South Africa has gained an enviable reputation for its wines, first decanted here 350 years ago. Winemaking traditions from France, Germany and Italy have come together to create New World wines that make South Africa one of the top 10 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was really good. The weather was nice and sunny that day. Jarrod was our tour guide. We really enjoyed the tour. It was was so beautiful visiting the various wineries. We had lunch at a really nice restaurant outside. This is a must see if you are visiting Cape Town.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Well worth, good selection of wineyards and great tour guide!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed it very much.Driver very knowable about the area. Gave us enough time at each place.only thing we would have changed was to include price of getting to see Pengins in tour price Not too crazy about first wine place
But all in all abreast value Thank you

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful country that wine tasting was excellent wanted to bring more wine at home

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was absolutely outstanding because although we didn't taste any wines, we were made so welcome and part of the experience as those who did by the wineries and Darrol our guide who was so enthusiastic and passionate about sharing his wealth of knowledge with us that when we met on later tours where he wasn't our guide, he remembered us and asked how our current tour was going! Thank you Darrol!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Super was super!! We so enjoyed our Cape Point Stellenbosch tour with guide Super. He gave us such a full history of Cape Town that we wouldn't have been able to get on our own. Thank you!!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I was hoping to visit the wineries that had the beautiful Cape Dutch architecture, instead we visited small boutique wineries. The first winery we visited was extremely disappointing.
So overall I was disappointed with this tour.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Great guide.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant tour - a lot covered in one day and great tour guide. Well worth it. Tim, London

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very enjoyable day. It was well paced, relaxing and not rushed. There was plenty of time to take in the views, places of interest, wine and food. We had a small group of five people. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fabulous in every way; I would recommend this tour with Viator without qualification.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Everything we wanted and more! Excellent guide, good wine, good views, great weather.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had great fun on the tour!! ...We had done another wine tasting tour only a couple of weeks earlier in New Zealand and this was far and away the best one!

We only got to see two vineyards (and a chocolatier - nominal extra cost) and although we had expected we would visit more, we actually enjoyed that we got to spend a large amount of time in both and really learn about the wines (particularly at the second one we visited), rather than be rushed from one vineyard to another.

A really fun way to see the area and some brilliant vineyards to try! - Highly Recommended!

Doing what: Cape Winelands Tour by Chauffered Sidecar

Martin H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

From start to finish this tour was great. the driver was punctual and very knowledgable about the whole of areas we visited, and the wine tasting was amazing!!. we would recommend to anyone!!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

We started off late and there were a few bumps in the road but the actual tastings were great!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Beautiful country. A liitle hard to understand the guide but we got by.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

We only got to taste different wines at two different wineries. We did not get an opportunity to learn about how the wine is made and did not get a walking tour around the city center in Stellenbosch.

Doing what: Stellenbosch Wine Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fabulous trip in which you see a lot of the surrounds in Capetown
Recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Capturing the Cape Winelands by sidecar was a fantastic and unique way to tour wine country. Patrick was prompt, courteous, attentive, and shared his insight on Cape Town and wine country. We even got a tour of the waterfront and Signal Hill--complete with pictures--as part of our excursion. Getting picked up and dropped off at our door step was a huge convenience.

Doing what: Cape Winelands Tour by Chauffered Sidecar

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Whilst the tour guide and opportunity to walk around both Stellenbosch and Franschhoek was fantastic. The wineries we went too were horrific!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really great day! Tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out. Our guide Chris was excellent. Very knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely scenic drive with photostops.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour!!! The Fairview winery (first stop) in the Paarl Valley was the best winery in our opinion. Great old world atmosphere, beautiful grounds, cheese tasting, and goats in a lighthouse... no joke!! They also stop by for a brief photo op at the prison where Nelson Mandela was released.

Franschhoek winery had the best views of the valley and mountains. Winery tasting room was very nice but the tasting was not great. We were able to spend 45 minutes in town as an added bonus.

Lastly, the town of Stellenbosch is fantastic. Had a great lunch with some locals at very cool restaurant during our 90 minutes of free time. Really loved that little town. The winery I thought was very average. The drive up with the trees lining the road was beautiful but the winery/tasting room was just average.

Overall.... loved the tour!!!!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message