Visitors to Cape Town usually love how the city’s urban flair and vibrant nightlife coexists happily alongside its stunning location and proximity to great outdoor activities like beach-combing and hiking. But you may not realize there are great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I HAD THE BEST TOUR GUIDE EVERRRR! I hope that I remain life long friends with Isaac, he was so funny, knowledgeable and great to be around. The tour was amazing and something you must do if you come to Cape Town, I got a chance to face my fears and walk with lions, I also got to ride an elephant and feed ostriches. If I could give this 10 stars I would.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very nice tour with both breakfast and lunch included, totally worth the price!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic trip, a great driver/guide who was informative and amusing. Wonderful scenery, I managed to go out on a boat and had super views of the whales. Probably one of the best day trips I've done.

Doing what: Whale Watching Day Trip from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out. Location was stunning, and food (breakfast and lunch included in tour) was first class. Very clean, helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Saw lots of wildlife in natural surroundings-was great fun.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was an amazing 2 days. Our Guide Isaac was also amazing and made us feel important as we were on our honeymoon. We saw and achieved a lot in those 2 days. Worth every penny.
The only downside was the Optional extra of the Lion Walk which we found to be too staged.
The highlight of our trip was the Elephant walk which my husband was so looking forward to. The guides on the different activities were excellent and made sure everyone enjoyed myself.
But going back to Isaac, he was so professional, patient and also made sure we were all well looked after. Great sense of humour and very acknowledgeable. Please tell him we say Hi, and we will remember him.
We will certainly use Viator again, as you get value for money and a good service. Many thanks for the memories.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic tour and you really get a lot for your money. Our guide Andrew was amazing and helped make it a memorable experience. The drive is a little long, but there are fun stops along the way and the scenery is beautiful. I enjoyed all of the activities and it is hard to pick a favorite because each experience is so unique. I can tell you that nothing we did was disappointing. There were 5 of us in our group ranging from mid 20s to mid 30s in age and we chose the budget accommodation Back Packer's paradise. The staff was friendly and the rooms were basic, but well kept. This place has a great atmosphere and fun little bar on the premises. If you don't mind a communal bathroom for one evening pick this place! They have meals on site that are not included, but very affordable. They cook over a wood fire and make fresh bread in house too. Pick this Safari and I guarantee you won't regret it.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic. Definitely got our money's worth for everything we did. Probably one of the best choices we did during our vacation in Cape Town. Andrew, our tour guide, was probably one of the best tour guides we had for any tour we did during our stay. There were 5 of us in our group and we all loved him. He absolutely went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and content with the tour. Both the 2 day tour and Andrew were amazing.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent day out. Very well looked after at reserve, loved the animals. Our driver in the reserve could not have been more helpful in getting good views of animals, and he was a mine of information...he clearly loved his job. We were also well catered for. Lunch was very good, and the breakfast buffet on arrival was a real bonus that we were not expecting. The only disappointment was our driver to and from the game reserve, who was uncommunicative and even surly throughout, unlike any other driver I have ever encountered on a Viator tour.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing 2 days. The optional extras are definitely worth doing (lion walk and the close encounters) Fully recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fantastic trip, although the drive is fairly long the scenery is lovely which made the journey seem much quicker. 3star accommodation was comfortable clean and quiet with a nice breakfast. The game reserves we stoped at were stunning and the animal encounters were amazing. The elephants were a definite highlight. If you don't have much time and you are mad on animals this trip is great as it's varied and really packs in some great activities.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour! highlight of our trip. Our guide Zenny was great. Accommodation was beautiful. Saw amazing animals up close. More than I expected!

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was simply great! From the guides to the Lodge and, of course, the big 5.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The safari was fantastic! It was a fairly long drive to get there, but was so worth it once arriving. Going to the zoo portion of it was impressive. I got to see animals that I normally wouldn't see here in the States (lemurs, tigers, cheetah, etc...) Riding an elephant was a highlight as well as an ostrich...lol. Our guide Maudi was patient, knowledgable and flexible. On the way back we'd decided we spend some time at the beach. Swimming in the Indian Ocean is an experience that must be had if not already. I was quite satisfied. (And sorry again for spilling the milkshake in the van Maudi...)

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were collected and returned to our Hotel by Isaac, our Tour Guide. Although it was a long drive, the scenery was spectacular throughout the entire 2 days. Our overnight accommodation in a 3* B and B was excellent ,(The Cul de Sac). The Game Reserve was large and we were driven around it by a knowledgeable Ranger who was informative and considerate of the animals. It was wonderful to see the Wild animals in their natural habitat and be able to take some great photos. The `walk with the 2 Lionesses was out of this world as was meeting the 3 elephants.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Malcolm S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day trip if you are short on time and can't do a full safari. Saw all the Big 5 and were even treated to "play time" with the elephants. Served bubbly on arrival, followed by a full buffet breakfast, 3 hour drive around the reserve with more bubbly halfway and then lunch - an unexpected bonus. Staff extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Well worth the early start!!!!!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very professionally organised and great value for money.
A lovely glass of sparkling wine and breakfast on arrival at the game park was a great way to start.
Our drive around the game park in a jeep was an amazing experience, being up close with lions, rhinos and hippos, and we learnt so much about animal behaviour.
Lunch and relaxing around the pool was a wonderful way to finish the day before our bus trip back to Cape Town.
A once in a life time experience!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a EXCELLANT time and got some great photos!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a very nice tour but it wouldn't be without the boat trip. From the coast at this time of the year you can't see any whales, but from the boat we saw whales,seals and man many dolphins and it was great!

Doing what: Whale Watching Day Trip from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

fantastic, pick up great, people friendly, helpful, was greatred with chanmagane for breakfast, lovely crowd, very disabled friendly.
even the animals came outy to play(if uv not got time to visit kruga, u have to go there!, they have all the big 5), so go go go, and your in cape town, just visit well wort it, photos to follow

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved loved loved our tour guy Maudy! Completely made the trip for us and is a make it happen kind of guy! He ENSURED everyone was happy and really put in the extra effort! Highly recommend!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This strip is amazing you get to do so much in the two day that your out there from the ostrich farm to the Cango wildlife ranch which was my favorite part, they make it so much fun and they are very knowledgeable about the animals and the best part is you can interact with some of the animals depending on what's going on that day. The elephants were amazing such majestic creatures. The safari drive was incredible its only two hours but you get to see a lot and get real close to some of the animals. our driver was really nice and helped us to get great scenic picture of the landscape around us. My absolute favorite tour thus far, worth every penny.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

A great day out at a fabulous location. The day started with a wonderful full breakfast. We enjoyed the benefit of a greatly experienced ranger guide, who located all the Big Five, my personal favourite being the White Rhinos!. We had a nice break stop, enjoying a little winter warmer (a glass of Sherry). after around 4 hours of touring round the reserve in our 4x4 (worth noting we where supplied with blankets and hot water bottles) we spent some time with the big cats, then returned to the lodge for an extensive buffet lunch. I just wish I had more time to stay overnight at one of the wonderful lodges. All in all a great experience anyone should participate in whom only has a short time to visit this wonderful area. Yes, its not the Serengeti, but thoroughly a memorable experience!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a great time. We saw all of the Big 5 close up and personal, especially the elephants, their clash with the rhinos (the rhinos the winners), and finally the lions at feast. There were also the hippopotami in and out of their pool, and in the latter situation getting very nervous when a delicate little impala came tripping up to the water for a drink. The guide could have been clearer for the folk at the back of the truck, apparently, but we were seated up front, which was a great listening as well as viewing platform. Good breakfast and lunch at the hotel, and really the only criticism is the length of time we had to wait after breakfast was over for the tour to start; a bit wearing when we had made a very early start indeed from Cape Town (2 hours away). The drive through the Franschhoek mountains and the Heck valley was beautiful both ways.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

An excellent tour that gave us a great flavor of South Africa! The Cango Wildlife Ranch was a bit of a worry when booking the excursion but it proved to be a highlight of the tour! Experiencing the up close encounters with the Tiger Cubs was so amazing as was the cage dive with the crocodiles! The facilities that were arranged was also above expectations. The Elephant ride arranged at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge was a once in a lifetime memory and the visit to the ostrich farm was amazing allowing personal contact with the Ostriches, even a ride on one!

Our guide "Stephanie" was pretty amazing and knew exactly what she was doing, providing great source information!

A fantastic tour that I would recommend to all!

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message