France’s Champagne region is known the world over for its sparkling wines. Indeed, the French government is so protective of champagne wines that the name itself is only bestowed upon vintages that have met the strictest standards. Of course, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 796 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

carole p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day trip to Reims was very well organised and enjoyable. We visited two champagne houses, Mumm and Mercier and saw the famous Reims Cathedral where we also had time for a lunch. It was an easy way to visit a town outside of Paris and good value for money. I will definitely be doing more trips with Viator in the future.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great tour even though we had to attend the French version.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Bruce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable tour to the Champagne Region

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Lei W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a nice trip to the Champagne region to visit a couple of champagne houses and also Reims. It was a beautiful day to be in the province. I've learned a lot about champagne history. The country side was simply beautiful. I only wish our lady tour guide a bit nicer. She seemed only view it as a job just have to do it.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

ryder.jw

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour itself was very good. It was enjoyable and informative and tastings at the champagne cellars were of course fun. The idea of the trip is 5 stars without question. However, and this is nothing against our guides, who were friendly and helpful, but this ended up being a multilingual tour. We had signed up for an English speaking tour and ended up with an English/Chinese/French/Portuguese tour. This was actually quite annoying, as half the time on the bus there would be a guide speaking in a language that we couldn't understand. I understand that people from all over take these tours, but we had specifically signed up for a tour that was marketed as in English. It was frustrating at times but all in all this was a nice day outside of the big city of Paris and it was nice seeing the countryside a bit.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Colette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful coach bus ride with great tour guides. This is a MUST see if you're in Paris!
Similar to doing winery tours, but so much more given that champagne is specific to just this region of the world and no where else!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Tracey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent day out. Well organised and fantasic champagne houses!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

pink

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

love this tour

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Divya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a really good one.
15 min walk from the center of city - Reims.
Champagne tour was really interesting and very informative. The guide who took us through the cellars was friendly and we enjoyed a lot. Its worth your time and money!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Judith A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour of this beautiful region. Would like to return for a more extended visit!
The Reims Cathedral tour was fascinating, too it was so interesting to learn the history of the crowning of all French kings since Clovis.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

jandmbenedetti United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour. The Champagne tour was very interesting and loved going down in the caves. The guides were wonderful. Would highly recommended.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Helen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Dominique was a very knowledgeable guide. It was an enjoyable day. Just amazing to think about all the champagne under ground in that region. The tour of the cathedral at Reims was inspiring. It's so hard to believe how much of that city was destroyed during WWII.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Raymond S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great !

Representative was very thorough and interesting. Tour was great. G.H. Mumm is the only champagne we will be drinking from this point forward.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Marsh M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great guided tour of the Reims cathedral. The GH Mumm and Mercier winery tours were also worthwhile. Definitely increased our appreciation and ongoing consumption of champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Beverly E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

My husband and I were disappointed with this tour. The beginning, the tour at Mumm's, was good, but it went downhill from there. I was looking forward to having a knowledgeable guide for the visit to the the cathedral of Rheims. My feeling was that the guide wanted to get us through it as quickly as possible. I would have learned more by reading the signs. I did enjoy seeing the Marc Chagall windows. Had the afternoon tour been at Moet et Chandon, I'm sure that it would have been very well done. I know that winery is closed for renovation and and that Mercier was a substitute. I think you could have found a better winery as the replacement. The tour was devoid of a personal touch. We were shuffled through by train. Mercier is not in the same category with Moet et Chandon. It felt as if it was slickly packaged for marketing. My husband and I planned to take your Behind-the Scenes Eiffel Tower Tour including Champs-de-Mars's Underground Bunker Tour, but we have decided to skip it. We were looking forward to it, but are concerned now that it would not be better than the Champagne tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Zoila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The whole thing was terrific, fun and a great learning experience

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Gael S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very good tour and info. FYI if you have reservations for the 2 pm tour, the gates are not open u til 1:45 and the guards totally ignore you. When they open, walk ALL the way to the back of the plaza.

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

William W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Ok trip. Got to see 2 champagne cellars which were great! Too much free time for lunch that we would have rather spent touring the area or trying more champagne.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Sarah C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A bit pricey for what it was but overall a nice day. I liked how the two champagne tours were broken up by the tour of the church.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Graham B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A beautiful fine day in Champagne. Only two champagne houses visited plus the Cathedral in Reims. Guide who did the cathedral tour was very good.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Brian W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

For the steep price, this was a lot more touristy than we had expected. We were on a full bus that had four languages so at any given moment the guides were talking in one of four languages for the full 6 hours we spent on the bus all day. We only visited two wineries which were quite industrial, and were left to fend for ourselves in Reims, which was a charming small city. For the high price, renting your own car for the day might be a better option.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

sbwillia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

This was my least favorite activity of Paris. It was a very long day too long for what we actually did. For the amount of money you paid you only get the bus coach, 2 glasses of their cheapest champagne total 1 each stop and a tour of a cathedral. I expected to sample more Champagnes due to the name of the tour and since I am unfamiliar with the champagnes. If you could find a cheaper way to the region and do a direct booking tour with the facility where they let you sample more than 1 Champagne I'd recommend that. This was disappointing overall. It was also difficult to hear the guides on the bus in the back as the speakers were very crackily. It was nice to see the region of France but this was not a tour for those who want to do Champagne tasting. The bottles we tried were 20 euro bottles so nothing exciting. Mercier was cool with the transportation in the cave but again only 1 glass to try at the end where other groups had at least 2. It was also hard to find the meeting point at first for the tour. Overall, for the price, not worth it. This was the consensus of everyone in my group. I wish I spent that money and time better. For those just wanting to see other parts of the country, this is adequate. The champagne houses explain various types of champagnes they make but then you don't get to taste it to understand. I was not trying to get drunk by any means on the trip, but would have loved tiny samples of various champagnes so I'd know which to buy back home. And the buses needed to have better speakers and there was very little room to recline without the people behind you complaining.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

larry h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was great!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Rose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good tour. Our guide was knowledgable.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message