Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

FABULOUS EXPERIENCE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. GUIDE WAS SUPER AND SMALL GOUP OF SEVEN MADE THE TRIP MORE PERSONAL. LUNCHEON WAS TRULY FRENCH - THE MENS EXCEPTIONAL. TOUR OF SMALL WINERY WAS A TREAT NEVER TO BE FORGOTTEN.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

learnt to appreciate the quality of French champagne. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a great way to spend a day! Small group and fantastic guide, thank you Riccardo! We went to a champagne vineyard that was family owned and after lunch a major manufacturer, both were educational and fun. The lunch was fantastic! We really enjoyed the stop at Reims Cathedral as well.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and his driving was excellent. We loves this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Robert H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Interesting tour and well organised to see two cellars and time for lunch.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Moet is closed due to renovation, only informed after booking the tour. Other than that, love the small tour group and our driver cum guide is very professional.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful day!!!!!! Fun, smooth, educational, delicious!!!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed our Champagne Tour, though thought the cost was a little high for only visiting two winery's. As Moet Chandon Winery was closed for reno's, we visited Mercier instead, and I must say that this was an excellent champagne house to visited, the tour was excellently presented. Our main aim of this tour was to visit the House of Mumm, but I'm thinking I like the Mercier House better. Anyway, a reasonable tour overall.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was awesome and helpful. The tour was okay but the lunch of the day was terrible. Hoping there is improvement on arranging a better restaurant with better food. The only down part was we were not being informed earlier about the cancellation of Moet and Chandon site visit due to the renovation. Ended up, we visited The Mumm instead. Overall, it was a pleasant tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our overall impression of this tour was that it was a really lovely day. Our guide was very good and the Champagne Region was beautiful. Our time at P. M. Roger was so memorable. Pol was a wonderful host and shared so much of his knowledge, experience and joy with us. The tour at Mumm was informative, good and interesting and a totally different experience since they are a mass producer. Lunch was also delicious and enjoyable. That said, if you are used to doing wine tours in the States, this is very different. Our day was much more about education on the process of making champagne than actually tasting it. We tried only two champagnes one P.M. Roger and one at Mumm. For us, this was very disappointing for a full-day tour to a wine-making region we likely won't be back to anytime soon.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Another wonderful day in France. Picked up from my accommodation to go on a small group tour through the Champagne region. Great guide and informative tours of Champagne houses. Can now understand why champagne costs so much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Moet and Chandon visit was skipped due to construction works of facilities. The reasn why we3pax chose this tour was Moet and Chandon tour compared to other tour items. Quite disappointing.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Driver was nice, the trip was good, but it's way too over priced. We had a wine tour in Italy, which is much cheaper and much more fun. We expected to have light lunch at the vineyard but actually it is just a restaurant with nothing to do with Champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and fun, the lunch was excellent and so was the champagne. It was very interesting learning about how champagne is made, and just driving around the little villages in the region was beautiful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved Fred and all of his friends along the way. Had great time tasting champagne and a delightful lunch. Only complaint would be to go to more houses of champagne. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

the trip was great from start to finish
David picked me up exactly at 7 :15 am at my apt . David was an exceptional guide , smart , charming, witty, and an exceptional driver . Reims was fabulous , the champagne cellars great choices , and the lunch absolutely delicious . I had a great time better than expected

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fred was an awesome tour guide!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

great tour and the guide was great.
it was good that the group was small, it let everyone to get to know each other.
Would highly recommened

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour and scenic ride! My only complaint was that we were supposed to see Moet and Chandon, but saw Mercier instead. But Mercier was still fascinating champagne house!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We were a bit disappointed we didn't get to Moët and Chandon. Our visit to Mumm was the highlight and the host there was delightful not to mention the Champagne - wow! Our guide on the tour itself was hard to hear in the Riems Cathedral and not very engaging, though this did not detract from the tour. Coach was comfortable. Lunch at our own cost was at a little cafe across from where the coach parked and was one of the best meals we had in France.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

it was great
our guide, flore, was very nice and
we enjoyed very much visiting the cave of
the medium and big manufacturers
lunch was excellent, the drive very pleasant
and confortable

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour bus, I would recommend it as its an easy way to go around the entire city. This also avioids taking the train anywhere you go. The only downfall would be they only operate till 6PM or close to that time, and it makes it hard to continue touring, and sometimes 6PM is right in the middle of the worst Tube traffice imaginable.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I found this tour to be a good escape into the country. We visited two champagne houses and my thanks and compliments go out to Mumm Champagne House for their professional and friendly tour of their premises. The departure point of the tour is central and easy to find and our tour guides were friendly and helpful. This tour also includes free time at lunch in Reims where we had ample time to have lunch and tour the cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This trip was good in that it went to 2 wineries, but we received the same information at both so the second longer tour of Mumm was a bit redundant. Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable. Reims was a highlight and lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message