Reims was founded in 80 BC by a Gallic tribe called the Remi, from which the town gets its name. The Remi allied themselves with Julius Caesar during his conquest of Gaul, and that association made the town a favored municipality in the Empire.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day out and you learn to appreciate why good champagne is so expensive. Lunch was also very enjoyable and tour guide was very entertaining. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour. Our guide was knowledgable.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Lady Di
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a wonderful tour full of interesting facts and deep down secrets of the process and history of making champagne with the added bonus of some FULL glass samples from the wineries you visit. I was lucky and got to visit my favourite champagne supplier, G.H.Mumm. Heaven. Highly recommend this tour, 11 hours is very long though. Too much time spent in the village with spare time for lunch after visiting the Reims cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour. We got see some of the coutryside around Paris which was our reason for taking this tour. The winery tours were very differnet and complimented each other well. The stop at Reims to see the Cathedral and have lunch was timed well as we were not rushed. The guide could have done a lot more commentaty as we were driving rather than sleeping on the bus in the morning. It nice to learn the history and more about yor srroundings as you travel.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the trip very much, both the scenery and the tours of the cellars. Have new appreciation of the hard work that is put into a bottle of champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I enjoyed my day out and would still recommend it but think there were a few things that could be improved
by the tour company and the wineries we visited. Mercier was a superb tour experience that MUMM needs to catch up to.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I enjoyed my day out and would still recommend it but think there were a few things that could be improved
by the tour company and the wineries we visited. Mercier was a superb tour experience that MUMM needs to catch up to.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I enjoyed my day out and would still recommend it but think there were a few things that could be improved
by the tour company and the wineries we visited. Mercier was a superb tour experience that MUMM needs to catch up to.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Did not meet our expectations. Tour guide barely gave any background information. Very expensive for a private tour.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We are Mumm drinkers at home so we're looking forward to the tour. We purchased a package that included 2 different styles of champagne. The tasting room was very disorganised and we only received 1 glass. When we asked about the ease one glass, the host didn't really seem to know what was going on. There were 2 guys from the UK who downed 3 glasses each. We did ask for another one and we were told something about responsible service of alcohol.....!!!!!! I would recommend going to the Tattinger caves as they are a lot more informative and tasting area more organised.... We came all the way from Paris for the day just to go to Mumm so were extremely disappointed .....

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Flint54
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Epernay was beautiful. This is where Dom Perigon invented champagne. Then travel thru vineyards to nearby towns to sample the good stuff. Moet and Chandon were closed for remodeling but the other winery we went to was great. You take an elevator down into the tunnels of fermenting wine. Then you board a small train and a guide gives you the history of Mercier Winery. See the super large barrel of champagne that traveled by oxen to the worlds fair.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect! Fred was a great tour guide! It was so nice to drive through the beautiful country side of Champagne and taste lovely champagne!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We really enjoyed the tour and our guide was top notch. We learned so much about champagne that we never knew! The champagne region is absolutely beautiful and the small group allowed for individual attention.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome. Just the right amount of time on our own as well. Expect to take a full day including the bus rides.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My friend and I LOVED this trip! Amy was our charming driver and guide. We got to see Reims Cathedral, its medieval architecture enriched with more recent stained glass windows! Although Moet and Chandon was closed for renovation, Amy made sure we saw its vineyards and church where Dom Perignon was buried. We loved the visit to the small champagne producer, Gatinois, with its young proprietor Louis. We also loved visiting Mumm's cellars and its tour. The day included a delicious lunch at the delightful Anna restaurant. There was something for everyone on this trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous day, right from collection from our apartment to delivery home again. Junior was outstanding with his knowledge, manner and driving skills. Amazing that he can translate between languages and still drive in Paris! Our stop at Gatinois was extremely interesting, and really good to experience a small champagne house before visiting the giant Mumm. Lunch was delicious at a lovely café/restaurant. Money well spent!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Simply a wonderful day! Lunch was superb! I would recommend this day trip even if you do not like champagne. Very interesting and a beautiful day!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great day tour I thoroughly enjoyed both wineries and our tour guide was friendly and knowledgable about the wines and the area. The lunch at Reims was lovely and of course the wine was good. I would recommend this tour to anyone

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We were picked up from our hotel on time in a mini bus and together with four others our driver drove out of the large city of Paris to the champagne region. We had a great day and enjoyed the beautiful countryside of the Champagne region. Also the tours in the underground cellars were very informative and also again ,not too large a group.
I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Champagne region.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It was a great day with lots of information, excellent stops and yummy champagne

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Ted B
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice small group for a pleasant day trip outside Paris. By far we enjoyed the small winery and a chance to talk to the winemaker. Learned quite a bit about the region and champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Loved the small vineyard, Pierre LeBeouf - tour given by a 5 th generation winemaker! Very personal and the champagne was excellent. Good contrast with Mumm, which was the large vintner we visited. Overall very good tour but quite expensive and I'm not sure we couldn't have had a similar experience on a larger tour for a lot less . Wine country and villages just beautiful!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message