South Africa has gained an enviable reputation for its wines, first decanted here 350 years ago. Winemaking traditions from France, Germany and Italy have come together to create New World wines that make South Africa one of the top 10 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fabulous trip in which you see a lot of the surrounds in Capetown
Recommended

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Capturing the Cape Winelands by sidecar was a fantastic and unique way to tour wine country. Patrick was prompt, courteous, attentive, and shared his insight on Cape Town and wine country. We even got a tour of the waterfront and Signal Hill--complete with pictures--as part of our excursion. Getting picked up and dropped off at our door step was a huge convenience.

Doing what: Cape Winelands Tour by Chauffered Sidecar

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Whilst the tour guide and opportunity to walk around both Stellenbosch and Franschhoek was fantastic. The wineries we went too were horrific!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out. Our guide Chris was excellent. Very knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely scenic drive with photostops.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour!!! The Fairview winery (first stop) in the Paarl Valley was the best winery in our opinion. Great old world atmosphere, beautiful grounds, cheese tasting, and goats in a lighthouse... no joke!! They also stop by for a brief photo op at the prison where Nelson Mandela was released.

Franschhoek winery had the best views of the valley and mountains. Winery tasting room was very nice but the tasting was not great. We were able to spend 45 minutes in town as an added bonus.

Lastly, the town of Stellenbosch is fantastic. Had a great lunch with some locals at very cool restaurant during our 90 minutes of free time. Really loved that little town. The winery I thought was very average. The drive up with the trees lining the road was beautiful but the winery/tasting room was just average.

Overall.... loved the tour!!!!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour was OK but the guide was doing a dual language tour and spoke nothing but German all afternoon. Questions ashes in one language were only answered in that language. Very poor guiding

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent guide, well paced, a wonderful trip!

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Phenomenal trip. The views of the city are that much more breathtaking from the motorcycle than by car. You will definitely enjoy this tour if you like wine.

Doing what: Cape Winelands Tour by Chauffered Sidecar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day from start to end, despite poor weather. We covered a lot of ground, took in a lot of sights and learned quite a bit about this wonderful part of the world. Our driver/guide was friendly, informative, helpful and entertaining throughout, and is to be commended..

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day out visiting 3 wineries and testing the excellent wines.
The driver/guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
We visited the lovely town of Stellenbosch which was very interesting and also Franschhoek which was celebrating Bastille Day and was "buzzing". Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Great day out in the countryside....Franschhoek was a lovely spot to stop for lunch....did not enjoy the specific wines as much as I had hoped to, but the atmosphere in each location was beautiful....tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Valley Wine Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide, Phillip, was knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly. We saw so much in a short timeframe, and the wine tasting really topped it off. A great day out exploring Cape Town's surrounds!

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour led by Bruce a very entertaining and knowledgeable tour operator/bus driver.I was picked up on time and lucky to share this day with a real nice group of people. We saw amazing scenery, interesting animals and tasted some lovely wine. The tour is excellent value for money considering the km traveled, the time on tour and things you see. I really enjoyed being at the Cape of Good Hope and visiting Stellenbosch. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cape Town Super Saver: Cape Point Highlights Tour plus Wine Tasting in Stellenbosch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message