Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 596 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was perfect! Fred was a great tour guide! It was so nice to drive through the beautiful country side of Champagne and taste lovely champagne!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Flint54
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Epernay was beautiful. This is where Dom Perigon invented champagne. Then travel thru vineyards to nearby towns to sample the good stuff. Moet and Chandon were closed for remodeling but the other winery we went to was great. You take an elevator down into the tunnels of fermenting wine. Then you board a small train and a guide gives you the history of Mercier Winery. See the super large barrel of champagne that traveled by oxen to the worlds fair.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Alain was a wonderful tour guide. The lunch experience was just lovely and there's nothing like drinking champagne in a vineyard on a beautiful spring day. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Pierre, was an extremely knowledgeable sommelier who went above and beyond to explain the champagne making process in a way we could understand. The small group environment was great as everyone was able to interact and ask questions. The boutique champagne houses were incredible, and we even had the owner sit with us at his table as he poured us his champagne and offered different food pairings. The champagne region is a dream and it was the perfect day.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I loved this trip! Our driver and guide, Pierre was very nice and very knowledgeable. I highly recommend him for your guide. We drove to Reims and had time to walk through the cathedral. It was undergoing renovation but still beautiful. The first stop was Taittinger. The Taittinger tour guides has you watch a short video on the history of the champagne house and then leads you through the cellars. It is very cold down in the cellars and I suggest bringing a jacket. After the tour you get 1 glass of champagne. Then onto the next stop which was a short drive to Verzy a very picturesque small town surrounded by grape vines. In Verzy we had lunch in the home of the champagne maker of Chardonett and Penet. Their house was so lovely and he and his wife very friendly and inviting. Lunch was delicious and the champagnes were excellent. The next stop was Herve Dubois. We chatted with the champagne maker and she poured 4-5 generous tastes, all of them were so good! We enjoyed the smaller family champagne houses over the larger Taittinger. They were more inviting and the champagnes were better. It was such a pleasant afternoon chatting with Pierre and the other people on the tour. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a fantastic day with 2 other couples. Our guide was terrific! A must do tour...especially if you love Champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an excellent day tour with a great guide who was very knowledgeable on the area and the wine production itself. 3 Champagne houses were included. The first was a large well know producer and the tour of that establishment was somewhat under whelming, very corporate. However the visits to the 2 smaller family operations were special, both families so warm and inviting and really interesting to talk with. The lunch provided, in the family home of the second producer, was superb and the welcome given by the family could not have been warmer and more inviting.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend and I truly enjoyed everything about the day trip to Reims! The guides were courteous, friendly and fluent in all languages required. The bus was very prompt and clean and comfortable. The tours of the champagne wineries were well chosen and very interesting. We can't wait to try Mumm and Mercier champagne at home - it may be our new favorite drink!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

From pick-up to drop- off, the trip was awesome, starting with the picturesque views of sprawling hillsides of beauty and then tasting a small champagne entrepreneur and then experiencing Mumms and it's caves of history of fantastic tour. In between a great lunch, walking through Reims cathedral

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Richard was extremely knowledge and imparted the information with humour. Lunch provided by Martine and the accompanying champagnes were exceptional. We then went to Montmarthe and met the charming Christophe who provided more great champagne.This tour was exceptional value for money.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a great way to spend a day! Small group and fantastic guide, thank you Riccardo! We went to a champagne vineyard that was family owned and after lunch a major manufacturer, both were educational and fun. The lunch was fantastic! We really enjoyed the stop at Reims Cathedral as well.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

learnt to appreciate the quality of French champagne. Excellent guide.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour and scenic ride! My only complaint was that we were supposed to see Moet and Chandon, but saw Mercier instead. But Mercier was still fascinating champagne house!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A really lovely day in the countryside. The highlight was the lunch with accompanying champagne. Beautiful day.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our favorite French tour by far! The champagne tours are amazing with very hospitable hosts. Our driver/guide was incredibly knowledgable about champagne and the area as well. This will definitely be a tour we do again!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

the trip was great from start to finish
David picked me up exactly at 7 :15 am at my apt . David was an exceptional guide , smart , charming, witty, and an exceptional driver . Reims was fabulous , the champagne cellars great choices , and the lunch absolutely delicious . I had a great time better than expected

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and fun, the lunch was excellent and so was the champagne. It was very interesting learning about how champagne is made, and just driving around the little villages in the region was beautiful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved Fred and all of his friends along the way. Had great time tasting champagne and a delightful lunch. Only complaint would be to go to more houses of champagne. Very enjoyable

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fred was a knowledgeable and personable guide. We really enjoyed this tour and the contrast between visiting a small champagne producer and a larger one. Lunch at Le Cloche in Epernay was relaxed and very enjoyable. My only suggestion would be less time in Reims and at the Cathedral and more time elsewhere.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Collected on time by our driver Fred. Not a long drive to Reim where we were dropped off to have a look at the Reim Notre Dame. Plenty of time to have a look and wander to get a coffee near by. Then off to a small producer of Champagne to see how they make and a lovely taste. Stopped at a vineyard area and a local spoke about the harvest . Went to a local restraunt for the beautiful 3 course lunch with plenty of wine. In the afternoon went to a larger producer and was taken on a small train trip around the cellers. Then another lovely tasting. Off home having a wonderful day away from the city of Paris

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was amazing. Our sommelier/tour guide Alan was charming and knowledgeable. We loved experiencing the big commercial champagne house and both small, family-owned houses. The lunch at the second champagne house was the piece de resistance! Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I loved this tour!! Driver was fantastic and very knowledgeable and the champagne absolutely delicious, and the restaurant amazing! Thanks very very much!!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Daniel's knowledge of the area and his familiarity with the Champagne houses made this an experience that we intend to return to soon. Very impressive presentation of the area. Everything was fabulous, except the weather (foggy), but that made us even more grateful that we had such a good driver/guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We have been on a lot of tours and this tour may be 1! We love the Champagne region had the best tour guide there! We visited a large well known champagne producer as well as a smaller, family run producer. Both were an educational experience as well as interesting and great hosts. As we were running early our guide took us by the cathedral in Reims and also had croissants for us. A nice treat! We had lunch at a charming restaurant in Epernay with several champagne tastings. While at lunch I looked up out the window and it was snowing. It could not have been a more perfect day!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave an outstanding commentary on the history of the champagne houses and wine growing in the area. The tour included a mix of large and small champagne house with tastings. A highlight of the tour was lunch and a champagne tasting at a smaller champagne house. This tour is highly recommended if you want to visit the champagne region but only a have a day and want to get a real feel of the region.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message