Visitors to Cape Town usually love how the city's urban flair and vibrant nightlife coexists happily alongside its stunning location and proximity to great outdoor activities like beach-combing and hiking. But you may not realize there are great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent trip, wonderful food and drink, amazing guides and outstanding setting

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Leah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time, with nice up close views of the animals. Our driver, Maurtie was extraordinary, he made a long ride fun and enjoyable, can't say enough good about him. The extra elephant feeding is a must, nothing like it!

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Amberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our driver, Denver, was awesome and got us safely to and from Aquila Game Reserve. Once we arrived, the bubbly wine and breakfast started the safari on the right foot! We boarded the safari vehicles and started on our journey through the reserve. The animals are fantastic and it was just so neat to see them in action! Just realize that this is a reserve and not a national park- the animals are fenced in and it can feel like a wild zoo and not an actual safari. It doesn't limit the danger, though. We got pretty close to the lions, the rhinos were still treated as dangerous, and the guides still have to keep you safe. Half way through the tour, we were able to get out and walk around with another glass of bubbly near the zebras. The tour ended with a fabulous lunch! After lunch, we lounged in some chairs by the fire pit. There is also drink service at this time. It was an amazing day! Loved every bit of it!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Craig D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well what can I say - this tour was the best thing I have ever done.

I visited South Africa for five days with work and decided to spend the three nights i had to myself in Cape Town. First of all - the most amazing city I have ever visited !

I was picked up on time and after picking up the other people, we set off along the beautifully scenic garden route stopping off to do a 4x4 safari for a couple of hours and then do a lion walk. The lion walk was the highlight of the tour. Walking with the kings of the jungle is just something I will never forget.

An overnight stop in Oudtshoorn pronounced 'oates-urgh-in' in a comfortable family run b and b was done then the ostrich farm, elephant ride amazing also and then the wildlife ranch followed before arriving back at my hotel for 6.30pm.

Everything mentioned in the itinary was done and for the price, is something i would recommend to everyone. Truly unforgettable and a great way to see the sights outside of the city which are breath taking.

Finally, a special mention to the tour guide Andrew. A top bloke who made sure everyone was ok. Didn't intervene and allowed people to get on with what they wanted to do. I was on my own and he made me feel very welcome. Deserved the big tip I gave him. If you read this mate, again, it was awesome to meet you.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Jodi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The game reserve was great, and the animals were a pleasure to watch. The buffet breakfast and lunch were super.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Beautiful!!!!! Totally beyond expectations.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Tessa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour guide was good. got to see soooooo many animals. rode an elephant, walked with lions and touched cheetahs. best part of my trip!

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

caseyleigh54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had an amazing time the tour guide was really good. Loved it

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

J Kenneth R Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This 2 Day Safari was amazing.Our tour guide,Andrew, was so well informed and did everything to make our voyage interesting and informative.While the safari and visit to the Wildlife Park were amazing and we got to see quite a number of different species of animals,the lion walk and elephant ride were the highlight of the trip.Thanks Viator and to Andrew for such an amazing time.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Charlene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great safari. Well thought of scheduling. Thank you.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

tiffanynoraj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I HAD THE BEST TOUR GUIDE EVERRRR! I hope that I remain life long friends with Isaac, he was so funny, knowledgeable and great to be around. The tour was amazing and something you must do if you come to Cape Town, I got a chance to face my fears and walk with lions, I also got to ride an elephant and feed ostriches. If I could give this 10 stars I would.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Carola W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very nice tour with both breakfast and lunch included, totally worth the price!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Christine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic trip, a great driver/guide who was informative and amusing. Wonderful scenery, I managed to go out on a boat and had super views of the whales. Probably one of the best day trips I've done.

Doing what: Whale Watching Day Trip from Cape Town

CAROL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day out. Location was stunning, and food (breakfast and lunch included in tour) was first class. Very clean, helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Saw lots of wildlife in natural surroundings-was great fun.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

cupcake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was an amazing 2 days. Our Guide Isaac was also amazing and made us feel important as we were on our honeymoon. We saw and achieved a lot in those 2 days. Worth every penny.
The only downside was the Optional extra of the Lion Walk which we found to be too staged.
The highlight of our trip was the Elephant walk which my husband was so looking forward to. The guides on the different activities were excellent and made sure everyone enjoyed myself.
But going back to Isaac, he was so professional, patient and also made sure we were all well looked after. Great sense of humour and very acknowledgeable. Please tell him we say Hi, and we will remember him.
We will certainly use Viator again, as you get value for money and a good service. Many thanks for the memories.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Natalie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic tour and you really get a lot for your money. Our guide Andrew was amazing and helped make it a memorable experience. The drive is a little long, but there are fun stops along the way and the scenery is beautiful. I enjoyed all of the activities and it is hard to pick a favorite because each experience is so unique. I can tell you that nothing we did was disappointing. There were 5 of us in our group ranging from mid 20s to mid 30s in age and we chose the budget accommodation Back Packer's paradise. The staff was friendly and the rooms were basic, but well kept. This place has a great atmosphere and fun little bar on the premises. If you don't mind a communal bathroom for one evening pick this place! They have meals on site that are not included, but very affordable. They cook over a wood fire and make fresh bread in house too. Pick this Safari and I guarantee you won't regret it.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Mireya424

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic. Definitely got our money's worth for everything we did. Probably one of the best choices we did during our vacation in Cape Town. Andrew, our tour guide, was probably one of the best tour guides we had for any tour we did during our stay. There were 5 of us in our group and we all loved him. He absolutely went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and content with the tour. Both the 2 day tour and Andrew were amazing.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

John Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent day out. Very well looked after at reserve, loved the animals. Our driver in the reserve could not have been more helpful in getting good views of animals, and he was a mine of information...he clearly loved his job. We were also well catered for. Lunch was very good, and the breakfast buffet on arrival was a real bonus that we were not expecting. The only disappointment was our driver to and from the game reserve, who was uncommunicative and even surly throughout, unlike any other driver I have ever encountered on a Viator tour.

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Gunes S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing 2 days. The optional extras are definitely worth doing (lion walk and the close encounters) Fully recommend it.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Samanza M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A fantastic trip, although the drive is fairly long the scenery is lovely which made the journey seem much quicker. 3star accommodation was comfortable clean and quiet with a nice breakfast. The game reserves we stoped at were stunning and the animal encounters were amazing. The elephants were a definite highlight. If you don't have much time and you are mad on animals this trip is great as it's varied and really packs in some great activities.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Gary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour! highlight of our trip. Our guide Zenny was great. Accommodation was beautiful. Saw amazing animals up close. More than I expected!

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Sandra E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was simply great! From the guides to the Lodge and, of course, the big 5.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Marcus H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The safari was fantastic! It was a fairly long drive to get there, but was so worth it once arriving. Going to the zoo portion of it was impressive. I got to see animals that I normally wouldn't see here in the States (lemurs, tigers, cheetah, etc...) Riding an elephant was a highlight as well as an ostrich...lol. Our guide Maudi was patient, knowledgable and flexible. On the way back we'd decided we spend some time at the beach. Swimming in the Indian Ocean is an experience that must be had if not already. I was quite satisfied. (And sorry again for spilling the milkshake in the van Maudi...)

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We were collected and returned to our Hotel by Isaac, our Tour Guide. Although it was a long drive, the scenery was spectacular throughout the entire 2 days. Our overnight accommodation in a 3* B and B was excellent ,(The Cul de Sac). The Game Reserve was large and we were driven around it by a knowledgeable Ranger who was informative and considerate of the animals. It was wonderful to see the Wild animals in their natural habitat and be able to take some great photos. The `walk with the 2 Lionesses was out of this world as was meeting the 3 elephants.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Cape Safari from Cape Town: Big Five Game Drive and Cango Wildlife Ranch

Malcolm S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day trip if you are short on time and can't do a full safari. Saw all the Big 5 and were even treated to "play time" with the elephants. Served bubbly on arrival, followed by a full buffet breakfast, 3 hour drive around the reserve with more bubbly halfway and then lunch - an unexpected bonus. Staff extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Well worth the early start!!!!!

Doing what: Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message