I really only used the Blue bus. This hit the highlights of the city as well as the beach areas up the coast with super views. Also stops at vineyards for winetasting, at the lift for table mountain, stop at a Township with a walking tour guide available and a stop at Houts Bay for a walk around the marine piers; shops and fishing boats. Also from Houts Bay a side tour to take a short boat excursion to "Seal Island" just outside the harbor. The Blue line was definitely a worthwhile take, many interesting stops on this line.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

david Japan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Wonderful excursion. Only problem is that we had only little time for Cape Point and Boulder Beach.
Maybe better to skip Hout Bay.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

John G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I had a great day, prompt pick up and then off to Cape point, beautiful route and fantastic views, Hout Bay and the point were really great, Penguins were not the highlight but still enjoyable, Stellenbosch was a lovely area and worth a separate visit next time, wine tasting very good and to top the whole day our driver/guide Thabani was really a wealth of information, looking forward to my next visit already,

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Tiit T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Worthwhile. Suggest intersect Blue and Red routes and have them travel in opposite directions, one clockwise and one anti clockwise so that can chane without having to go back to the start.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message