South Africa has gained an enviable reputation for its wines, first decanted here 350 years ago. Winemaking traditions from France, Germany and Italy have come together to create New World wines that make South Africa one of the top 10 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was good, however, an earlier leaving time and some time to walk around Franschhoek or main street Stellenbosch for 30-40 minutes would have been nice. The wineries were great, particularly KWV and Fairview, however, the runner duck place had terrible wines for tasting, particularly for the afternoon as they were dry and not very fun. However, I agree that KWV was the best for the morning session due to the fantastic wine tour (which set the day up well). The guide was nice but talked a little too much, and the use of the word 'divine' should have a maximum daily quota of 2-3 (not 15-20). Other than that, it was a very pleasant day and the information provided on the wine, culture and history by our divine guide was very good. I would recommend this only to people in a rush with one or two days spare.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An amazing experience! It allows you to fully soak up moment with all the senses.

Doing what: Cape Winelands Tour by Chauffered Sidecar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Gabriel showed up promptly at our specified pickup time and took us to four great wineries. Each was unique, and he was able to substitute the last scheduled winery for one that better suited our tastes. We learned a lot about the history of the region as well. Only thing I would 'caution' is that in June, all of the vines are bare as the grapes have already been harvested, but still some great scenery and views. Obviously nothing against the tour itself, just something to be aware of. Thank you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were met at the airport upon arrival and were escorted to our driver and car. Wonderful service

Doing what: Cape Town Airport Shared Arrival Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent guide.... punctual, pleasant, knowledgeable....good value....

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Darrol was great, we had a group of 8 for the first half and were the only two on the wine tour. Stellenbosch was totally beautiful and well worth the visit. The only thing to be aware of is there is no scheduled stop for lunch so perhaps take a sandwich or get something for lunch at one of the cafes at Cape Point

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

If we had more free time at Stellenbosch, at least 2 hours, better.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The Cape point Tour was fabulous. Heading down to the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point is a must. The drive down is very scenic. We came back via Simons Town which is where we had a lovely lunch and then went to see the penguins (small extra charge). The lowlight of the tour was the wine tasting. The winery we went to did cheeses as well, which far exceeded their wines. You know you're in trouble when you notice some wines for $2 a bottle. We had a much more enjoyable wine tasting from the hop on, hop off bus tour at Groot Constantine winery. If you can skip the winery tour my star rating would be 4 1/2

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fabulous trip. Driver/tour guide, Frisco, very knowledgeable and friendly. Only small number of us on the trip so it made for a very friendly good day out. The wine was pretty good too!!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Very lovely tour. Great wines and beautiful scenery

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fabulous guide and experience. Saw a ton of things I never could have done on my own. Van held 7 people so it was great! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was the most enjoyable day, our guide Leslie was full of knowledge about Cape Town, it's plants, trees, wildlife, people ...... he was so enthusiastic and obviously proud to be from such an amazing place. Cape Point, and the drive down the coast , was beautiful, the views spectacular, we felt as though we were getting a little taste of history being at The Cape of Good Hope. We loved the penguins at Boulder Beach and the wine farms in Stellenbosch were a treat, as was the place itself. The wine tasting was educational, as well as very enjoyable, and we got to see even more wildlife which was an unexpected treat. A brilliant day out that we would recommend to anyone who wants to get a good feel for a beautiful place.
(Also if you are interested in golf or surfing Leslie has extensive experience / knowledge of both and would gladly advise you on the places to visit.)

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an amazing day, well organized, extremely well presented by our tour guide/driver and a true value for the money.
The wineries visited offer many good wines and cheeses, something to match all tastes.
You will learn many things around the wines, their history and production.
Driving through this beautiful landscape, receiving a lot of additional information from the guide and the fact of tasting those delicious wines within the actual wine yards, including the trying of the different grapes, made this day truly memorable for my wife and me.
I can highly recommend this specific trip to all the wine lovers and those who look for spending a perfect day in the beautiful surroundings of Franschhoek and the surrounding valleys.
Our favorite was the visit to a small family owned wine yard, called Oak garden. The owner couple did the presentation themselves, while seated under the shadow of old oak trees overlooking the wine plantation. The owners were really nice and approachable, explaining and answering any question we could come up with around wines. Also the wines were really outstanding and I recommend to buy some at the winery as you will not be able to find them at the airports duty free unfortunately.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour of 3 different wine estates, with good wines to taste!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message