Cape Town ATTRACTIONS See all

Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens

The Kirstenbosh National Botanical Gardens, established in 1913 to protect indigenous flora, was the first gardens of its kind in the world. It covers five of the six of South Africa's unique biomes; many of these are found inside an indoor ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rosered32

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

This could have been a wonderful tour but unfortunately it was not! Our guide, Michael, could have provided extensive information about the sites but instead only provided minimal information. The tour was rushed, only had an hour at Kirstenbosch Gardens, not enough time at all. The worst part was eating lunch at a preselected place and having to eat lunch with the group, painful to say the least!! Would not recommend this tour to anyone. It could have been great but instead was a huge let down!!! Giving this tour one star is too generous!

Doing what: Cape Point Tour from Cape Town

Janet K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the day started out raining. Our first stop was at Hout Bay for a bathroom stop in a souvenir shop. The stop at the Cape was very good inspite of the weather. Enjoyed the HUGE waves, ostrichs, baboons and a walk to the lighthouse. Had a very good lunch at Simonstown and then walked to see the penguins. Our last stop was Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. Again, the weather wasn't good so we didn't have that nice walk to see all the plants and flowers. By that time we were very tired too. But on a good weather day the trip would have been very enjoyable.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Deborah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We were picked up from our hotel by minibus efficiently, the tour was a really great way to see the Cape Penisula! A busy day but highly recommended, we didn't take the optional boat tour but browsed the selection of street sellers stalls in Hout Bay, then onto the Cape of Good Hope, a great lunch and walk up to the lighthouse. Then Simon’s Town and the African penguins! And then a quick taste of the beautiful Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. A really great day and way of seeing more than Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

flamingos7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What a perfect day - driving along the Cape Town coastline and down to Cape Point - magnificent views from the old lighthouse - delightful boat ride out to the Seals at Hout Bay and visiting the penguins at Boulders Beach, a quick stop at Kirstenbosch - lovely! Getting to know a great group of fellow travelers over lunch, and a wonderful guide to lead us. Could not fit any more into the day, and it was well-paced and worth the price!

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

louise.c1000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was truly an amazing trip. Firstly the tour rep Elaine made the whole trip worthwhile with her interesting comments and she was a really nice lady.I think she was employed bhy Springbok Atlas. The boat trip to the seal colony was lovely and the weather was very good. We then made our way to see the Penguins and passed thru Simons Town. Boulders Beach was fantastic just
to see the antics of the penguins. We then travelled on to Cape Point for pictures at
The Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve and then proceeded to the Two Oceans Restaurant for Lunch which was very good. We also managed to get the funicular to ththe top to see the lighthouse. Our last port of call was Kirstenbosch Nat.Botanical Gardens., All in all this tour was very good value for money and | would certainly book with Viator again.
the site and continued

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Hennariikka S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The quide was funny and he knew a lot. Very interesting. Only bad thing was that there was so much to do... Well, you can see penguins in the aquarium so we would have skipt that part so that we could have actually enjoyed the kirstenboch garden longer than 30min... too muc rush...

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

ANDREW R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This is a must do. The coastline was one of this world. We also got to see a number of whales. An amazing trip and the Kirstenbosch garden is a must see. The guide was great. Thanks for the trip guys.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

John H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The tour was well organised, and our tour guide supplied us with a lot of useful information about the scenery and the local culture as well as being an excellent driver over sometimes difficult roads. His sense of humour went down well also.We climbed up to Cape Point for an amazing view and really enjoyed the penguins at Simonstown. Finishing off at the wonderful Kirstenbosch gardens highlighted our trip. Would recommend to anyone of reasonable fitness.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Alan B United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

Well worth the visit. Saw some fantastic scenery. Simonstown, Boulders Rock penguins and Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens would be the highlights of the trip.

Doing what: Cape Peninsula Tour from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message