• USD ($)
  • English
This quaint harbor on the western side of the Cape Peninsula has a seaside charm that attracts both travelers and locals to its sheltered shores. Whether it’s sampling ocean-fresh seafood from one of the restaurants lining its harbor or exploring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Super tour guide - SUPER ! - and excellent, comfortable vehicle for the 8 in our group. First to Houts Bay and an optional (slight charge, I think $10US), walk about Mariners Wharf, then to the penguin colony and lunch locally, then to False Bay overlooks and on to Cape Point. Moving to stand looking south at Cape Point and realize the next thing south is Antarctica !! A long day; 9 - 6:30 but highly recommended as one of the best Viator tours I've taken anywhere.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was SUPER and the places we stopped were impressive. First to Mariner Wharf in Houts Bay with a short boat ride out of the harbor to "Seal Island", very nice take. Then stops overlooking False Bay, then to the penguin colony, then to cape point and up the furnicular to the summit. It was moving to stand at cape point (tremendous wind, surf and scenery !) and realize that the next land to your south is Antarctica ! A few baboons and ostriches added for color. Excellent tour vehicle (comfortable) and a long day (9 - 6:30), but highly recommended by a many-time Viator traveler.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Tour guide was SUPER and the places we stopped were impressive. First to Mariner Wharf in Houts Bay with a short boat ride out of the harbor to "Seal Island", very nice take. Then stops overlooking False Bay, then to the penguin colony, then to cape point and up the furnicular to the summit. It was moving to stand at cape point (tremendous wind, surf and scenery !) and realize that the next land to your south is Antarctica ! A few baboons and ostriches added for color. Excellent tour vehicle (comfortable) and a long day (9 - 6:30), but highly recommended by a many-time Viator traveler.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

GREAT way to get an overview of the city without spending a fortune!!!

Doing what: Cape Town City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

I did the hop-on hop-off tour in Cape Town for 5 days straight on my second visit to the city and couldn't wait to get on the bus each morning. You see everything, and the drivers and hostesses are very accommodating. Be sure to schedule time at Hout Bay to see the crazy seals, and the World of Birds to see the amusing residents. I couldn't have seen most of the sights without this bus, because cabs are very expensive in Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Town City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Taxis for tourists are expensive in Cape Town, and they don't take credit cards like cabs in other cities throughout the world. Therefore, the hop-on hop-off tour bus is the best way to get around and see everything in Cape Town and the surrounding area. The drivers and the hosts/hostesses on board are friendly and welcoming. They adhere to an exact (printed) schedule, so the "big red bus" is reliable. You can get off anywhere then catch another bus that suits your schedule, or simply spend the day riding the Red or Blue line, or both. With both routes, you see the downtown area, the majestic mountains, stunning beaches, and the V and A Waterfront. If you have time, buy the 2-day ticket, which includes a calming canal cruise in Cape Town past condos of the rich and famous., .I just spent 8 full days in Cape Town and rode the bus for 5 days. I miss the big red bus as much as I miss the city and it's people.

Doing what: Cape Town City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

You have a real gem in Mr. Ludger Pooth. I am in the travel business as well and I have to tell you that he is one of the best tour guides I have had the pleasure of spending time with. His knowledge of not only South Africa but the World is what really brings it home. He has had wonderfully diverse experiences in Europe, Africa, and the United States which adds so much to his presentation. The way he managed a multi-cultural client base without losing his information flow was brilliant. I will be suggesting VIATOR and Springbok Atlas to all of my clients in Washington D.C. that are heading to South Africa. This was the trip of a lifetime for my wife and I and VIATOR/ Springbok Atlas made it very special. Please make sure that the highest levels of your leadership are aware of the poise and professionalism that this gentlemen has exhibited.

My Kindest Regards,

Travis Breen

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

This was a close to perfect day tour. The guide was thoroughly pleasant and informative and the tour packed a great deal into the day. Hout Bay with an optional trip to see the seals Cape of Good Hope with a stop at the Lighthouse Boulder Beach for the penguins the Botanical Gardens, and hours of beautiful vistas. I highly recommend this tour which was quite reasonably priced for all you saw and did.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Peter L
Finland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

Very good and interesting half-day trip to the Cape Point and to the Cape of Good Hope. We also had an opportunity to go and take a look at Jackass penguins near Simon's Town. We also saw ostriches and baboons on the way there. The tour guide was excellent and kept a great presentation of South-African history and culture throughout the whole drive to the destinations.

Doing what: Cape Point Sightseeing Tour

Hazel D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2007

A fabulous trip in which we did everything available in one day without feeling stressed or exhausted.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I booked the 2-day red/blue ticket. I really only used the Blue bus. This hit the highlights of the city as well as the beach areas up the coast with super views. Also stops at vineyards for winetasting, at the lift for table mountain, stop at a Township with a walking tour guide available and a stop at Houts Bay for a walk around the marine piers; shops and fishing boats. Also from Houts Bay a side tour to take a short boat excursion to "Seal Island" just outside the harbor. The Blue line was definitely a worthwhile take, many interesting stops on this line.

Doing what: Cape Town City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Wonderful excursion. Only problem is that we had only little time for Cape Point and Boulder Beach.
Maybe better to skip Hout Bay.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I had a great day, prompt pick up and then off to Cape point, beautiful route and fantastic views, Hout Bay and the point were really great, Penguins were not the highlight but still enjoyable, Stellenbosch was a lovely area and worth a separate visit next time, wine tasting very good and to top the whole day our driver/guide Thabani was really a wealth of information, looking forward to my next visit already,

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Worthwhile. Suggest intersect Blue and Red routes and have them travel in opposite directions, one clockwise and one anti clockwise so that can chane without having to go back to the start.

Doing what: Cape Town City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This was an enjoyable tour, but I wished that I had been a little better prepared. Had I realized that this bus went to the beach, I would have planned my day a little better and allowed time for a few hours in Houts Bay. Very nice ride up to Cable Mtn. and around the back coastal area. Very beautiful city.

Doing what: Cape Town City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message