This quaint harbor on the western side of the Cape Peninsula has a seaside charm that attracts both travelers and locals to its sheltered shores. Whether it’s sampling ocean-fresh seafood from one of the restaurants lining its harbor or exploring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Casey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time and saw a ton - timely pick up, comfortable ride - got to see it all - Duiker Island with the Seals, Hout Bay from Chapmans Peak, Cape Point and an scary baboon, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder Beach for the penguins, Kirstenbosch - great day and great value for all you see!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Mark Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour - full of stunning sights and great stories. Our guide Super always had a fun fact or story to share. There was never a dull moment, even on the longer drives between stops throughout the Cape Peninsula. Super offered great advice for navigating the more crowded attractions like Cape Point and the Boulders Beach penguin colony. We didn't get a car in Cape Town, and this tour was a fantastic way for us to see spots like the Cape of Good Hope and Chapman's Drive that aren't easily accessibly by bus or train. We saw so much of the land and even some unexpected wildlife - fur seals, penguins and wild ostriches. An excellent day, highly recommended.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

BethanieKay USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour, definitely recommend it. You see so many wonderful things all in one day --- Camps Bay, Hout Bay, seal island, Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope, Boulder's Beach, Kirstenbosch botanical garden, and gorgeous views all along the way. We loved all the wildlife, too -- seals, penguins, baboons, ostrich, bonte bok antelope, tortoises, and many birds. Our guide Bayehtay sp? with the local tour operator was amazing - he was so knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was awesome. The guide knew so much and shared so much. I enjoyed being able to see South Africa without the stress of having to figure anything out!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see the city and surrounding area and good value for money.
Beware of the waiting time at table mountain when we went up it was 2 hours if you had a ticket and 4 hours without one... Needless to say we didn't wait.
We also did the free walking tour of the 6th district which I enjoyed, there was not much to see but the guide painted a great picture... Be prepared to give big tips as this is how they make there money

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Duncan J. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The peninsula day tour was an amazing day! Our guide Rodney picked us up from our hotels and was with us the whole day and provided mountains of information and hilarious anecdotes throughout the trip.
We visited the beautiful Hout Bay and took a boat ride out to see the seals. Then we drove along the stunning coastal road to Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope. After a fabulous lunch in Simonstown we visited Boulder's Beach where there is a colony of penguins. And our final stop was the beautiful botanical gardens.
I would recommend this trip, for value for money, amazing scenery, fab wildlife sightings and a wonderful day out!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a great way to see the city of Cape Town as you have the ability to spend as much time and enjoy whatever area you're interested in without being rushed. We definitely took advantage of the hop on hop off feature.... even spending an afternoon at Camps Bay beach one day.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We have used this unbeatable tour on several trips to Cape Town. It is an essential ingredient of any visit to this wonderful city and the commentary on the buses is both informative and thoroughly recommended. It is the easiest way to obtain your bearings and if you have a limited time is ideal for visiting all the main attractions i.e. Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Hout Bay, Camp Bay etc. Ideally, if you have the time, take advantage of the 2 day ticket which covers both the Red and Blue bus routes and includes a free evening trip to the Lions Head and a trip on the canal. Excellent value for money and a 'must' for any visitor to Cape Town. Book a flexible ticket on line with Viator prior to your trip.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alvy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had a wonderful time with a very informative tourist guide. I have only one small comment. I wished the time arrangement of each place should be allocated based on the popularity of that place. For example I believe most of us didn't feel like we should spend too much time in Hout Bay, but we definitely would love to spend longer in Cape Point or Cape of Good Hope.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We were thrilled to have a personable guide, Rodney. He was knowledgeable, friendly and just a great compliment to the tour. Never felt rushed at the various sights we stopped at throughout the tour. Although the weather was not the best he made the most out of everything that was planned.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

tessa v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day. We had nice weather especially for July. I feel like we got to see an overwhelming amount of beautiful scenery. The boat ride in Houts Bay to see the seals is worthwhile. And the penguins are great. Our guide, Garth, was super friendly and very knowledgeable- he knew about the history of areas and landmarks, about the animals, and just lots of little facts. Timing of everything was pretty good, I would have maybe said though to have lunch a little earlier ad not stay there as long, maybe do the point first and have lunch, stay for awhile then do cape of good hope photo opp and then on to the gardens. But maybe just bring a snack with you, its a long morning. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by minibus efficiently, the tour was a really great way to see the Cape Penisula! A busy day but highly recommended, we didn't take the optional boat tour but browsed the selection of street sellers stalls in Hout Bay, then onto the Cape of Good Hope, a great lunch and walk up to the lighthouse. Then Simon’s Town and the African penguins! And then a quick taste of the beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. A really great day and way of seeing more than Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

John Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day from start to end, despite poor weather. We covered a lot of ground, took in a lot of sights and learned quite a bit about this wonderful part of the world. Our driver/guide was friendly, informative, helpful and entertaining throughout, and is to be commended..

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

flamingos7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a perfect day - driving along the Cape Town coastline and down to Cape Point - magnificent views from the old lighthouse - delightful boat ride out to the Seals at Hout Bay and visiting the penguins at Boulders Beach, a quick stop at Kirstenbosch - lovely! Getting to know a great group of fellow travelers over lunch, and a wonderful guide to lead us. Could not fit any more into the day, and it was well-paced and worth the price!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Neil F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

wonderful day tour. Not having a vehicle, this was a great way to see some of the surrounding area. We were picked up at our hotel on time and were able to enjoy the scenery without worrying about traffic. Our driver was quite knowledgable. Well worth the cost

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Dean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was SUPER and the places we stopped were impressive. First to Mariner Wharf in Houts Bay with a short boat ride out of the harbor to "Seal Island", very nice take. Then stops overlooking False Bay, then to the penguin colony, then to cape point and up the furnicular to the summit. It was moving to stand at cape point (tremendous wind, surf and scenery !) and realize that the next land to your south is Antarctica ! A few baboons and ostriches added for color. Excellent tour vehicle (comfortable) and a long day (9 - 6:30), but highly recommended by a many-time Viator traveler.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Glenn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

GREAT way to get an overview of the city without spending a fortune!!!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I did the hop-on hop-off tour in Cape Town for 5 days straight on my second visit to the city and couldn't wait to get on the bus each morning. You see everything, and the drivers and hostesses are very accommodating. Be sure to schedule time at Hout Bay to see the crazy seals, and the World of Birds to see the amusing residents. I couldn't have seen most of the sights without this bus, because cabs are very expensive in Cape Town.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Taxis for tourists are expensive in Cape Town, and they don't take credit cards like cabs in other cities throughout the world. Therefore, the hop-on hop-off tour bus is the best way to get around and see everything in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The drivers and the hosts/hostesses on board are friendly and welcoming. They adhere to an exact (printed) schedule, so the "big red bus" is reliable. You can get off anywhere then catch another bus that suits your schedule, or simply spend the day riding the Red or Blue line, or both. With both routes, you see the downtown area, the majestic mountains, stunning beaches, and the V and A Waterfront. If you have time, buy the 2-day ticket, which includes a calming canal cruise in Cape Town past condos of the rich and famous., .I just spent 8 full days in Cape Town and rode the bus for 5 days. I miss the big red bus as much as I miss the city and it's people.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Giancarlo B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

You have a real gem in Mr. Ludger Pooth. I am in the travel business as well and I have to tell you that he is one of the best tour guides I have had the pleasure of spending time with. His knowledge of not only South Africa but the World is what really brings it home. He has had wonderfully diverse experiences in Europe, Africa, and the United States which adds so much to his presentation. The way he managed a multi-cultural client base without losing his information flow was brilliant. I will be suggesting VIATOR and Springbok Atlas to all of my clients in Washington D.C. that are heading to South Africa. This was the trip of a lifetime for my wife and I and VIATOR/ Springbok Atlas made it very special. Please make sure that the highest levels of your leadership are aware of the poise and professionalism that this gentlemen has exhibited.

My Kindest Regards,

Travis Breen

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

William S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

This was a close to perfect day tour. The guide was thoroughly pleasant and informative and the tour packed a great deal into the day. Hout Bay with an optional trip to see the seals Cape of Good Hope with a stop at the Lighthouse Boulder Beach for the penguins the Botanical Gardens, and hours of beautiful vistas. I highly recommend this tour which was quite reasonably priced for all you saw and did.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Peter L Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Very good and interesting half-day trip to the Cape Point and to the Cape of Good Hope. We also had an opportunity to go and take a look at Jackass penguins near Simon's Town. We also saw ostriches and baboons on the way there. The tour guide was excellent and kept a great presentation of South-African history and culture throughout the whole drive to the destinations.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

Hazel D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

A fabulous trip in which we did everything available in one day without feeling stressed or exhausted.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Inge H

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great. It took the whole day but you see a lot of the beautify of Capetown and the tour offers a lot of different sightseeings. We visited Hout Bay, Cape of good hope, we saw the seals and the pinguins. Visited the Botanic garden, had lunch in Simon's town. All was good and especially the tour guide. She did a very good job!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the day started out raining. Our first stop was at Hout Bay for a bathroom stop in a souvenir shop. The stop at the Cape was very good inspite of the weather. Enjoyed the HUGE waves, ostrichs, baboons and a walk to the lighthouse. Had a very good lunch at Simonstown and then walked to see the penguins. Our last stop was Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Again, the weather wasn't good so we didn't have that nice walk to see all the plants and flowers. By that time we were very tired too. But on a good weather day the trip would have been very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message