Settled in the mid-1920s as a designated area for black Africans, Langa Township is Cape Town’s oldest and largest township. This lively community, which was established pre-apartheid, is steeped in history of the Xhosa people. Even its name pays ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide was knowledgable and offered many personal insights. He even arranged for our group to have a walking tour of one of the townships with a local resident. Ended the tour with a deeper appreciation for South Africa's history and a sense of optimism for its future. Highly recommend this tour for all visitors to Cape Town.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

both aspects of the day were eye opening and moving everyone should make these outstanding visits

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was educational. Very sobering. Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Judson P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Van trip around Cape Town was very well done. Driver / trip leader was well informed about the area. Seeing District 6 first hand through the museum was very graphic. The visit to the Township was enlightening -- a amount of poverty is overwhelming.

The ferry ride to Robbin Island was fun to see Cape Town from another angle. It is hard to believe that Nelson Mandela could survive living there for all the years he did. It really showed the strength of his convictions to free the blacks.

Well done

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

YORK GEORGE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of the old city and a visit to a township.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Sherman K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended A to our tour guide.The way the tour is planned is excellent as you go to District 6 Museum first and are told about what happened when apartheid came into force in 1948, then visit a township and then spend the afternoon on Robben Island where you learn about how political prisoners where treated and got to see and walk the same halls of nelson Mandela amazing.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Myriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended! The way the tour is planned is excellent as you go to District 6 Museum first and are told about what happened when apartheid came into force in 1948, you then visit a township and can see for yourselves the accommodation black people were moved to and then spend the afternoon on Robben Island where you learn about how political prisoners where treated. A real eye opener.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nii O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was just wonderful. Andyley was very knowledgeable and made us feel very safe.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Paula S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour which gave us the history of the townships and life for all under apartheid. It was well organised and the guide was first class. He was able to answer all our questions and took us for an intimate tour of the township. The township people were welcoming and as curious as we were and the children like all children were friendly welcoming and wanting us to interact with them.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Helena Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a very educational tour of Cape Town, it's history and seeing a side of Cape town that is not normally seen. Glad we pre-booked. Would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Karen United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The whole day tour gave you a great understanding about the formation of Cape Town from the mid 1600's up until today. It explain the government ruling and living standards from the Dutch, colored folks, and Blacks. The Langa Township tour was amazing to see. It was hard to witness the very poor living in the shanty town homes, hostels now turned into family communinal housing, the one bedroom home, and then the more affluent people living in a house with two bedrooms and a garage. What was definitely of note was they all lived near or next door to each other.

Robben Island was a 25 minute boat ride out to the island. The first hour bus ride drove you around to various places on the island. It showed you the leper colony, military cannons, limestone quarry where many prison mates worked while encampment. The second hour was a walking tour inside the prison. The tour was given by an actual prisoner. He told us his story about being sent there because of political reasons. He was sentenced to 25 years but was released after apartheid. You also got to see the cell where Nelson Mandela was housed and the other 12 objectors holdings.

A must see tour if you want to witness past history.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Florence m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours of my trip!! So much information on that area,don't miss it

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour, we were not disappointed and would recommend it. The best tour we have done in South africa

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Judith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was interesting and humbling, as well as sobering. The hope is that the townships will continue rebuilding and getting families out of the shacks they now live in. The visit to Robben Island was one of the highlights of our entire trip to Africa. Meeting a man who was jailed on this island for 7 years and his experiences as well as his knowledge of Mandela was sobering and informational. This was a great trip and the 11 of us who took the trip were all filled with knowledge and awe of those who survived this horrendous ordeal on this isldand.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We both really enjoyed the tour. It gives you a good idea of Cape Town and the areas around it. Guide was fantastic - on time and very friendly. Really enjoyed the visit to the Township and the fact that we got to meet and visit with a resident. Real eye opener. Great idea if you only have a limited time in Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Evviva L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the Township tour you're looking for. Great, in-depth view of life in the Townships, the work and progress being made there. Incredibly informative and a great way to learn more about the history of South Africa free from pressure or propaganda.

Doing what: Township Tour of Cape Town

Radiancewoody

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great! We got a chance to not Only see the beautiful tourist area of Cape Town, but also the life of people who actually live in the township. This tour gave us a new appreciation for what we've been blessed with. It's a "must do" if visiting Cape Town!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Cathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this tour, our guide was fantastic, full of information and very genuine. He ensured that the whole group enjoyed their tour and got everything out of it that they had hoped for.
trip to Robben Island was cancelled due to bad weather but automatically refunded without asking.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Charlene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great transportation, views, and history. Could have been more time to shop, but you can't have everything. Thanks.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Carol T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, especially the townships. A thought provoking and thoroughly interesting day. Excellent guides. Recommended.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Harry L. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very informative it was a different look at South Africa

Doing what: Township Tour of Cape Town

Harry L. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour was very informative and interesting

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Francisco J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Francisco J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Francisco J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message