While Orlando has much to offer any visitor, sometimes you just need a change of scenery for a few hours. Luckily, the city offers an array of easily accessible and worthwhile day trips. To help you plan your nearby jaunt, here are some suggestions. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 24 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip. First, it had a guaranteed departure which is very important if you are traveling ftom far away. The hotels were good, the best was the one in Kusadasi. Out tour guide, Kivanc, was very accomodating, gave us a good insights into each place we visited. There were many highlights of the trip, Sirince, the old Greek village, was an unexpected treat; also Pergamon and Hierapolis were very imposing and memorable. Capadoccia was just fairy and very special, it is a place that you would like to stay at least a week... So much to explore...
There was a good pace to each day, as otherwise it would be very difficult to cover everything on the itinerary. Also, our guide took us to a inhabited rock chimney house which was an unique experience and a special moment to take away. I would highly recommend the tour as it covers many important sites and also lets you soak up a bit of the local culture. Also, i would have liked to have read a bit more on each place visited prior to the trip in order to be more aware of all the civilizarions and interesting stories about these places, but i did that at the end. For that I recommend the Traveller's Guide to Turkish History.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really liked the tour. We saw different and beautiful places. However, we could have spent more time in certain places, since both days we finished much earlier than established in the schedule.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I bought the tour but on that day, I was told in the van that the van was for Northern Cappadocia Tour. The tour company decided to switch my tour without notice!!! However, the tour guide on that day was great. She accepted it was the company's fault and she arranged a private Southern Cappadocia Tour for me on that day.

Doing what: Southern Cappadocia Tour: Cavusin, Red Valley, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good value. I was a little disappointed with the hotel in Izmir, especially compared with the hotel in Cappadocia.
The flight from Cappadocia to Istanbul then back to Izmir seemed strange, but went without a hitch.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Another Amazing Tour! Everything was so organized and well prepared for us. We loved our 3-day Cappadocia and Ephesus Trip. So many amazing thing to see. Breathtaking view. Our Balloon ride was the highlight of our tour. Unbelievable Experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very well-arranged ; good coverage of sightseeing and information ; good lunch ; energetic guide ; good transportation ; request the guide to inform more of the local famous history

Doing what: Southern Cappadocia Tour: Cavusin, Red Valley, Kaymakli Underground City and Pigeon Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I had a great time in this tour. Both my guides in Cappadocia, Burcu and in Ephesus Gulner were very knowledgeable and passionate. We stopped at several spots in Cappadocia. Starting with the Rose valley hike and Cavucin spectacular village, we followed by visiting the Ushistar castle, pigeon valley, lunch and then the amazing underground city. We also visited some fairy chimneys on the way. Dinner at Dilek Kaya hotel. Next morning we visited Avanos, the ceramic capital, the imagination valley ( the devrent valley), surreal fairy chimneys and Goreme open museum. Then I was transported to the airport for my flight to Izmir. Ephesus tour was amazing so was Mary's church and Selcuk. I was then transferred to the airport for my flight to Istanbul. I think it is a great value tour. There was a glitch in arrangement and Akeen ( he arranged the trip) called me at least 3 times to apologize. They really care. The 4 stars instead of the 5 is because of Cappadocia hotel. Although the view was great, I did not like the dining experience. It was not inviting and felt like a cafeteria. The staff looked tired and unhappy contrary to everything I experienced in Turkey where practically everyone was very welcoming and friendly. Otherwise, all the meals offered were really very good. I took the optional tour of hot air balloon. It is not to be missed. It is magical. One in a lifetime experience. Be warned though, they pick you up at 4:15 so you can watch sunrise in the balloon. They offer snack and you return early enough to have breakfast before they pick you up for the second day of the tour of Cappadocia. They were always very punctual. I calIed Burcu when the glitch happened and she was able to make the necessary phone calls. I highly recommend this tour. You won't be disappointed. Oh! And you visit a carpet, ceramic and jewelry centers so you can make all your necessary purchase there avoiding Istanbul inflated prices

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

Both Cappadocia and Ephesus are fabulous to visit. This whirlwind trip allowed us to see these two amazing sights! We added the hot air balloon ride and thought it was well worth it. The Cappadoica tour guide was excellent. He was very attentive and well informed. Our tour guide of Ephesus set a fast pace and could have given more information and attention to his group. I felt rushed in comparison to the previous tour. Several things were not as expected. Our itinerary was for a 6:30 pick-up at our Istanbul hotel. I called ahead for details and was told the pick-up would be at 5:00 am instead. At the that time, I was told the airline tickets would be e-mailed to the hotel. I am not sure what would have happened if I hadn't called. The promise of a "boutique hotel in a cave" in Cappadocia was false. We were in a very large hotel outside of town with no way to leave the hotel for a meal and dinner was not part of the package. The food served at the hotel was good, but the space seemed set up for 100's of people while only a few were there. On arrival in Izmir at 12:00 pm due to a delayed flight, there was no one to meet us at the airport. We were able to call and did eventually get picked up. In general ,Viator tours give little information about itinerary and do not support travel by being in touch with clients about pick-up and departure information. The time spent in two carpet and one ceramic center turned out to be entertaining, but not expected and took quite a lot of time.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unforgettable. Amazing. Outstanding. Great scenery, long and beautiful history, and nice cultural touch. We had good guides, comfortable accommodations and transportations. Ballon ride is a must

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It is a good trip, we did more than I expected and visited so many great attractions. The only issue, which was not really that big of a deal but it is an area in which you can improve is that you should give travelers the itinerary before you start the tour. After they picked me up, I had no idea what we were going to do and the guide was telling us every day but it would have been good to have it beforehand. Finally, I had to call the agency because nobody told me at what time I was going to go for the hot air balloon ride on the second day. The experience was great and the guide was exceptional.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. We were lucky to have a small tour group (6 on day 1 and 10 on day 2) which really allowed for a fun dynamic in the group. The tour company really looked after us well and our guide made kept us fully informed and answered all of our questions. The tour was well structured, with some nice walks, tailored for all levels of fitness, as well as some interesting side trips to watch pottery and jewelry being made. The cave hotel was also really nice, which we must admit surprised us for the price. The meals were fully included as well, which made this great value. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the region.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Punctuality is not their strong suit but in the end everything happens. The tour provider is very reputable in Turkey. The places are incredible, I highly recommend to add the hot air ballon ride to your time in Cappadocia, it is a once in a lifetime experience. I would suggest to request a detailed tour package in advance (including pick-up times, hotels, and airplane tickets/reservations) because two of the three days they gave us a wrong pick-up time and at the airport you don't even know your flight number. I was getting desperate sometimes but that's because I'm a control freak.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The sites on this tour were great, and the itinerary maximized my couple days in Cappadocia. In general, the tour was very good: the groups were small as I only had 2 co-travelers the first day and one the second. The guide's English was very good and he seemed well-informed about the local sites. The hot air balloon service provider was also good, the ride felt very safe, and safety precautions were communicated clearly at the beginning of the ride. The only drawbacks were that I wasn't booked in a cave hotel, as the website had indicated, and the communication from the local operators could have been better. There were several times when I didn't know who would pick me up or when I would transfer, and some of the guide's introductions to sites was given outside the sites rather than while we were exploring the sites, when the information would have been more useful.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I had a small group of only 7 people. I'm not sure whether it was because it was low season (winter). Anyway the small group made the tour more smooth and organised. On the flip side a small group meant that the guide labeled it as a private tour therefore strict timelines weren't followed. It was a case of power of numbers.what this means is that as I was a single traveller I wouldn't normally get what I wanted in terms of extra time at a place etc. However there was a family of 5 people and if they wanted to grab a cup of tea and wanted to stay somewhere for an extra 20 mins then it would be all fine.

Overall the tour guide spoke perfect English and did her job as per itinerary. Driver was good and the minivan was great. The one night hotel was decent too and I appreciated that it was in a cave hotel. Beware larger families though as you don't get a choice as to where you stay and the family of five that were on my tour got placed in another hotel which was not a cave hotel. Many people come to cappadocia to get the cave hotel experience so you would want to make sure that you are definitely booked into a cave hotel if that's what you want.

The only gripe I had was that a lot of day 2 was spent at a pottery warehouse and a carpet weaving warehouse. These are the typical tourist trap places the tours love to take their tourists because they get commissions out of it. We spent half the day of day 2 at these places and whilst informative and interesting for a bit, most of the time was spent on trying to sell us goods. Of course the company get paid commissions on sales so they just dumped us there for an indefinite period of time until a sale could definitely be achieved or until they definitely werent getting a sale then we left. I hate how tours don't give you much time at sights you paid for and intended to see yet spend a ton of time at places to benefit their bottom line.

overall it was the best way I could've seen cappadocia as a single traveller.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message