The wonderful landscape of Cappadocia was formed thousands of years ago by wind and water erosion on soft volcanic rock. This left cliffs and valleys and also the spectacular chimneys of rock rising up to 130 ft (40m). The softness of the volcanic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Heavenly tour!!!!! Spectacular and amazing Landscapes. The tour guide was a wonderful kind beautiful person. The driver fantástico and always driving safety. Lunch good enough, good service.

Doing what: Small-Group Cappadocia Tour: Devrent Valley, Monks Valley and Open Air Museum in Goreme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unforgettable. Amazing. Outstanding. Great scenery, long and beautiful history, and nice cultural touch. We had good guides, comfortable accommodations and transportations. Ballon ride is a must

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This top was a top experience, about 90-100min trip. The pilot was a pro, flying close to the formations for our admiration and had us floating within the amazing canyons. The end of the trip was at higher altitude, which allowed us to have an amazing view all around. The landing was an impressively precise event, even landing directly on top of the gear truck. The pilot displayed a control of the hot air balloon that I wouldn't thought possible. The clear and sunny weather made that trip an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Cappadocia Balloon Ride and Champagne Breakfast

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The flight over the Cappadocia was one of the magical moment of this trip, totally worth the 3am wake up call! Being able to admire the fairy chimney from high above will stay a true memory forever. The staff was even kind enough to my senior age and help me step up from the basket! We appreciate the Champagne toast after the flight, a real nice way to end up an amazing trip.

Doing what: Cappadocia Balloon Ride and Champagne Breakfast

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The best part of Turkey trip was the hot air balloon flight, with a great pilot, a total pro! I was in awe about the beauty of the region, and seeing the other balloons was nice too. From the take-off to the landing, everything went smoothly, a testament of our pilot's expertise, who also made sure everyone on board (we were 12 for the 1.30h long trip) get to admire all the views, flying in and along the formations in the canyons. We ended the trip with a Champagne toast to celebrate the flight, and a medal, a nice souvenir to bring back home "

Doing what: Cappadocia Balloon Ride and Champagne Breakfast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A must-do in Cappadocia! From the pickup to the pre-flight breakfast to a top-notch pilot to the Champagne glass at the end, it was perfect from start to finish. Our pilot was amazing, and though he kept saying there is no steering wheel on a hot air balloon, his dexterity in maneuvering the balloon was astonishing. Getting so close to the rock formations one could have touched it, going in and following the path of the canyons, around and above the Fairy Chimneys, was a once-in-lifetime experience. The operation is flawless too, we felt safe at all time, they even have staff on the ground monitoring all balloons at all time. The tour finished by a high altitude portion, given us the opportunity to take in the whole region. Don't go to Cappadocia without doing a hot air balloon ride and this tour is the one to do!

Doing what: Cappadocia Balloon Ride and Champagne Breakfast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my first flight and it was amazing. A must-do in Cappadocia!!! Breakfast and transportation were excellent. During the way to our balloon it was amazing to see balloons who were flying already. The flight was great and safe. It was very exciting to flight so close to the geological formations and I had great pictures. Our pilot was very professional and friendly and the sunny weather made that trip an unforgettable experience! We ended the flight with a champagne toast to celebrate and a medal. Really recommended.

Doing what: Cappadocia Balloon Ride and Champagne Breakfast

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It is a good trip, we did more than I expected and visited so many great attractions. The only issue, which was not really that big of a deal but it is an area in which you can improve is that you should give travelers the itinerary before you start the tour. After they picked me up, I had no idea what we were going to do and the guide was telling us every day but it would have been good to have it beforehand. Finally, I had to call the agency because nobody told me at what time I was going to go for the hot air balloon ride on the second day. The experience was great and the guide was exceptional.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

You can find better tours. Tour guide didn't tell us much, looked like he didn't want to be there and he smoked the whole time, which I thought was unprofessional..

Doing what: Ihlara Valley Tour from Cappadocia: Derinkuyu Underground City, Selime Monastery and Yaprakhisar

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

My guide was terrible. I can walk and do most everything. I am just slow. On the first part when we went on a hike he tried to talk me out of going. I insisted and he let me go. He ran ahead and I heard him tell all the other group member not to help me at all. Then he refused to allow me to go the the Selime Monastery and Yaprakhisar because I was too slow. It was a waste of my money since I could not see what was advertised. Especially since the next day, I went on a tour of the Red Valley and the guide allowed me to take the walk, visit the underground city and all the other activities. I was able to do them although I was slow.

Doing what: Ihlara Valley Tour from Cappadocia: Derinkuyu Underground City, Selime Monastery and Yaprakhisar

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour. We were lucky to have a small tour group (6 on day 1 and 10 on day 2) which really allowed for a fun dynamic in the group. The tour company really looked after us well and our guide made kept us fully informed and answered all of our questions. The tour was well structured, with some nice walks, tailored for all levels of fitness, as well as some interesting side trips to watch pottery and jewelry being made. The cave hotel was also really nice, which we must admit surprised us for the price. The meals were fully included as well, which made this great value. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the region.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The sites on this tour were great, and the itinerary maximized my couple days in Cappadocia. In general, the tour was very good: the groups were small as I only had 2 co-travelers the first day and one the second. The guide's English was very good and he seemed well-informed about the local sites. The hot air balloon service provider was also good, the ride felt very safe, and safety precautions were communicated clearly at the beginning of the ride. The only drawbacks were that I wasn't booked in a cave hotel, as the website had indicated, and the communication from the local operators could have been better. There were several times when I didn't know who would pick me up or when I would transfer, and some of the guide's introductions to sites was given outside the sites rather than while we were exploring the sites, when the information would have been more useful.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I had a small group of only 7 people. I'm not sure whether it was because it was low season (winter). Anyway the small group made the tour more smooth and organised. On the flip side a small group meant that the guide labeled it as a private tour therefore strict timelines weren't followed. It was a case of power of numbers.what this means is that as I was a single traveller I wouldn't normally get what I wanted in terms of extra time at a place etc. However there was a family of 5 people and if they wanted to grab a cup of tea and wanted to stay somewhere for an extra 20 mins then it would be all fine.

Overall the tour guide spoke perfect English and did her job as per itinerary. Driver was good and the minivan was great. The one night hotel was decent too and I appreciated that it was in a cave hotel. Beware larger families though as you don't get a choice as to where you stay and the family of five that were on my tour got placed in another hotel which was not a cave hotel. Many people come to cappadocia to get the cave hotel experience so you would want to make sure that you are definitely booked into a cave hotel if that's what you want.

The only gripe I had was that a lot of day 2 was spent at a pottery warehouse and a carpet weaving warehouse. These are the typical tourist trap places the tours love to take their tourists because they get commissions out of it. We spent half the day of day 2 at these places and whilst informative and interesting for a bit, most of the time was spent on trying to sell us goods. Of course the company get paid commissions on sales so they just dumped us there for an indefinite period of time until a sale could definitely be achieved or until they definitely werent getting a sale then we left. I hate how tours don't give you much time at sights you paid for and intended to see yet spend a ton of time at places to benefit their bottom line.

overall it was the best way I could've seen cappadocia as a single traveller.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Royal Balloon provided complimentary pick up and drop off from hotel. Breakfast was provided prior to the balloon ride. They were very organized. The ride itself was amazing. Everything went very smooth. Worth every penny. The landing was also very smooth. Captain David was friendly and very professional. He pointed out many areas of interest as we travelled across the terrain. Don't hesitate to book this magical experience.

Doing what: Cappadocia Balloon Ride and Champagne Breakfast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message