• USD ($)
  • English

Cappadocia ATTRACTIONS See all

Kaymakli Underground City

Kaymaklı is a city dug deep into the soft volcanic rock in the Cappadocia region. There are around 100 underground cities in the area although only a few are open to the public. Kaymaklı is the largest of them. It is estimated that around 3,500 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unforgettable. Amazing. Outstanding. Great scenery, long and beautiful history, and nice cultural touch. We had good guides, comfortable accommodations and transportations. Ballon ride is a must

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It is a good trip, we did more than I expected and visited so many great attractions. The only issue, which was not really that big of a deal but it is an area in which you can improve is that you should give travelers the itinerary before you start the tour. After they picked me up, I had no idea what we were going to do and the guide was telling us every day but it would have been good to have it beforehand. Finally, I had to call the agency because nobody told me at what time I was going to go for the hot air balloon ride on the second day. The experience was great and the guide was exceptional.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. We were lucky to have a small tour group (6 on day 1 and 10 on day 2) which really allowed for a fun dynamic in the group. The tour company really looked after us well and our guide made kept us fully informed and answered all of our questions. The tour was well structured, with some nice walks, tailored for all levels of fitness, as well as some interesting side trips to watch pottery and jewelry being made. The cave hotel was also really nice, which we must admit surprised us for the price. The meals were fully included as well, which made this great value. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the region.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Punctuality is not their strong suit but in the end everything happens. The tour provider is very reputable in Turkey. The places are incredible, I highly recommend to add the hot air ballon ride to your time in Cappadocia, it is a once in a lifetime experience. I would suggest to request a detailed tour package in advance (including pick-up times, hotels, and airplane tickets/reservations) because two of the three days they gave us a wrong pick-up time and at the airport you don't even know your flight number. I was getting desperate sometimes but that's because I'm a control freak.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The sites on this tour were great, and the itinerary maximized my couple days in Cappadocia. In general, the tour was very good: the groups were small as I only had 2 co-travelers the first day and one the second. The guide's English was very good and he seemed well-informed about the local sites. The hot air balloon service provider was also good, the ride felt very safe, and safety precautions were communicated clearly at the beginning of the ride. The only drawbacks were that I wasn't booked in a cave hotel, as the website had indicated, and the communication from the local operators could have been better. There were several times when I didn't know who would pick me up or when I would transfer, and some of the guide's introductions to sites was given outside the sites rather than while we were exploring the sites, when the information would have been more useful.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I had a small group of only 7 people. I'm not sure whether it was because it was low season (winter). Anyway the small group made the tour more smooth and organised. On the flip side a small group meant that the guide labeled it as a private tour therefore strict timelines weren't followed. It was a case of power of numbers.what this means is that as I was a single traveller I wouldn't normally get what I wanted in terms of extra time at a place etc. However there was a family of 5 people and if they wanted to grab a cup of tea and wanted to stay somewhere for an extra 20 mins then it would be all fine.

Overall the tour guide spoke perfect English and did her job as per itinerary. Driver was good and the minivan was great. The one night hotel was decent too and I appreciated that it was in a cave hotel. Beware larger families though as you don't get a choice as to where you stay and the family of five that were on my tour got placed in another hotel which was not a cave hotel. Many people come to cappadocia to get the cave hotel experience so you would want to make sure that you are definitely booked into a cave hotel if that's what you want.

The only gripe I had was that a lot of day 2 was spent at a pottery warehouse and a carpet weaving warehouse. These are the typical tourist trap places the tours love to take their tourists because they get commissions out of it. We spent half the day of day 2 at these places and whilst informative and interesting for a bit, most of the time was spent on trying to sell us goods. Of course the company get paid commissions on sales so they just dumped us there for an indefinite period of time until a sale could definitely be achieved or until they definitely werent getting a sale then we left. I hate how tours don't give you much time at sights you paid for and intended to see yet spend a ton of time at places to benefit their bottom line.

overall it was the best way I could've seen cappadocia as a single traveller.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Really well organised. Guide was excellent. Bus comfortable. SIghts well chosen. Even the mandatory "commercial" stop at a pottery workshop was fascinating - located in an underground labyrinth. Hotel was very good standard. Recommended

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My wife and I were very satisfied with this tour. We started the tour from Ürgüp and went to Ortahisar, Çavuşin, Pigeon Valley, Kaymaklı Yeraltı Şehri, Kaymaklı, O Agacin Alti Panorama, Göreme Açık Hava Müzesi, Yeralti Sehri, Fırça El Sanatları, and Paşabağı. The optional hot air balloon tour was also unforgettable experience. The hotel was very comfortable. Finally, the tour guide was very experienced and knew well about the regional culture, history, and other stories behind each spot. I highly recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Transfer from the airport was wonderful and one less thing to organise. The tour guide was very friendly and helpful in making other suggestions of where to go and what to do in the area. Sibel, the guide happily stopped at a shop for us to try some local sweets etc. We stopped at a pottery and rug manufacturer to observe the process, it was very much obligation free and quite interesting. It did feel like you spent a lot of time just cruising back and forth (in a very comfortable van) across Cappadocia. I think this tour could be compressed into 1 day although there is perhaps not much else to do in the area. The overnight accommodation (Lykia lodge) far exceeded our expectations and the food provided was excellent. The hotel breakfast was one the best I had in 7wks throughout Europe. They had a pool which was great to come back to fill in a bit of time. Plus the grounds keeper had a puppy! We additionally booked the hot air balloon option and paid for the 1.5hrs with breakfast and a small group. However, we were bunched with the cheaper option of 45-60mins, no breakfast, 20 ppl per basket. Viator has not responded to my multiple emails and submissions via their website which has marred my memories and lightened my bank balance.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

poking the tour was a pain in the bum. We are a family of 3. I wanted to do the balloon flight inCappodocia, while my partner and son did not. we wanted a triple room. we tried phoning the states from Australia to sort it, to no VIl. it was only on the ground inTurkey that everything was fixed ( we could only book at the time 2 separate rooms and tours). he people in turkey were MaIng Nd gave us exactly what we wanted, but unfortunately the balloon flight was a no go as the conditions weren t good. sabil was exceptional.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

rally enjoyed it. Once in turkey they sorted Ll the bugs out of what we wanted.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The landscape was other-worldly and museums were interesting. The highlight was a sunrise balloon tour which I highly recommend.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing!!! Mother nature was hard at work in this part of the world!! Tour guide was excellent and everything was seamless. DEFINTELY TAKE A HOT AIR BALLOON RIDE!!!! Phenominal experience!

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Blanca
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

I really enjoyed this trip, it was absolutely amazing! Our guide was great, he was very knowledgeable and at the same time very nice and entertaining. After Istanbul, we loved being out in the nature and doing an easy hike in the Rose Valley. The natural formations we saw on this trip were absolutely amazing! We loved the fairy chimneys, the underground cities and the Goreme open air museum. Also really enjoyed being in a small group. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message