• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

After being promptly collected from our hotel by our lovely guide, Magnus, we had a wonderful time with the local winemaker, followed by a beautiful lunch at a local restaurant and tour of Moet and Chandon. Very informative and well organised, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience, especially seeing the local champagne house.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Even if you don't like champagne you will enjoy this tour. It is a bit of a long trip but just wonderful to get out of the hustle and bustle of Paris. The countryside is beautiful and just breathtaking. Plenty of opportunities to learn about the art of how champagne is made. So many stories to hear and lunch was just delightful as was the company on this trip. We were collected from our hotel in a in a mini-van and then we were on our way. At the end of the day we were dropped off back at the hotel. Just a most fabulous day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Paris. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the Reims area is just beautiful. We enjoyed the visit to the private champagne house as well as Moët and Chandon. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Champagne region is such a nice area to visit. The guide was very friendly and well versed in the region. All the places visited had something special not to be missed. A full day including lunch into a region worth visiting again and again.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thanks to Elise for a great, informative and fun tour of Reims and Epernay! The small family champagne house we visited was right on target. What a great way to spend a day outside of Paris. Thanks Elise!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide was outstanding, I believe it was David (was 2 wks ago already). He really earns his money - driving while acting as the our guide as well as organizing all the details with the locals. He was very informative - giving us a great overview of the region and process on the drive. I would give him 5 stars, w/o reservation. *He also went out of his way to help us reach the station on time!

For the tour - it was lovely. A quick morning nap was great in the minivan (pick up was 7:15!) before we reached the first stop. The church was great, the historical perspective from David also great. There was a lovely local bakery across from the opera house where we spent most of our time (we'd seen a lot of churches on previous days) and we had a great hot chocolate/coffee and French brfst bakery basket! The waiter was wonderful - turning on the heater for us and very attentive. We watched the locals walk back/forth while we ate and snuggled under the blanket they had.

Both champagne houses were great - a small one (whose name I cannot recall now) and then Cartier. The small one was very charming - we were right IN their house (or under it I guess), in their tasting room, after the tour. They were so hospitable and fun. The tastings were generous, delicious and we really got a taste for the process of making champagne. The Cartier house was a bit "fancier" with an introductory movie and a longer and more elaborate tour of the caves. However, the corporate feeling was present with 1 small tasting pour and a charge of 5euros for additional tastings.
The lunch was wonderful - delicious, fast, and a great opportunity to chat with the other people on the tour.

Our main suggestion would be to have the houses share different information. We heard many of the same key facts from 3 people (tour guide, House 1 and House 2). Why not coordinate it better so that you learn something new from each one?

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great day - and enjoyed the 2 winery tours-both fantastic in different ways

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fabulous. Our guide, Eliza was very knowledgeable, and a lovely person

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A most enjoyable day with a very polite and courteous guide who kept us informed throughout the day. Fantastic 3 course lunch with lovely wines.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was a delightful experience. The fact that the "tour bus" accomodated only six of us was a pleasant surprise as it made the trip intimate with a lot of interaction between the excellent driver and all of us. The driver was very knowledgeable about the history of France, the region and the champagne industry.

My traveling companion and I did feel fortunate that the other passengers were delightful folks with whom we had interesting conversations, but that is also facilitated by the small group atmosphere.

The entire process from booking to tour was handled efficiently by Viator. All confirmations and logistics information were emailed in a timely manner so we knew exactly what would happen when and whom to contact with any questions.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My daughter and I had a perfect day and the day was well planned. Beautiful vineyards and the small group of people made it much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it! Beautiful, informative, and the champagne was delicious!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a definite highlight - we loved it. Great to visit a small champagne house and then a large one (Moet on our tour). Lunch was fantastic. Our guide was very witty and funny. We really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour, small, informative, and our tour guide Fred was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Our trip was excellent. The driver was on time, very friendly and courteous. We appreciated his knowledge about the history of the area. The tours of the vineyards themselves were interesting. I would recommend this tour and Viator in general to others who are traveling.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message