Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 389 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Flint54
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Epernay was beautiful. This is where Dom Perigon invented champagne. Then travel thru vineyards to nearby towns to sample the good stuff. Moet and Chandon were closed for remodeling but the other winery we went to was great. You take an elevator down into the tunnels of fermenting wine. Then you board a small train and a guide gives you the history of Mercier Winery. See the super large barrel of champagne that traveled by oxen to the worlds fair.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect! Fred was a great tour guide! It was so nice to drive through the beautiful country side of Champagne and taste lovely champagne!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From pick-up to drop- off, the trip was awesome, starting with the picturesque views of sprawling hillsides of beauty and then tasting a small champagne entrepreneur and then experiencing Mumms and it's caves of history of fantastic tour. In between a great lunch, walking through Reims cathedral

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour Guide Great Trip

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Laura was fantastic. A great trip all in all

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time! The guide was thoughtful and knowledgeable. The first place we stopped at was small and delightful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a fantastic day with 2 other couples. Our guide was terrific! A must do tour...especially if you love Champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great, only dissappointment is we did not go to chandon as we thought we were, we went to Mumms instead. We were looking forward to chandon.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a most interesting and informative tour. Pleased it was done in a mini bus, as it limits the numbers. Our guide was most entertaining, and a wealth of knowledge. We were disappointed that the tour didn't include the visit to the Moet and Chandon cellars, as that was the main reason we booked. However, the tour of the Mumms cellars was amazing, and showed just how much goes into the production of this magic drink It was also interesting to visit the smaller cellars, and then compare with the larger one. We thoroughly enjoyed our day, and would recommend it to others interested in the production of champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had a great time on this tour. We were in a group of 7. We had Manuel as our tour guide, and we loved him! He is very funny and self-depricating. He had a lot of good input on local producers versus the big names in the industry. He also took every opportunity to make sure we saw as much as possible - if there was a minute to spare, he would take us up a side street and point out a few more producers to us. As far as the tours go, we loved driving around the countryside looking at the vines and the small villages where the local producers live I really wish we could have stopped for a few minutes to walk around and take pictures, because the villages were really cute. The lunch was wonderful, and it is affordable to buy an additional glass of wine 4 of us did. The tour of a large producer was also interesting. I definitely recommend a tour where you can see both a small producer and a large producer, to compare and contrast. Unfortunately, we could only take one glass of champagne on each tour, which I felt was a letdown. I would have loved to be able to compare and contrast a few varietals. For the cost of the tour, I do feel this is something that should be looked into.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Champagne Region Day Trip From Paris By Minivan my wife and I recently booked on Viator code RCMEN for this trip. There were three couples on our tour, two of which could speak English and the third with only very limited comprehension so the tour guide had to translate.
The driver / guide picked us up at our hotel and greeted us respectfully and also passed the comment that he was not a fast driver for which we took him at his word but not for long.
The tour was very informative, the sites spectacular and the wine fantastic. In short, we highly recommend this tour, however a few cautions:-
1        Our driver had no concept of passenger safety. Not only did he exceed the speed limits constantly, he tailgated other vehicles at high speeds and his driver concentration was impaired by his constant checking his navigation and sound systems.
2        Ensure that you are in a group that understands one language. Commentary is great when it is important information however having to hear a second translation meant that there were prolonged periods of constant talking by the guide.
3        We found the small wine producer we visited Pierre Roger more personal and informative than the Mumm cellars. Take more time at the smaller producer therefore as the bigger winery is too commercial and crowded.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was very poor value. We tasted only one Champaign at the the two producers we visited. Lunch was unremarkable at a Restarunt with a 'no choice' set menu. This lunch location and the adjacent tour groups from the same bus company really gave the atmosphere of a large bus tour group.
The driver was 50 minutes late on the pick up in the morning.
We stopped at a truck stop on the way out of Paris so the driver could get breakfast - we spent longer here than we did at the cathedral.

On a positive note, the operator drove safely and was personable.
The information presented about the manufacture of Champaign at the two producers was interesting and well presented.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

FABULOUS EXPERIENCE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. GUIDE WAS SUPER AND SMALL GOUP OF SEVEN MADE THE TRIP MORE PERSONAL. LUNCHEON WAS TRULY FRENCH - THE MENS EXCEPTIONAL. TOUR OF SMALL WINERY WAS A TREAT NEVER TO BE FORGOTTEN.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

learnt to appreciate the quality of French champagne. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a great way to spend a day! Small group and fantastic guide, thank you Riccardo! We went to a champagne vineyard that was family owned and after lunch a major manufacturer, both were educational and fun. The lunch was fantastic! We really enjoyed the stop at Reims Cathedral as well.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and his driving was excellent. We loves this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Moet is closed due to renovation, only informed after booking the tour. Other than that, love the small tour group and our driver cum guide is very professional.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful day!!!!!! Fun, smooth, educational, delicious!!!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed our Champagne Tour, though thought the cost was a little high for only visiting two winery's. As Moet Chandon Winery was closed for reno's, we visited Mercier instead, and I must say that this was an excellent champagne house to visited, the tour was excellently presented. Our main aim of this tour was to visit the House of Mumm, but I'm thinking I like the Mercier House better. Anyway, a reasonable tour overall.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was awesome and helpful. The tour was okay but the lunch of the day was terrible. Hoping there is improvement on arranging a better restaurant with better food. The only down part was we were not being informed earlier about the cancellation of Moet and Chandon site visit due to the renovation. Ended up, we visited The Mumm instead. Overall, it was a pleasant tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our overall impression of this tour was that it was a really lovely day. Our guide was very good and the Champagne Region was beautiful. Our time at P. M. Roger was so memorable. Pol was a wonderful host and shared so much of his knowledge, experience and joy with us. The tour at Mumm was informative, good and interesting and a totally different experience since they are a mass producer. Lunch was also delicious and enjoyable. That said, if you are used to doing wine tours in the States, this is very different. Our day was much more about education on the process of making champagne than actually tasting it. We tried only two champagnes one P.M. Roger and one at Mumm. For us, this was very disappointing for a full-day tour to a wine-making region we likely won't be back to anytime soon.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Another wonderful day in France. Picked up from my accommodation to go on a small group tour through the Champagne region. Great guide and informative tours of Champagne houses. Can now understand why champagne costs so much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Moet and Chandon visit was skipped due to construction works of facilities. The reasn why we3pax chose this tour was Moet and Chandon tour compared to other tour items. Quite disappointing.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Driver was nice, the trip was good, but it's way too over priced. We had a wine tour in Italy, which is much cheaper and much more fun. We expected to have light lunch at the vineyard but actually it is just a restaurant with nothing to do with Champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and fun, the lunch was excellent and so was the champagne. It was very interesting learning about how champagne is made, and just driving around the little villages in the region was beautiful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message