Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 759 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friend and I truly enjoyed everything about the day trip to Reims! The guides were courteous, friendly and fluent in all languages required. The bus was very prompt and clean and comfortable. The tours of the champagne wineries were well chosen and very interesting. We can't wait to try Mumm and Mercier champagne at home - it may be our new favorite drink!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour enjoyed all of it particularly the train ride through Mercier cellars

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great guide and comfortable transportation.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! Highly recommneded

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was exactly as described on the Viator website!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour. Wonderful Guides. Great explanations. Beautiful clean bus and the two Champaigneries we went to were delightful. A great Day Trip from Paris which I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Saw some magnificent scenery, thoroughly enjoyed the tours at Mumm and Mercier - nice relaxing day! Would have liked to have a couple of photo stops - especially along the river valley!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

4.5 star. Great guide. Very informative. The champagne we tasted was good but i would have preferred the higher quality wine. Overall this is a worthwhile tasting and tour

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

PPPLLL
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wish we could spend some time in a vineyard and one more cellar.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very good and informative.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

maywindfelder
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour. Enjoyed it a lot. My one comment is that there are apparently different levels of tasting, depending on your ticket. Viator sells the Cordon Rouge lowest level so if you want a bit more out of the tasting, you might want to ask at the front desk to see if an upgrade is possible. Initially I was offered the 3 pm English tour, but when I asked for an earlier time, they accommodated me with the 11 am tour. At that time, many workers were on lunch break so we didn't get to see them at work. The tour of the cellars was fascinating but the displays were not necessarily self-explanatory. I recommend coming with some good questions about the making of champagne.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The staff was very friendly and spoke English fluently. The tour took us thru the Mumm cellars and the guide was able to speak about how the champagne from the 1860's survived both world wars. Fascinating stuff.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

overall Champagne tour and tasting was 3hrs Max, the rest of the 9hr day was traveling or wandering around. The english speaking tour guide spoke so monotone and his english was very poor, could hardly understand him.
worth doing just to see the champagne region

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Not value for money. One glass of Champagne at each winery. Nothing new but the train ride at Mercier was memorable

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

Not value for money. One champagne at each venue - no choice. Mercier train ride was good

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Very pricey. We took the delux tasting tour and paid 87 for 2 glasses of champagne. Host spoke excellent English. Guard would not open the gate when we arrived and we had to drive around a find parking offsite. I would not do this if had it to do again.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Robert H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Interesting tour and well organised to see two cellars and time for lunch.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We were a bit disappointed we didn't get to Moët and Chandon. Our visit to Mumm was the highlight and the host there was delightful not to mention the Champagne - wow! Our guide on the tour itself was hard to hear in the Riems Cathedral and not very engaging, though this did not detract from the tour. Coach was comfortable. Lunch at our own cost was at a little cafe across from where the coach parked and was one of the best meals we had in France.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour bus, I would recommend it as its an easy way to go around the entire city. This also avioids taking the train anywhere you go. The only downfall would be they only operate till 6PM or close to that time, and it makes it hard to continue touring, and sometimes 6PM is right in the middle of the worst Tube traffice imaginable.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I found this tour to be a good escape into the country. We visited two champagne houses and my thanks and compliments go out to Mumm Champagne House for their professional and friendly tour of their premises. The departure point of the tour is central and easy to find and our tour guides were friendly and helpful. This tour also includes free time at lunch in Reims where we had ample time to have lunch and tour the cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

I have been on several tours on the same trip in the Bordeaux region and they were amazing, so much passion and knowledge of their art. The G.H. Mumm tour has been the worst tour i have ever been on, viewed the cellar but it was a robotic impartial tour. I purchased the blanc et noir experience, a couple of glasses were poured and the tour leader walked away. Very poor representation for a large respected vinter. I wish i hadn't wasted my time.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Make sure you confirm with Mumm direct dont simply rely on the fact that youve made the booking!

The tour guide was informative witty and the tour itself fascinating. We would go again just to see the caves!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message