Backed by iconic Table Mountain, and surrounded by gorgeous beaches, nature has given Cape Town one of the world's best-looking locations. There's the Aquila game reserve nearby for wildlife-watching, cosmopolitan bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 506 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

norman W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Inspite of having a problem with pick up the company put it right .. Guide first rate.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Nancy H R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent guide, but rushed because of late pickup

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Nicole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

one word....AWESOME! you can NOT miss this tour. book it now!! this group does so much more than tours...they do research and conservation efforts so every dollar you spend helps further the study and conservation of these magnificent animals. we saw at least 8 sharks on our half day. be warned though....your hotel pickup time may be anywhere from 2am - 4am depending on where your hotel is at. the drive is 2.5 hours from cape town so bring something to keep you busy!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Casey G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

well, point one - take sea sickness pills or patches - even if you've never had a problem! I have been in water my whole life and never got ill - this was a shock! outside of that, awesome! you don't have to go underwater in the cage if you don't want to which was a plus as I thought I had to snorkel. better pics from on the boat vs in the cage for me - it was too fast in the water. we saw about 10 sharks that day with the last one being the biggest! long drive to get there from Camps Bay but well worth it!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Rhonda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative tour.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Valerio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The views you get from top of the Table Mountain is probably one of the most scenic views I have ever seen in my life. You are literally above the clouds admiring the gorgeous cape town city view and its surroundings. The experience has exceeded my already very high expectations.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

manhammer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour, Titus was our guide and did a great job informing us and keeping us safe. It was an eye opener to see the contrast between the rich and the poor of the townships in modern day, South Africa. The people of the townships were so welcoming and the children were so happy to see us.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was absolutely amazing! While all of the sites were spectacular, what really made the tour was our guide Ultrich. He was welcoming and explained all the areas we visited and answered our many questions. We really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Point and Constantia Valley Wine Region from Cape Town

tresbellecakes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing. The tour guide was so helpful and worked with us to customize our tour. Definitely recommend

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Point and Constantia Valley Wine Region from Cape Town

Jared C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip! Pick up was 5 am. Over 2 hour drive from Cape Town. Breakfast, briefing, sharks dive, sea lions on the way back, dinner, and return to cape town. I was back shortly after 4pm

Pros
- Breakfast: potatoes, eggs, bacon, bread. Lunch: light sandwich, hot coco, salt and vinegar chips. Dinner: soup and buttered bread
- Nice boat specific for shark dives. Steady less sea sickness. Boat ride out about 20 min and back a little more as you go through shark alley to see sea lions
- Staff is excellent. Kind and always willing to answer questions
- Guaranteed a marine biologist on board to answer questions and give some background
- Provided a dry clean wet suit, sturdy rain jacket to cut the cold wind on the boat ride, and a towel when you climb out
- Sharks were amazing! We saw 14 different sharks, the biggest about 14-15 feet. Each person saw 2-3 while in the cage, but they would pass by many times
- I had over an hour in the cage! Each person gets about 30 min. They don't time it, but instead try to give everyone a similar experience. If there is time at the end they will let you go again if you ask
- The record a video available for purchase 150 rand
- They take pictures that are posted on the website free of charge
- The water was very still and the extremely clear! We lucked out. Go in the cage 1st, the water gets murky from the bait and chum as the day goes on

Cons
- There were 34 people on board 32 of which were diving. The boat was big enough, but this meant less time in the water and harder to take pictures from the boat everyone wanted the side with the cage
- Just enough food, but no seconds
- They record a video, but the editing in minimal. They basically stick the clips together. There was no underwater shots on the video, but they had an underwater go-pro running most of the time. They don't give you a disc, but a download code, so maybe the final product has more editing/underwater shots?

Best spot in the cage: end toward back of boat!

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Super the tour guide was very informative, professional and efficient in guiding the group around the city. The van was clean, comfortable and easy to access. The tour was filled with beautiful, educational, entertaining and fun. I would definitely use this tour service again.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

James H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very informative and sobering trip. Started in district 6 which was leveled by the government in the 1960s to make a white neighborhood, displacing 10s of thousands of families that had liverd there for generations. They were moved to the Townships, which were basically shanty towns intended to house workers for the city. The visit to the township of Lago was eye opening as we saw how the people were separated by gender and spectrum of whiteness white at the top, African black at the bottom. The walking tour was through areas where you got an opportunity to understand better what happened, what is happening, and what still needs to be done. Robben Island was very interesting and hosted by an ex-political inmate.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

John C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Robbed Island was fantastic and very interesting although we could have done this ourselves rather than booked this tour. Not knowing what to expect, the townships tour was slightly confronting as we visited a shanty town. It was very interesting, however, more explanation is required by Viator in what this about and whatyou will see.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Helen T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

My husband and I very much enjoyed the safari experience itself. The travel to and from the venue was, however very disappointing given how much the overall experience cost.
Although we were picked up shortly after 6 and others were earlier than us we then spent more than 40 minutes travelling across the city and waiting for one couple who were not ready waiting, and for a more extended period for a couple who did not turn up.
The minibus for journey alternated between having either poor ventilation Windows obscured with condensation or icy cold air conditioning. This was certainly not the comfortable journey I was expecting.
I am disappointed about the lengthy delay between finishing lunch and the return journey of over 1.5 hours - I suspect this was for the convenience of the driver's work at the centre there appears no other rationale for it. There was no activity to fill this gap - we were not advised that there was a pool for swimming so could not avail ourselves of this.
The factors outlined above detracted from our satisfaction of the day, especially given the cost of the experience.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

eric w

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

The number of animals on the reserve was pathetic in the truest sense of the word. A minimalist zoo and not worth the investment in time to go see. I would avoid this tour and spend the time in wine country or on the Cape Tour.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

John C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This tour felt very rushed and the highlights were not explained well. Stories around what we were seeing were told in a very haphazard way which made them difficult to follow. Also we were not given enough time to enjoy Tabke Mountain. Fortunately we made our own way back there a couple of times before we left Cape Town. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Ciaran B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Tour was amazing. The sights and wine where fantastic but the best thing was our tour guide Andrew..he was so friendly and his colourful stories really made the day....He was so helpful and dropped us off to Table Mountain even tough not on the itinerary. A day that will live long in the memory!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Point and Constantia Valley Wine Region from Cape Town

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was professional and knowledgeable and I enjoyed having a private tour that allowed us to enjoy the sights and activities a little more at our own pace with the cost not being much more than similar group tours. The sights were beautiful and there were stops for photo opportunities along the road. The wine tour and tasting was lovely although I would recommend giving the option to pay a little extra on the day for 'wine and chocolate tasting' as the package in the tour was wine only and we didn't realise there was a chocolate option until we got to the tasting room. Overall a great day out that I would recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Point and Constantia Valley Wine Region from Cape Town

ann l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

collected on time from hotel, very well organised, your representative Elaine? was very
entertaining and made the trip fun and informative

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Astrid W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A good introduction to cap town

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Yuriy E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting creatures, the sharks.

Doing what: Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town

Norah M G Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

excellent tour. commenttary always timely and informative. highly recommended

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

derek i

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Sadly the driver was late picking us up and the other couple who were also doing our trip were a 40 minute drive away which meant when we got to Table Mountain there was a 1hour wait to get on the cable car.The driver said to you want to wait ...of course we wanted to wait , this was the highlight of our tour...sadly a poor tour

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message