Insider's Guide to Cardiff

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

The UK’s smallest capital city might not have the all-star appeal of its rivals, but Cardiff’s blend of historic landmarks, vast green spaces and modern shopping malls, means there’s plenty to keep visitors busy. With time to spare, the Welsh ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Matt did a great job with the tour. We were taken to a vast majority of the sites used for the show. He had great knowledge, insight, and gossip regarding DW. For those who are fans of the show, I'd recommend it to everyone!!

Doing what: 'Doctor Who' TV Locations Tour of Cardiff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Most excellent! Our guide was tops! Made the show all the more real and it was amazing how they used some really basic areas to make some wonderful shows! Highly recommend this!

Doing what: 'Doctor Who' TV Locations Tour of Cardiff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Absolutely brilliant! Fantastic tour and our guide, Matt, was very knowledgeable and funny! This is a MUST for any Doctor Who fan!

Doing what: 'Doctor Who' TV Locations Tour of Cardiff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This hop on hop off tour was great ! We bought a one day ticket and they gave us two days. We got
off and on a lot, and saw the entire City for 2 days ! The commentary was very informative
and fun. The only way to see it all !!

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Nice way to get around in one day!

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Easiest way to get around Cardiff and see all points of interest.

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Peter H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Simple to book ...simple to use...simple to exchange

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour is a useful easy to use service; it offers an understanding of Cardiff City layout and main interest points. Guides friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed how knowledgeable and pleasant the guide was... never realized how very much of DR Who is filmed in Cardiff! Great time.

Doing what: 'Doctor Who' TV Locations Tour of Cardiff

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I had a good time, although I sometimes had a hard time hearing because of the wind but it was a good way to see the city, and the tour guide was very nice.

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Maybe because it was the season, but the buses run every hour on the hour, so if you miss one, you have to wait an hour.

That's all the bad I have to say about this tour. It's easy to redeem your prepaid voucher. You just give it to the driver and she pops out a receipt.

The commentary is done by a live person who speaks clearly and loudly. You need to let the guide or the driver know where you want to get off; otherwise, they don't stop. But it's very personable, as they will remember that it was YOU who wanted off at a certain place, not just that some random passenger did.

I felt like I could have asked them to make an unscheduled stop and they would have (although I didn't.) They just made me feel like they were there for me only.

The woman who did the commentary was really funny and interesting. This was an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Great overview of the city, very easy/convienent way to get around

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I am torn between 'worth doing' and 'recomended' for this event. I found the tour informative although it was sometimes hard to understand the tour guide's accent and mumbling of words. I wanted him to be more confident in his presentation and therefore more engaging. He certainly knew his stuff! The tour requires a great deal of familiarity with Dr. Who series and in my opinion it is highly recomended for 'die hard fans'. Lessor mortals might struggle to remember all the referred scenes. The video display in the bus helped memory recall.

Doing what: 'Doctor Who' TV Locations Tour of Cardiff

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour and tour guide was really fantastic he was so nice and informative. However the bus driver was pure dire he constantly complained and we had to go back early and couldn't stop at Sarah Jane's house. I was so disappointed as I really wanted to see it. The driver said that if we got out then he would not let us back in. Absolutely disgusting. This really spoiled my trip

Doing what: 'Doctor Who' TV Locations Tour of Cardiff

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

No headphones here - a lovely lady who did a very good commentary - not much open so wasn't worth getting off anywhere. Cardiff Castle is well worth a visit but right in town so wouldn't require the HOHO buses.
My husband left his reading glasses on board the bus and after contact by our Hotel in London they were forwarded and waiting for us when we returned from our cruise.thankyou

Doing what: Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message