Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 425 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip from Paris. Our tour guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. The drive through the French countryside was serene and enjoyable. The Cathedral was majestic and humbling. The tour through Moet and Chandon cellars was fun and informative. We now have a greater appreciation for how champagne is made. The lunch is authentic French cuisine. It was amazing! We complimented our lovely hostess but she acted as if it was nothing, just another day. The actual tour of the vineyards was fascinating especially to an avid gardener. The tour of the Champagne G. Brunot cellar was intimate with fascinating details of a vintner's life and delicious champagne samplings. A hint to anyone purchasing these delicious champagnes: Do not store it in your carry on luggage! The authorities will confiscate it because it was not purchased at the airport shops. This is a tragic waste of excellent champagne...

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Kathryn P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The champagne cellar tours were great and lunch was fantastic. Our tour guide/driver was a little rude and rushed us at the end of the tour when we were trying to buy champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

mafalciani

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our group enjoyed our trip to the Champagne Region. The tour of the Moet and Chandon cellars was
very interesting and the tasting was nice. I had visited the cellars many years ago and I was looking
forward to buying some gifts in the shop. I was surprised to find how mondern everything is now.
We stopped at another small Champagne house called Champagne Ergot et Filles. So nice to meet
the young couple who has started this small house. They are very interested in reducing the sugar in the champagne which is important for people with health issues. They were lovely. Just wished I could have taken some bottle home to the US.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Linda C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

No complaints-- wonderful tour, beautiful scenery, great champagne and Fred was an excellent guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Sharmila G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our tour guide, Jean Marc, was wonderful. He shared information about the region along the way. The two tours of the Champagne houses were informative, though I wish we had been provided the option to upgrade to taste more than one type of Champagne, as some of the other tours had been offered. It was a long trek out to the region and I wish we could have sampled more than one glass at each two total. Also, rather than two very similar tours of champagne cellars/caves, I would have preferred one that discussed the proper way to taste.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Diane M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Was hard to understand the guide at times. But overall informative. Similar information was repeated at both cellars. Would have rather skipped the stop at Reims and done another tasting at a smaller producer.
The tour isn and #39;t small groups. When you get to Moet you are joined into a bigger group.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Marko S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This was a nice trip but unfortunately I don't think there was enough value for the money paid. Guide was great!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Kimberley S Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Destination was ok...... Both Champagne houses were lovely and informative
Our guide pascal was weird.
He started off ok but buy the den of the day he was angry and behaving weird.
We ended up getting out of the van and catching the metro the rest of the way home and he was becoming aggressive and complaining about how long it was going to take him to get home due to the Siene flooding, the he traffic and the road closures.
Luckily we had met some beautiful people on our tour and that made the day worth it.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Christie G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Would have liked to have had a guided tour of the church. There was not an audio tour available, so we were left to read the screens in the church to any insights or history about the church. I felt we saw the church, but perhaps missed out on some of its importance. Enjoyed the tour of Moet Chandon Champagne cellars and the smaller Egrot and Filles. Learned much about the champagne making process that I had not known before.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Karah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day with a very pleasant, well-informed driver. A highlight for me was seeing small villag s on the trip back to Paris, as our driver took back roads before returning to the autoroute.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Lennix Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Driver/Guide all in one. Jean-Marc was lovely and did a great job getting us out and back into Paris. The tour itself was great, just be aware this is not a Champagne tasting tour, it's a Tour of the Champagne Region and two famous Champagne houses, Moët and Chandon, and House of Mumm. Both tours were amazing and you did get 1 glass of Champagne at the end of each tour. We als stopped at Hautvillers to see the chapel that Dom Perignon is buried in and also stopped at Reims for lunch and free time. We visited the Reims Cathedral which was mind blowing.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Wayne L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Unfortunately, this was a non-event. Although I had confirmed my booking as required on 13 December 2015 with ParisCityVision, who were organising the Champagne region day tour scheduled for 16 December 2015, they decided to cancel at the very last minute. I was disappointed that they never bothered to advise me that the tour would not proceed when I confirmed my booking on Sunday, 13 December. Sometimes tour operators can be inconsiderate of their customer's needs.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Lloyd P

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

A little disappointed that we didn't get to go into the cathedral in Reims. Felt rushed to get to the champagne areas. Guide was good.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Raymond K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip...Informative, knowledgeable and friendly guide....Fabulous insights to Champaign and the region

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Karen Anona M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Would recommend. This is a great tour as advertised. Moët and Chandon open but our company not notified so we too did Mercier..but definitely not disappointed. Loved Mercier, just disappointed not available in Australia.
Service was prompt, pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Bonnie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were picked up on time at our hotel by a lovely guide who had lots of knowledge and history. She educated us on France and the wine region on our way to two different champagne houses. Each was interesting in their own ways and gave us a good idea of how small champagne houses differ from the large champagne houses. The lunch was fantastic and overall we had a great day on this tour. It was so enjoyable having someone else do the planning allowing us to sit back, relax and enjoy our day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

MARGIE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our day started with our delightful driver Fred. What a lovely gentleman. This tour is fantastic, being only a small group of 8 people. The scenery was fantastic, our trip to a small champagne producer was the highlight of our tour and the champagne was delicious. We then went to lunch and tasted some superb french cuisine at a restaurant in Reims, all included in the price of our tour. Our tour of the G H Mumm Champagne house was brilliant. A tour not to be missed. Wonderful -- A

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

nyredagriffin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great day - Herbert was terrific! He is engaging, well versed in everything Champagne and a wonderful host! Thank you Herbert!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

pkwinnj

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The private producer stop on the tour was fantastic, as was lunch. I would have liked longer at the cathedral to learn more about it. The trip to Mumm was nice, but a little on the commercial side. Overall, a great tour, though I was disappointed that our guide was 30 minutes late and I didn't receive s phone call.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

dheaberlin United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Tour could have been better. Guide was OK but not great. It would be been much better if he would have stopped to allow photos at more places. Both the winery tours were very good. Long day....

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Theresa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide was very knowledgable and friendly. My friends and I had a great time.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Nancy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Magnus was very helpful and knowledgable about the region. We visited two champagne houses but liked the Dauby one the best. If you have a day don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Charles F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Only visited two wineries, Mercier and Mumm. The Mercier tour was outstanding and very well done. On the other hand the Mumm tour was amateurish and fraught with technical glitches. The best part of the tour was the visit to the Cathedral at Reims.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Julie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day out and you learn to appreciate why good champagne is so expensive. Lunch was also very enjoyable and tour guide was very entertaining. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message