It’s one of the strangest landscapes you’ll ever see: the cliffs and valleys and fairy chimneys of Göreme National Park in Cappadocia. Wind and water erosion scoured out this land of soft volcanic ash (tufa) leaving this extraordinary place of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Franklin-5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing and well organised. I appreciate the itnerary that they gave us upon meeting...

Hakan, the guide for the day trip in Istanbul was very knowledgable and really relateable. He also kindly offer to tailor my trip based on my interests. The Mina Hotel i stayed in had a great view of the city. The transit to Cappadocia was easy. The hot air balloon ride was a clear highlight, one of the best expereinces i've had on travel. Exploring the Selime Monastery and the rock-hewn churches of Goreme were also an amazing experience. The Courtyard Cave Hotel was also a highlight. Murat, is the kindest inn keeper i have ever met. He was attentive and very knowledgable and went out of his way to make you comfortable, with homemade breakfasts and fresh squeezed juice every morning. This tour combines the must see sights, effortless transit, and charming tour guides and hotels. Very impressed.

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Cappadocia was on my list of places to visit in Turkey, and I'm certainly glad I took the time to visit! Although the tour started off on a rough note with a mix up with the pick-up time 2 hours earlier than noted, thus causing me to run out the door in my pajamas, I was brought from my Istanbul hotel to the airport where I was able to quickly put myself together and board a flight to Cappadocia. The rest of the trip went very well and without a hitch! The guide in Cappadocia had superb English and went out of her way to provide any additional service or piece of information needed for our small group of 3. We visited all the sites listed in addition to two others which my guide wanted to share with me because I had missed the previous days activities which the other two in our group had participated in during their arrival a few days earlier. I highly recommend this tour, as it is not to be missed for those traveling through Turkey. Simply outstanding!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Dale W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Just right. There's a lot to see in Cappadocia, so there's a fair amount of driving around from location to location. The extended walks and tours were the best part.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

francov Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very helpful staff... all from the management to the choffeurs, tour guides... no complaints whatsoever. Would recommend it very strongly... even the lunch was nice.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Pui Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I had the worst tour guide experience EVER. His name was Cagman. He appeared to be very knowledgeable about the history of Turkey. However, his attitude, tone of voice, and facial expression were absolutely unacceptable. Anytime, if one of us asked him a question, he would unmistakably let you know that you were annoying him.. It got to be a point that we were all pretty quiet during the 7-days trip. Two of the young ladies got a tongue lashing by Cagman because they cancelled their booking for the hot air balloon ride. He yelled at me in the van in front of everyone for not going on the hot air balloon ride stating that it was a bad decision. He also took us to two of his recommended restaurants to taste home style Turkish food. The first one was okay, but the second one absolutely terrible.

It is important for a guide to be knowledgeable, but the most important quality is, no doubt, good people skill. Cagman definitely is in the wrong line of work.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, we have heard back about this review from our tour operator, their response follows: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. We were surprised to hear your experience with this particular guide as he typically receives excellent reviews and feedback. However, the reality is that your experience was different, and I am sincerely sorry that for you this was the case. While an apology doesn’t alter the outcome of your experience, we do offer it with all sincerity. You can be assured that we take feedback very seriously, and we have systems in place to investigate complaints and counsel staff accordingly. We have used your feedback as part of our performance management processes. We do expect our staff to make our guests aware of any optional activities that are available to round out their trip to Turkey, however guests should never feel pressured to sign up to these. Your experience highlights to us the importance of making sure that all of our guides are sensitive to this, and so this issue will be raised during future staff training. We have also followed up on the issue that you have raised regarding the standard of meals during your tour, and thank you for alerting us to this. Thank you again for raising these issues with us – quality is very important to us, and we appreciate it when our guests let us know when something isn’t right. Best wishes.

teddie p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour is amazing, The best way to see the country and the sites, which are very busy. Our tour guide was Metin Pehlivan and he was amazing, very nice and knowledgeable and helpful and just a funny guy. Busses are clean and comfortable with lots of pit stops, Hotels were above average with the last Everen stone house being amazing!! Food was good, mostly buffets which is good, something for everyone, The sites were amazing!! So incredible!!! This is the best tour we have done and if you have the means book the hot air balloon over Cappadocia it is worth the money and just breathtaking!!!!!!!!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding, great places to visit, wonderful guide and driver

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic!! Unique landforms we will probably never see again. Fairy chimneys, cave houses, underground city of Kaymakli.
The only de traction was the hard sell at the carpet making factory. We wasted 11/2 hours here and nobody wanted to buy a rug or carpet.
No problems with the flight, great guide. Long day but highly recommended.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Susan W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Loved the trip and the guide. Wonderful experience. The only down side was the amount of transition time getting there and back, and long waits on the tarmac at the airports. If I had to do it again, I would stay overnight in Cappadoccio and do the hot air balloon ride in the morning.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

ST Oz Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour itself by Deniz and the driver were excellent, with good explanation of what to expect and toured the areas with enough time and not rushed. However, the organisation by the local tour operator was found lacking. For starters, there was insufficient information provided prior to the tour to even know what to expect. All I could glean was the information provided on the reviews here instead, so here is the 411 on this tour. You need to confirm with the local tour operator your hotel pick up time. They will pick you up at 430am and take you to the airport on the Asia side of Istanbul for your flight to Kayseki, which is not as busy as Atatark airport which is good and has a small shop and lots of eateries, but was picked up too early, with 90 minutes to spare wandering around this airport. The service of the escort was good though, and don't forget to bring your passport. Following a flight that takes about 90 mins, you will be picked up by the Kayseki airport shuttle which is most disorganised, with NO information what so ever. After waiting 45 minutes for other passengers, you are taken in the minivan drive for 1 hour to Cappadocia, and people are dropped off at various hotels and you are eventually dropped off by the side of the road to meet your tour guide. From there onwards it is good, as long as you are adventurous. There is a clautrophobic part in the underground tunnels which is not great for tall/big people but very good part of the tour. Then you can request to be taken to a carpet factory, which was great, and those who don't get dropped off back to their hotels. Even with the carpet diversion, there was 1 hour wait at the airport for my flight back to Ataturk airport which is a chaotic airport in itself and after waiting some more for the transfer, you will be dropped off back at the hotel at about 930pm. Great tour for those with little time, but if you have time, stay at Cap overnight and do the balloon tour in the morning. Heard that was great.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An excellent trip our guide Fatima was great, very knowledgable and friendly. A very long and tiring day 20hours a 4 AM start. Perhaps some of the walks could be shortened.thoroughly recommend it

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Madeline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our first experience with a package tour and we were not disappointed! Seamless transfers, helpful and informative guides and great hotels! Istanbul was great but my favorite part was Cappadocia! We went for the balloon ride and it was an amazing experience! Also the cave hotel there was the best hotel I've ever stayed in!! Would recommend to anyone!

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

Philippe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Hotel Dilek Kaya very good even if wifi not strong enough in some rooms
Landscapes amazing.
Fist guide Ulun was not so good as the tour was really shortened and at 4 pm I was already back at the hotel, having nothing to do there. Also he didn't go to Red Valley which was on the program.
Second guide Fatma was really kind and perfect, she totally saved the tour, it was really amazing and she even bring me to red Vallay what was normally at the program of previous day.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Kathryn m H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was a long,but interesting day. All the connections worked well. Our guide Mel was well informed and enthusiastic. My only criticism was that we needed to be better informed about the walk through Rose Valley. It was a 4km hike through rough,dusty and sometimes steep terrain. You need closed shoes and a hat in summer. It was hot!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Eseo O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time! Very nice tour! However I think it is overpriced and I recommend the guide should give enough time for picture taking. Our guide was talking too much nonstop and we did not have enough time to take photos. Although it was good information, however I think he should give time also in between bus rides to have free time, me time or whatever and upon arrival into the destination should brief us only anout the place for a little bit and give us the time to ourselves.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Pat C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Flights and driver excellent and expected half the day would be taken up with transport given the geography. But most of the remaining time was spent standing in the hot sun having the same blurb repeated or being subjected to hard sells for products. Less than 2 hours could be described as a tour. Amazing place so very disappointed.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

sharon_2525

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great value tour which was organised very well. Hotel pick up and drop off was done smoothly with mini buses taking us to the main coach. We got sufficient time to look around by ourselves in tourist areas and were explained main aspects by the tour guide. We had regular stops every 3 hours or so to use restrooms and stop at convenience stores to buy water/snacks. The lunch stops we had were all affordable and decent food. The hotels were all really good however in one we did have to pay a small fee for wifi but other than that they were all good quality hotels. One thing to note is that drinks at these hotels to have with dinner can be a little pricey but that is expected with buffet style dinners. There was plenty of choice for dinners, a lot of salad options and a good selection of vegetarian and meat dishes.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Valerie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Try to get tour guide Fatima who is not only a wealth of knowledge but makes sure everyone is well cared for!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Rosalind c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was brilliant, driver was very good, coach was very comfortable and only half - full meaning never felt crowded, and numbers at meals, tours, etc was very manageable. Excellent value for money and most interesting. Hotels were all fantastic. Hotel in Capadocia was great but too far from anywhere.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Korri J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the number one tour you absolutely have to see. It is a little costly because of the plane ticket but was the best tour we took in Istanbul. The lunch was good and in a nice hotel. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. Also we got lost one time which was our fault and they looked/waited for our return before taking off.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

MOHAMED A M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. It exeded our expectations. Big air conditioned bus, prompt hotel pickup and return. Very professional wise driver who drove us hundreds of miles with smile on his face and no single mistake. The guide was very knowledgable and keen on every person and every detail of the tour program. She always gave advices and suggestions and was chosing the best resturants and best service stations on the road. The hotels were very comfortable and well chosen. This tour explored a huge no of tourist attractions along the western and southern coast of Turkey. Konya and Ankara were the ice on the already rich cake. Overall unforgetable experience!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

JudyStuart

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A well organised your with excellent guide. We were picked up at 4.30am, not the 5.30am advertised on the web site, so need to be aware of that.
People taking this tour also need to be aware that they don't actually get to go to the village with the cave dwellings and numerous fairy chimneys. We did see some fairy chimneys, but very few. The recent photos of this tour on the Viator web site are not all accurate re what we saw, at least.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was absolutely incredible! Definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

shane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything things was great, loved the tour and our guide was amazing. Only thing I would have to mention is the supposed 5 star hotel was my least favourite. there was only one entrance to the hotel which was the front door, all other doors didnt have any handles. It wasnt airconditioned. The prices of drinks there were much more than what wed been paying at other places. I enjoyed the other hotels alot more and would rate them better.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message