Settled in the mid-1920s as a designated area for black Africans, Langa Township is Cape Town’s oldest and largest township. This lively community, which was established pre-apartheid, is steeped in history of the Xhosa people. Even its name pays ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 94 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rhonda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

manhammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour, Titus was our guide and did a great job informing us and keeping us safe. It was an eye opener to see the contrast between the rich and the poor of the townships in modern day, South Africa. The people of the townships were so welcoming and the children were so happy to see us.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nancy H R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, but rushed because of late pickup

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

siobhanharbour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a must if visiting Cape Town, very sobering but unmissable at the same time. The guides were fantastic and couldn and #39;t fault the tour in anyway!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

awbs United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a once in a lifetime experience. Visits to a township - in our case Langa - make you feel a bit of a voyeur!! Such poverty as we can't imagine. Homes which are just corrugated huts, and hundreds of them. No running water or toilets.
Later, we went to Robben Island, where Nelsen Mandella was incarcerated for some 18 years. The visit to the cells is overseen by a former prisoner, Tom Morris in our case. This is a once in a lifetime visit, and something we should all strive to do. Very emotional and humbling.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Terry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding tour! Historical facts, District 6, and the Township tour was wonderful. The tour guide was outstanding with very much insight! The Robben Island tour was equally outstanding. My wife, children and Grand Children were overwhelmed!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

bev.todd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I highly recommend this tour to understand the history of South Africa.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Dahlia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent guided tour by Richard and the team in Robben Island. Very informative and very sympathetically presented.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Alan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Township tour was well very informative with the guide taking time to explain the historical as well as the current political situation.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

vpwalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is very educational. The township tour was enlightening and gave me hope that things will get better even though it's going to take a very long time. I took people's advice and took Dramamine to combat potential seasickness on the ferry to Robbens Island. The ride coming from the island was rocky. The tour of the island gave us knowledge of what it was like during those times. The guides took their time, so we weren't rushed. The views of Cape Town from Robbens Island are spectacular. Viator provided an excellent guide for the township which made the overall experience worth the price. This tour is a must-do if visiting South Africa.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

E M T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Brilliant guide for museum and townships. So emotional learning about the horrors of segregation and apartheid. Robbed island also brilliant. Hearing about the prison regime from ex political prisoner.
Moving but so interesting.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Thalia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and took us through Langa Township which was an eye opening experience and we also stopped by a children and #39;s school. It was such great experience I and #39;ll never forget

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was an excellent idea. Meeting inhabitants of the two townships, especially Khayelitsha opens up your eyes to the conditions in which the majority of the county lives. A solo visit to those areas would be difficult if not impossible. Our guide Dustin spoke excellent Englidh and was fun to interact with. The background related to the colorful Malay part of town at the beginning of the tour was also interesting although our hotel Hilton was actually on the same street so we could easily spend more time there later

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A highly recommended tour, with a great variety of things to see and experience. The guide was excellent, Robben Island was a real eye- opener. Very good value, entertaining and educational.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Jolonda M. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

You can't say you visited Cape Town, South Africa without experiencing the townships. When 80 of the population was affected by this segregation, and still live in the aftermath of its existence, you must witness to understand. Professionally done, with local people, this tour is EXCELLENT! Feel free to ask questions.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

ExceLlent tour which was informative and sensitive to the issues. Andy our guide was exceptional and gave us the background and human side of the forced segregation of the past. The tour to Robben Island was also great.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide was knowledgable and offered many personal insights. He even arranged for our group to have a walking tour of one of the townships with a local resident. Ended the tour with a deeper appreciation for South Africa's history and a sense of optimism for its future. Highly recommend this tour for all visitors to Cape Town.

Doing what: Cultural Cape Town Tour Including Langa and Khayelitsha Townships and Bo-Kaap

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

both aspects of the day were eye opening and moving everyone should make these outstanding visits

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was educational. Very sobering. Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Judson P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Van trip around Cape Town was very well done. Driver / trip leader was well informed about the area. Seeing District 6 first hand through the museum was very graphic. The visit to the Township was enlightening -- a amount of poverty is overwhelming.

The ferry ride to Robbin Island was fun to see Cape Town from another angle. It is hard to believe that Nelson Mandela could survive living there for all the years he did. It really showed the strength of his convictions to free the blacks.

Well done

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

YORK GEORGE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of the old city and a visit to a township.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Sherman K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended A to our tour guide.The way the tour is planned is excellent as you go to District 6 Museum first and are told about what happened when apartheid came into force in 1948, then visit a township and then spend the afternoon on Robben Island where you learn about how political prisoners where treated and got to see and walk the same halls of nelson Mandela amazing.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Myriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended! The way the tour is planned is excellent as you go to District 6 Museum first and are told about what happened when apartheid came into force in 1948, you then visit a township and can see for yourselves the accommodation black people were moved to and then spend the afternoon on Robben Island where you learn about how political prisoners where treated. A real eye opener.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nii O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was just wonderful. Andyley was very knowledgeable and made us feel very safe.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message