No, it's not a theme park; Stingray City is a world-famous natural wonder offering intrepid wildlife-lovers the chance to dive with stingrays. Touching and feeding stingrays underwater is a unique experience, combined with diving and snorkeling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent as small boat with nice crew and not too many onboard. The trick is to take the last trip of the day to avoid too many people @ StingRay City

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I don't know hoe it could have been better. No disappointments at all. This is a bucket list item. Ample boat, experienced staff, friendly and knowledgeable. It was better than I had hoped. Safe atmosphere and great contact with the female stingrays. Must see

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great experience and a great deal. They shuttled us over from the West side of the island to their boat. The hosts were great, funny, and provided us with water and juice. They put us at ease before we headed into the water with the Stingrays. The staff let us hold the stingrays and feed them squid. You were free to also wade around in the water and play with the 20 or so friendly stingrays on your own. They had a designated person to take photos of you with the stingray, available for purchase. Don't forget to tip your host!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wife and I signed on for the stingray excursion based upon previous reviews. Our trip included a half hour with the rays, and another half hour doing some snorkeling a short distance away.
I'll start with the cons: the place was SUPER crowded (given that this is the most popular thing to do on the island, that shouldn't come as a surprise). However, I couldn't help but think that the conditions were ripe for some kind of a disaster (then again, maybe I'm just a bit paranoid). Shoulder to shoulder people screaming and yelling, kids crying (some of them on our boat were absolutely terrified of the stingrays), a choppy sea (was pretty intense at time that day) and numerous boats and wave runners in close proximity to one another. Oh yea, and throw in innumerable stingrays in all shapes and sizes into the mix. At one point the anchor let loose from the boat we were in, and darn near ran into another vessel.
However, apparently the safety record is impeccable - so go figure! No Steve Irwin experiences.
Pros: the water was crystal clear and beautiful, and of course the stingrays were AMAZING. You definitely get up close and personal with them. Wife and I actually kissed one for supposed "good luck". Some of them are downright huge. Pretty darn cool, and really gave me a renewed respect for these amazing creatures.
As a side note - the snorkeling was awesome too, as we saw more rays, and a variety of stunningly beautiful fish. All in all I would recommend the trip!!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Took the trip on Christmas morning! Crew was excellent and helpful for getting into the water, at both the stingray sandbar and the snorkelling site closer to the barrier reef. Wind was up along with the surf that morning. Instructions were clearly given and provisions for emergency response were communicated to snorkelers. Provided snorkelling equipment was in good shape. Returned back to starting point under sail. A great start to our vacation!!

Doing what: Cayman Islands Breakfast and Snorkel Cruise to Stingray City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This indeed was very unique and nice. Gently holding a 40 pound stingray and getting a kiss from this elegant animal was memorable.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The whole experience was wonderful, transportation was good and everyone from the locals and staff were very friendly. The excursion was amazing! The water was a beautiful temperature and so clear. The stingrays were amazing and not at all shy lol. I definitely recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

We had a great time at Stingray City. The crew were extremely professional and added to the overall experience. I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

The interaction with the stingrays at the sandbar is a truly unique experience. But, the catamaran sail in and out was also very fun and worth the trip. Rum punches are great! A snafu prior to boarding had me concerned as the desk clerk couldn't verify my payment via American Express. Without having vouchers with me, it made for an uncomfortable experience as person at the registration was inept in quickly resolving the issue or giving me any reassurance that she could. Bring vouchers with you or a copy of your amex statement just to be safe.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message