Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Where Dijon is a center for Burgundy's red wine production (and that of mustard), Epernay is the main entrepot for the wines of the Champagne region. Visitors from all over the world come to this small town to buy champagne and see how it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 351 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely loved it! Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were lucky enough to get a private vehicle for this tour, so it meant that we had Rupert our guide all to ourselves. The champagne houses are amazing and Riems is beautiful. We would never have learnt as much or seen as much if we had done this tour ourselves. Cannot recommend enough.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was our last day of 5 days in Paris...a great way to end our visit with a tour of the champagne district. The van was comfortable with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. We saw both smaller family owned and larger corporate wineries. Both tours were informative and welcoming. Other stops and lunch made the tour exceptional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Champagne Region and Rheims as well.
Loved our guide and we had a great social day with a pleasant lunch.
Moêt and Chandon was a treat but we enjoyed our tasting at a small family owned vineyard just as much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was exactly as described. A great opportunity to see the Epernay region and experience a small local winery as well as Moet et Chandon. The champagne in the small winery was better than Moet and nothing like the price. Worth doing both. Lunch was in a nice restaurant in walking distance from the Moet winery. The guide was polite and professional and the small group was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was picked up, as planned, by a charming young man who in all ways made our trip comfortable and interesting.
The day was delightful; as much as I love Paris, I thoroughly enjoyed this outing to Champagne.
The lunch was beyond my expectations. Wonderful food and wine. Our visits to the caves were informative and the hosts were gracious.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very pleasant trip! I enjoyed both tastings (at the family-owned business and at Moët et Chandon) and learned a lot about the champagne making process. The guide and the group were great and we also had a lovely lunch with good food and good wine.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Your overall was very enjoyable. However we felt the tastings were below average. To go through the whole tour and try one small flute of one kind was disappointing.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

To be honest our day could have been better... firstly our driver/ guide wasn't that engaging and seemed to spend a lot of time with his hands off the wheel looking up stuff on his iphone- all the while driving at 120kph in fog! Secondly our first destination was not Moet et Chandon as described in the tour details, and we were taken to Le Mercier. When I inquired about the change the guide knew nothing about the tour itinerary we booked. I think he could tell i was peeved as he later came and told me the Moet cellars were closed for 12 months of renovations - i was disappointed and annoyed we had not been advised of this change prior. On the plus side Le Mercier was very pleasant and the hosts provided an enlightening commentary. Our vist to Mumm was saved by the host in the tasting room who had a fabulous personality and brightened the day.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

I took this tour in January and it was great, so I came back with family expecting the same experience. However, our "guide" picked us up 20 minutes late then drive like a madman the rest of the day! He did not give us any history of the region, explain about the stain glass in Reims, discus how Champagne was originally discovered, etc.
We tasted at 2 houses, each offering only 1 taste, last time we had 3-4 at each location! Lunch was mediocre, with out choices and 2 small glasses of wine, last time we chose our meal and multiple bottles were left on the table!
For the price we paid I would expect the best tasting choices, as well as consistency on the tour. VERY DISSAPPOINTED!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was wonderful and our guide, Frederick, was fantastic. It was just the right length of time for a day tour and the places selected for our visits and tours were all great. Frederick was knowledgeable and a lot of fun. I learned a lot, met some wonderful people and had some delicious champagne! I would highly recommend this tour and Frederick, in particular.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day out with a great lunch. Anyone who would like to get a little more from Paris who enjoys scenic views and the chance to learn about Champagne should book this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very nice drive and a good guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was interesting to be able to visit both small and large champagne producers. Also the fact that this tour enables you to visit the cathedral in Reims is a big difference with other similar tours.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message