Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 564 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our favorite French tour by far! The champagne tours are amazing with very hospitable hosts. Our driver/guide was incredibly knowledgable about champagne and the area as well. This will definitely be a tour we do again!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

the trip was great from start to finish
David picked me up exactly at 7 :15 am at my apt . David was an exceptional guide , smart , charming, witty, and an exceptional driver . Reims was fabulous , the champagne cellars great choices , and the lunch absolutely delicious . I had a great time better than expected

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and fun, the lunch was excellent and so was the champagne. It was very interesting learning about how champagne is made, and just driving around the little villages in the region was beautiful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved Fred and all of his friends along the way. Had great time tasting champagne and a delightful lunch. Only complaint would be to go to more houses of champagne. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fred was a knowledgeable and personable guide. We really enjoyed this tour and the contrast between visiting a small champagne producer and a larger one. Lunch at Le Cloche in Epernay was relaxed and very enjoyable. My only suggestion would be less time in Reims and at the Cathedral and more time elsewhere.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Collected on time by our driver Fred. Not a long drive to Reim where we were dropped off to have a look at the Reim Notre Dame. Plenty of time to have a look and wander to get a coffee near by. Then off to a small producer of Champagne to see how they make and a lovely taste. Stopped at a vineyard area and a local spoke about the harvest . Went to a local restraunt for the beautiful 3 course lunch with plenty of wine. In the afternoon went to a larger producer and was taken on a small train trip around the cellers. Then another lovely tasting. Off home having a wonderful day away from the city of Paris

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing. Our sommelier/tour guide Alan was charming and knowledgeable. We loved experiencing the big commercial champagne house and both small, family-owned houses. The lunch at the second champagne house was the piece de resistance! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I loved this tour!! Driver was fantastic and very knowledgeable and the champagne absolutely delicious, and the restaurant amazing! Thanks very very much!!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Daniel's knowledge of the area and his familiarity with the Champagne houses made this an experience that we intend to return to soon. Very impressive presentation of the area. Everything was fabulous, except the weather (foggy), but that made us even more grateful that we had such a good driver/guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We have been on a lot of tours and this tour may be 1! We love the Champagne region had the best tour guide there! We visited a large well known champagne producer as well as a smaller, family run producer. Both were an educational experience as well as interesting and great hosts. As we were running early our guide took us by the cathedral in Reims and also had croissants for us. A nice treat! We had lunch at a charming restaurant in Epernay with several champagne tastings. While at lunch I looked up out the window and it was snowing. It could not have been a more perfect day!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave an outstanding commentary on the history of the champagne houses and wine growing in the area. The tour included a mix of large and small champagne house with tastings. A highlight of the tour was lunch and a champagne tasting at a smaller champagne house. This tour is highly recommended if you want to visit the champagne region but only a have a day and want to get a real feel of the region.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was an awesome trip to Champagne, especially the lunch at La Maison Pennet. It was a very cozy lunch affair with the very friendly and hospitable hosts!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Brenda W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour consisted of visits to two Champagne Houses, a tour of the Cathedral of Reims (optional but to be recommended) and time was allowed for lunch and shopping. The tour staff was friendly and knowledge. This was a great tour and represented great value for money. Please note, if you are looking for a small intimate touring group of a few people this tour is not for you, there were around 30 – 40 people on the tour bus.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was well worth the time. We decided to take this tour as we were passing through Reims. We called ahead and were told be there 5 minutes before scheduled time. Very efficient, our tour guide spoke english very well and the tour was very informative. I learned a lot about champagnes and choosing the right one. The champagne tasting at the end was the frosting on the cake. Would Recommend!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip, we made new friends and now appreciate why champagne is so expensive.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message