Cappadocia ATTRACTIONS See all

Imagination Valley (Devrent Valley)

This is a place to let your mind run free in a seemingly lunar landscape with rock formations that look like animals.   The Devrent Valley, also known as Imagination Valley, has none of the cave churches, Byzantine frescoes or Roman citadel ruins ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Try to get tour guide Fatima who is not only a wealth of knowledge but makes sure everyone is well cared for!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the number one tour you absolutely have to see. It is a little costly because of the plane ticket but was the best tour we took in Istanbul. The lunch was good and in a nice hotel. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. Also we got lost one time which was our fault and they looked/waited for our return before taking off.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A well organised your with excellent guide. We were picked up at 4.30am, not the 5.30am advertised on the web site, so need to be aware of that.
People taking this tour also need to be aware that they don't actually get to go to the village with the cave dwellings and numerous fairy chimneys. We did see some fairy chimneys, but very few. The recent photos of this tour on the Viator web site are not all accurate re what we saw, at least.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely place with very unusual structures. Great lunch in a cave-like hotel. Wonderful day

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were less than pleased with our experience. We didn't do half of the items on the itinerary including several of the big items like seeing the fairy chimneys which are what made Cappadocia famous. Our guide was knowledgeable but VERY long winded, we kept joking that he must have thought he was getting paid by the word because we'd stand outside an attraction for 30 minutes as he went on and on and on about who knows what before we were finally allowed to go in and see the attraction. All in all it was an okay day but we definitely feel like we didn't get the full Cappadocia experience and certainly didn't get what we paid for.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour did not deliver what it offered. Was never taken nor shown even from a distance the Rose Valley. Saw Ortahisar as we traveled through the town from the van's windows. Was taken to lunch and then rushed through the Caves, in order to have enough time to go to the ceramic factory. The tour guide disappeared said good-bye, once the visit to the factory was concluded after some of the tourists finally haggled and bought some of the ceramic pieces, and then we were driven at dangerous speeds in order to deliver the other tourist that were staying for one more day at the hotel, and the rest of us dropped at the plane. I certainly do not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Worst travel experience in years of traveling the world. Disorganized in every respect, suicidal drivers and dissapointing. Be careful, this tour killed the whole Cappadocia experience. It also makes us doubt Viator reliable source for tours!!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really great way to see Cappadocia for people without much time. Highlights of the trip were walks through Monks Valley and Rose Valley.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing archeology of rock formations throughout Cappadocia and out lying areas. The hot air balloon ride scenery was magical

Doing what: Small-Group Cappadocia Tour: Devrent Valley, Monks Valley and Open Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent guide, Benjamen sorry for Americanized spelling, Mr. Benjamen. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and had an excellent sense of timing. Thus he kept us out of the crowds and gave us lots of valuable time to explore. This is a fascinating part of the world, one we look forward to seeing in more detail in the future, thanks to the services of our excellent guide. Also, there were some little issues with transfers for our co-travelers, but they were taken care of very capably by the young man who took us to the airport. Altogether a most exciting and excellent experience.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

the tour in Istanbul wouldn't recomend as the hotel and meals even tour guide was not particularly nice. The Cappadocia part was good, especially the courtyard cave hotel and restaurants they took us to.

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour was good, organisation lacked - we were not given flight details and guide did not help, ended up stranded at airport. Taken to 2 workshops (pottery and onyx) is too much for 1 day, feels like sales tour. Did not get to go to Ozkonak, was just left off tour

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had just one day to see this absolutely fantastic part of Turkey and this tour did it all for us. We left our Istanbul hotel at 4:40 AM and returned at 10:30 PM so you must be prepared for that long day. We were lucky and had a sunny day and even in November is was warm enough to be able to enjoy everything.

The sights are even more stunning than one sees in the pictures and photographs of other people. Our guide took us to everything promised and we had a wonderful lunch at a very nice restaurant. The shuttle ride from the airport in Keysari to the landscape we wanted to see was 30 to 45 minutes and we made a couple stops along the route to drop off other travelers on the shuttle. Our shuttle driver spoke very little English so we were not exactly sure of "the plan" for our tour, but once he dropped us off at the meeting point with our guide for the day everything ran smoothly. There were only 4 of us plus guide and driver in a very comfortable mini van.

We loved the tour and very highly recommend it. Even if you have only one day and no chance to take the highly touted balloon ride over the area, what you will see will amaze you.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Except for the very early morning flight from Istanbul, the tour to Cappadocia was worth doing. It was amazing to see the natural caves and how people carved out a place to call home. Definitely worth doing at least once in your lifetime.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour, you visit most of Cappadoccia main attractions. The guide and the driver were excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Cappadocia Tour: Devrent Valley, Monks Valley and Open Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really liked the tour. We saw different and beautiful places. However, we could have spent more time in certain places, since both days we finished much earlier than established in the schedule.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

All of the connections were all met from the hotel pick up to getting to the flight and the return from the tour back to the airport and hotel. It was nice not to have to worry about all of those connections. The tour guide was very informative and well versed in the area.
The main thing you might examine is after we got off the plane a young man picked us up in a van, didn't say a word, no greeting, no comment about what was to happen next. Here were were traveling for an hour and a half through this very magical, mysticall, and fantastic scenery for an hour and a half and the driver had absolutely nothing to say. The tour with some explanation about where we were and how the day was to unfold would have been not only courteous but helpful for the travelers. The young man seemed to be very unhappy and not enjoying his job very much. The tour could have been very improved by some commentary for that first hour and a half instead of just riding with an angry driver!!! Once we met the tour guide she was great. Thanks for asking for our opinion. Eugene Bartell

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message