Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

In 1827, three German brothers brought their experience of producing and merchandising wine to the Champagne region. Jacobus, Gottlieb and Phillip Mumm founded the House of Mumm, and set about producing some of the most well-regarded and celebrated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1091 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Make sure you confirm with Mumm direct dont simply rely on the fact that youve made the booking!

The tour guide was informative witty and the tour itself fascinating. We would go again just to see the caves!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I loved this tour!! Driver was fantastic and very knowledgeable and the champagne absolutely delicious, and the restaurant amazing! Thanks very very much!!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Learned a lot from this tour, it was fun, entertaining, and awesome.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Collected on time by our driver Fred. Not a long drive to Reim where we were dropped off to have a look at the Reim Notre Dame. Plenty of time to have a look and wander to get a coffee near by. Then off to a small producer of Champagne to see how they make and a lovely taste. Stopped at a vineyard area and a local spoke about the harvest . Went to a local restraunt for the beautiful 3 course lunch with plenty of wine. In the afternoon went to a larger producer and was taken on a small train trip around the cellers. Then another lovely tasting. Off home having a wonderful day away from the city of Paris

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fred was a knowledgeable and personable guide. We really enjoyed this tour and the contrast between visiting a small champagne producer and a larger one. Lunch at Le Cloche in Epernay was relaxed and very enjoyable. My only suggestion would be less time in Reims and at the Cathedral and more time elsewhere.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A very interesting tour. We were keen to see the Moet and Chandon cellars which were closed for the season and the organizers were aware of this at time of booking which to our mind was misleading. The substitute cellar was very interesting though.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was excellent - thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Very informative, interesting and enjoyable!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a lovely tour. The bus was comfortable, the hosts friendly, and the stops delightful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The drive through the countryside, past green rolling hills, vineyards and old villages was lovely. The two champagne tours were interesting. As it is winter the Moët and Chandon winery was closed so we visited another instead. My only complaint was the tour guide, an older gentleman who was extremely difficult to understand. Much of his commentary was mumbled and mispronounced and without listening very carefully I couldnt understand what he was saying. As a speech pathologist I am used to listening to people who have speech difficulties, and even I had difficulty. A combination of not knowing English well enough, so putting emphasis on wrong syllables, and difficulty producing certain sounds, along with his accent, and lack of intonation, made for a difficult listening experience. The champagne however was lovely and I enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Not worth it. And tour guide was bad. He didnt speak Engish clearly at all. Wish he would explain more .

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Lovely tour of the Champagne region. It was great to tour a famous cellar and then a smaller family owned cellar. Enjoyed learning about champagne making as well as the tastings. Reims tour was OK- cathedral was very nice but most everything was closed around it. Great day overall...

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Lovely tour, for the price I would've liked to try more of the champagne at the different wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip, we made new friends and now appreciate why champagne is so expensive.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message