The small town of Avanos in Cappadocia is famous for its distinctive red earthenware pottery, which has shaped its reputation since the days of the Hittities in the Bronze Age.   Situated on the banks of the longest river in Turkey, the Kızılırmak ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really liked the tour. We saw different and beautiful places. However, we could have spent more time in certain places, since both days we finished much earlier than established in the schedule.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous trip. The one-day tour fit into our schedule and budget. It is hard to imagine that we could have seen and experienced more in the immediate area on a longer trip. Would have liked to stay in a cave hotel but an overnight didn't fit into our schedule. Would highly recommend this trip to anyone in a similar circumstance.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Devrent Valley, Ozkonak, Pasabag, Avanos and Goreme Open-Air Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour for who has limited time. You can do everything in one day, included the balloon flight.
The tour guide very profesional and responsible. I recommend this tour indeed.

Doing what: Small-Group Cappadocia Tour: Devrent Valley, Monks Valley and Open Air Museum in Goreme

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Got off to a bad start with the driver taking over an hour to get us to the airport because he was too busy talking on his 2 phones and so had a bit of a rush making the flight . We were picked up by a shuttle bus and the other end but got dropped off at the wrong pick-up point for our tour . After a few phone calls a guide a driver came to pick us up . As we were the only 2 people on the day trip we had a private tour which was nice . The guide was lovely and very informative and the sites were worth the trip . Lunch was average and the restaurant staff not very friendly . On the whole though we did enjoy our tour .

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Devrent Valley, Ozkonak, Pasabag, Avanos and Goreme Open-Air Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Heavenly tour!!!!! Spectacular and amazing Landscapes. The tour guide was a wonderful kind beautiful person. The driver fantástico and always driving safety. Lunch good enough, good service.

Doing what: Small-Group Cappadocia Tour: Devrent Valley, Monks Valley and Open Air Museum in Goreme

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

very interesting and worth the long day given we only had 4 days in Turkey and 3 were in Istanbul.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Devrent Valley, Ozkonak, Pasabag, Avanos and Goreme Open-Air Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fabulous. Cappadoccia is really worth a visit. If you don't have a lot of time, one day is really enough for getting a feel for the area. Even though we had to catch the bus at 5:00 am and didn't get back to our hotel until 9:00 pm the tour was not exhausting. There was a good mix of bus travel and walking around that we never felt tired. The tour included a very good lunch, not your typical crummy tour meal. Our guide was excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Devrent Valley, Ozkonak, Pasabag, Avanos and Goreme Open-Air Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unforgettable. Amazing. Outstanding. Great scenery, long and beautiful history, and nice cultural touch. We had good guides, comfortable accommodations and transportations. Ballon ride is a must

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It is a good trip, we did more than I expected and visited so many great attractions. The only issue, which was not really that big of a deal but it is an area in which you can improve is that you should give travelers the itinerary before you start the tour. After they picked me up, I had no idea what we were going to do and the guide was telling us every day but it would have been good to have it beforehand. Finally, I had to call the agency because nobody told me at what time I was going to go for the hot air balloon ride on the second day. The experience was great and the guide was exceptional.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

The day started at 0500. Flight from Sabia Gocken airport on the Asian side at 0715. Arrived Kayseri at 0845 and was met by the tour guide. We then proceeded to drive around (rather aimlessly) picking up people at local hotels. Finally at 1100 the "tour" began. The area for the rock formations is small and it's nothing special. One thing I liked is when the rest of the tour got suckered into the pottery demonstration, the guide took me alone to Ozkonak to see the underground city. Not for claustrophobics! We then had a decent lunch before heading at about 1400 to the Goreme area to see the dwellings. We made a couple of more stops for photographs. At 1700 I was dropped at "ATS Transport" in Goreme for transfer to the Neveshir airport for my return flight to Istanbul. I waited in the waiting room alone for one hour until the guy at ATS decided it was time to go. We spent another half hour picking up other people. Then we proceeded to the airport. We made a head on stop with another bus (scary). The driver of our van got out and opened the van door and said "you go in this bus." So, me and two others got off an got on the second bus to Neveshir airport. I have to say at this point I was a little concerned about what was going on. The whole transfer was random and not professional. This airport is in the middle of nowhere, and I mean that. We drove for a good half hour before reaching a single runway airport and small terminal at 1900 (my flight departed at 1955). I arrived back at Ataturk at 2100 and was met by the tour operator and taken to my hotel for 2145. So, I've warned you - if you're up for the trek and a $320 spend, you'll be fine. I'd never do this again in a day.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Devrent Valley, Ozkonak, Pasabag, Avanos and Goreme Open-Air Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Cappadocia is an amazing area and the tour enables to see some of the most interesting attractions. However too much time is spent in the shops while the attractions are little bit rushed. Also the bus that took us from the airport in Cappadocia was with a lot people that were going to their hotel and we wasted a lot of precious time to drop them off before really starting the tour.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Devrent Valley, Ozkonak, Pasabag, Avanos and Goreme Open-Air Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message