South Africa has gained an enviable reputation for its wines, first decanted here 350 years ago. Winemaking traditions from France, Germany and Italy have come together to create New World wines that make South Africa one of the top 10 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent guide, well paced, a wonderful trip!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Phenomenal trip. The views of the city are that much more breathtaking from the motorcycle than by car. You will definitely enjoy this tour if you like wine.

Doing what: Cape Winelands Tour by Chauffered Sidecar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day from start to end, despite poor weather. We covered a lot of ground, took in a lot of sights and learned quite a bit about this wonderful part of the world. Our driver/guide was friendly, informative, helpful and entertaining throughout, and is to be commended..

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day out visiting 3 wineries and testing the excellent wines.
The driver/guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
We visited the lovely town of Stellenbosch which was very interesting and also Franschhoek which was celebrating Bastille Day and was "buzzing". Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Great day out in the countryside....Franschhoek was a lovely spot to stop for lunch....did not enjoy the specific wines as much as I had hoped to, but the atmosphere in each location was beautiful....tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide, Phillip, was knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly. We saw so much in a short timeframe, and the wine tasting really topped it off. A great day out exploring Cape Town's surrounds!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour led by Bruce a very entertaining and knowledgeable tour operator/bus driver.I was picked up on time and lucky to share this day with a real nice group of people. We saw amazing scenery, interesting animals and tasted some lovely wine. The tour is excellent value for money considering the km traveled, the time on tour and things you see. I really enjoyed being at the Cape of Good Hope and visiting Stellenbosch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

It was good, however, an earlier leaving time and some time to walk around Franschhoek or main street Stellenbosch for 30-40 minutes would have been nice. The wineries were great, particularly KWV and Fairview, however, the runner duck place had terrible wines for tasting, particularly for the afternoon as they were dry and not very fun. However, I agree that KWV was the best for the morning session due to the fantastic wine tour (which set the day up well). The guide was nice but talked a little too much, and the use of the word 'divine' should have a maximum daily quota of 2-3 (not 15-20). Other than that, it was a very pleasant day and the information provided on the wine, culture and history by our divine guide was very good. I would recommend this only to people in a rush with one or two days spare.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An amazing experience! It allows you to fully soak up moment with all the senses.

Doing what: Cape Winelands Tour by Chauffered Sidecar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour! Gabriel showed up promptly at our specified pickup time and took us to four great wineries. Each was unique, and he was able to substitute the last scheduled winery for one that better suited our tastes. We learned a lot about the history of the region as well. Only thing I would 'caution' is that in June, all of the vines are bare as the grapes have already been harvested, but still some great scenery and views. Obviously nothing against the tour itself, just something to be aware of. Thank you!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent guide.... punctual, pleasant, knowledgeable....good value....

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide Darrol was great, we had a group of 8 for the first half and were the only two on the wine tour. Stellenbosch was totally beautiful and well worth the visit. The only thing to be aware of is there is no scheduled stop for lunch so perhaps take a sandwich or get something for lunch at one of the cafes at Cape Point

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

If we had more free time at Stellenbosch, at least 2 hours, better.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The Cape point Tour was fabulous. Heading down to the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point is a must. The drive down is very scenic. We came back via Simons Town which is where we had a lovely lunch and then went to see the penguins (small extra charge). The lowlight of the tour was the wine tasting. The winery we went to did cheeses as well, which far exceeded their wines. You know you're in trouble when you notice some wines for $2 a bottle. We had a much more enjoyable wine tasting from the hop on, hop off bus tour at Groot Constantine winery. If you can skip the winery tour my star rating would be 4 1/2

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fabulous trip. Driver/tour guide, Frisco, very knowledgeable and friendly. Only small number of us on the trip so it made for a very friendly good day out. The wine was pretty good too!!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message