Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sheree.williamson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very enjoyable experience with knowledgeable guides. Was delighted in the choice of Champagne Houses, Mercier and Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We started the trip with a visit to G.H. Mumm cellars. Learned how this renowned winemaking house has been producing Champagne using traditional methods for almost 200 years and tasted Mumms classic Cordon Rouge. Interesting tour a very enjoyable experience. Then we traveled to Reims to see the famous Notre Dame cathedral and have a delicious lunch at an outdoor cafe. We continued on to the picturesque town of Epernay, visited the historic cellars of Mercier, which has been producing Champagne since 1858, which once again had a very rich history in champagne production and history. Toured the extensive, atmospheric caves and enjoy another tasting above ground. This is a must do if you are visiting Paris, just an absolutely incredible day from start to finish.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

gary k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. I enjoyed the Cave tours and the information alone the trip was great. If you like Chanpagne and you have the time this is a must do.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day trip from Paris. Our tour guide was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. The drive through the French countryside was serene and enjoyable. The Cathedral was majestic and humbling. The tour through Moet and Chandon cellars was fun and informative. We now have a greater appreciation for how champagne is made. The lunch is authentic French cuisine. It was amazing! We complimented our lovely hostess but she acted as if it was nothing, just another day. The actual tour of the vineyards was fascinating especially to an avid gardener. The tour of the Champagne G. Brunot cellar was intimate with fascinating details of a vintner's life and delicious champagne samplings. A hint to anyone purchasing these delicious champagnes: Do not store it in your carry on luggage! The authorities will confiscate it because it was not purchased at the airport shops. This is a tragic waste of excellent champagne...

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Marienne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour more than met our expectations. The guides were very knowledgeable and the wineries were incredible

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Rosy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! It was well organized. Our tour guide was nice and knowledgable. The waking tour through Siena was great with perfect amount of free time.
We really enjoyed the wine tasting and San Gimignano. Climbing the leaning tower of Pisa was the highlight of our visit to Pisa!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

enickles3

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun trip. We had some trouble understanding our guides English but Mumm and Mercier were very interesting. The town where we had lunch and time to explore was mostly closed because it was a Sunday so our time there could have been a little shorter. Overall we enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Janet W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip around the region with a nice pit stop for lunch in Reims. Really enjoyed both champagne tours!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Kathryn P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The champagne cellar tours were great and lunch was fantastic. Our tour guide/driver was a little rude and rushed us at the end of the tour when we were trying to buy champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

mafalciani

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our group enjoyed our trip to the Champagne Region. The tour of the Moet and Chandon cellars was
very interesting and the tasting was nice. I had visited the cellars many years ago and I was looking
forward to buying some gifts in the shop. I was surprised to find how mondern everything is now.
We stopped at another small Champagne house called Champagne Ergot et Filles. So nice to meet
the young couple who has started this small house. They are very interested in reducing the sugar in the champagne which is important for people with health issues. They were lovely. Just wished I could have taken some bottle home to the US.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Pamela W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good day trip. Really enjoyed both the Champagne Cellars we visited as well as the free time we had in Reims. Our guide and bus driver both did a great job. Seeing some of the French countryside and small villages was an added bonus.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Linda C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

No complaints-- wonderful tour, beautiful scenery, great champagne and Fred was an excellent guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Kristen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour once we arrived at each tasting was excellent! The tour guides at each cellar were amazing!
Our tour guides on the coach however were a different story. They were not very informative nor did they tell much history of the countryside when we were on the coach itself. Not the most friendly.
The description said it would be an intimate group of 14-16 people, more like an entire double decker bus that was 100 full! Very disappointed by this. Also, signed up for an English only tour which it was advertised for, they ended up adding on French and Portuguese.
Bus driver was very fast, he blew past main sites such as where Dom Perignon was buried and also where his statue remains, they told us, however he literally sped up once we arrived to it.
Too much time in Reims for lunch, especially on a Sunday when everything is closed!
Champagne itself was awesome!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Sharmila G

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our tour guide, Jean Marc, was wonderful. He shared information about the region along the way. The two tours of the Champagne houses were informative, though I wish we had been provided the option to upgrade to taste more than one type of Champagne, as some of the other tours had been offered. It was a long trek out to the region and I wish we could have sampled more than one glass at each two total. Also, rather than two very similar tours of champagne cellars/caves, I would have preferred one that discussed the proper way to taste.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

meganmccroskey

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was pretty good, but the tour guide wasn and #39;t very interested and a bit quirky, it seemed. We got on the bus, went to the wineries and that was about it. The wineries themselves were great!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Diane M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Was hard to understand the guide at times. But overall informative. Similar information was repeated at both cellars. Would have rather skipped the stop at Reims and done another tasting at a smaller producer.
The tour isn and #39;t small groups. When you get to Moet you are joined into a bigger group.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Marko S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This was a nice trip but unfortunately I don't think there was enough value for the money paid. Guide was great!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Kimberley S Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Destination was ok...... Both Champagne houses were lovely and informative
Our guide pascal was weird.
He started off ok but buy the den of the day he was angry and behaving weird.
We ended up getting out of the van and catching the metro the rest of the way home and he was becoming aggressive and complaining about how long it was going to take him to get home due to the Siene flooding, the he traffic and the road closures.
Luckily we had met some beautiful people on our tour and that made the day worth it.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Jackson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. Was a very interesting tour into the cellars and the process of making champagne. The guide Bastion did a great job at explaining the history and traditions of the label. And, of course, the champagne at the end was fantastic

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We left on time in a clean and comfortable coach. Our tour guide was amazing and knowledgeable. The scenery on the way to the Champagne Region was breath taking. I really enjoyed the tour of the two Champagne makers and we had plenty of time to tour around Reims and have lunch. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Evelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 2 wineries were great visits. Appreciated the opportunity to visit the cathedral in Reims with time for shopping and eating.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Susan W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I had a great day in the Champagne Region. We would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Pamela G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed visiting the cellars at Mumm and Mercier. But don't expect more than one glass of champagne each. :

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Christie G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Would have liked to have had a guided tour of the church. There was not an audio tour available, so we were left to read the screens in the church to any insights or history about the church. I felt we saw the church, but perhaps missed out on some of its importance. Enjoyed the tour of Moet Chandon Champagne cellars and the smaller Egrot and Filles. Learned much about the champagne making process that I had not known before.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message