• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A good trip that takes up the entire day (or a bit more) depending on Paris traffic. Designed for those who know next to nothing about champagne: how it is made from vineyard to final bottling, the AOC laws determining grape varietal allowed, how to grow them, what the traditional method entails. At the end, you will know all of this. You do get to go to little independent grower/producers, sample and buy their wares, then Moet et Chandon - a lot of pushing the product there. Included lunch was very good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Was a great tour of a amaizing part of Europe. Thanks for a enjoyable day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

To long a drive and to far between houses, however driver was good!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

For the amount of money that was paid for the trip it was not worth it. The only good thing about the driver was that he showed up on time and the people in the van were friendly. His English was hard to understand and his voice was muffled as he spoke. Therefore, nothing could be understood. He did not go into the castle with us and guide us as to what we should be looking at. Many of us walked around lost wandering what we should be focusing on. The first Champagne stop was good, however it would have been better if we had been provided additional tastes of the other champagnes that were made. Lunch was ok. The Moet and Chandon tour was fabulous, but again, we were only given 1 drink. For the 300+ dollars that were paid out, one would have expected more that 2 glasses of champagne total. Maybe next time a 12ounce souvenir bottle of champagne could be given to those that schedule a tour. It would certainly make up for the poor job that the guide provided us.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip, great day, Guide was lovely.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding!!!! There were lots of amazing things we did while in Paris but, this was my FAVORITE!!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a great day.
Tour guide was great. On time and extremely polite and helpful.
Loved the tour being such with such a small group. Much more enjoyable.
Tour maybe a little expensive, but for us it was well worth it and to visit a local Champagne make, was fantastic!
It was a fantastic way to see the country side and visit the Champagne areas.
Thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks Viator....

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, private comfortable car and very enthusiastic tour guide. We got to know lot of new things about Champagne history and current volumes and scales are awe inspiring. The visit to the smaller winery in addition to the great "Moet and Chandon" was wonderful. The 27 Kms of storage caves at Moet and Chandon were well maintained and was thrilling experience. The scenary is great. Lunch was one of the highlights, probably the best lunch we received during our stay in france, suited very much to our taste and hot food !! Excellent, would recommend the private tour to friends .

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We have already been at Champagne 4 years ago at winter time, also through Viator. Now we were back near summer time, and it was amazing. We saw landscapes over snow in our last visit and now everything is green and light! Our guide, Mr. Herve was fantastic, explaining us many curiosities about the place and stopping at Reims, where we could see the Smile Angel at the cathedral entrance. I recommend it!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We were picked up from our hotel on time and had a quick trip to the Hautvillers giving us the opportunity to see some of the country side and, of course, visit the resting place of Dom Perignon. Moet and Chandon was next with a tour of their cellars and a testing, then off to Reims. Our driver gave us time to stop at the cathedral and explore. We then had a break fro lunch and explore a bit of the town of Reims. Our last stop was Mumm for a tour of their operation and testing. Both of the cellar tours were informative.
The group was the right size, eight people, to get to know each other as we drove for site to site. It would have been great to visit a smaller producer, but there is only so much time in a day. A great experience. A great way to get a feel for the Champagne area and production process.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Really good day trip. Small group, good company and a great guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good tour guide who was very interesting to talk to and could speak English well enough to understand. We were given enough time at each stop to enjoy.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Great trip with Reims cathedral, wineyards, a small producer and a large one. The small producer was brilliant and I bought a pair of bottles back home. Moët and Chandon is not my favourite Champagne, but the cellars are great. Too bad the guide was such a bore and stayed in the wan for several stops.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Even though this tour is quote expensive for what you get, it is still worthwhile. The cellar tours were informative but an option to select the desired tasting package would have been appreciated. Our driver, Jean Marc, was very entertaining and contributed to the enjoyment of the day.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Disappointed to do 2 tours of champayne houses that were almost identical and visited 2 cathedrals. Would have preferred less tours (one is enough) and more time in boutique houses tasting different champagnes. The boutique winery tour was not available for us. The guide while knowledgable didn't allow time for photos. Along the drive but seemed in a hurry to get to the next location

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message