South Africa has gained an enviable reputation for its wines, first decanted here 350 years ago. Winemaking traditions from France, Germany and Italy have come together to create New World wines that make South Africa one of the top 10 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

K J G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent trip well run and presented by the tour guide Elliene. Will strongly recommend it to all my friends visiting Cape Town.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

lilybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Another highly recommend tour. Wine country was beautiful and Eugene , our tour guide made the trip informative and enjoyable. Wine tasting was well prepared and exceptionally good. Sometime felt a little rushed but still had time to have lunch, shop and site see between winery. This is a tour Not to be missed.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Denise M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Did this tour for my boyfriends birthday. We had a blast.the tour guide was knowledgeable and very fun. We had time to explore. The other people on tour were great as well. Made the trip even more fun! Worth the money!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Jonathan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

On a scorchingly hot day we headed out with our excellent guide/driver Eon to Stellenbosch, where we looked round the Historic Houses Museum highly recommended, and a great little shop called 'Oom Sammie de Winkell' or something like that!.
We then continued on to Fairview winery near Paarl for a 'Conoisseur' cheese and wine tasting, which was fantastic, and along with Table mountain and Cape Point, a highlight of our time in Cape Town. Both cheese and wine tastings had high 'Hit- counts', and we ended up buying two cases to be delivered their Grenache and Swartland wines are very special.
Eon had then booked us lunch at another winery, 'Dieux Donne', with a great menu, and wonderful views of the mountains surrounding Franchoek. After a delicious lunch and an acceptable wine-tasting, we drove on to our final wine-tasting in the beautiful winery of Babylonstoren. By then the heat was intense and we were grateful to do the tasting in a modern A/C glass building, with an enjoyable selection of wines.
Eon drove us safely home, and so ended a very special and successful 'tailor-made' tour -thanks to Eon's flexibility, desire to make our tour an enjoyable one, and his care and concern for my mother, who had mobility problems. My advice - pay extra if you can and take the private tour with Eon!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Jade M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Happy with this tour. The landscape and cities were very pretty and worth the visit. We went to two commercial vineyards and one family own vineyards. Enjoyed the family run vineyard the best, though all of the staff were pleasant at all locations. You can do a tour via the hop on hop off from Cape Town as well, however, this tour allows you to to places only accessible with a hired car or tour.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

lennydamholt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

So good guide Xenny, he was so funny and he know Lots, we had on Tour and see a Lots. Th for good trip...

Doing what: 2-Day Whale Coast and Winelands to Cape Agulhas Adventure from Cape Town

Jose M R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely a 5-star tour!!
We a couple did a private tour in a very new and comfortable car. Our guide Gerhardt was fantastic! He arrived in advance in our hotel and waited for us to get ready. He is very sympathetic, kind and professional. We learned a lot with him about Cape Town and he took us to 4 gorgeous wineries. In one of them we went only to have lunch. Gerhardt booked for us a table in the outside area. Perfect!
All of them were fantastic. Gerhardt asked for what we wanted to visit and knew how to adapt the tour to our demands. We could appreciate terrific sceneries, spectacular lunch, excellent wines and cheeses. We had a really great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Rosalie M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Abe was our guide and took us to 2 wineries and then on the way back to the hotel took us through Stellenbosch well worth the trip. Abe was very informative guide and was able to answer many of the questions put to him.

Doing what: Stellenbosch Wine Tour from Cape Town

Sharee W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Jonathan was an excellent guide and highly recommend his tour of Cape Point and Wine Tasting.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Alexandra U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely great tour. We visited three vineyards - all have quite unique range of wines. The second one had also amazing view from the terrace. Guide Super told some interesting stories - about the Cape area and his own life experience.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Sherman K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was awesome, hotspots2c, picked us up on time and took us around and beyond of his duties. Ernie Els winery is must visit.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Eon was our driver and besides being such a great person he really knows his wine and history of the vineyards. We had lunch at the Bochendal Winery, to say it's one of the prettiest places would be an understatement. The wine and the food were second to none! We have many friends who are interested in going to South Africa and we will be recommending this tour and Eon as their driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Farkas C Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Andrew was an excellent guide, very informative and helped us a lot on the tour.also a professional photographer, so if you need good pictures about you, no better choice than him His english was also excellent. Tour very well organized, nice wines, nice scenery all day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Nancy d

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

A bit rushed, but that's what we wanted - the most we could do in one day. The tour guide was excellent. The destinations were well chosen and it was lovely to finish up with a late afternoon wine tasting in two superb vinyards.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

cbcerny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A wonderful all day wine tour. Our driver was prompt, informative and had a great personality

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Mary G. A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Froji ? gave us a fabulous tour and history of the Cape!! Wonderful!!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Bernadette L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide, Gerhardt of hotspots2c, picked us up at our hotel right on time Icon Luxury Apartments I encourage you to look into them. We were a group of four, one couple and two women great friends who never stop talking and who have an opinion on almost every topic. No others joined our party. After clearing rush hour traffic, Gerhardt informed us he would change the format of the tour - a different order of wineries than was described by Viator, with chocolate and dessert wines at the end of the day instead of at the beginning. We began with Fairview winery -- wonderful wines and cheeses to sample. Buy cheese for snacking later. Surprisingly appropriate for late morning. We had lunch at Taki's in Franschhoek -- a darling town with too many shops and restaurants to sample. I had the mussels, which were outstanding. We then visited Dieu Donne winery, which has an enviable view of the valley. The pourers in the tasting room were two very intelligent, talkative and curious women whose company we enjoyed very much. We then stopped at Boschendal, a sprawling winery that offered us many tastings in a garden setting and Muratie, where we sample fortified wine dessert wine and chocolate pairings. All through the drive, Gerhardt offered information and commentary, both on our musings on S. African culture, history and business and on points of interest along our route. A very enjoyable day. A point unexpected: I unknowingly left the van at drop off without my cell phone. A call later that evening resulted in Gerhardt dropping it off the next day it was still in the van and he conveniently had a pickup at the same hotel. 100 trustworthy and 100 enjoyable. Worth the money I would do it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Nicholas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time! Best winery and wine was Jordan.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

geoffrey.marshall

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Lovely tour and great scenery. Lunch in Franschhoek at Petit Femme was fantastic. The only disappointment was that we were didnt see any of the cellars at the stops.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

Amberly M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed our wine tour with Robbie. He gave us a nice summary and history of the Cape Town area while driving and was very personable. Unfortunately, our tour started late picked up at 2pm, not 1:30 or before and we hit a ton of traffic. This caused us to have very little time in Stellenbosch. The winery Robbie chose was great and included a cheese tasting. The other two people on our tour were not into any of it, which soured a little bit of the tour also. Overall, I'd recommend it but I'd also suggest going for a longer time and visiting more than one winery!

Doing what: Stellenbosch Wine Tour from Cape Town

Wendy G R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful way to see some of the outskirts of Cape Town. Our guide, Rodney was very charming and humorous and made the trip very enjoyable. The Stellenbosch area is not to be missed if you are in the Cape Town vicinity. I will definitely use Viator for future travels.

Doing what: Stellenbosch Wine Tour from Cape Town

karl m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour guide who was very knowledgeable about the area and the wines involved. Highly recommended for anybody who visits Cape Town.

Doing what: Stellenbosch Winelands Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Cortney B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

WONDERFUL tour with Iggy!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

MUKUL R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A must tour if you are in Cape Town. Viator connects you to the best local tour operator whose vehicles are immaculate and guides have indepth knowledge. Our guide Mr. Super was really super.
I have been using Viator since 2010 and never been disappointed.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

James G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our driver, Gerhard, was very knowledgeable of the region. We started out at Ernie Ells winery and were totally amazed at the gardens and facility. The next two after that were not as impressive. Our second winery we felt that we had to wait on the staff more than expected. Loved the idea at the Stollenbosch Hills of pairing the meats with the wines. The whole trip was relaxed and we mostly moved at our own speed. Even Gerhard was OK with that!

Doing what: Stellenbosch Winelands Tasting Tour from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message