Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1068 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely loved it! Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour opens my view about Champagne totally. You will learn a lot from the tour. Our tour was changed to the Mercier and it was such an amazing place to visit. If you love champagne, do sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The ability to book online, use a phone app to secure our tickets and the overall booking process was very easy. The guides on the bus were both very cordial and informative! The switch from Moet Chandon to Mercier, was a huge disappointment (only booked the tour 3 days earlier, so we should have been told at booking), but the Mercier tour ended up being much-much better than the Mumm's. Mumm's need not live up to the "arrogant French" behaviour's the rest of the world has become accustomed to experiencing. The Champagne region was a "bucket list" trip for me...All I could have hoped for was more than 1 glass of Champagne at the wine tasting's!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

I don't think it is worth the money spent. The Champagne region is gorgeous and the history is beautiful, but only one tiny glass of champagne to taste at each of two wineries was pretty poor. Plus we had to wait around after the second tour with nothing to do, for about 40min.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were lucky enough to get a private vehicle for this tour, so it meant that we had Rupert our guide all to ourselves. The champagne houses are amazing and Riems is beautiful. We would never have learnt as much or seen as much if we had done this tour ourselves. Cannot recommend enough.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Yes. This was an excellent tour and we highly recommend it. It was interesting, informative and fun. The Champagne was lovely to taste too!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was our last day of 5 days in Paris...a great way to end our visit with a tour of the champagne district. The van was comfortable with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. We saw both smaller family owned and larger corporate wineries. Both tours were informative and welcoming. Other stops and lunch made the tour exceptional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful day touring Reims and two champagne wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Champagne Region and Rheims as well.
Loved our guide and we had a great social day with a pleasant lunch.
Moêt and Chandon was a treat but we enjoyed our tasting at a small family owned vineyard just as much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good value for money
I learnt so much about the history and the method of making champagne . I now understand why French champagne is more expensive than other sparkling and wine

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was exactly as described. A great opportunity to see the Epernay region and experience a small local winery as well as Moet et Chandon. The champagne in the small winery was better than Moet and nothing like the price. Worth doing both. Lunch was in a nice restaurant in walking distance from the Moet winery. The guide was polite and professional and the small group was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

a very enjoyable day. Strongly recommended

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was picked up, as planned, by a charming young man who in all ways made our trip comfortable and interesting.
The day was delightful; as much as I love Paris, I thoroughly enjoyed this outing to Champagne.
The lunch was beyond my expectations. Wonderful food and wine. Our visits to the caves were informative and the hosts were gracious.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very pleasant trip! I enjoyed both tastings (at the family-owned business and at Moët et Chandon) and learned a lot about the champagne making process. The guide and the group were great and we also had a lovely lunch with good food and good wine.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message