Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jackson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. Was a very interesting tour into the cellars and the process of making champagne. The guide Bastion did a great job at explaining the history and traditions of the label. And, of course, the champagne at the end was fantastic

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We left on time in a clean and comfortable coach. Our tour guide was amazing and knowledgeable. The scenery on the way to the Champagne Region was breath taking. I really enjoyed the tour of the two Champagne makers and we had plenty of time to tour around Reims and have lunch. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Evelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 2 wineries were great visits. Appreciated the opportunity to visit the cathedral in Reims with time for shopping and eating.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Susan W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I had a great day in the Champagne Region. We would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Pamela G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed visiting the cellars at Mumm and Mercier. But don't expect more than one glass of champagne each. :

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Christie G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Would have liked to have had a guided tour of the church. There was not an audio tour available, so we were left to read the screens in the church to any insights or history about the church. I felt we saw the church, but perhaps missed out on some of its importance. Enjoyed the tour of Moet Chandon Champagne cellars and the smaller Egrot and Filles. Learned much about the champagne making process that I had not known before.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this tour despite the rainy cold weather most of the day. The visits to the cellars were educational and fun. It was really nice to learn about the region and taste the different champagnes. The history of the notre dame de Riems was really interesting. We also loved the view of the countryside. So picturesque! Our guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and kept everything on track and smooth. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Karah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day with a very pleasant, well-informed driver. A highlight for me was seeing small villag s on the trip back to Paris, as our driver took back roads before returning to the autoroute.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very easy day trip, leaving from the very heart of Paris. The two Champagne houses Mumm and Mercier have great tours for the group. Mumm takes you through the process and history of Champagne, and Mercier has an entertaining tram ride through their actual cellars. Plus, you get free Champagne at both places! Lunch is on your own in Reims, which gives yo a chance to visit the big cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Esme A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An enjoyable day trip to two champagne cellars about two hours outside of Paris. The guide was knowledgable and informative and we had ample time to explore the area and have a lovely lunch before rejoining the group.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Rebecca B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We loved the Mumm cellar which was the first stop on this trip. Catherine at Mumm gave us an amazing tour where we learned all about the process of making Champagne. The tour itself was private to our group so it had a very personal feel. The stop in Reims was also great...the cathedral was beautiful. The Mercier cellars were nice tour but it was with a much larger group so it didn't have the personal feel that the Mumm tour had. In fact there were a lot of children on that tour which I guess is because there is a train that takes you through the cellars. by the way, the cellars are COLD. Bring a coat!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Lennix Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Driver/Guide all in one. Jean-Marc was lovely and did a great job getting us out and back into Paris. The tour itself was great, just be aware this is not a Champagne tasting tour, it's a Tour of the Champagne Region and two famous Champagne houses, Moët and Chandon, and House of Mumm. Both tours were amazing and you did get 1 glass of Champagne at the end of each tour. We als stopped at Hautvillers to see the chapel that Dom Perignon is buried in and also stopped at Reims for lunch and free time. We visited the Reims Cathedral which was mind blowing.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Jay

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Its a little pricey but all we could find, you are better off renting a car if you can find the way yourself, it would probably be cheaper, but we booked the bus for convience of not having to drive and map it out. Its a long bus ride. 2 hours each way. Went to 2 wineries with the standard tour they offer at eachnot the tour company, with 1 glass of wine tasting after each. Free time for lunch at a city in between each winery.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Wayne L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Unfortunately, this was a non-event. Although I had confirmed my booking as required on 13 December 2015 with ParisCityVision, who were organising the Champagne region day tour scheduled for 16 December 2015, they decided to cancel at the very last minute. I was disappointed that they never bothered to advise me that the tour would not proceed when I confirmed my booking on Sunday, 13 December. Sometimes tour operators can be inconsiderate of their customer's needs.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Norma P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I found that having the guide speak in 2 languages wasn't the best experience. I'm sure it was extremely accommodating for the one person who needed that, but for the rest of us, I found it very annoying. Other than that, the experience was great! Learned a lot about how champagne is produced. Stunning cathedral in Reims.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Todd S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Overall we enjoyed this tour. Our only real complaint, and it doesn't have anything to do with the booking company, is that we only got to try one kind of champagne at both Champagne Houses, and they were both their lowest quality champagne. We didn't end up buying any bottles from either place because we really had no idea what their champagne tasted like! You go on wine tours and you get to try several varieties and vintages. This tour you get to try one glass of their lowest quality product. Seems like a weird way to do business, and we were put off by that.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Lloyd P

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

A little disappointed that we didn't get to go into the cathedral in Reims. Felt rushed to get to the champagne areas. Guide was good.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Raymond K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip...Informative, knowledgeable and friendly guide....Fabulous insights to Champaign and the region

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

carole p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day trip to Reims was very well organised and enjoyable. We visited two champagne houses, Mumm and Mercier and saw the famous Reims Cathedral where we also had time for a lunch. It was an easy way to visit a town outside of Paris and good value for money. I will definitely be doing more trips with Viator in the future.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great tour even though we had to attend the French version.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Bruce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable tour to the Champagne Region

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Karen Anona M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Would recommend. This is a great tour as advertised. Moët and Chandon open but our company not notified so we too did Mercier..but definitely not disappointed. Loved Mercier, just disappointed not available in Australia.
Service was prompt, pleasant and informative.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Lei W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a nice trip to the Champagne region to visit a couple of champagne houses and also Reims. It was a beautiful day to be in the province. I've learned a lot about champagne history. The country side was simply beautiful. I only wish our lady tour guide a bit nicer. She seemed only view it as a job just have to do it.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

ryder.jw

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour itself was very good. It was enjoyable and informative and tastings at the champagne cellars were of course fun. The idea of the trip is 5 stars without question. However, and this is nothing against our guides, who were friendly and helpful, but this ended up being a multilingual tour. We had signed up for an English speaking tour and ended up with an English/Chinese/French/Portuguese tour. This was actually quite annoying, as half the time on the bus there would be a guide speaking in a language that we couldn't understand. I understand that people from all over take these tours, but we had specifically signed up for a tour that was marketed as in English. It was frustrating at times but all in all this was a nice day outside of the big city of Paris and it was nice seeing the countryside a bit.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Colette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful coach bus ride with great tour guides. This is a MUST see if you're in Paris!
Similar to doing winery tours, but so much more given that champagne is specific to just this region of the world and no where else!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message