Cappadocia ATTRACTIONS See all

Imagination Valley (Devrent Valley)

This is a place to let your mind run free in a seemingly lunar landscape with rock formations that look like animals.   The Devrent Valley, also known as Imagination Valley, has none of the cave churches, Byzantine frescoes or Roman citadel ruins ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had an amazing day in the fantastic place!! Very early morning start in Istanbul but everything through the airport, shuttle transfers and meeting the tour guides was seamless. The guide was great. Informative without overloading with info. He was also happy to adjust things to our groups pace. A good lunch too! All in all, a great tour and well worth the effort for the day trip from Istanbul!! Just be prepared for a long day!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Ken M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Pictures can't describe the visual experience of seeing Cappadocia. My guide was great in showing the area and explaining the history of Turkey. It's a long day from 4:30AM to 9:30 PM , but is worth it on any vacation to Turkey.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Franklin-5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was amazing and well organised. I appreciate the itnerary that they gave us upon meeting...

Hakan, the guide for the day trip in Istanbul was very knowledgable and really relateable. He also kindly offer to tailor my trip based on my interests. The Mina Hotel i stayed in had a great view of the city. The transit to Cappadocia was easy. The hot air balloon ride was a clear highlight, one of the best expereinces i've had on travel. Exploring the Selime Monastery and the rock-hewn churches of Goreme were also an amazing experience. The Courtyard Cave Hotel was also a highlight. Murat, is the kindest inn keeper i have ever met. He was attentive and very knowledgable and went out of his way to make you comfortable, with homemade breakfasts and fresh squeezed juice every morning. This tour combines the must see sights, effortless transit, and charming tour guides and hotels. Very impressed.

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Cappadocia was on my list of places to visit in Turkey, and I'm certainly glad I took the time to visit! Although the tour started off on a rough note with a mix up with the pick-up time 2 hours earlier than noted, thus causing me to run out the door in my pajamas, I was brought from my Istanbul hotel to the airport where I was able to quickly put myself together and board a flight to Cappadocia. The rest of the trip went very well and without a hitch! The guide in Cappadocia had superb English and went out of her way to provide any additional service or piece of information needed for our small group of 3. We visited all the sites listed in addition to two others which my guide wanted to share with me because I had missed the previous days activities which the other two in our group had participated in during their arrival a few days earlier. I highly recommend this tour, as it is not to be missed for those traveling through Turkey. Simply outstanding!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Dale W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Just right. There's a lot to see in Cappadocia, so there's a fair amount of driving around from location to location. The extended walks and tours were the best part.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

francov Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very helpful staff... all from the management to the choffeurs, tour guides... no complaints whatsoever. Would recommend it very strongly... even the lunch was nice.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic!! Unique landforms we will probably never see again. Fairy chimneys, cave houses, underground city of Kaymakli.
The only de traction was the hard sell at the carpet making factory. We wasted 11/2 hours here and nobody wanted to buy a rug or carpet.
No problems with the flight, great guide. Long day but highly recommended.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Susan W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Loved the trip and the guide. Wonderful experience. The only down side was the amount of transition time getting there and back, and long waits on the tarmac at the airports. If I had to do it again, I would stay overnight in Cappadoccio and do the hot air balloon ride in the morning.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

ST Oz Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The tour itself by Deniz and the driver were excellent, with good explanation of what to expect and toured the areas with enough time and not rushed. However, the organisation by the local tour operator was found lacking. For starters, there was insufficient information provided prior to the tour to even know what to expect. All I could glean was the information provided on the reviews here instead, so here is the 411 on this tour. You need to confirm with the local tour operator your hotel pick up time. They will pick you up at 430am and take you to the airport on the Asia side of Istanbul for your flight to Kayseki, which is not as busy as Atatark airport which is good and has a small shop and lots of eateries, but was picked up too early, with 90 minutes to spare wandering around this airport. The service of the escort was good though, and don't forget to bring your passport. Following a flight that takes about 90 mins, you will be picked up by the Kayseki airport shuttle which is most disorganised, with NO information what so ever. After waiting 45 minutes for other passengers, you are taken in the minivan drive for 1 hour to Cappadocia, and people are dropped off at various hotels and you are eventually dropped off by the side of the road to meet your tour guide. From there onwards it is good, as long as you are adventurous. There is a clautrophobic part in the underground tunnels which is not great for tall/big people but very good part of the tour. Then you can request to be taken to a carpet factory, which was great, and those who don't get dropped off back to their hotels. Even with the carpet diversion, there was 1 hour wait at the airport for my flight back to Ataturk airport which is a chaotic airport in itself and after waiting some more for the transfer, you will be dropped off back at the hotel at about 930pm. Great tour for those with little time, but if you have time, stay at Cap overnight and do the balloon tour in the morning. Heard that was great.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An excellent trip our guide Fatima was great, very knowledgable and friendly. A very long and tiring day 20hours a 4 AM start. Perhaps some of the walks could be shortened.thoroughly recommend it

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Madeline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our first experience with a package tour and we were not disappointed! Seamless transfers, helpful and informative guides and great hotels! Istanbul was great but my favorite part was Cappadocia! We went for the balloon ride and it was an amazing experience! Also the cave hotel there was the best hotel I've ever stayed in!! Would recommend to anyone!

Doing what: 4-Night Cappadocia Tour from Istanbul Including Flights and Istanbul Sightseeing Tour

Philippe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Hotel Dilek Kaya very good even if wifi not strong enough in some rooms
Landscapes amazing.
Fist guide Ulun was not so good as the tour was really shortened and at 4 pm I was already back at the hotel, having nothing to do there. Also he didn't go to Red Valley which was on the program.
Second guide Fatma was really kind and perfect, she totally saved the tour, it was really amazing and she even bring me to red Vallay what was normally at the program of previous day.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Kathryn m H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was a long,but interesting day. All the connections worked well. Our guide Mel was well informed and enthusiastic. My only criticism was that we needed to be better informed about the walk through Rose Valley. It was a 4km hike through rough,dusty and sometimes steep terrain. You need closed shoes and a hat in summer. It was hot!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Eseo O

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time! Very nice tour! However I think it is overpriced and I recommend the guide should give enough time for picture taking. Our guide was talking too much nonstop and we did not have enough time to take photos. Although it was good information, however I think he should give time also in between bus rides to have free time, me time or whatever and upon arrival into the destination should brief us only anout the place for a little bit and give us the time to ourselves.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Pat C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Flights and driver excellent and expected half the day would be taken up with transport given the geography. But most of the remaining time was spent standing in the hot sun having the same blurb repeated or being subjected to hard sells for products. Less than 2 hours could be described as a tour. Amazing place so very disappointed.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Valerie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Try to get tour guide Fatima who is not only a wealth of knowledge but makes sure everyone is well cared for!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Korri J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the number one tour you absolutely have to see. It is a little costly because of the plane ticket but was the best tour we took in Istanbul. The lunch was good and in a nice hotel. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. Also we got lost one time which was our fault and they looked/waited for our return before taking off.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

JudyStuart

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A well organised your with excellent guide. We were picked up at 4.30am, not the 5.30am advertised on the web site, so need to be aware of that.
People taking this tour also need to be aware that they don't actually get to go to the village with the cave dwellings and numerous fairy chimneys. We did see some fairy chimneys, but very few. The recent photos of this tour on the Viator web site are not all accurate re what we saw, at least.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Varuna M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely place with very unusual structures. Great lunch in a cave-like hotel. Wonderful day

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Russell B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were less than pleased with our experience. We didn't do half of the items on the itinerary including several of the big items like seeing the fairy chimneys which are what made Cappadocia famous. Our guide was knowledgeable but VERY long winded, we kept joking that he must have thought he was getting paid by the word because we'd stand outside an attraction for 30 minutes as he went on and on and on about who knows what before we were finally allowed to go in and see the attraction. All in all it was an okay day but we definitely feel like we didn't get the full Cappadocia experience and certainly didn't get what we paid for.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

teresitapedraza

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour did not deliver what it offered. Was never taken nor shown even from a distance the Rose Valley. Saw Ortahisar as we traveled through the town from the van's windows. Was taken to lunch and then rushed through the Caves, in order to have enough time to go to the ceramic factory. The tour guide disappeared said good-bye, once the visit to the factory was concluded after some of the tourists finally haggled and bought some of the ceramic pieces, and then we were driven at dangerous speeds in order to deliver the other tourist that were staying for one more day at the hotel, and the rest of us dropped at the plane. I certainly do not recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Mike

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Worst travel experience in years of traveling the world. Disorganized in every respect, suicidal drivers and dissapointing. Be careful, this tour killed the whole Cappadocia experience. It also makes us doubt Viator reliable source for tours!!

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Rose Valley, Ortahisar, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message