Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 539 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour opens my view about Champagne totally. You will learn a lot from the tour. Our tour was changed to the Mercier and it was such an amazing place to visit. If you love champagne, do sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of the Champagne Region was amazing. Our host was knowledgeable and friendly and the folks we met along the way as we learned about the region's wines were lovely.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I would recommend touring the family-owned champagne houses. It,is an intimate setting and having the opportunity to eat local Parisian food was special! We also had a chance to meet the other 6 people on our tour - where they were from their travel experiences. I wasn't diss appointed that I didn't tour Moët.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Richard was our guide. He was wonderful. He didn't rush us and he has a great sense of humor, as well as a solid knowledge of champagne making. We visited 3 champagne houses. The largest, Pommery was so so and so was the champagne. The second was Alexander Penet, fabulous champagne and lunch. Very warm and friendly family! The third was Salmon, very good champagne very friendly people! It was a highlight to a memorable trip to Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very pleasant trip! I enjoyed both tastings (at the family-owned business and at Moët et Chandon) and learned a lot about the champagne making process. The guide and the group were great and we also had a lovely lunch with good food and good wine.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was picked up, as planned, by a charming young man who in all ways made our trip comfortable and interesting.
The day was delightful; as much as I love Paris, I thoroughly enjoyed this outing to Champagne.
The lunch was beyond my expectations. Wonderful food and wine. Our visits to the caves were informative and the hosts were gracious.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good value for money
I learnt so much about the history and the method of making champagne . I now understand why French champagne is more expensive than other sparkling and wine

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Champagne Region and Rheims as well.
Loved our guide and we had a great social day with a pleasant lunch.
Moêt and Chandon was a treat but we enjoyed our tasting at a small family owned vineyard just as much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was exactly as described. A great opportunity to see the Epernay region and experience a small local winery as well as Moet et Chandon. The champagne in the small winery was better than Moet and nothing like the price. Worth doing both. Lunch was in a nice restaurant in walking distance from the Moet winery. The guide was polite and professional and the small group was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful day touring Reims and two champagne wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Yes. This was an excellent tour and we highly recommend it. It was interesting, informative and fun. The Champagne was lovely to taste too!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was our last day of 5 days in Paris...a great way to end our visit with a tour of the champagne district. The van was comfortable with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. We saw both smaller family owned and larger corporate wineries. Both tours were informative and welcoming. Other stops and lunch made the tour exceptional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were lucky enough to get a private vehicle for this tour, so it meant that we had Rupert our guide all to ourselves. The champagne houses are amazing and Riems is beautiful. We would never have learnt as much or seen as much if we had done this tour ourselves. Cannot recommend enough.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Brad P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fanatastic trip and really enjoyable. Lost count for the amount of champagne we drunk but let's say we felt we got our money's worth. Two highlights were the train at Mercier and the lunch at Penet Chardonnet. Sitting down with the winemakers family was just great - lovely people and the food was beautiful and plentiful.
The guide (and I'm sorry I have forgotten his name) was knowledgable and informative. He seems to have a bias to smaller houses, which could sound over done, but he was right, to our taste anyway, the Champagnes were great. Would definitely recommend this tour but....
The tour was supposed to include return to our accommodation, but a week or so before we were advised they would drop us to a central Paris location. They were graceful enough to not charge us any more for the privelage! (They actually said this in the email.). So if that was not bad enough, the drop off point happens to be their own wine bar! It has all the hallmarks of a setup. In discussion with other tour members, all had the same thing happen.
Again don't get me wrong I highly recommend the tour, but please let's be honest in our advertising - I hope it has been changed now (Viator?)
And the wine bar was really cool and we did stay and partake and even had a plate of meat and cheeses (also very nice).

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day out with a great lunch. Anyone who would like to get a little more from Paris who enjoys scenic views and the chance to learn about Champagne should book this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message