• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 918 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My mother and I had a blast. both tour where fun. Also, the tour guides where get. even when my daughter got hurt on the tour they helped her out.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great trip informative guide and really fun. Free time for lunch is nice and there is time to explore the city

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was great! To start, the motor coach was comfortable and smooth riding. The views seen from the bus were spectacular. The tour guide who addressed us, English speaking passengers, was clear, concise and knowledgeable. As for the wineries, it was good to see Mumm and Moët and Chandon because of the contrast between the two businesses. Mumm was more "mom and pop" but no less informative and intriguing. Moët and Chandon, being the big corporate company, was amazing too, especially since they also produce Dom Perion champagne as well. Different stories behind each winery, but excellent products and tastings. The wine caves and learning how they produce champagne was very interesting. The cathedral at Reims was beautiful with an extraordinary historical past. I enjoyed walking around Reims on my own and having lunch independently. There are plenty of bistros and cafés to choose a delicious lunch. This trip is well worth the money and I would do it again. The tour was a nice way to break up our week long visit in Paris. The wine caves are cool so bring a jacket.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was wonderful. The group enjoyed the best that Champagne area had to offer. The trip was off season but the guides were extremely professional and knowledgeable and three tours were given, two in English and one in Spanish. They kept us entertained and informed.
We imbibed at Mumm for the first stop. It was very informative and impressive to see the history of the modernization of the Champagne industry.
Next, we truly enjoyed the tour of the beautiful 800 year-old Reims Cathedral that was the stopping place for lunch. There were several small shops you could purchase Champagne to sample. We brought cheese, bread and Pate en Croute with us and just got some Champagne to drink.
The afternoon at Moet and Chandon was a good look at a more traditional Champagne production and the history entwined with the French Kings and Napoleon. It was a trip with the delicious Champagne of Kings.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

After being promptly collected from our hotel by our lovely guide, Magnus, we had a wonderful time with the local winemaker, followed by a beautiful lunch at a local restaurant and tour of Moet and Chandon. Very informative and well organised, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience, especially seeing the local champagne house.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A fun trip out of the city!! Champagne was yummy and it was fun to learn about the process.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The wine tours at Mumm and Moet are very manufactured. You sit in a theater and watch a 5 min commercial. I enjoyed walking in the underground cellar, but would've liked more champagne. The trip was from 8am to 6:30pm. During that time we had 2 glasses of champagne. Weren't given the option of tasting more than one champagne at each place. The tour of the church in Reims was nice. You fend for yourself for lunch. Although the trip was not that expensive ($130 w/coupon) considering that each "tasting" was $30, I don't think the trip was worth it since it took an entire day. Would've rather toured several small wineries w/the actual owners for a more unique experience rather than tour a big place w/30 other people and watch a commercial!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Exhausting day but well worth the money.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The Champagne tour was simply the best, we could not fault it apart from the fact that we only enjoyed 1 glass each of champagne. Apart from that it was absolutely brilliant. And the weather was as you would see on a postcard. It was the best day out of the 6 we stayed in Paris.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Long bus ride there and back (about 2 hours each way). Enjoyed the tasting, though only to wineries. Disappointed in Mumm as I did not like the sweet champagne after one sip and asked to switch to which they said NO. Fortunately our tour guide overheard this and asked them to pour her a glass which she came and switched with me. The Brute was much better. We had a lovely lunch in the church square of a sandwich and glass of champagne (lunch is not included). Than off to MONET (where they also make the DOM). Our guide there was much more excited about her product and gave us more information. We had our samples and they even poured one for my son (who they could not legally serve, more for mom). Than a quick bus ride though the region and back to Paris. While the tour was good for the real Champagne enthusiast I would take an overnight trip and be able to go to more wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Even if you don't like champagne you will enjoy this tour. It is a bit of a long trip but just wonderful to get out of the hustle and bustle of Paris. The countryside is beautiful and just breathtaking. Plenty of opportunities to learn about the art of how champagne is made. So many stories to hear and lunch was just delightful as was the company on this trip. We were collected from our hotel in a in a mini-van and then we were on our way. At the end of the day we were dropped off back at the hotel. Just a most fabulous day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Paris. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the Reims area is just beautiful. We enjoyed the visit to the private champagne house as well as Moët and Chandon. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The trip was excellent! We liked it so much we booked another trip the next day (for the castles in the Loire valley).

We also liked that you gave us time for lunch but didn't include it. We went to a restaurant near the church in Rhiems and had a great lunch. The tours through the wineries were interesting.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent trip - really informative. The guide was excellent and her English was very good.

Would have been better if Viator had offered us all 3 levels of tour which dictated what tasting session you enjoyed at the end of the tour.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I'd really recommend this tour group. They were knowledgeable, prompt and organised. Everything ran entirely smoothly, the guides were pleasant and spoke multiple languages. The buses were very comfortable. The Champagne cellars themselves were great to visit, and you never felt rushed.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message