Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 506 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was great! The guides spoke English, French, and Japanese. The visit to the Mumm champagne place was interesting enough but we really loved seeing Moët and Chandon. The on site guide was very engaging (we know enough French that we opted for the French guide) and loved the tour, the tunnels, the fascinating history, and the beautiful countryside. Good value for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is very well organized. The guide speaks good English and is very competent in the explanations. The two visits to champagne producers are surprising and very, very interesting. The cathedral in Reims is exquisite. My only remark is that we should have more time in Reims. As it is we had to skip lunch in order to have a proper visit to the cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour, highly recommended. We'd taken another Champagne tour a few year ago which was very good; this was even better. Extras, like the Cathedral were very nice, the bus driver did an excellent job getting around unexpected construction. This was well worth the price, a bargain.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great introduction into the champagne world. I don 't think I was expecting it to be so educational but now that I'm home, I feel like I have a new look at what I'm buying and an appreciation for the final product. This is definitely not the cheapest trip but if you look at the big picture, we got transportation to and around the Champagne region, home cooked lunch by the winemaker's family, champagne at several stops and a hell of an education. If you have the money, I think this is the way to do it. Sure you could probably find Moet and organize that part of the tour. You wouldn't find the little places we stopped at or even know that they made champagne for that matter to know to stop at them.

We had the same tour guide that others mentioned named Daniel. He definitely knows his stuff and I doubt you'll stump him if you try. He's like the Ken Jennings of Champagne Jeopardy.

Final Conclusion: Don't expect to get hammered on this tour but do expect to get to taste good champagne (a fair amount of it). Also expect to get very educated and potentially increase your spending habits when you get home. Bring your credit card because there may be opportunities to buy stuff and send it home directly.

I would do it again.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was excellent vine yards were amazing and extensive, lunch in the small restaurant was excellent champagne facilities awesome champagne tasting not so good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide David was fantastic! His English was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about the region and the topic. The first stop, Reims, was such a hidden gem. The cathedral was lovely and there were hardly any tourists so it was like we had the place to ourselves! We had a little time to check out the village which was beautiful and quaint. The family owned Champagne house that we visited was informative and charming. The visit to Moet and Chandon was amazing as well. We will definitely pass this excursion on to our friends that will be visiting the area. It was the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time touring the Champagne houses of Mumm and Moët and Chandon. Our guide was very patient, yet informative. She was also thorough with her guided tour of Notre Dame in Reims.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was interesting to be able to visit both small and large champagne producers. Also the fact that this tour enables you to visit the cathedral in Reims is a big difference with other similar tours.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of my highlights to my trip in Paris. Educational, informative and fun experience. I love the fact that we experience the different types of champagne makers. Lunch was excellent! Our tour guide (Daniel) who is the champagne expert is very knowledgeable and made our trip very interesting. Thank you for the fantastic experience. I highly recommend this tour... in fact don't miss it if you are in Paris for a couple of days.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent! the trip was well organized, everything worked as planned, very attentive guide. The Champagne region is amazing, and the experience in the producers facilities was very special. The Cathedral in Rheims worth the visit, but could be better if it was a guided tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Relaxing day trip to towns very close to Paris with interesting tours of 2 prominent champagne houses

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour- highly recommend! We got a very in depth explanation of how champagne is made- saw so many vineyards and everyone was so knowledgeable and friendly!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I went with my daughter - we made this a girls' outing, leaving the kids behind - and had a wonderful time.
It was lovely to sit back and enjoy the countryside. The commentary on the bus was quite interesting too. Both the visits to Mumm and Moet et Chandon were informative and led us through some long caves with miles upon miles of champagne bottles. Very tempting! The lunch stop was at Reims - the cathedral is magnificent. As our trip was on a Sunday, and it was raining a lot, there were not too many places to buy lunch. But we do recommend the raspberry tarts at Pauls - to die for! All in all a most enjoyable day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better day!! Loved the depth of knowledge, beautiful scenery and of course the champagne. We didn't even notice the long journey as it was broken up very well and you had plenty of choice to have lunch in town.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great day tour in the middle of our Paris stay. Our guide Francois was very knowledgeable on the places we visited and history of the area. The champagne tastings were very nice.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message