Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 527 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good value for money
I learnt so much about the history and the method of making champagne . I now understand why French champagne is more expensive than other sparkling and wine

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Champagne Region and Rheims as well.
Loved our guide and we had a great social day with a pleasant lunch.
Moêt and Chandon was a treat but we enjoyed our tasting at a small family owned vineyard just as much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was exactly as described. A great opportunity to see the Epernay region and experience a small local winery as well as Moet et Chandon. The champagne in the small winery was better than Moet and nothing like the price. Worth doing both. Lunch was in a nice restaurant in walking distance from the Moet winery. The guide was polite and professional and the small group was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful day touring Reims and two champagne wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Yes. This was an excellent tour and we highly recommend it. It was interesting, informative and fun. The Champagne was lovely to taste too!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was our last day of 5 days in Paris...a great way to end our visit with a tour of the champagne district. The van was comfortable with a friendly and knowledgeable guide. We saw both smaller family owned and larger corporate wineries. Both tours were informative and welcoming. Other stops and lunch made the tour exceptional.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were lucky enough to get a private vehicle for this tour, so it meant that we had Rupert our guide all to ourselves. The champagne houses are amazing and Riems is beautiful. We would never have learnt as much or seen as much if we had done this tour ourselves. Cannot recommend enough.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Brad P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fanatastic trip and really enjoyable. Lost count for the amount of champagne we drunk but let's say we felt we got our money's worth. Two highlights were the train at Mercier and the lunch at Penet Chardonnet. Sitting down with the winemakers family was just great - lovely people and the food was beautiful and plentiful.
The guide (and I'm sorry I have forgotten his name) was knowledgable and informative. He seems to have a bias to smaller houses, which could sound over done, but he was right, to our taste anyway, the Champagnes were great. Would definitely recommend this tour but....
The tour was supposed to include return to our accommodation, but a week or so before we were advised they would drop us to a central Paris location. They were graceful enough to not charge us any more for the privelage! (They actually said this in the email.). So if that was not bad enough, the drop off point happens to be their own wine bar! It has all the hallmarks of a setup. In discussion with other tour members, all had the same thing happen.
Again don't get me wrong I highly recommend the tour, but please let's be honest in our advertising - I hope it has been changed now (Viator?)
And the wine bar was really cool and we did stay and partake and even had a plate of meat and cheeses (also very nice).

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great day out with a great lunch. Anyone who would like to get a little more from Paris who enjoys scenic views and the chance to learn about Champagne should book this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Viator guide was Richard - awesome!!!!! He escorted us to Moet and Chandon and then 2 other independent champagne houses. This was fantastic. There were 8 people on our tour. The first small champagne house served us an incredible lunch. All the veggies were from their garden. The champagne was out of this world! But the best part was that both of the small champagne houses were owned by great people that were willing to share their time with us and give us a tour of their facility and their vineyards. I would do this tour over and over again. Diane

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was wonderful and our guide, Frederick, was fantastic. It was just the right length of time for a day tour and the places selected for our visits and tours were all great. Frederick was knowledgeable and a lot of fun. I learned a lot, met some wonderful people and had some delicious champagne! I would highly recommend this tour and Frederick, in particular.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We went to 3 different champagne regions and only had 1 more couple with us which made the trip very enjoyable. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip! Small group was a pleasure versus some of the larger bus tours, our guide, Daniel, was extremely knowledgeable and enjoyable to spend the day with (a must especially for a small group being together 12 hours!) and the 3 champagne makers they chose were outstanding. A real pleasure to start with the largest and best known (Moet) and then to experience the smaller and, by most standards, higher quality champagne makers in the region. On top of all of that, the lunch at one of the vineyards was truly an outstanding local experience. I would recommend to any and all.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip with a very well informed guide. Tasting at the end was a bit chaotic, but the champagne itself made up for it!!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Richard was our guide/driver. Picked us up exactly on time at the Westin in Paris. Comfortable Mercedes van was transportation to Champagne region. Lots of fun information along the way to Champagne. The tour of Moet and Chandon was fantastic--the caves and the tasting. Lunch was a 6 champagne tasting with a display of the locae fare. Then a tour of the vineyards and facilities of local winery Lelarge-Pugeot. Dominique spent hours with us showing her organic method of growing then allowed us a tasting. Magnifique!! --and the Lelarge-Pugeot Champagne's are are available in California. Great Tour! Richard made the experience personal, friendly and a real education about Champagne. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message