Cappadocia ATTRACTIONS See all

Goreme Open Air Museum

One of Cappadocia’s most famous sites is the Göreme Open Air Museum, a ring shaped collection of churches cut into the soft volcanic cliffs.   In the 4th century the area became known as the Land of the Three Saints after the theologians ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great mix of the historical, cultural and social. I feel like I got to see and experience a great deal of Turkey within a week. Everything was planned well. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was 1 of the best value tour I've bought on Viator.com or any other sites. My best friend and I were on this tour in May of 2015 and we both loved it. There were some minor issues but considering the value that we got for the price paid, it was an excellent deal.

The pros:
Breakfasts and dinners were included on most days - all were buffet style where after getting your food, you'll sit at 2-3 big tables and get to know your other tour members. For the most part, the food were quite good - especially the vegetarian and salad options.
There were about 20 tour members in our tour group - from all over the world - all of whom you'll get to know quite well by the tour's end.
For a medium sized tour group like ours, we had a pretty good tour guide Ahmet and an excellent driver. We toured around in a big, white, clean bus that was air-conditioned, lots of space and had free WI-FI. Yes... free wi-fi! Granted, the wi-fi can be slow and not always reliable but it was still nice to have!
At the start, you'll receive a welcome package with the schedule and other useful information. BTW, tips for the tour guide and driver are not included and so, save some Turkish Lira for their fine efforts - the welcome kit will have some suggested amount to tip.

The cons:
If you're a meat eater, the included meals might disappoint you in terms of average quality and lack of variety of meat dishes available. For us, the great vegetarian dishes more than made up for it and we didn't miss the meat dishes as much.
Although the hotels were rated 4 or 5 stars, I would say that the hotels were more like 3 to 4 stars on a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Just adjust your expectations like we did and you'll be fine too.
You're on a schedule and won't get too much time at any 1 spot. The tour guide will bring you inside all attractions and provide some background with some free time to wander around.

In summary, many historical and beautiful sites on a wonderful tour!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

When I saw the price for the tour, I said that cannot be true its probably a scam. However I booked for it and it was not a scam. I was really surprised and amazed by the tour we took during the last week of May 2015. The tour was composed of about 20 people between 17 to over 65 years old from the entire world. The bus was big so every person was able to have two seats for himself. I had the best tour guide I have ever had in my entire travelling life. She was amazing and she was very nice. Her name is Perihan aka Perri. We visited most of Turkeys wonders. She took us to other places not listed on the schedule which is nice from her. She has a lot of knowledge about Turkeys history, culture, climate, resources and religion. She knows her country very well. She answers any questions you ask her, so dont be shy to ask. She was always positive. She was adventurous because she would go everywhere despite her pregnancy. The tour was more than what I initially expected. The price was not very high for everything we did and got. The hot air balloon ride in Cappadoccia and Pamukkale are the highlights of my trip. The hotels we were in for the nights were 4 and 5 star hotels that had amazing services such as breakfast and dinner. We had long bus rides, but the bus was comfortable. The only advice I would give you is to bring a pillow with you and a small blanket in order to be fully comfortable. Finally, the price, the bus, the service, the driver, the guide and the tour is totally recommended for anyone seeking to visit the beauty of Turkey in 7 days. On a side note, the tour does not include a visit to Istanbul so you should reserve at least 2-3 days to visit it. If you have more time in Turkey, you can go to Antalya and visit its beauty such as Aspendos, Perge, Side , water falls I was in Turkey for two weeks but they were not enough.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent guide Hussein Aray. Well organised well informed. Great driver Shalid. Powered through 7 days but gained so much in our time at important cultural and historical sites. Hotels were well chosen. Lunch stops were also well chosen. So glad I did this tour.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic trip Turkey is amazing the tour was great saw more than what was on the itinerary our guide took us everywhere. Felt really safe and the people through out Turkey we really generous with their hospitality

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall the tour is very good. Top quality guide service from a guide whose name is Perihan.
Thngs to improve: time allocated for us to spend at Pamukkale is too limited, should be one hour more.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This trip was an incredible one given all of the locations visited and the price! There was so much to see and do. Our guide, Farukh, was friendly and knowledgable and the experience as a whole was lovely! :-

A few things to note-- There is a LOT of traveling involved and, although stops are made ever 2-3 hours, there is no bathroom on board the bus for emergencies. While lunch is at your own expense, and fairly cheap as well as delicious! it is still done as a communal experience and not truly on your own. The hotels may be 4 and 5 stars by Turkish standards, but not by most Western standards, and the ones chosen are often cheap, tourist hotels. There are also some out-of-place stops made where high-pressure salespeople will attempt to get you to purchase their wares. I wonder if the travel company gets a commission from the sales? Last, while I enjoyed our guide as a person, there were a lot of long-winded talks on both the bus and at each site. Then, he would often complain that we were the slowest group of the other travel companies visiting the same sites or wonder why we were all falling asleep.

All in all, a wonderful trip if you are looking to do a lot in a short amount of time! Also, please do consider doing the optional hot air balloon ride in Cappadocia! It is truly spectacular!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely place with very unusual structures. Great lunch in a cave-like hotel. Wonderful day

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were less than pleased with our experience. We didn't do half of the items on the itinerary including several of the big items like seeing the fairy chimneys which are what made Cappadocia famous. Our guide was knowledgeable but VERY long winded, we kept joking that he must have thought he was getting paid by the word because we'd stand outside an attraction for 30 minutes as he went on and on and on about who knows what before we were finally allowed to go in and see the attraction. All in all it was an okay day but we definitely feel like we didn't get the full Cappadocia experience and certainly didn't get what we paid for.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour did not deliver what it offered. Was never taken nor shown even from a distance the Rose Valley. Saw Ortahisar as we traveled through the town from the van's windows. Was taken to lunch and then rushed through the Caves, in order to have enough time to go to the ceramic factory. The tour guide disappeared said good-bye, once the visit to the factory was concluded after some of the tourists finally haggled and bought some of the ceramic pieces, and then we were driven at dangerous speeds in order to deliver the other tourist that were staying for one more day at the hotel, and the rest of us dropped at the plane. I certainly do not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Worst travel experience in years of traveling the world. Disorganized in every respect, suicidal drivers and dissapointing. Be careful, this tour killed the whole Cappadocia experience. It also makes us doubt Viator reliable source for tours!!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really great way to see Cappadocia for people without much time. Highlights of the trip were walks through Monks Valley and Rose Valley.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw so much. Hotels and food were all good. Leader had great inside knowledge. Driver - nerves of steel. Bus v large and comfy. Best value for money ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing archeology of rock formations throughout Cappadocia and out lying areas. The hot air balloon ride scenery was magical

Doing what: Small-Group Cappadocia Tour: Devrent Valley, Monks Valley and Open Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guide, Benjamen sorry for Americanized spelling, Mr. Benjamen. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and had an excellent sense of timing. Thus he kept us out of the crowds and gave us lots of valuable time to explore. This is a fascinating part of the world, one we look forward to seeing in more detail in the future, thanks to the services of our excellent guide. Also, there were some little issues with transfers for our co-travelers, but they were taken care of very capably by the young man who took us to the airport. Altogether a most exciting and excellent experience.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

the tour in Istanbul wouldn't recomend as the hotel and meals even tour guide was not particularly nice. The Cappadocia part was good, especially the courtyard cave hotel and restaurants they took us to.

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service, amazing trip and experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very informative tour guide. Please be aware that you will also be taken to sites where you may be pressured to purchase an item.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I chose this small group tour as others I have been on have encouraged absorption in local life and allowed free time to do so. Sadly this did not so I feel that I did not get the most out of the experience.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message