Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 512 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip! Small group was a pleasure versus some of the larger bus tours, our guide, Daniel, was extremely knowledgeable and enjoyable to spend the day with (a must especially for a small group being together 12 hours!) and the 3 champagne makers they chose were outstanding. A real pleasure to start with the largest and best known (Moet) and then to experience the smaller and, by most standards, higher quality champagne makers in the region. On top of all of that, the lunch at one of the vineyards was truly an outstanding local experience. I would recommend to any and all.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip with a very well informed guide. Tasting at the end was a bit chaotic, but the champagne itself made up for it!!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Richard was our guide/driver. Picked us up exactly on time at the Westin in Paris. Comfortable Mercedes van was transportation to Champagne region. Lots of fun information along the way to Champagne. The tour of Moet and Chandon was fantastic--the caves and the tasting. Lunch was a 6 champagne tasting with a display of the locae fare. Then a tour of the vineyards and facilities of local winery Lelarge-Pugeot. Dominique spent hours with us showing her organic method of growing then allowed us a tasting. Magnifique!! --and the Lelarge-Pugeot Champagne's are are available in California. Great Tour! Richard made the experience personal, friendly and a real education about Champagne. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful day. Had a lovely time learning all about Champagne then taste testing. Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was great! The guides spoke English, French, and Japanese. The visit to the Mumm champagne place was interesting enough but we really loved seeing Moët and Chandon. The on site guide was very engaging (we know enough French that we opted for the French guide) and loved the tour, the tunnels, the fascinating history, and the beautiful countryside. Good value for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is very well organized. The guide speaks good English and is very competent in the explanations. The two visits to champagne producers are surprising and very, very interesting. The cathedral in Reims is exquisite. My only remark is that we should have more time in Reims. As it is we had to skip lunch in order to have a proper visit to the cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour, highly recommended. We'd taken another Champagne tour a few year ago which was very good; this was even better. Extras, like the Cathedral were very nice, the bus driver did an excellent job getting around unexpected construction. This was well worth the price, a bargain.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great introduction into the champagne world. I don 't think I was expecting it to be so educational but now that I'm home, I feel like I have a new look at what I'm buying and an appreciation for the final product. This is definitely not the cheapest trip but if you look at the big picture, we got transportation to and around the Champagne region, home cooked lunch by the winemaker's family, champagne at several stops and a hell of an education. If you have the money, I think this is the way to do it. Sure you could probably find Moet and organize that part of the tour. You wouldn't find the little places we stopped at or even know that they made champagne for that matter to know to stop at them.

We had the same tour guide that others mentioned named Daniel. He definitely knows his stuff and I doubt you'll stump him if you try. He's like the Ken Jennings of Champagne Jeopardy.

Final Conclusion: Don't expect to get hammered on this tour but do expect to get to taste good champagne (a fair amount of it). Also expect to get very educated and potentially increase your spending habits when you get home. Bring your credit card because there may be opportunities to buy stuff and send it home directly.

I would do it again.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was excellent vine yards were amazing and extensive, lunch in the small restaurant was excellent champagne facilities awesome champagne tasting not so good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide David was fantastic! His English was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about the region and the topic. The first stop, Reims, was such a hidden gem. The cathedral was lovely and there were hardly any tourists so it was like we had the place to ourselves! We had a little time to check out the village which was beautiful and quaint. The family owned Champagne house that we visited was informative and charming. The visit to Moet and Chandon was amazing as well. We will definitely pass this excursion on to our friends that will be visiting the area. It was the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time touring the Champagne houses of Mumm and Moët and Chandon. Our guide was very patient, yet informative. She was also thorough with her guided tour of Notre Dame in Reims.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was interesting to be able to visit both small and large champagne producers. Also the fact that this tour enables you to visit the cathedral in Reims is a big difference with other similar tours.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

One of my highlights to my trip in Paris. Educational, informative and fun experience. I love the fact that we experience the different types of champagne makers. Lunch was excellent! Our tour guide (Daniel) who is the champagne expert is very knowledgeable and made our trip very interesting. Thank you for the fantastic experience. I highly recommend this tour... in fact don't miss it if you are in Paris for a couple of days.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent! the trip was well organized, everything worked as planned, very attentive guide. The Champagne region is amazing, and the experience in the producers facilities was very special. The Cathedral in Rheims worth the visit, but could be better if it was a guided tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Relaxing day trip to towns very close to Paris with interesting tours of 2 prominent champagne houses

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message