This quaint harbor on the western side of the Cape Peninsula has a seaside charm that attracts both travelers and locals to its sheltered shores. Whether it’s sampling ocean-fresh seafood from one of the restaurants lining its harbor or exploring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day. We had nice weather especially for July. I feel like we got to see an overwhelming amount of beautiful scenery. The boat ride in Houts Bay to see the seals is worthwhile. And the penguins are great. Our guide, Garth, was super friendly and very knowledgeable- he knew about the history of areas and landmarks, about the animals, and just lots of little facts. Timing of everything was pretty good, I would have maybe said though to have lunch a little earlier ad not stay there as long, maybe do the point first and have lunch, stay for awhile then do cape of good hope photo opp and then on to the gardens. But maybe just bring a snack with you, its a long morning. Overall very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by minibus efficiently, the tour was a really great way to see the Cape Penisula! A busy day but highly recommended, we didn't take the optional boat tour but browsed the selection of street sellers stalls in Hout Bay, then onto the Cape of Good Hope, a great lunch and walk up to the lighthouse. Then Simon’s Town and the African penguins! And then a quick taste of the beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. A really great day and way of seeing more than Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day from start to end, despite poor weather. We covered a lot of ground, took in a lot of sights and learned quite a bit about this wonderful part of the world. Our driver/guide was friendly, informative, helpful and entertaining throughout, and is to be commended..

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a perfect day - driving along the Cape Town coastline and down to Cape Point - magnificent views from the old lighthouse - delightful boat ride out to the Seals at Hout Bay and visiting the penguins at Boulders Beach, a quick stop at Kirstenbosch - lovely! Getting to know a great group of fellow travelers over lunch, and a wonderful guide to lead us. Could not fit any more into the day, and it was well-paced and worth the price!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

wonderful day tour. Not having a vehicle, this was a great way to see some of the surrounding area. We were picked up at our hotel on time and were able to enjoy the scenery without worrying about traffic. Our driver was quite knowledgable. Well worth the cost

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was SUPER and the places we stopped were impressive. First to Mariner Wharf in Houts Bay with a short boat ride out of the harbor to "Seal Island", very nice take. Then stops overlooking False Bay, then to the penguin colony, then to cape point and up the furnicular to the summit. It was moving to stand at cape point (tremendous wind, surf and scenery !) and realize that the next land to your south is Antarctica ! A few baboons and ostriches added for color. Excellent tour vehicle (comfortable) and a long day (9 - 6:30), but highly recommended by a many-time Viator traveler.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

GREAT way to get an overview of the city without spending a fortune!!!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I did the hop-on hop-off tour in Cape Town for 5 days straight on my second visit to the city and couldn't wait to get on the bus each morning. You see everything, and the drivers and hostesses are very accommodating. Be sure to schedule time at Hout Bay to see the crazy seals, and the World of Birds to see the amusing residents. I couldn't have seen most of the sights without this bus, because cabs are very expensive in Cape Town.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Taxis for tourists are expensive in Cape Town, and they don't take credit cards like cabs in other cities throughout the world. Therefore, the hop-on hop-off tour bus is the best way to get around and see everything in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The drivers and the hosts/hostesses on board are friendly and welcoming. They adhere to an exact (printed) schedule, so the "big red bus" is reliable. You can get off anywhere then catch another bus that suits your schedule, or simply spend the day riding the Red or Blue line, or both. With both routes, you see the downtown area, the majestic mountains, stunning beaches, and the V and A Waterfront. If you have time, buy the 2-day ticket, which includes a calming canal cruise in Cape Town past condos of the rich and famous., .I just spent 8 full days in Cape Town and rode the bus for 5 days. I miss the big red bus as much as I miss the city and it's people.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

You have a real gem in Mr. Ludger Pooth. I am in the travel business as well and I have to tell you that he is one of the best tour guides I have had the pleasure of spending time with. His knowledge of not only South Africa but the World is what really brings it home. He has had wonderfully diverse experiences in Europe, Africa, and the United States which adds so much to his presentation. The way he managed a multi-cultural client base without losing his information flow was brilliant. I will be suggesting VIATOR and Springbok Atlas to all of my clients in Washington D.C. that are heading to South Africa. This was the trip of a lifetime for my wife and I and VIATOR/ Springbok Atlas made it very special. Please make sure that the highest levels of your leadership are aware of the poise and professionalism that this gentlemen has exhibited.

My Kindest Regards,

Travis Breen

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

This was a close to perfect day tour. The guide was thoroughly pleasant and informative and the tour packed a great deal into the day. Hout Bay with an optional trip to see the seals Cape of Good Hope with a stop at the Lighthouse Boulder Beach for the penguins the Botanical Gardens, and hours of beautiful vistas. I highly recommend this tour which was quite reasonably priced for all you saw and did.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Peter L
Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Very good and interesting half-day trip to the Cape Point and to the Cape of Good Hope. We also had an opportunity to go and take a look at Jackass penguins near Simon's Town. We also saw ostriches and baboons on the way there. The tour guide was excellent and kept a great presentation of South-African history and culture throughout the whole drive to the destinations.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

Hazel D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

A fabulous trip in which we did everything available in one day without feeling stressed or exhausted.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

good way to see Cape without renting a car, guide good, pace reasonable, views good,

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I booked the 2-day red/blue ticket. I really only used the Blue bus. This hit the highlights of the city as well as the beach areas up the coast with super views. Also stops at vineyards for winetasting, at the lift for table mountain, stop at a Township with a walking tour guide available and a stop at Houts Bay for a walk around the marine piers; shops and fishing boats. Also from Houts Bay a side tour to take a short boat excursion to "Seal Island" just outside the harbor. The Blue line was definitely a worthwhile take, many interesting stops on this line.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Wonderful excursion. Only problem is that we had only little time for Cape Point and Boulder Beach.
Maybe better to skip Hout Bay.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I had a great day, prompt pick up and then off to Cape point, beautiful route and fantastic views, Hout Bay and the point were really great, Penguins were not the highlight but still enjoyable, Stellenbosch was a lovely area and worth a separate visit next time, wine tasting very good and to top the whole day our driver/guide Thabani was really a wealth of information, looking forward to my next visit already,

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Worthwhile. Suggest intersect Blue and Red routes and have them travel in opposite directions, one clockwise and one anti clockwise so that can chane without having to go back to the start.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This was an enjoyable tour, but I wished that I had been a little better prepared. Had I realized that this bus went to the beach, I would have planned my day a little better and allowed time for a few hours in Houts Bay. Very nice ride up to Cable Mtn. and around the back coastal area. Very beautiful city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

We did not spend any time in Hout Bay and did not get an opportunity to visit Duiker Island nearby and therefore we cid not see the Cape fur seals, which we thought we would see when we booked the tour.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

I thought the itinerary was great, but I was disappointed with the tour guide. Although he was nice and tried to point out interesting facts, I found his English to be incredibly difficult to understand and not completely fluent. While I understand he tried to give us as much time as possible, my husband and I both felt a bit carsick on the ride back. We felt safe, but the speed and swerving traffic were a bit too much for us. Itinerary was awesome. Could have done without the ostrich farm stop.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message