Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

In 1827, three German brothers brought their experience of producing and merchandising wine to the Champagne region. Jacobus, Gottlieb and Phillip Mumm founded the House of Mumm, and set about producing some of the most well-regarded and celebrated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1079 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip, we made new friends and now appreciate why champagne is so expensive.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Paris. Stan was our driver and very good. We met nice couples in the small minivan who we would not have met on a larger trip. The small family vineyard was so much better than the larger commercial one. Recommend it highly.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved this tour. Guide was great and extremely knowledgable

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very interesting tour!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

It didn't start so well at first when we heard the news that the Moët and Chandon champagne house was closed!!! And not just closed for a short time, it's closed for a whole year!!!! I'll have to say we were a bit disappointed that we werent going to the Moët and Chandon house but instead we went to Mericer. Omg it was amazing. An amazing champagne to taste and the tour guide thru the cellars was very entertaining and different. We really enjoyed Mericer. We also stopped at G.H Mumm which was just as great. The tour in whole was fantastic. Our two tour guides really made sure everyone had a great day. My biggest tip is to take a packed lunch and buy a bottle of champagne to have in the small gardens around the church.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

A wonderful way to experience the Champagne Region. Guides extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Although Moet was closed for renovations, thoroughly enjoyed the 2 cellars we visited GHMumm and Mercier were fantastic - and quite different tours so it wasn't a repeat. Reims Cathedral was beautiful and although it wasn't compulsory to do this part of the tour, it was well worth while.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Everything they said it would be. Went to Mercier House instead of Moet and Chandon, but that actually proved to be the better of the two tours. Overall, a great experience. Wish there was more champagne to taste though.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour was quite good in all respects. Only disappointment was Moet was closed for renovations, and we did not know until we arrived for the tour. The alternate winery offered an excellent tour to make up for it!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Nick W
New Zealand

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

After going to a few other houses this tour was ok... It's more of a museum so for that aspect I suppose it's good. Staff were semi helpful. Some of the other lesser known houses were far better.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely loved it! Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour opens my view about Champagne totally. You will learn a lot from the tour. Our tour was changed to the Mercier and it was such an amazing place to visit. If you love champagne, do sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The ability to book online, use a phone app to secure our tickets and the overall booking process was very easy. The guides on the bus were both very cordial and informative! The switch from Moet Chandon to Mercier, was a huge disappointment (only booked the tour 3 days earlier, so we should have been told at booking), but the Mercier tour ended up being much-much better than the Mumm's. Mumm's need not live up to the "arrogant French" behaviour's the rest of the world has become accustomed to experiencing. The Champagne region was a "bucket list" trip for me...All I could have hoped for was more than 1 glass of Champagne at the wine tasting's!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message