Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Flint54
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Epernay was beautiful. This is where Dom Perigon invented champagne. Then travel thru vineyards to nearby towns to sample the good stuff. Moet and Chandon were closed for remodeling but the other winery we went to was great. You take an elevator down into the tunnels of fermenting wine. Then you board a small train and a guide gives you the history of Mercier Winery. See the super large barrel of champagne that traveled by oxen to the worlds fair.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect! Fred was a great tour guide! It was so nice to drive through the beautiful country side of Champagne and taste lovely champagne!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the tour and our guide was top notch. We learned so much about champagne that we never knew! The champagne region is absolutely beautiful and the small group allowed for individual attention.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome. Just the right amount of time on our own as well. Expect to take a full day including the bus rides.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My friend and I LOVED this trip! Amy was our charming driver and guide. We got to see Reims Cathedral, its medieval architecture enriched with more recent stained glass windows! Although Moet and Chandon was closed for renovation, Amy made sure we saw its vineyards and church where Dom Perignon was buried. We loved the visit to the small champagne producer, Gatinois, with its young proprietor Louis. We also loved visiting Mumm's cellars and its tour. The day included a delicious lunch at the delightful Anna restaurant. There was something for everyone on this trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous day, right from collection from our apartment to delivery home again. Junior was outstanding with his knowledge, manner and driving skills. Amazing that he can translate between languages and still drive in Paris! Our stop at Gatinois was extremely interesting, and really good to experience a small champagne house before visiting the giant Mumm. Lunch was delicious at a lovely café/restaurant. Money well spent!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Simply a wonderful day! Lunch was superb! I would recommend this day trip even if you do not like champagne. Very interesting and a beautiful day!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day tour I thoroughly enjoyed both wineries and our tour guide was friendly and knowledgable about the wines and the area. The lunch at Reims was lovely and of course the wine was good. I would recommend this tour to anyone

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were picked up from our hotel on time in a mini bus and together with four others our driver drove out of the large city of Paris to the champagne region. We had a great day and enjoyed the beautiful countryside of the Champagne region. Also the tours in the underground cellars were very informative and also again ,not too large a group.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Champagne region.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a great day with lots of information, excellent stops and yummy champagne

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Ted B
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice small group for a pleasant day trip outside Paris. By far we enjoyed the small winery and a chance to talk to the winemaker. Learned quite a bit about the region and champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Loved the small vineyard, Pierre LeBeouf - tour given by a 5 th generation winemaker! Very personal and the champagne was excellent. Good contrast with Mumm, which was the large vintner we visited. Overall very good tour but quite expensive and I'm not sure we couldn't have had a similar experience on a larger tour for a lot less . Wine country and villages just beautiful!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour was just as described. Overall good tour, but slightly expensive for what you get. E.g. Lunch was not provided.. Tour operator was excellent, guides were very knowledgeable and helpful, and the often forgotten tour bus driver was very professional and a safe driver.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From pick-up to drop- off, the trip was awesome, starting with the picturesque views of sprawling hillsides of beauty and then tasting a small champagne entrepreneur and then experiencing Mumms and it's caves of history of fantastic tour. In between a great lunch, walking through Reims cathedral

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour Guide Great Trip

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Laura was fantastic. A great trip all in all

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a great time! The guide was thoughtful and knowledgeable. The first place we stopped at was small and delightful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend and I truly enjoyed everything about the day trip to Reims! The guides were courteous, friendly and fluent in all languages required. The bus was very prompt and clean and comfortable. The tours of the champagne wineries were well chosen and very interesting. We can't wait to try Mumm and Mercier champagne at home - it may be our new favorite drink!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a fantastic day with 2 other couples. Our guide was terrific! A must do tour...especially if you love Champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour enjoyed all of it particularly the train ride through Mercier cellars

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide and comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! Highly recommneded

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as described on the Viator website!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour. Wonderful Guides. Great explanations. Beautiful clean bus and the two Champaigneries we went to were delightful. A great Day Trip from Paris which I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message