Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 345 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were lucky enough to get a private vehicle for this tour, so it meant that we had Rupert our guide all to ourselves. The champagne houses are amazing and Riems is beautiful. We would never have learnt as much or seen as much if we had done this tour ourselves. Cannot recommend enough.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was our last day of 5 days in Paris...a great way to end our visit with a tour of the champagne district. The van was comfortable with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. We saw both smaller family owned and larger corporate wineries. Both tours were informative and welcoming. Other stops and lunch made the tour exceptional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Champagne Region and Rheims as well.
Loved our guide and we had a great social day with a pleasant lunch.
Moêt and Chandon was a treat but we enjoyed our tasting at a small family owned vineyard just as much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was exactly as described. A great opportunity to see the Epernay region and experience a small local winery as well as Moet et Chandon. The champagne in the small winery was better than Moet and nothing like the price. Worth doing both. Lunch was in a nice restaurant in walking distance from the Moet winery. The guide was polite and professional and the small group was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

I took this tour in January and it was great, so I came back with family expecting the same experience. However, our "guide" picked us up 20 minutes late then drive like a madman the rest of the day! He did not give us any history of the region, explain about the stain glass in Reims, discus how Champagne was originally discovered, etc.
We tasted at 2 houses, each offering only 1 taste, last time we had 3-4 at each location! Lunch was mediocre, with out choices and 2 small glasses of wine, last time we chose our meal and multiple bottles were left on the table!
For the price we paid I would expect the best tasting choices, as well as consistency on the tour. VERY DISSAPPOINTED!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was wonderful and our guide, Frederick, was fantastic. It was just the right length of time for a day tour and the places selected for our visits and tours were all great. Frederick was knowledgeable and a lot of fun. I learned a lot, met some wonderful people and had some delicious champagne! I would highly recommend this tour and Frederick, in particular.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day out with a great lunch. Anyone who would like to get a little more from Paris who enjoys scenic views and the chance to learn about Champagne should book this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very nice drive and a good guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was interesting to be able to visit both small and large champagne producers. Also the fact that this tour enables you to visit the cathedral in Reims is a big difference with other similar tours.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide David was fantastic! His English was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about the region and the topic. The first stop, Reims, was such a hidden gem. The cathedral was lovely and there were hardly any tourists so it was like we had the place to ourselves! We had a little time to check out the village which was beautiful and quaint. The family owned Champagne house that we visited was informative and charming. The visit to Moet and Chandon was amazing as well. We will definitely pass this excursion on to our friends that will be visiting the area. It was the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was excellent vine yards were amazing and extensive, lunch in the small restaurant was excellent champagne facilities awesome champagne tasting not so good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide Philip was fantastic I do believe though that visiting Moet and Mumm was pretty much the same experience But if you truly love your bubbles then do it!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour guide
Enjoyed the experience

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent! the trip was well organized, everything worked as planned, very attentive guide. The Champagne region is amazing, and the experience in the producers facilities was very special. The Cathedral in Rheims worth the visit, but could be better if it was a guided tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide (Fredrick) was Fantastic; one of the highlights of our Paris Vacation. Would do it again!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message