France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 817 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sheree.williamson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very enjoyable experience with knowledgeable guides. Was delighted in the choice of Champagne Houses, Mercier and Mumm.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We started the trip with a visit to G.H. Mumm cellars. Learned how this renowned winemaking house has been producing Champagne using traditional methods for almost 200 years and tasted Mumms classic Cordon Rouge. Interesting tour a very enjoyable experience. Then we traveled to Reims to see the famous Notre Dame cathedral and have a delicious lunch at an outdoor cafe. We continued on to the picturesque town of Epernay, visited the historic cellars of Mercier, which has been producing Champagne since 1858, which once again had a very rich history in champagne production and history. Toured the extensive, atmospheric caves and enjoy another tasting above ground. This is a must do if you are visiting Paris, just an absolutely incredible day from start to finish.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

gary k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great. I enjoyed the Cave tours and the information alone the trip was great. If you like Chanpagne and you have the time this is a must do.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Marienne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour more than met our expectations. The guides were very knowledgeable and the wineries were incredible

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Rosy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! It was well organized. Our tour guide was nice and knowledgable. The waking tour through Siena was great with perfect amount of free time.
We really enjoyed the wine tasting and San Gimignano. Climbing the leaning tower of Pisa was the highlight of our visit to Pisa!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

enickles3

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a fun trip. We had some trouble understanding our guides English but Mumm and Mercier were very interesting. The town where we had lunch and time to explore was mostly closed because it was a Sunday so our time there could have been a little shorter. Overall we enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Janet W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great trip around the region with a nice pit stop for lunch in Reims. Really enjoyed both champagne tours!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Pamela W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good day trip. Really enjoyed both the Champagne Cellars we visited as well as the free time we had in Reims. Our guide and bus driver both did a great job. Seeing some of the French countryside and small villages was an added bonus.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Kristen M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour once we arrived at each tasting was excellent! The tour guides at each cellar were amazing!
Our tour guides on the coach however were a different story. They were not very informative nor did they tell much history of the countryside when we were on the coach itself. Not the most friendly.
The description said it would be an intimate group of 14-16 people, more like an entire double decker bus that was 100 full! Very disappointed by this. Also, signed up for an English only tour which it was advertised for, they ended up adding on French and Portuguese.
Bus driver was very fast, he blew past main sites such as where Dom Perignon was buried and also where his statue remains, they told us, however he literally sped up once we arrived to it.
Too much time in Reims for lunch, especially on a Sunday when everything is closed!
Champagne itself was awesome!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

meganmccroskey

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The tour was pretty good, but the tour guide wasn and #39;t very interested and a bit quirky, it seemed. We got on the bus, went to the wineries and that was about it. The wineries themselves were great!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Jackson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. Was a very interesting tour into the cellars and the process of making champagne. The guide Bastion did a great job at explaining the history and traditions of the label. And, of course, the champagne at the end was fantastic

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We left on time in a clean and comfortable coach. Our tour guide was amazing and knowledgeable. The scenery on the way to the Champagne Region was breath taking. I really enjoyed the tour of the two Champagne makers and we had plenty of time to tour around Reims and have lunch. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Evelyn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 2 wineries were great visits. Appreciated the opportunity to visit the cathedral in Reims with time for shopping and eating.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Susan W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

My daughter and I had a great day in the Champagne Region. We would recommend this tour to others

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Pamela G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed visiting the cellars at Mumm and Mercier. But don't expect more than one glass of champagne each. :

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this tour despite the rainy cold weather most of the day. The visits to the cellars were educational and fun. It was really nice to learn about the region and taste the different champagnes. The history of the notre dame de Riems was really interesting. We also loved the view of the countryside. So picturesque! Our guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and kept everything on track and smooth. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very easy day trip, leaving from the very heart of Paris. The two Champagne houses Mumm and Mercier have great tours for the group. Mumm takes you through the process and history of Champagne, and Mercier has an entertaining tram ride through their actual cellars. Plus, you get free Champagne at both places! Lunch is on your own in Reims, which gives yo a chance to visit the big cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Esme A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An enjoyable day trip to two champagne cellars about two hours outside of Paris. The guide was knowledgable and informative and we had ample time to explore the area and have a lovely lunch before rejoining the group.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Rebecca B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We loved the Mumm cellar which was the first stop on this trip. Catherine at Mumm gave us an amazing tour where we learned all about the process of making Champagne. The tour itself was private to our group so it had a very personal feel. The stop in Reims was also great...the cathedral was beautiful. The Mercier cellars were nice tour but it was with a much larger group so it didn't have the personal feel that the Mumm tour had. In fact there were a lot of children on that tour which I guess is because there is a train that takes you through the cellars. by the way, the cellars are COLD. Bring a coat!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Jay

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Its a little pricey but all we could find, you are better off renting a car if you can find the way yourself, it would probably be cheaper, but we booked the bus for convience of not having to drive and map it out. Its a long bus ride. 2 hours each way. Went to 2 wineries with the standard tour they offer at eachnot the tour company, with 1 glass of wine tasting after each. Free time for lunch at a city in between each winery.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Norma P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

I found that having the guide speak in 2 languages wasn't the best experience. I'm sure it was extremely accommodating for the one person who needed that, but for the rest of us, I found it very annoying. Other than that, the experience was great! Learned a lot about how champagne is produced. Stunning cathedral in Reims.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Todd S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Overall we enjoyed this tour. Our only real complaint, and it doesn't have anything to do with the booking company, is that we only got to try one kind of champagne at both Champagne Houses, and they were both their lowest quality champagne. We didn't end up buying any bottles from either place because we really had no idea what their champagne tasted like! You go on wine tours and you get to try several varieties and vintages. This tour you get to try one glass of their lowest quality product. Seems like a weird way to do business, and we were put off by that.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

carole p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day trip to Reims was very well organised and enjoyable. We visited two champagne houses, Mumm and Mercier and saw the famous Reims Cathedral where we also had time for a lunch. It was an easy way to visit a town outside of Paris and good value for money. I will definitely be doing more trips with Viator in the future.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great tour even though we had to attend the French version.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message