Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 717 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour opens my view about Champagne totally. You will learn a lot from the tour. Our tour was changed to the Mercier and it was such an amazing place to visit. If you love champagne, do sign up for this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The ability to book online, use a phone app to secure our tickets and the overall booking process was very easy. The guides on the bus were both very cordial and informative! The switch from Moet Chandon to Mercier, was a huge disappointment (only booked the tour 3 days earlier, so we should have been told at booking), but the Mercier tour ended up being much-much better than the Mumm's. Mumm's need not live up to the "arrogant French" behaviour's the rest of the world has become accustomed to experiencing. The Champagne region was a "bucket list" trip for me...All I could have hoped for was more than 1 glass of Champagne at the wine tasting's!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

I don't think it is worth the money spent. The Champagne region is gorgeous and the history is beautiful, but only one tiny glass of champagne to taste at each of two wineries was pretty poor. Plus we had to wait around after the second tour with nothing to do, for about 40min.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Yes. This was an excellent tour and we highly recommend it. It was interesting, informative and fun. The Champagne was lovely to taste too!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful day touring Reims and two champagne wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very good value for money
I learnt so much about the history and the method of making champagne . I now understand why French champagne is more expensive than other sparkling and wine

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

a very enjoyable day. Strongly recommended

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I had a good time on the wine tour. The ride to and from the champagne region wasn't as informative as I had hoped, but we did get some great tours at Mumm and Moet and Chandon. I liked this tour because you were on your own for lunch, so it gave us a chance to explore Reims. Suggestion for the bus - play music! I would recommend this tour to others...

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting tour
Would have liked at least 2 tastes at end of tour

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Enjoyed the tour of both champagne/wineries.....for the money spent on this trip, I would have preferred more than one champagne tasting.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

What a wonderful and relaxing day! The tour leaves from an easily-accessed meeting point on a very comfortable tour bus to our first destination (which was not Moet Chandon as described in the tour overview). Being that Moet is closed for renovation, we went to Tattinger, and I was delighted to hear of the change. The guides provided history on the bus as we drove through the beautiful countryside. The Tattinger tour itself was fantastic, the onsite guide that gives the tour is wonderful, such an experience. The tasting was excellent as well. Following the tour of the caves, the guide offers an optional tour of the cathedral in Reims, which I recommend. I had a lovely lunch in a café across the street from the cathedral. From there, we headed to another champagne house, Mercier, in the town of Epernay. Not as good, much more commercial, but the ride through the countryside was wonderful. We ended up back in Paris a bit earlier than I had expected, gave me a chance to find more to do that night!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The Tattinger tour was excellent! The Mercier tour was negligible, especially being such a contrast to the Taittinger house in the morning. We would recommend replacing the Mercier champagne house with another--despite the fact that the Moet de Chandon was under renovation and the original intent. We could have done without the Mercier house--seemed like an amusement park/cattle run...."next"?!?

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was nice

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A very good tour with a knowledgeable guide. Timing at each stop was adequate and general organisation well done.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was great. Me and my wife had a really good time learning about the production of Champagne making. The English speaking tour was very educated and spoke English well. I would recommend the G.H. Mumm tour to anyone.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message