Cartagena ATTRACTIONS See all

Cartagena Cruise Port

The coastal city of Cartagena is one of Columbia’s most-popular destinations. This fortress of a city was once the center of politics and economy. Today, remnants of this past draw visitors to its idyllic colonial streets, ornate cathedrals and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 25 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was GREAT!!! The guide was wonderful. Wonderful way to see the old city.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I would recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting Cartegena. Our guide, Cesear, was excellent! He was a wealth of information about the citys history and Columbia. His English language skills are perfect. Riding on Segways is easy and fun! Do it!

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved riding Segways It was one of the highlights of our trip to Columbia and if we ever go back we'll make sure to do it again.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour. On time at location. Good knowledge. Air-conditioned transport. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Historical City Tour including UNESCO World Heritage Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our tour guide, Cesar, arrived 15 min early. He had all our information on the computer already and gave us a wonderful tour of Cartagena. We passed many other walking tours and they were envious of our tour. Cesar gave us safety instructions and made sure we were comfortable on the Segways. The only issue we had was getting there from the ship. The taxi driver had agreed to a round trip price for both of us but when we got to the address, he suddenly acted as though he did not understand English and wanted to charge us twice as much to return us to the ship. Our wonderful tour guide, Cesar, went to speak with the driver. He let him know that we knew we had been overcharged and that we would not need him to drive us back. He called a taxi driver he knew and our ride back to the ship was much less expensive. The tour was very easy to arrange and pay for through Viator. We will use Viator again and have already told several or our friends about Viator and our wonderful Segway adventure also. Just wish it was that easy to arrange and pay for a taxi at the ports.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I would recommend this Tour to anyone. If you are afraid to ride a Segway, don't be. The four people in our group (all in their 60's) were taught how to operate it in a few minutes. I felt the tour was interesting and attention to our safety was primary. Our guide, Cesar, was very friendly, informative and spoke English perfectly. We had a blast!

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was great. First, it is much easier to control a Segway than I thought. Second, the folks at Cartahena Segway were very good - training us, shepherding us, I felt completely safe as I tooled around the city. Lovely time, interesting city. I would definitely do this again. they even arranged for a taxi to pick us up and get us back to our cruise ship on time.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great small group experience for 4 seniors, 3 of whom were 77 years old!! Caesar was so kind, knowledgeable and patient. Would recommend this tour for any age. A bucket list must!!

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was one of the greatest experiences of our trip, our guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, we really enjoyed him. He taught us how to ride with great patience. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved the segway and the helpfulness of the guide.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were on a cruise ship and had booked this tour on our own off of the ship. We had taken several tours in different ports, and this was by far one of least expensive and the highlight of our whole cruise. The owner and tour guide was excellent and spoke perfect English, and gave us an excellent tour and highlights of the old city. It was so fun and we didn't want it to end. What a fun way to travel on a Segway.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a great time on the Segway tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English.
The Segway's themselves were really fun - we got to see a lot of the old town and continued to pass by the walking tour from the ship (there were lots of envious glances coming from those folks as we sped past them). You can take segways through a lot of areas tour busses can't go.
I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour - the guide even took us a bit early to ensure we got back to the ship on time. Got to push the Segway capabilities more than any other tour we've done. BIG suggestion is to provide better directions and "getting there" information from the ship docks, airport, etc. Some guidance on cabfare also helpful since the cabbies try to take advantage of tourists.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour was excellent, guide was fantastic. My only problem was location of tour in old town, would recommend charging more and including transportation from ship.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour was amazing. The sites were all we expected and more. The service was phenomenal. We were picked up at the ship and our guide was very knowledgeable and passionalte about her country. We learned so much from her and would highly recommend Viator Tours. So much more personal and pleasant than being led around like sheep on the boat tours.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Historical City Tour including UNESCO World Heritage Sites

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Was met at the curb by Cesar Reyes (the owner). He is very knowledgeable of the history and so personable. His tour of the old city was wonderful and the segway experience is so easy. I highly recommend Cesar to those wishing to experience Cartagena on wheels!

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Tell us what you think about this tour. It was fantastic! The guide was excellent! The tour was very informative and fun . I would highly reccomend them!

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Only wished they would have picked us up at the cruise port. Instead of across at the Texaco station. It was quite a walk to get there.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Guided City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great. We were the only two people that morning so our tardy arrival was not a problem. We were late because the taxi we shared from the ship left us on the wrong side of old town and directions from locals were WRONG. We ended up in a second taxi to get to the tour site. The guide said that your company was capable of arranging reasonably price transportation but that was never offered on your site. We did enjoy the opportunity to see the freedom day parade. The guide hailed us a taxi for the return and it was reasonably priced.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Small-Group City Sightseeing Segway Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our guide was difficult to find as the instructions said to meet him at the Texaco station which is outside of the port. We were approached by several other tours companies telling us it was unsafe to go outside the port area on our own. After talking to a sales clerk in the shop, she took us to the Texaco station. I would suggest your Viator representative should wait at the end of the dock where the ship docks to avoid any confusion. Once we met our tour and began the tour everything was wonderful. He was very informative and took us to places that weren't on our tour schedule. He is very good and I would rate him highly. He even parked his car and we walked thru the old section of Cartagena to look at architecture, parks, churches, shops, etc. My only complaint was trying to connect with him once we left the ship

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Guided City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Guide was not at the agreed upon pickup spot when we arrived. We had to search for him in the cruise port. Once we were under way the tour was very good. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Spoke excellent English. We saw all that was promised.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Historical City Tour including UNESCO World Heritage Sites

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We were met outside the cruise port and immediately began our tour in a private air conditioned car. Our guide spoke excellent English with a strong accent. He was a historian on the area. We would have liked more time in the old city to shop, but was not offered the opportunity.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Historical City Tour including UNESCO World Heritage Sites

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The distance to the meeting place was far great then described. In addition to being almost 1 mile from the cruise ship we had to navigate across 4 lanes of moving traffic. The guide was not there at the appointed time and when he arrived 15 minutes later the van did not have a step so none of us could get in. We waited another 15 minutes for a step to be delivered. The other couple had booked a different tour (6 hours) and was very upset when the driver said he would try to "combine" the 2 tours. What we saw was interesting but the manner in which the tour happened has set us all up for an overall negative experience.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Historical City Tour including UNESCO World Heritage Sites

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

we did not go on this tour. it was scheduled before our ship arrived (8:30 am we didn't arrive until 12:30). when we requested a time change we were told we would have to pay $25.00 each for port fees OR we could walk out to the service station and meet the bus at 1:00. the bus never came, or we were at a different service station. we ended up getting another tour by someone at the dock.

Doing what: Cartagena Shore Excursion: Historical City Tour including UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message