Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

We have to agree, there’s nothing more French than Champagne. To see where the legend began, visit the sacred town of Reims, known for its role in consecrating the kings of France as well as its importance to the Champagne region’s sparkling wines.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 546 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was well worth the time. We decided to take this tour as we were passing through Reims. We called ahead and were told be there 5 minutes before scheduled time. Very efficient, our tour guide spoke english very well and the tour was very informative. I learned a lot about champagnes and choosing the right one. The champagne tasting at the end was the frosting on the cake. Would Recommend!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful trip, we made new friends and now appreciate why champagne is so expensive.

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was over the top. Pommery has an excellent tour of their amazing cellar, and the tours and tastings at La Maison Penet and Lancelot-Pienne were the best. Richard is an excellent guide with a great sense of humor. I hesitated to take this tour because I thought it was rather expensive, but it was a true highlight of my first visit to Europe. If you're interested in a day trip to the Champagne Region, go!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was one of the best tours I've ever done. Richard, our guide and sommelier, was so much fun and truly an expert in the making of wine. We visited small champagne houses run by families for generations. And as an added bonus, we had lunch with the owner and his family at one of the vineyards. The wife fixed a wonderful meal for use, each course being paired with an different champagne. It was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour opens my view about Champagne totally. You will learn a lot from the tour. Our tour was changed to the Mercier and it was such an amazing place to visit. If you love champagne, do sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour of the Champagne Region was amazing. Our host was knowledgeable and friendly and the folks we met along the way as we learned about the region's wines were lovely.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I would recommend touring the family-owned champagne houses. It,is an intimate setting and having the opportunity to eat local Parisian food was special! We also had a chance to meet the other 6 people on our tour - where they were from their travel experiences. I wasn't diss appointed that I didn't tour Moët.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Richard was our guide. He was wonderful. He didn't rush us and he has a great sense of humor, as well as a solid knowledge of champagne making. We visited 3 champagne houses. The largest, Pommery was so so and so was the champagne. The second was Alexander Penet, fabulous champagne and lunch. Very warm and friendly family! The third was Salmon, very good champagne very friendly people! It was a highlight to a memorable trip to Paris.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very pleasant trip! I enjoyed both tastings (at the family-owned business and at Moët et Chandon) and learned a lot about the champagne making process. The guide and the group were great and we also had a lovely lunch with good food and good wine.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was picked up, as planned, by a charming young man who in all ways made our trip comfortable and interesting.
The day was delightful; as much as I love Paris, I thoroughly enjoyed this outing to Champagne.
The lunch was beyond my expectations. Wonderful food and wine. Our visits to the caves were informative and the hosts were gracious.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good value for money
I learnt so much about the history and the method of making champagne . I now understand why French champagne is more expensive than other sparkling and wine

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Champagne Region and Rheims as well.
Loved our guide and we had a great social day with a pleasant lunch.
Moêt and Chandon was a treat but we enjoyed our tasting at a small family owned vineyard just as much.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was exactly as described. A great opportunity to see the Epernay region and experience a small local winery as well as Moet et Chandon. The champagne in the small winery was better than Moet and nothing like the price. Worth doing both. Lunch was in a nice restaurant in walking distance from the Moet winery. The guide was polite and professional and the small group was great.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful day touring Reims and two champagne wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Yes. This was an excellent tour and we highly recommend it. It was interesting, informative and fun. The Champagne was lovely to taste too!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message