• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 435 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

After being promptly collected from our hotel by our lovely guide, Magnus, we had a wonderful time with the local winemaker, followed by a beautiful lunch at a local restaurant and tour of Moet and Chandon. Very informative and well organised, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience, especially seeing the local champagne house.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was wonderful. The group enjoyed the best that Champagne area had to offer. The trip was off season but the guides were extremely professional and knowledgeable and three tours were given, two in English and one in Spanish. They kept us entertained and informed.
We imbibed at Mumm for the first stop. It was very informative and impressive to see the history of the modernization of the Champagne industry.
Next, we truly enjoyed the tour of the beautiful 800 year-old Reims Cathedral that was the stopping place for lunch. There were several small shops you could purchase Champagne to sample. We brought cheese, bread and Pate en Croute with us and just got some Champagne to drink.
The afternoon at Moet and Chandon was a good look at a more traditional Champagne production and the history entwined with the French Kings and Napoleon. It was a trip with the delicious Champagne of Kings.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was great! To start, the motor coach was comfortable and smooth riding. The views seen from the bus were spectacular. The tour guide who addressed us, English speaking passengers, was clear, concise and knowledgeable. As for the wineries, it was good to see Mumm and Moët and Chandon because of the contrast between the two businesses. Mumm was more "mom and pop" but no less informative and intriguing. Moët and Chandon, being the big corporate company, was amazing too, especially since they also produce Dom Perion champagne as well. Different stories behind each winery, but excellent products and tastings. The wine caves and learning how they produce champagne was very interesting. The cathedral at Reims was beautiful with an extraordinary historical past. I enjoyed walking around Reims on my own and having lunch independently. There are plenty of bistros and cafés to choose a delicious lunch. This trip is well worth the money and I would do it again. The tour was a nice way to break up our week long visit in Paris. The wine caves are cool so bring a jacket.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I'd really recommend this tour group. They were knowledgeable, prompt and organised. Everything ran entirely smoothly, the guides were pleasant and spoke multiple languages. The buses were very comfortable. The Champagne cellars themselves were great to visit, and you never felt rushed.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Paris. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the Reims area is just beautiful. We enjoyed the visit to the private champagne house as well as Moët and Chandon. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Even if you don't like champagne you will enjoy this tour. It is a bit of a long trip but just wonderful to get out of the hustle and bustle of Paris. The countryside is beautiful and just breathtaking. Plenty of opportunities to learn about the art of how champagne is made. So many stories to hear and lunch was just delightful as was the company on this trip. We were collected from our hotel in a in a mini-van and then we were on our way. At the end of the day we were dropped off back at the hotel. Just a most fabulous day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this day trip, the champagne cellar tours were entertaining and informative. The Cathedral of Reims is impressive to say the least and the visit to a mountain top village surrounded by vineyards was an unexpected treat that offered a beautiful view. The staff were helpful and accommodating in many languages. I would recommend this tour to everyone I know.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thanks to Elise for a great, informative and fun tour of Reims and Epernay! The small family champagne house we visited was right on target. What a great way to spend a day outside of Paris. Thanks Elise!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Champagne region is such a nice area to visit. The guide was very friendly and well versed in the region. All the places visited had something special not to be missed. A full day including lunch into a region worth visiting again and again.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fabulous day! We enjoyed the tour very much. My suggestion would be to avoid going on a Sunday as the entire town of Reims is shut down. The cathedral is beautiful...more so than Notre Dame in my opinion...but no restaurants were open for lunch. We actually had to go to McDonalds. The tours of the champagne houses are very well run and professional. The history and process of champagne making is very interesting. We enjoyed seeing the champagne caves. The tastings themselves are very delicious...although it would be nice if you were able to sample more than one kind at each place. I do believe if they allowed you to sample more.... a person would be inclined to purchase more.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

lizw
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We loved our day in the Champagne Region, Mumm and Moet Chandon guides were very informative and of course we loved the tasting, we also enjoyed our free time to find something to eat and do a bit of shopping, overall was a fabulous day, thank you :)

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing tour and a great way to get way from the hustle and bustle of Paris. On Oct. 4, 2013, my husband and I met at the meeting point and boarded a bus for the Champagne region. This was a full tour with probably a good 50 people or so. You can purchase drinks on the bus (Euros only), or be prepared and get your drinks beforehand. The drive is scenic with many vineyards along the route. Plenty of time to sleep also as the ride is rather long.

At the first stop you learn how wine is made and at the second, how champagne is made. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided much history during the ride. You also have the opportunity to visit two wine cellars, have two wine tastings, and of course you may purchase wine and/or champagne at the end of each tour. By the time you get to the second tour, you'll realize that the processes are very similar because much of the information is repeated; but the tours are still interesting nonetheless.

Lunch is not included in this tour, but your driver will stop and allow you to choose a restaurant for lunch. There is also a church that you have the option of touring. My husband and I took pictures of the outside but opted not to do the church tour. We spent the entire hour and a half for lunch, and we were glad we did because the service in the restaurant was slow. Had we done the church tour we would've had to rush through our lunch.

Overall, I would recommend this tour to anyone. I had no idea that the process of making wine/champagne was so involved and it makes me appreciate it that much more.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a definite highlight - we loved it. Great to visit a small champagne house and then a large one (Moet on our tour). Lunch was fantastic. Our guide was very witty and funny. We really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved it! Beautiful, informative, and the champagne was delicious!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was a delightful experience. The fact that the "tour bus" accomodated only six of us was a pleasant surprise as it made the trip intimate with a lot of interaction between the excellent driver and all of us. The driver was very knowledgeable about the history of France, the region and the champagne industry.

My traveling companion and I did feel fortunate that the other passengers were delightful folks with whom we had interesting conversations, but that is also facilitated by the small group atmosphere.

The entire process from booking to tour was handled efficiently by Viator. All confirmations and logistics information were emailed in a timely manner so we knew exactly what would happen when and whom to contact with any questions.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message