For nearly 300 years, Robben Island was a place of isolation, where political prisoners, including Nelson Mandela, were imprisoned and cut off from the rest of the world. It also served as a voluntary sanctuary for lepers. Despite this unsavory ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour, especially the townships. A thought provoking and thoroughly interesting day. Excellent guides. Recommended.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great transportation, views, and history. Could have been more time to shop, but you can't have everything. Thanks.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a must. It was wonderful to walk in the steps of mandela

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was wonderful tour. We got to se the children's rural school. It was a heart-warming experience.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour was very informative and interesting

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Guide was more interested in talking to his friends he met along the way! Didn't extract any value from the guide.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome tour by our guide, Andilei, through District 6 and the townships with the help of Nelson, a local township guide. It was a great way to come to understand what happened during Apartheid and to feel the spirit of growth and revitalization. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great trip full of historical input from the local guide who lives in the Township.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We learned alot about the history of the Apartheid period.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a very interesting tour and especially to see Langa and its people

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very interesting and good tour to understand the history of Cape Town (and South Africa)!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

We had a very good day, the boat ride to the island was rough.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We enjoyed talking with our guide, the museum and the trip to Robbin Island. All arrangements for pick up and drop off were done well. We did feel however that we did not go to all the places mentioned on the morning trip. We only went to one township and walked around. There was no interaction with the people there. There did not seem to be enough time, according to the guide if we were to make the 1 o'clock ferry to Robbin Island. He did drive us through one more township, but then there was no time for lunch.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was brilliant, our tour guide was very knowledgeable, the museum was the best I've ever seen in my life, the township tour was heart rendering and a definite must to do.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message