For nearly 300 years, Robben Island was a place of isolation, where political prisoners, including Nelson Mandela, were imprisoned and cut off from the rest of the world. It also served as a voluntary sanctuary for lepers. Despite this unsavory ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

both aspects of the day were eye opening and moving everyone should make these outstanding visits

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

suziq21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good. we were able to move our sightseeing to fit in with what we had already experienced in Cape Town.

Doing what: Robben Island and Cape Town City Private Tour

PamF

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We are so pleased we did this tour and gave us an insight into what District 6 was all about. It was also very interesting to visit a township although I did feel rather uncomfortable going into the people's homes and taking photos. I mentioned this to our guide, Andie, who said that they wanted people to see how they lived. Our guide, Andie was very informative and had a good sense of humour. Our time ended with him at the V and A Waterfront where we had some lunch and then got on the ferry to Robben Island. After our trip to Robben Island which is a must when in Cape Town we were picked up and dropped back at our hotel.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was educational. Very sobering. Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Tanveer A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a good tour and the Tour Guide was also very good.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice tour. Very good guide.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Judson P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Van trip around Cape Town was very well done. Driver / trip leader was well informed about the area. Seeing District 6 first hand through the museum was very graphic. The visit to the Township was enlightening -- a amount of poverty is overwhelming.

The ferry ride to Robbin Island was fun to see Cape Town from another angle. It is hard to believe that Nelson Mandela could survive living there for all the years he did. It really showed the strength of his convictions to free the blacks.

Well done

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Amy G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I were in Cape Town for part of our Honeymoon. We really enjoyed the tour of the township and especially our guide. The Robben Island tour is done separate. We had a long wait in the line for the ferry and the weather was rather rough making the seas less than ideal. But, that is certainly not anyone's fault. To be honest, as wonderful as the experience was, I had done a similar tour 12 years ago. My recollection of that experience, and perhaps because it was my first, was little different. The township had very little interaction with people, except for those selling their handmade items. I will say the highlight was visiting one of the schools in the townships. You can see the donations are going directly to the school and the kids.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Max C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Overall, excellent tour. The visit to the townships in the morning was very informative, educational. Would've appreciated a chance to interact with the residents more. Didn't realize that the guide wasn't going with us to Robben Island, but he was waiting to take us to our hotel when we got back, so all OK.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Myriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended! The way the tour is planned is excellent as you go to District 6 Museum first and are told about what happened when apartheid came into force in 1948, you then visit a township and can see for yourselves the accommodation black people were moved to and then spend the afternoon on Robben Island where you learn about how political prisoners where treated. A real eye opener.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Paula S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour which gave us the history of the townships and life for all under apartheid. It was well organised and the guide was first class. He was able to answer all our questions and took us for an intimate tour of the township. The township people were welcoming and as curious as we were and the children like all children were friendly welcoming and wanting us to interact with them.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nii O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was just wonderful. Andyley was very knowledgeable and made us feel very safe.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Sherman K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended A to our tour guide.The way the tour is planned is excellent as you go to District 6 Museum first and are told about what happened when apartheid came into force in 1948, then visit a township and then spend the afternoon on Robben Island where you learn about how political prisoners where treated and got to see and walk the same halls of nelson Mandela amazing.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

YORK GEORGE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour of the old city and a visit to a township.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Diane G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The actual tour was absolutely fantastic! the places we went to were fascinating and we loved it! however, we were told that we would be picked up after our ferry and taken back to the hotel which was what we wanted because we had bad experiences with taxis, but before we got on the ferry we were told we were not going to be picked up, were offered 50rand to get our own taxi or told to get a transfer back to the hotel with someone else and where we were told was the wrong place.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Helena Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a very educational tour of Cape Town, it's history and seeing a side of Cape town that is not normally seen. Glad we pre-booked. Would recommend it to anyone who is visiting Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Karen United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The whole day tour gave you a great understanding about the formation of Cape Town from the mid 1600's up until today. It explain the government ruling and living standards from the Dutch, colored folks, and Blacks. The Langa Township tour was amazing to see. It was hard to witness the very poor living in the shanty town homes, hostels now turned into family communinal housing, the one bedroom home, and then the more affluent people living in a house with two bedrooms and a garage. What was definitely of note was they all lived near or next door to each other.

Robben Island was a 25 minute boat ride out to the island. The first hour bus ride drove you around to various places on the island. It showed you the leper colony, military cannons, limestone quarry where many prison mates worked while encampment. The second hour was a walking tour inside the prison. The tour was given by an actual prisoner. He told us his story about being sent there because of political reasons. He was sentenced to 25 years but was released after apartheid. You also got to see the cell where Nelson Mandela was housed and the other 12 objectors holdings.

A must see tour if you want to witness past history.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Beric A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour. Massively educational and eye opening. Walking through actual townships, meeting the people and hearing there stories will forever leave a lasting impression.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Carol W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour. Definitely worth doing the townships before Robben Island to get the whole history and context. Our guide was great. The ex-prisoner guides on Robben Island also made the tour very real.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Randy A

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was a good tour except the operator was 45 minutes late picking us up. We had to call to remind them?!

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Maria Ester B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Townshiptour was fine, but the Robben Island tour eas not good. It was way too structured! Not allowed to get out of bus, too many speeches and what we went to see, Mandela's cell, was left for the last 5 minutes. Awful tour. They need to learn how to give tourists what they want.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Jeff B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We both really enjoyed the tour. It gives you a good idea of Cape Town and the areas around it. Guide was fantastic - on time and very friendly. Really enjoyed the visit to the Township and the fact that we got to meet and visit with a resident. Real eye opener. Great idea if you only have a limited time in Cape Town.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Judith R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was interesting and humbling, as well as sobering. The hope is that the townships will continue rebuilding and getting families out of the shacks they now live in. The visit to Robben Island was one of the highlights of our entire trip to Africa. Meeting a man who was jailed on this island for 7 years and his experiences as well as his knowledge of Mandela was sobering and informational. This was a great trip and the 11 of us who took the trip were all filled with knowledge and awe of those who survived this horrendous ordeal on this isldand.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour, we were not disappointed and would recommend it. The best tour we have done in South africa

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Florence m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours of my trip!! So much information on that area,don't miss it

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message