Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 401 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day out and you learn to appreciate why good champagne is so expensive. Lunch was also very enjoyable and tour guide was very entertaining. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour!! We loved being in a smaller group just us and another couple and our tour guide was knowledgeable and very funny. We were disappointed at first that we didn't get to go to Moet and Chandon but we LOVED Mercier and their champagne. We bought a bottle to bring home. The visit to Mumm was fantastic. Seeing where Dom Perignon was buried was fascinating and we loved visiting the cathedral in Reims. We enjoyed walking around Reims and even stopped into a champagne shop and bought some Dom Perignon. I would recommend this tour and Viator. Very professional and organized and an amazing tour. Cheers!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Did not meet our expectations. Tour guide barely gave any background information. Very expensive for a private tour.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Flint54
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Epernay was beautiful. This is where Dom Perigon invented champagne. Then travel thru vineyards to nearby towns to sample the good stuff. Moet and Chandon were closed for remodeling but the other winery we went to was great. You take an elevator down into the tunnels of fermenting wine. Then you board a small train and a guide gives you the history of Mercier Winery. See the super large barrel of champagne that traveled by oxen to the worlds fair.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect! Fred was a great tour guide! It was so nice to drive through the beautiful country side of Champagne and taste lovely champagne!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the tour and our guide was top notch. We learned so much about champagne that we never knew! The champagne region is absolutely beautiful and the small group allowed for individual attention.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My friend and I LOVED this trip! Amy was our charming driver and guide. We got to see Reims Cathedral, its medieval architecture enriched with more recent stained glass windows! Although Moet and Chandon was closed for renovation, Amy made sure we saw its vineyards and church where Dom Perignon was buried. We loved the visit to the small champagne producer, Gatinois, with its young proprietor Louis. We also loved visiting Mumm's cellars and its tour. The day included a delicious lunch at the delightful Anna restaurant. There was something for everyone on this trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous day, right from collection from our apartment to delivery home again. Junior was outstanding with his knowledge, manner and driving skills. Amazing that he can translate between languages and still drive in Paris! Our stop at Gatinois was extremely interesting, and really good to experience a small champagne house before visiting the giant Mumm. Lunch was delicious at a lovely café/restaurant. Money well spent!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Simply a wonderful day! Lunch was superb! I would recommend this day trip even if you do not like champagne. Very interesting and a beautiful day!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day tour I thoroughly enjoyed both wineries and our tour guide was friendly and knowledgable about the wines and the area. The lunch at Reims was lovely and of course the wine was good. I would recommend this tour to anyone

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were picked up from our hotel on time in a mini bus and together with four others our driver drove out of the large city of Paris to the champagne region. We had a great day and enjoyed the beautiful countryside of the Champagne region. Also the tours in the underground cellars were very informative and also again ,not too large a group.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Champagne region.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Ted B
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice small group for a pleasant day trip outside Paris. By far we enjoyed the small winery and a chance to talk to the winemaker. Learned quite a bit about the region and champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Loved the small vineyard, Pierre LeBeouf - tour given by a 5 th generation winemaker! Very personal and the champagne was excellent. Good contrast with Mumm, which was the large vintner we visited. Overall very good tour but quite expensive and I'm not sure we couldn't have had a similar experience on a larger tour for a lot less . Wine country and villages just beautiful!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From pick-up to drop- off, the trip was awesome, starting with the picturesque views of sprawling hillsides of beauty and then tasting a small champagne entrepreneur and then experiencing Mumms and it's caves of history of fantastic tour. In between a great lunch, walking through Reims cathedral

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour Guide Great Trip

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Laura was fantastic. A great trip all in all

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time! The guide was thoughtful and knowledgeable. The first place we stopped at was small and delightful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a fantastic day with 2 other couples. Our guide was terrific! A must do tour...especially if you love Champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great, only dissappointment is we did not go to chandon as we thought we were, we went to Mumms instead. We were looking forward to chandon.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a most interesting and informative tour. Pleased it was done in a mini bus, as it limits the numbers. Our guide was most entertaining, and a wealth of knowledge. We were disappointed that the tour didn't include the visit to the Moet and Chandon cellars, as that was the main reason we booked. However, the tour of the Mumms cellars was amazing, and showed just how much goes into the production of this magic drink It was also interesting to visit the smaller cellars, and then compare with the larger one. We thoroughly enjoyed our day, and would recommend it to others interested in the production of champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had a great time on this tour. We were in a group of 7. We had Manuel as our tour guide, and we loved him! He is very funny and self-depricating. He had a lot of good input on local producers versus the big names in the industry. He also took every opportunity to make sure we saw as much as possible - if there was a minute to spare, he would take us up a side street and point out a few more producers to us. As far as the tours go, we loved driving around the countryside looking at the vines and the small villages where the local producers live I really wish we could have stopped for a few minutes to walk around and take pictures, because the villages were really cute. The lunch was wonderful, and it is affordable to buy an additional glass of wine 4 of us did. The tour of a large producer was also interesting. I definitely recommend a tour where you can see both a small producer and a large producer, to compare and contrast. Unfortunately, we could only take one glass of champagne on each tour, which I felt was a letdown. I would have loved to be able to compare and contrast a few varietals. For the cost of the tour, I do feel this is something that should be looked into.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Champagne Region Day Trip From Paris By Minivan my wife and I recently booked on Viator code RCMEN for this trip. There were three couples on our tour, two of which could speak English and the third with only very limited comprehension so the tour guide had to translate.
The driver / guide picked us up at our hotel and greeted us respectfully and also passed the comment that he was not a fast driver for which we took him at his word but not for long.
The tour was very informative, the sites spectacular and the wine fantastic. In short, we highly recommend this tour, however a few cautions:-
1        Our driver had no concept of passenger safety. Not only did he exceed the speed limits constantly, he tailgated other vehicles at high speeds and his driver concentration was impaired by his constant checking his navigation and sound systems.
2        Ensure that you are in a group that understands one language. Commentary is great when it is important information however having to hear a second translation meant that there were prolonged periods of constant talking by the guide.
3        We found the small wine producer we visited Pierre Roger more personal and informative than the Mumm cellars. Take more time at the smaller producer therefore as the bigger winery is too commercial and crowded.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was very poor value. We tasted only one Champaign at the the two producers we visited. Lunch was unremarkable at a Restarunt with a 'no choice' set menu. This lunch location and the adjacent tour groups from the same bus company really gave the atmosphere of a large bus tour group.
The driver was 50 minutes late on the pick up in the morning.
We stopped at a truck stop on the way out of Paris so the driver could get breakfast - we spent longer here than we did at the cathedral.

On a positive note, the operator drove safely and was personable.
The information presented about the manufacture of Champaign at the two producers was interesting and well presented.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

FABULOUS EXPERIENCE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. GUIDE WAS SUPER AND SMALL GOUP OF SEVEN MADE THE TRIP MORE PERSONAL. LUNCHEON WAS TRULY FRENCH - THE MENS EXCEPTIONAL. TOUR OF SMALL WINERY WAS A TREAT NEVER TO BE FORGOTTEN.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message