Backed by iconic Table Mountain, and surrounded by gorgeous beaches, nature has given Cape Town one of the world's best-looking locations. There's the Aquila game reserve nearby for wildlife-watching, cosmopolitan bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

PamF

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

We are so pleased we did this tour and gave us an insight into what District 6 was all about. It was also very interesting to visit a township although I did feel rather uncomfortable going into the people's homes and taking photos. I mentioned this to our guide, Andie, who said that they wanted people to see how they lived. Our guide, Andie was very informative and had a good sense of humour. Our time ended with him at the V and A Waterfront where we had some lunch and then got on the ferry to Robben Island. After our trip to Robben Island which is a must when in Cape Town we were picked up and dropped back at our hotel.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

elisabeth r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Terrific private full day tour for my husband and myself, reasonably priced, with Eon as our guide. I highly recommend him. We only had a couple days before our cruise so we wanted to maximize our experience. He arrived on time and in addition to suggesting key area highlights, as this was our first trip, but he made sure he took us to where we wanted to go, as opposed to just following a set route. We started with the Table Mountain gondola on this glorious day and beat the crowds, then went to see the noon gun go off on Signal Hill. Eon even knew from which angle and when to get the best photo. He also took us to colorful local neighborhoods and gave us a great overview of the city in a comfortable, air-conditioned vehicle. Then on to Kirkenbosch Gardens for a walk and lunch. He really knows Cape Town and was also willing to openly talk about local culture and political issues, which we are always interested in on our tours. He inspired a desire to return to Cape Town and do more tours in this fascinating area. Five stars plus!

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Town City Highlights

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a half day tour and did not fall short of any of our expectations. The tour guide was awesome and was able to give a lot of history regarding the places we visit. Table mountain is a must and unless you are planning to hike the amount of time spent on the mountain is more than enough. Town tour, castle, and diamond factory was exciting.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Beautiful venue. Tea was lovely and food was excellent. A must do! EVEN IF YOU DON'T LIKE TEA. There are other things to drink. The variety of teas and desserts are too many to mention. Musa, our driver was great!

Doing what: Afternoon Tea at Cape Town’s Mount Nelson Hotel

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was educational. Very sobering. Highly recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Throughly enjoyed dinner and the show. Very entertaining evening

Doing what: Traditional South African Dinner Experience: Dancing, Drumming, and Interactive Performances at Gold Restaurant

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see the city and surrounding area and good value for money.
Beware of the waiting time at table mountain when we went up it was 2 hours if you had a ticket and 4 hours without one... Needless to say we didn't wait.
We also did the free walking tour of the 6th district which I enjoyed, there was not much to see but the guide painted a great picture... Be prepared to give big tips as this is how they make there money

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

robharper_30

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour. Well worth doing.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We bought the 2 day pass and did many of the offered activities. We only did one of the walking tours and, although the guide was good, there were 50 people, which is way too many to hear what the guide was saying. Otherwise, the Hop-On Hop-Off bus was a great value and we would recommend it.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Catherine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was absolutely amazing!

Doing what: Cape Town Helicopter Tour: Indian and Atlantic Oceans

Jonathan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great guide/driver called Eon, who from the outset made sure we had a 'tailor-made' experience. He found out our preferences and adapted the tour to suit. My Mum's mobility wasn't great and Eon looked after her so well, even staying with her while we went off taking photos and climbing hills!
The drive is spectacular,with great views, we visited the attractive town of Simonstown and the Penguins of Boulders Beach, then on to Cape Point which was great, and lunch at the restaurant there - 'Two Oceans' - which was delicious Eon reserved a table for us.
Finally we returned for an interesting tour of Groot Constantia Winery and a wine-tasting, which was pleasant enough.
All in all, a great success, and worth paying extra for the private tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cape Point and Constantia Valley Wine Region from Cape Town

David John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent value. The commentary was very precise. Perfect.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Volita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

excellent experience

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tanveer A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a good tour and the Tour Guide was also very good.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Tanveer A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We could not take the Table Mountain Tour because of wind - but the City tour was very good.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Denise M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice tour. Very good guide.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Jade M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Waste of time and money. You are able to see everything on this tour via a hop on hop off tour for about half the price. Since the cable car to Table Mountain is not included, there is no point to this tour. I was shocked to be taken to a free museum which I could have gone to own my own. I had to ask the driver to stop in Bo-Kaap to walk around and even take pictures. He planned to just driver through and move on. While the driver was nice, I do not feel i learned anything new on this trip and was disappointed that I even booked.

Doing what: Table Mountain and Cape Town Half-Day Trip

Judson P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Van trip around Cape Town was very well done. Driver / trip leader was well informed about the area. Seeing District 6 first hand through the museum was very graphic. The visit to the Township was enlightening -- a amount of poverty is overwhelming.

The ferry ride to Robbin Island was fun to see Cape Town from another angle. It is hard to believe that Nelson Mandela could survive living there for all the years he did. It really showed the strength of his convictions to free the blacks.

Well done

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Roanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

All the activities we did were fun and well organised and our tour guide zee was amazing. The places we stayed were both very nice! It was my birthday on tour and see went out of his way to make sure my day was one to remember. Would recommend this tour and this company to all my friends! Thanks!

Doing what: 3-Day Garden Route Tour from Cape Town with Big Five Game Drive

Bob Plate USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This Hop-On-Hop- Off Tour is about as good as it gets. We have done these in major cities all over the World and this is the best yet.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kathleen m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I booked two days' ticket and wished I had more time to enjoy the stops....... Accidentally jumped on the blue tour when was intending to join the red tour - but was easily rectified with the help of the friendly staff on board and had the added bonus of then enjoying the yellow tour.
The blue tour was enjoyable on day two but was longer than anticipated so only just squeaked in to do the Robben Island tour at 1pm - Plan ahead folks !!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Amy G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I were in Cape Town for part of our Honeymoon. We really enjoyed the tour of the township and especially our guide. The Robben Island tour is done separate. We had a long wait in the line for the ferry and the weather was rather rough making the seas less than ideal. But, that is certainly not anyone's fault. To be honest, as wonderful as the experience was, I had done a similar tour 12 years ago. My recollection of that experience, and perhaps because it was my first, was little different. The township had very little interaction with people, except for those selling their handmade items. I will say the highlight was visiting one of the schools in the townships. You can see the donations are going directly to the school and the kids.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Max C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Overall, excellent tour. The visit to the townships in the morning was very informative, educational. Would've appreciated a chance to interact with the residents more. Didn't realize that the guide wasn't going with us to Robben Island, but he was waiting to take us to our hotel when we got back, so all OK.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Aurelia A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Really a trip of a lifetime. Loved the whole experience. Hop on buses made so many more sites easily accessible.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Cape Town Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Myriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour, highly recommended! The way the tour is planned is excellent as you go to District 6 Museum first and are told about what happened when apartheid came into force in 1948, you then visit a township and can see for yourselves the accommodation black people were moved to and then spend the afternoon on Robben Island where you learn about how political prisoners where treated. A real eye opener.

Doing what: Cape Town Townships Tour including Robben Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message