Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

In 1827, three German brothers brought their experience of producing and merchandising wine to the Champagne region. Jacobus, Gottlieb and Phillip Mumm founded the House of Mumm, and set about producing some of the most well-regarded and celebrated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1063 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were lucky enough to get a private vehicle for this tour, so it meant that we had Rupert our guide all to ourselves. The champagne houses are amazing and Riems is beautiful. We would never have learnt as much or seen as much if we had done this tour ourselves. Cannot recommend enough.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Yes. This was an excellent tour and we highly recommend it. It was interesting, informative and fun. The Champagne was lovely to taste too!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was our last day of 5 days in Paris...a great way to end our visit with a tour of the champagne district. The van was comfortable with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. We saw both smaller family owned and larger corporate wineries. Both tours were informative and welcoming. Other stops and lunch made the tour exceptional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful day touring Reims and two champagne wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Champagne Region and Rheims as well.
Loved our guide and we had a great social day with a pleasant lunch.
Moêt and Chandon was a treat but we enjoyed our tasting at a small family owned vineyard just as much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good value for money
I learnt so much about the history and the method of making champagne . I now understand why French champagne is more expensive than other sparkling and wine

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was exactly as described. A great opportunity to see the Epernay region and experience a small local winery as well as Moet et Chandon. The champagne in the small winery was better than Moet and nothing like the price. Worth doing both. Lunch was in a nice restaurant in walking distance from the Moet winery. The guide was polite and professional and the small group was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

a very enjoyable day. Strongly recommended

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was picked up, as planned, by a charming young man who in all ways made our trip comfortable and interesting.
The day was delightful; as much as I love Paris, I thoroughly enjoyed this outing to Champagne.
The lunch was beyond my expectations. Wonderful food and wine. Our visits to the caves were informative and the hosts were gracious.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very pleasant trip! I enjoyed both tastings (at the family-owned business and at Moët et Chandon) and learned a lot about the champagne making process. The guide and the group were great and we also had a lovely lunch with good food and good wine.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I had a good time on the wine tour. The ride to and from the champagne region wasn't as informative as I had hoped, but we did get some great tours at Mumm and Moet and Chandon. I liked this tour because you were on your own for lunch, so it gave us a chance to explore Reims. Suggestion for the bus - play music! I would recommend this tour to others...

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour
Would have liked at least 2 tastes at end of tour

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed the tour of both champagne/wineries.....for the money spent on this trip, I would have preferred more than one champagne tasting.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a wonderful and relaxing day! The tour leaves from an easily-accessed meeting point on a very comfortable tour bus to our first destination (which was not Moet Chandon as described in the tour overview). Being that Moet is closed for renovation, we went to Tattinger, and I was delighted to hear of the change. The guides provided history on the bus as we drove through the beautiful countryside. The Tattinger tour itself was fantastic, the onsite guide that gives the tour is wonderful, such an experience. The tasting was excellent as well. Following the tour of the caves, the guide offers an optional tour of the cathedral in Reims, which I recommend. I had a lovely lunch in a café across the street from the cathedral. From there, we headed to another champagne house, Mercier, in the town of Epernay. Not as good, much more commercial, but the ride through the countryside was wonderful. We ended up back in Paris a bit earlier than I had expected, gave me a chance to find more to do that night!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The Tattinger tour was excellent! The Mercier tour was negligible, especially being such a contrast to the Taittinger house in the morning. We would recommend replacing the Mercier champagne house with another--despite the fact that the Moet de Chandon was under renovation and the original intent. We could have done without the Mercier house--seemed like an amusement park/cattle run...."next"?!?

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message