Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 552 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We have been on a lot of tours and this tour may be 1! We love the Champagne region had the best tour guide there! We visited a large well known champagne producer as well as a smaller, family run producer. Both were an educational experience as well as interesting and great hosts. As we were running early our guide took us by the cathedral in Reims and also had croissants for us. A nice treat! We had lunch at a charming restaurant in Epernay with several champagne tastings. While at lunch I looked up out the window and it was snowing. It could not have been a more perfect day!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave an outstanding commentary on the history of the champagne houses and wine growing in the area. The tour included a mix of large and small champagne house with tastings. A highlight of the tour was lunch and a champagne tasting at a smaller champagne house. This tour is highly recommended if you want to visit the champagne region but only a have a day and want to get a real feel of the region.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was an awesome trip to Champagne, especially the lunch at La Maison Pennet. It was a very cozy lunch affair with the very friendly and hospitable hosts!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Brenda W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour consisted of visits to two Champagne Houses, a tour of the Cathedral of Reims (optional but to be recommended) and time was allowed for lunch and shopping. The tour staff was friendly and knowledge. This was a great tour and represented great value for money. Please note, if you are looking for a small intimate touring group of a few people this tour is not for you, there were around 30 – 40 people on the tour bus.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was well worth the time. We decided to take this tour as we were passing through Reims. We called ahead and were told be there 5 minutes before scheduled time. Very efficient, our tour guide spoke english very well and the tour was very informative. I learned a lot about champagnes and choosing the right one. The champagne tasting at the end was the frosting on the cake. Would Recommend!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip, we made new friends and now appreciate why champagne is so expensive.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was over the top. Pommery has an excellent tour of their amazing cellar, and the tours and tastings at La Maison Penet and Lancelot-Pienne were the best. Richard is an excellent guide with a great sense of humor. I hesitated to take this tour because I thought it was rather expensive, but it was a true highlight of my first visit to Europe. If you're interested in a day trip to the Champagne Region, go!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was one of the best tours I've ever done. Richard, our guide and sommelier, was so much fun and truly an expert in the making of wine. We visited small champagne houses run by families for generations. And as an added bonus, we had lunch with the owner and his family at one of the vineyards. The wife fixed a wonderful meal for use, each course being paired with an different champagne. It was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour opens my view about Champagne totally. You will learn a lot from the tour. Our tour was changed to the Mercier and it was such an amazing place to visit. If you love champagne, do sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of the Champagne Region was amazing. Our host was knowledgeable and friendly and the folks we met along the way as we learned about the region's wines were lovely.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I would recommend touring the family-owned champagne houses. It,is an intimate setting and having the opportunity to eat local Parisian food was special! We also had a chance to meet the other 6 people on our tour - where they were from their travel experiences. I wasn't diss appointed that I didn't tour Moët.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Richard was our guide. He was wonderful. He didn't rush us and he has a great sense of humor, as well as a solid knowledge of champagne making. We visited 3 champagne houses. The largest, Pommery was so so and so was the champagne. The second was Alexander Penet, fabulous champagne and lunch. Very warm and friendly family! The third was Salmon, very good champagne very friendly people! It was a highlight to a memorable trip to Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very pleasant trip! I enjoyed both tastings (at the family-owned business and at Moët et Chandon) and learned a lot about the champagne making process. The guide and the group were great and we also had a lovely lunch with good food and good wine.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was picked up, as planned, by a charming young man who in all ways made our trip comfortable and interesting.
The day was delightful; as much as I love Paris, I thoroughly enjoyed this outing to Champagne.
The lunch was beyond my expectations. Wonderful food and wine. Our visits to the caves were informative and the hosts were gracious.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good value for money
I learnt so much about the history and the method of making champagne . I now understand why French champagne is more expensive than other sparkling and wine

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message