Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

In 1827, three German brothers brought their experience of producing and merchandising wine to the Champagne region. Jacobus, Gottlieb and Phillip Mumm founded the House of Mumm, and set about producing some of the most well-regarded and celebrated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Flint54
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Epernay was beautiful. This is where Dom Perigon invented champagne. Then travel thru vineyards to nearby towns to sample the good stuff. Moet and Chandon were closed for remodeling but the other winery we went to was great. You take an elevator down into the tunnels of fermenting wine. Then you board a small train and a guide gives you the history of Mercier Winery. See the super large barrel of champagne that traveled by oxen to the worlds fair.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From pick-up to drop- off, the trip was awesome, starting with the picturesque views of sprawling hillsides of beauty and then tasting a small champagne entrepreneur and then experiencing Mumms and it's caves of history of fantastic tour. In between a great lunch, walking through Reims cathedral

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour Guide Great Trip

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Laura was fantastic. A great trip all in all

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time! The guide was thoughtful and knowledgeable. The first place we stopped at was small and delightful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend and I truly enjoyed everything about the day trip to Reims! The guides were courteous, friendly and fluent in all languages required. The bus was very prompt and clean and comfortable. The tours of the champagne wineries were well chosen and very interesting. We can't wait to try Mumm and Mercier champagne at home - it may be our new favorite drink!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a fantastic day with 2 other couples. Our guide was terrific! A must do tour...especially if you love Champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour enjoyed all of it particularly the train ride through Mercier cellars

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide and comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! Highly recommneded

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as described on the Viator website!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour. Wonderful Guides. Great explanations. Beautiful clean bus and the two Champaigneries we went to were delightful. A great Day Trip from Paris which I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great, only dissappointment is we did not go to chandon as we thought we were, we went to Mumms instead. We were looking forward to chandon.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Saw some magnificent scenery, thoroughly enjoyed the tours at Mumm and Mercier - nice relaxing day! Would have liked to have a couple of photo stops - especially along the river valley!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

4.5 star. Great guide. Very informative. The champagne we tasted was good but i would have preferred the higher quality wine. Overall this is a worthwhile tasting and tour

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

PPPLLL
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wish we could spend some time in a vineyard and one more cellar.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very good and informative.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a most interesting and informative tour. Pleased it was done in a mini bus, as it limits the numbers. Our guide was most entertaining, and a wealth of knowledge. We were disappointed that the tour didn't include the visit to the Moet and Chandon cellars, as that was the main reason we booked. However, the tour of the Mumms cellars was amazing, and showed just how much goes into the production of this magic drink It was also interesting to visit the smaller cellars, and then compare with the larger one. We thoroughly enjoyed our day, and would recommend it to others interested in the production of champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had a great time on this tour. We were in a group of 7. We had Manuel as our tour guide, and we loved him! He is very funny and self-depricating. He had a lot of good input on local producers versus the big names in the industry. He also took every opportunity to make sure we saw as much as possible - if there was a minute to spare, he would take us up a side street and point out a few more producers to us. As far as the tours go, we loved driving around the countryside looking at the vines and the small villages where the local producers live I really wish we could have stopped for a few minutes to walk around and take pictures, because the villages were really cute. The lunch was wonderful, and it is affordable to buy an additional glass of wine 4 of us did. The tour of a large producer was also interesting. I definitely recommend a tour where you can see both a small producer and a large producer, to compare and contrast. Unfortunately, we could only take one glass of champagne on each tour, which I felt was a letdown. I would have loved to be able to compare and contrast a few varietals. For the cost of the tour, I do feel this is something that should be looked into.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Champagne Region Day Trip From Paris By Minivan my wife and I recently booked on Viator code RCMEN for this trip. There were three couples on our tour, two of which could speak English and the third with only very limited comprehension so the tour guide had to translate.
The driver / guide picked us up at our hotel and greeted us respectfully and also passed the comment that he was not a fast driver for which we took him at his word but not for long.
The tour was very informative, the sites spectacular and the wine fantastic. In short, we highly recommend this tour, however a few cautions:-
1        Our driver had no concept of passenger safety. Not only did he exceed the speed limits constantly, he tailgated other vehicles at high speeds and his driver concentration was impaired by his constant checking his navigation and sound systems.
2        Ensure that you are in a group that understands one language. Commentary is great when it is important information however having to hear a second translation meant that there were prolonged periods of constant talking by the guide.
3        We found the small wine producer we visited Pierre Roger more personal and informative than the Mumm cellars. Take more time at the smaller producer therefore as the bigger winery is too commercial and crowded.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

maywindfelder
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour. Enjoyed it a lot. My one comment is that there are apparently different levels of tasting, depending on your ticket. Viator sells the Cordon Rouge lowest level so if you want a bit more out of the tasting, you might want to ask at the front desk to see if an upgrade is possible. Initially I was offered the 3 pm English tour, but when I asked for an earlier time, they accommodated me with the 11 am tour. At that time, many workers were on lunch break so we didn't get to see them at work. The tour of the cellars was fascinating but the displays were not necessarily self-explanatory. I recommend coming with some good questions about the making of champagne.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The staff was very friendly and spoke English fluently. The tour took us thru the Mumm cellars and the guide was able to speak about how the champagne from the 1860's survived both world wars. Fascinating stuff.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

overall Champagne tour and tasting was 3hrs Max, the rest of the 9hr day was traveling or wandering around. The english speaking tour guide spoke so monotone and his english was very poor, could hardly understand him.
worth doing just to see the champagne region

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message