Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 338 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was interesting to be able to visit both small and large champagne producers. Also the fact that this tour enables you to visit the cathedral in Reims is a big difference with other similar tours.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide David was fantastic! His English was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about the region and the topic. The first stop, Reims, was such a hidden gem. The cathedral was lovely and there were hardly any tourists so it was like we had the place to ourselves! We had a little time to check out the village which was beautiful and quaint. The family owned Champagne house that we visited was informative and charming. The visit to Moet and Chandon was amazing as well. We will definitely pass this excursion on to our friends that will be visiting the area. It was the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was excellent vine yards were amazing and extensive, lunch in the small restaurant was excellent champagne facilities awesome champagne tasting not so good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide Philip was fantastic I do believe though that visiting Moet and Mumm was pretty much the same experience But if you truly love your bubbles then do it!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour guide
Enjoyed the experience

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent! the trip was well organized, everything worked as planned, very attentive guide. The Champagne region is amazing, and the experience in the producers facilities was very special. The Cathedral in Rheims worth the visit, but could be better if it was a guided tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide (Fredrick) was Fantastic; one of the highlights of our Paris Vacation. Would do it again!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour of the Champagne region , Riems and Epernay was fantastic. Our guide was a little bit of a lead foot which my family did not like. The small Champagne house of Dauby was brillant and the wine maker was very welcoming. The big dissapointment of the tour was the lunch. The main meal of Coq au Vin was terrible, I am a chef of 30 years and believe me it was almost inedible. The house of Moet and Chandon was great and apart from the lunch it was a great day out.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

It was ok. We spent more time in the van than actually tasting. Our guide, while lovely, didn't really speak English very well so that was a challenge. This tour was not worth the price.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour- highly recommend! We got a very in depth explanation of how champagne is made- saw so many vineyards and everyone was so knowledgeable and friendly!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

A good trip that takes up the entire day (or a bit more) depending on Paris traffic. Designed for those who know next to nothing about champagne: how it is made from vineyard to final bottling, the AOC laws determining grape varietal allowed, how to grow them, what the traditional method entails. At the end, you will know all of this. You do get to go to little independent grower/producers, sample and buy their wares, then Moet et Chandon - a lot of pushing the product there. Included lunch was very good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Was a great tour of a amaizing part of Europe. Thanks for a enjoyable day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

To long a drive and to far between houses, however driver was good!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

For the amount of money that was paid for the trip it was not worth it. The only good thing about the driver was that he showed up on time and the people in the van were friendly. His English was hard to understand and his voice was muffled as he spoke. Therefore, nothing could be understood. He did not go into the castle with us and guide us as to what we should be looking at. Many of us walked around lost wandering what we should be focusing on. The first Champagne stop was good, however it would have been better if we had been provided additional tastes of the other champagnes that were made. Lunch was ok. The Moet and Chandon tour was fabulous, but again, we were only given 1 drink. For the 300+ dollars that were paid out, one would have expected more that 2 glasses of champagne total. Maybe next time a 12ounce souvenir bottle of champagne could be given to those that schedule a tour. It would certainly make up for the poor job that the guide provided us.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip, great day, Guide was lovely.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message