For nearly 300 years, Robben Island was a place of isolation, where political prisoners, including Nelson Mandela, were imprisoned and cut off from the rest of the world. It also served as a voluntary sanctuary for lepers. Despite this unsavory ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding tour! Historical facts, District 6, and the Township tour was wonderful. The tour guide was outstanding with very much insight! The Robben Island tour was equally outstanding. My wife, children and Grand Children were overwhelmed!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Sayvai United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was travelling alone and had a great time hiking up Tabletop mountain. The local tour guide 'Skeezo' of local tour operator Bike and Saddle Cape Town was really good company. It was his first time too in fact like for me too, but he seems to know what he was doing. Because it was my first hike ever, he managed the pace for me and took some mini-breaks along the way to the summit via Platteklip Gorge path. I had bad luck with the weather cloudy morning, misty at summit, so couldn't see the whole Cape Town landscape beyond the summit. Because of the bad weather the cable car wasn't operating so i climbed back down again via the same path. All in all it was a great experience!

Doing what: Table Mountain Hike in Cape Town

awbs United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a once in a lifetime experience. Visits to a township - in our case Langa - make you feel a bit of a voyeur!! Such poverty as we can't imagine. Homes which are just corrugated huts, and hundreds of them. No running water or toilets.
Later, we went to Robben Island, where Nelsen Mandella was incarcerated for some 18 years. The visit to the cells is overseen by a former prisoner, Tom Morris in our case. This is a once in a lifetime visit, and something we should all strive to do. Very emotional and humbling.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Martin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day and could not be improved on in any way

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

siobhanharbour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a must if visiting Cape Town, very sobering but unmissable at the same time. The guides were fantastic and couldn and #39;t fault the tour in anyway!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Hannah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tor was amazing and Avril the guide was incredible

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

Chaynie J W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great! Well organised. The tour guides knowledgeable and engaging. At times the journey became emotional, and vexing! Glad to know more of the truth!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Floyd W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Robbin Island was great, however it felt like the afternoon was being filled up with alternative activities because some of the options were not available.

Doing what: Full-Day Robben Island and Cape Town City Tour

sivi United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

As usual a very good service, pickup was early, tour guide very informative and will book again with Viator

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Angela G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Our guide was really great. The ride was a bit challenging in places I don't ride bikes but do-able Great views. Was it worth 58 .....no

Doing what: Table Mountain Bike Tour from Cape Town

Jaimie H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Mixed feelings. The Robben Island portion was amazing. The townships tour was interesting, but a little uncomfortable. We spent too much time at one point during the tour standing around a very over priced knick-knack sale table. The museum was quite interesting, but we were somewhat rushed through it. Our guide was very passionate.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

E M T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Brilliant guide for museum and townships. So emotional learning about the horrors of segregation and apartheid. Robbed island also brilliant. Hearing about the prison regime from ex political prisoner.
Moving but so interesting.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

vpwalker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is very educational. The township tour was enlightening and gave me hope that things will get better even though it's going to take a very long time. I took people's advice and took Dramamine to combat potential seasickness on the ferry to Robbens Island. The ride coming from the island was rocky. The tour of the island gave us knowledge of what it was like during those times. The guides took their time, so we weren't rushed. The views of Cape Town from Robbens Island are spectacular. Viator provided an excellent guide for the township which made the overall experience worth the price. This tour is a must-do if visiting South Africa.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very Interesting Tour, learned so much about the history of South Africa.
Wind was high so we did not get to do the Table mountain part, however our guide had a plan B, he took us to Signal Hill, to see the views, we did Table mountain later in the week

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

Alan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Township tour was well very informative with the guide taking time to explain the historical as well as the current political situation.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Dahlia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent guided tour by Richard and the team in Robben Island. Very informative and very sympathetically presented.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

bev.todd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I highly recommend this tour to understand the history of South Africa.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Patricia M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

One of those must do trips when in Cape Town. all guides very knowledgeable and professional.A good insight into the recent history.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

pauline s

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

A very good guide for an interesting tour, let down by the weather conditions and not being to go to Robben Island

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

both aspects of the day were eye opening and moving everyone should make these outstanding visits

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

suziq21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good. we were able to move our sightseeing to fit in with what we had already experienced in Cape Town.

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

ExceLlent tour which was informative and sensitive to the issues. Andy our guide was exceptional and gave us the background and human side of the forced segregation of the past. The tour to Robben Island was also great.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Jolonda M. D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

You can't say you visited Cape Town, South Africa without experiencing the townships. When 80 of the population was affected by this segregation, and still live in the aftermath of its existence, you must witness to understand. Professionally done, with local people, this tour is EXCELLENT! Feel free to ask questions.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A highly recommended tour, with a great variety of things to see and experience. The guide was excellent, Robben Island was a real eye- opener. Very good value, entertaining and educational.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Thalia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and took us through Langa Township which was an eye opening experience and we also stopped by a children and #39;s school. It was such great experience I and #39;ll never forget

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message