No, it's not a theme park; Stingray City is a world-famous natural wonder offering intrepid wildlife-lovers the chance to dive with stingrays. Touching and feeding stingrays underwater is a unique experience, combined with diving and snorkeling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had such a great time at stingray city!! The tour company did such a great job on the trip! They were informative, very interactive, and super entertaining. I absolutely recommend them.
We loved the trip so much, that we ended up going for a second round. You have got to go!! =D

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our stingray city tour with Rowan Watersports was AMAZING! loved our driver that took us to the marina. The boat captain hooked me up with a float for snorkelling so I could relax and stay in water for a really long time. the first mate, Pedro, was a stingray cowboy! he corralled lots of stingrays and it was absolutely incredible. Dora, deck hand and photographer is the sweetest young lady EVER! So fun, she chatted with us , took great shots of our family and even gave us a guided tour on our way back to our resort as we offered her a ride home- what a sweetheart! Thanks Rowan Watersports for making a beautiful memory for us!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Visiting the stingrays is a wonderful experience and should not be missed. Amazing creatures and the tour was top notch. Make sure you can meet "Sandy" and get a picture with her.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My wife and I loved this experience like the rest of the planet! Rowan tours had fantastic tour guides that allowed us to make out (!) with the stingrays. Absolutely an amazing experience, will definitely do it again! Shout out to David, Nicki, and El Capitain for providing an experience of a lifetime. Thank you!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Rowan Watersports truly have a fun and cordial staff that kepy us on our toes. All the staff are either related or have strong relationships with one another. My family and I enjoyed Stringray City, snorkeling and even rescued another boat at sea. Individuals in our tour group included couples, families and singles from both the US and Europe. Captain Claiborne was funny and helpful, especially for my mother who did not know how to swim. He helped her get adjusted to snoreling and interacting with the stingrays. I would use Rowan Watersports again for my future trip to the Cayman Islands.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great. The crew were on time picking me up and very helpful since this was my first time swimming with stingrays. They show you how to handle and feed them. The crew was very patient!!! I would definitely recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really fun experience. Stepping into the ocean w/ prowling stingrays is at bit scary at first but once you realize that they have no interest in hurting anyone you can calm down and enjoy. Red Sails crew was excellent. I would go out w them anytime again.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent as small boat with nice crew and not too many onboard. The trick is to take the last trip of the day to avoid too many people @ StingRay City

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I don't know hoe it could have been better. No disappointments at all. This is a bucket list item. Ample boat, experienced staff, friendly and knowledgeable. It was better than I had hoped. Safe atmosphere and great contact with the female stingrays. Must see

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great experience and a great deal. They shuttled us over from the West side of the island to their boat. The hosts were great, funny, and provided us with water and juice. They put us at ease before we headed into the water with the Stingrays. The staff let us hold the stingrays and feed them squid. You were free to also wade around in the water and play with the 20 or so friendly stingrays on your own. They had a designated person to take photos of you with the stingray, available for purchase. Don't forget to tip your host!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Wife and I signed on for the stingray excursion based upon previous reviews. Our trip included a half hour with the rays, and another half hour doing some snorkeling a short distance away.
I'll start with the cons: the place was SUPER crowded (given that this is the most popular thing to do on the island, that shouldn't come as a surprise). However, I couldn't help but think that the conditions were ripe for some kind of a disaster (then again, maybe I'm just a bit paranoid). Shoulder to shoulder people screaming and yelling, kids crying (some of them on our boat were absolutely terrified of the stingrays), a choppy sea (was pretty intense at time that day) and numerous boats and wave runners in close proximity to one another. Oh yea, and throw in innumerable stingrays in all shapes and sizes into the mix. At one point the anchor let loose from the boat we were in, and darn near ran into another vessel.
However, apparently the safety record is impeccable - so go figure! No Steve Irwin experiences.
Pros: the water was crystal clear and beautiful, and of course the stingrays were AMAZING. You definitely get up close and personal with them. Wife and I actually kissed one for supposed "good luck". Some of them are downright huge. Pretty darn cool, and really gave me a renewed respect for these amazing creatures.
As a side note - the snorkeling was awesome too, as we saw more rays, and a variety of stunningly beautiful fish. All in all I would recommend the trip!!

Doing what: Stingray City Experience from Grand Cayman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Took the trip on Christmas morning! Crew was excellent and helpful for getting into the water, at both the stingray sandbar and the snorkelling site closer to the barrier reef. Wind was up along with the surf that morning. Instructions were clearly given and provisions for emergency response were communicated to snorkelers. Provided snorkelling equipment was in good shape. Returned back to starting point under sail. A great start to our vacation!!

Doing what: Cayman Islands Breakfast and Snorkel Cruise to Stingray City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This indeed was very unique and nice. Gently holding a 40 pound stingray and getting a kiss from this elegant animal was memorable.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The whole experience was wonderful, transportation was good and everyone from the locals and staff were very friendly. The excursion was amazing! The water was a beautiful temperature and so clear. The stingrays were amazing and not at all shy lol. I definitely recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Grand Cayman Catamaran Cruise with Snorkeling at Stingray Sandbar and Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message