Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 694 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip with a very well informed guide. Tasting at the end was a bit chaotic, but the champagne itself made up for it!!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I was really impressed by this tour. The tour guide was more of a historian which made this one of the most interesting trips I have been on.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Well planned trip. Just the right amount of travel time. The champagne cellers were awesome to visit. Good information on history of champagne making. Lots of fun. Stop at Riems allowed enough time to walk about the city and enjoy a Great lunch at one of local cafes, eat like locals do, the food in France is out of this world.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Good value, a long day but worth the trip to see Moët. Coming from a wine region in Australia, we were unsure of what to expect but loved the atmosphere and the great guide and wine waiters at Moët.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

The day trip to the Champagne region was very interesting. The double decker bus was clean and comfortable and the staff efficient and professional but could've been friendlier. The fields of grapes that seemed to go on forever were outstanding! The tour guide at Mumms was difficult to understand and it was clear English was not her first language. We didn't learn much on that tour but the wine was good. The tour guide at Moet-Chandon was easier to understand and was more expressive so we enjoyed the tour and learned a lot about how champagne is made. We thought lunch should have been provided for the price of this outing as it was quite expensive. All in all we had a good trip but not a great one.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

On time
highly informative
bus had A/C fail and company adjusted by getting a different bus even though 80 km from end of tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was amazing from start to finish. Love both Moet and Mumm tours. We would recommend this tour for anyone as they were both informative and heaps of fun

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time touring the Champagne houses of Mumm and Moët and Chandon. Our guide was very patient, yet informative. She was also thorough with her guided tour of Notre Dame in Reims.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is very well organized. The guide speaks good English and is very competent in the explanations. The two visits to champagne producers are surprising and very, very interesting. The cathedral in Reims is exquisite. My only remark is that we should have more time in Reims. As it is we had to skip lunch in order to have a proper visit to the cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an excellent tour, highly recommended. We'd taken another Champagne tour a few year ago which was very good; this was even better. Extras, like the Cathedral were very nice, the bus driver did an excellent job getting around unexpected construction. This was well worth the price, a bargain.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was great! The guides spoke English, French, and Japanese. The visit to the Mumm champagne place was interesting enough but we really loved seeing Moët and Chandon. The on site guide was very engaging (we know enough French that we opted for the French guide) and loved the tour, the tunnels, the fascinating history, and the beautiful countryside. Good value for a wonderful day!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent day ! Great way to see the area if you are on a limited time frame.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful day. Had a lovely time learning all about Champagne then taste testing. Well worth the trip.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

John E
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Learned a lot about champagne and the making of!!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message