Insider's Guide to Champagne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 738 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We were a bit disappointed we didn't get to Moët and Chandon. Our visit to Mumm was the highlight and the host there was delightful not to mention the Champagne - wow! Our guide on the tour itself was hard to hear in the Riems Cathedral and not very engaging, though this did not detract from the tour. Coach was comfortable. Lunch at our own cost was at a little cafe across from where the coach parked and was one of the best meals we had in France.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour bus, I would recommend it as its an easy way to go around the entire city. This also avioids taking the train anywhere you go. The only downfall would be they only operate till 6PM or close to that time, and it makes it hard to continue touring, and sometimes 6PM is right in the middle of the worst Tube traffice imaginable.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I found this tour to be a good escape into the country. We visited two champagne houses and my thanks and compliments go out to Mumm Champagne House for their professional and friendly tour of their premises. The departure point of the tour is central and easy to find and our tour guides were friendly and helpful. This tour also includes free time at lunch in Reims where we had ample time to have lunch and tour the cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour. Make sure you confirm with Mumm direct dont simply rely on the fact that youve made the booking!

The tour guide was informative witty and the tour itself fascinating. We would go again just to see the caves!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Learned a lot from this tour, it was fun, entertaining, and awesome.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A very interesting tour. We were keen to see the Moet and Chandon cellars which were closed for the season and the organizers were aware of this at time of booking which to our mind was misleading. The substitute cellar was very interesting though.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Very informative, interesting and enjoyable!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a lovely tour. The bus was comfortable, the hosts friendly, and the stops delightful.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The drive through the countryside, past green rolling hills, vineyards and old villages was lovely. The two champagne tours were interesting. As it is winter the Moët and Chandon winery was closed so we visited another instead. My only complaint was the tour guide, an older gentleman who was extremely difficult to understand. Much of his commentary was mumbled and mispronounced and without listening very carefully I couldnt understand what he was saying. As a speech pathologist I am used to listening to people who have speech difficulties, and even I had difficulty. A combination of not knowing English well enough, so putting emphasis on wrong syllables, and difficulty producing certain sounds, along with his accent, and lack of intonation, made for a difficult listening experience. The champagne however was lovely and I enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Not worth it. And tour guide was bad. He didnt speak Engish clearly at all. Wish he would explain more .

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Lovely tour of the Champagne region. It was great to tour a famous cellar and then a smaller family owned cellar. Enjoyed learning about champagne making as well as the tastings. Reims tour was OK- cathedral was very nice but most everything was closed around it. Great day overall...

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Lovely tour, for the price I would've liked to try more of the champagne at the different wineries.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message