• USD ($)
  • English

Cappadocia ATTRACTIONS See all

Goreme Open Air Museum

One of Cappadocia’s most famous sites is the Göreme Open Air Museum, a ring shaped collection of churches cut into the soft volcanic cliffs.   In the 4th century the area became known as the Land of the Three Saints after the theologians St. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Cappadocia is an amazing place and well worth the visit. We had a 5am pick up and didn't get back to our hotel until 11 pm so it was a very long day. The arrangements in Istanbul were very good (although the fax with our pick up time was wrong by 2 hrs which could have been a disaster if I hadn't checked it ) we were collected by a very friendly guide at Kayseri and taken to meet our guide who was friendly but not very enthusiastic. We thoroughly enjoyed our day and the incredible sights of Cappadocia but would have enjoyed more time at the sights. We ended up at a carpet sales room which none of us wanted to visit and then were dropped off at a hotel and told we would have to wait for an hour and a half for our lift to the airport. We would have had a much better day if we had been able to spend those wasted 2 hrs at the sights. Our driver finally picked us up, later than we had hoped and then the unpleasant part of the day began. He spent most of his time on his mobile phone, drove like a maniac, stopped off a couple of times seemingly to run some kind of errand of his own. He drove a very tortuous route back to the airport and we were absolutely terrified for the entire journey. We finally arrived at the airport with only minutes to spare to check in for our return flight. We did enjoy our day but the last few hours certainly tainted it for us!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

This is a great tour however if you are Black please be careful. A small minority of the people in the town that are not use to being around Black people stared at me took my photo without my permission, laughed at me and stared at me.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

This is a great tour however if you are Black please be careful. A small minority of the people in the town that are not use to being around Black people stared at me took my photo without my permission, laughed at me and stared at me.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The part of the tour where we actually saw things was great. The fairy chimneys were worth doing by themselves. The issue was that after the items listed on the tour were over, we were handed a survey, which we completed. After the survey was done, we were taken to the ubiquitous carpet shop where we listened to the sales pitch and then got back on the bus. The tour had flights departing at 9:15 PM. At 4:30 PM, rather than take us to the airport and helping us catch an earlier flight, we were deposited at another party's hotel and made to wait until 6:20 PM for the shuttle. The shuttle driver decided that rather than going directly to the airport in Kayseri, he was going to do a personal errand that had him driving like a true crazy person on the back farm roads in the area to meet up with some guy on the side of the road and take some things out of the back out said guy's farm vehicle and throw them in the back of the tour van. It was a harrowing experience (the driving piece) and I thought we were going to miss our flight as well. Cappadocia is worth seeing, it's fantastic. Get a private guide.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

Ok the reason I gave this 1 star is because it could be so much better. Don;t get me wrong this was a once in a lifetime opportunity to see Cappadocia. I was referred to as the crazy guy doing this in only one day. most people were doing 2-5days either from Ankara etc. Ok the tour guide was waesome, he gives good background and history about the areas. He gives you free time in areas.
The negatives are these:
- remove the lunch restaurant - bad buffet overcharge for drinks was 10 lira for 1 beer!
- remove the stop to the pottery place - this was just a really expensive potttery shop
- remove the stop to the jewelry shop, which for those paying close attention was right next to the lunch restaturant - just a big loopdy loop back. (Tip, go across the street to pigeon point to take awesome pictures and haggle to buy souvenirs, I got some of the better deals there.
If they remove these ridiculous extraneous stops, we could of had soooo much more time spent in scenic areas taking pictures and walking around. Some of our scenic stops only alotted us 5min!!!
transportation was very very prompt coming and going.
Hope this review helps.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was wonderful. Logistics were smooth, guide fantastic, unique sites and overall very enjoyable!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The sites on this tour were great, and the itinerary maximized my couple days in Cappadocia. In general, the tour was very good: the groups were small as I only had 2 co-travelers the first day and one the second. The guide's English was very good and he seemed well-informed about the local sites. The hot air balloon service provider was also good, the ride felt very safe, and safety precautions were communicated clearly at the beginning of the ride. The only drawbacks were that I wasn't booked in a cave hotel, as the website had indicated, and the communication from the local operators could have been better. There were several times when I didn't know who would pick me up or when I would transfer, and some of the guide's introductions to sites was given outside the sites rather than while we were exploring the sites, when the information would have been more useful.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

THE TOUR WAS GREAT, THE GUILD DID A VERY GO JOB. NO PROPLEM WITH ANYTHING.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was a wonderful experience. There was so much to see but we covered the highlights with our excellent guide.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Expensive and a long day, but totally worth it. Our tour guide Unluer was fantastic!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I had a small group of only 7 people. I'm not sure whether it was because it was low season (winter). Anyway the small group made the tour more smooth and organised. On the flip side a small group meant that the guide labeled it as a private tour therefore strict timelines weren't followed. It was a case of power of numbers.what this means is that as I was a single traveller I wouldn't normally get what I wanted in terms of extra time at a place etc. However there was a family of 5 people and if they wanted to grab a cup of tea and wanted to stay somewhere for an extra 20 mins then it would be all fine.

Overall the tour guide spoke perfect English and did her job as per itinerary. Driver was good and the minivan was great. The one night hotel was decent too and I appreciated that it was in a cave hotel. Beware larger families though as you don't get a choice as to where you stay and the family of five that were on my tour got placed in another hotel which was not a cave hotel. Many people come to cappadocia to get the cave hotel experience so you would want to make sure that you are definitely booked into a cave hotel if that's what you want.

The only gripe I had was that a lot of day 2 was spent at a pottery warehouse and a carpet weaving warehouse. These are the typical tourist trap places the tours love to take their tourists because they get commissions out of it. We spent half the day of day 2 at these places and whilst informative and interesting for a bit, most of the time was spent on trying to sell us goods. Of course the company get paid commissions on sales so they just dumped us there for an indefinite period of time until a sale could definitely be achieved or until they definitely werent getting a sale then we left. I hate how tours don't give you much time at sights you paid for and intended to see yet spend a ton of time at places to benefit their bottom line.

overall it was the best way I could've seen cappadocia as a single traveller.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was a long drive from the airport to get to Cappadocia. I guess I should have arrived the day before to avoid the drive time. I flew in from Istanbul. The flight was short. The drive longer (it seemed).
Great lunch spot. Great food. I could have avoided the carpet pitch and sell. I already purchased my beautiful carpet in Istanbul (Asia side). Wow, crazy geology. Interesting views and landscape. Hiked through it to get up close to the sites. Definitely take the underground city tour. That was a bit creepy but incredibly ingenious way to survive...Bring some of your own drink and snacks for the hiking around. Layers. Great adventure. Nice tour guide and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything went very smoothly...the hotel pickup, transfers, etc. Cappadocia is beautiful and definitely worth visiting. This tour is great if you are short on time. Ideally, I'd recommend spending 2 days in Cappadocia.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our trip to Cappadocia was outstanding.... I took this survey to tell the world! We had a wonderful time.
Our Viator experience was a well oiled machine.... the connections were smooth and professional....
If you go to Cappadocia and use Viator ask for Serdar. He is a guide extraordinaire!

To you folks at Viator you are welcome to use my name..... Thanks for great day!

Tucker Spolter San Francisco San Francisco

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Ozkonak Underground City, Uchisar and Open-Air Museum in Goreme

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message