The Champagne Region lies 80 miles (128 km) east of Paris and is one of France’s most historic regions, first mentioned around the time of Emperor Charlemagne in the ninth century. It is a region made world famous for its sparkling wines; thanks to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 653 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christene T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We left on time in a clean and comfortable coach. Our tour guide was amazing and knowledgeable. The scenery on the way to the Champagne Region was breath taking. I really enjoyed the tour of the two Champagne makers and we had plenty of time to tour around Reims and have lunch. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Jackson H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. Was a very interesting tour into the cellars and the process of making champagne. The guide Bastion did a great job at explaining the history and traditions of the label. And, of course, the champagne at the end was fantastic

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very easy day trip, leaving from the very heart of Paris. The two Champagne houses Mumm and Mercier have great tours for the group. Mumm takes you through the process and history of Champagne, and Mercier has an entertaining tram ride through their actual cellars. Plus, you get free Champagne at both places! Lunch is on your own in Reims, which gives yo a chance to visit the big cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Shannon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this tour despite the rainy cold weather most of the day. The visits to the cellars were educational and fun. It was really nice to learn about the region and taste the different champagnes. The history of the notre dame de Riems was really interesting. We also loved the view of the countryside. So picturesque! Our guide was very knowledgeable, answered all of our questions and kept everything on track and smooth. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

MAGNIFIQUE!! My wife and I had an amazing time, and we can't recommend this tour enough. It was the highlight of our whole time in Paris! First off, Alain the tour guide was amazing: so kind, knowledgable and from having lived in NYC like us, he was very conversational in English. Terrific guy! As for the tour itself, we got a great mix of experiences in our three stops: the sensational underground massive cellars of Taittinger, a very small champagne house that served us a home-cooked lunch, and then we finished up with the Salmon family who were charming themselves. I learned a ton about champagne and also had a lot to taste.

We ALMOST decided to try this tour ourselves, and rent a car to drive from Paris to Reims. But why go to all that trouble? Let this tour do all the work for you! Great tour, Alain!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceptional tour. Only 4 guests plus Luiz our guide. We were picked up on time and traffic was light. Had some extra time available so stopped at the Cathedral in Reims as a bonus. Toured Taittinger and was very well received. Guide was very knowledeable and walking through the caves was a very different and worthwhile experience.

Onto La Maison Penet or the house of Alexendre Penet a boutique winery in a Grand Cru grape region in Verzey. Had a tour of the facilities, then onto a delicious lunch with 3 matched Champagnes. Lunch we had bread, salads, pate, charcuterie, 3 types of cheeses, dessert and coffee. The meal was served in a very relaxed, friendly atmosphere. A very rare treat to have the meal served in their family home. Our guides were Alexandre Penet the winemaker, and Justine. They were great hosts and lovely people. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.

The onto another boutique winery Lelarge-Pugeot in Vrigny I think it was called. We toured the vineyards looked at the wine making facilities and tried 3 more Champagnes under the experienced guide of Domique. Another fabulous experience and delightful people.

Then we returned back home full of wonderfull memories and new friends. Our tour guide Luiz was very experienced with wine and was also a fabulous translator if there was a difficult question. Best tour we went on in France! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Craig W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a great tour. The guide was excellent, Champagne delicious, and all three Champagne producers were wonderful hosts. We particularly enjoyed lunch and tasting at La Maison Penet. They even opened an extra bottle on request.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was professional from beginning to end. Our guide, Alain, was knowledgable and very personable. We visited 3 very different champagne houses and all were fantastic. This tour exceeded our expectations. The countryside was beautiful and it was lovely to see the smaller, family run champagne houses.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

carole p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The day trip to Reims was very well organised and enjoyable. We visited two champagne houses, Mumm and Mercier and saw the famous Reims Cathedral where we also had time for a lunch. It was an easy way to visit a town outside of Paris and good value for money. I will definitely be doing more trips with Viator in the future.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Bruce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable tour to the Champagne Region

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Helen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Dominique was a very knowledgeable guide. It was an enjoyable day. Just amazing to think about all the champagne under ground in that region. The tour of the cathedral at Reims was inspiring. It's so hard to believe how much of that city was destroyed during WWII.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

nyredagriffin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great day - Herbert was terrific! He is engaging, well versed in everything Champagne and a wonderful host! Thank you Herbert!!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. We visited 3 wonderful, yet distinctly different champagne houses and enjoyed an amazing, home-cooked lunch at one. Our hosts were warm and welcoming. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and made the whole day very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour and would take it again myself. I will treasure my memories of this day!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

jandmbenedetti United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour. The Champagne tour was very interesting and loved going down in the caves. The guides were wonderful. Would highly recommended.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

MARGIE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our day started with our delightful driver Fred. What a lovely gentleman. This tour is fantastic, being only a small group of 8 people. The scenery was fantastic, our trip to a small champagne producer was the highlight of our tour and the champagne was delicious. We then went to lunch and tasted some superb french cuisine at a restaurant in Reims, all included in the price of our tour. Our tour of the G H Mumm Champagne house was brilliant. A tour not to be missed. Wonderful -- A

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Divya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a really good one.
15 min walk from the center of city - Reims.
Champagne tour was really interesting and very informative. The guide who took us through the cellars was friendly and we enjoyed a lot. Its worth your time and money!

Doing what: G.H. Mumm Champagne House Cellar Tour

Bonnie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were picked up on time at our hotel by a lovely guide who had lots of knowledge and history. She educated us on France and the wine region on our way to two different champagne houses. Each was interesting in their own ways and gave us a good idea of how small champagne houses differ from the large champagne houses. The lunch was fantastic and overall we had a great day on this tour. It was so enjoyable having someone else do the planning allowing us to sit back, relax and enjoy our day.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Tracey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent day out. Well organised and fantasic champagne houses!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Colette B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful coach bus ride with great tour guides. This is a MUST see if you're in Paris!
Similar to doing winery tours, but so much more given that champagne is specific to just this region of the world and no where else!

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Nancy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Magnus was very helpful and knowledgable about the region. We visited two champagne houses but liked the Dauby one the best. If you have a day don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris by Minivan

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What an excellent way to spend a day in France. Visiting wineries large and small was very interesting.
Lunch at one of the smaller winery was excellent and all champagne tasting was superb. A must-do !!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Kevin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I have already responded to your request to rate our trip to Champagne.

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Christine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour!! We loved being in a smaller group just us and another couple and our tour guide was knowledgeable and very funny. We were disappointed at first that we didn't get to go to Moet and Chandon but we LOVED Mercier and their champagne. We bought a bottle to bring home. The visit to Mumm was fantastic. Seeing where Dom Perignon was buried was fascinating and we loved visiting the cathedral in Reims. We enjoyed walking around Reims and even stopped into a champagne shop and bought some Dom Perignon. I would recommend this tour and Viator. Very professional and organized and an amazing tour. Cheers!

Doing what: Champagne Tour from Paris: Moet and Chandon, Hautvillers and the House of Mumm

Elizabeth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was such a wonderful experience! Our guide was incredible! Louie was very knowledgeable and very personable. He answered all our questions and exceeded our expectations. We went to a larger Champagne house first, which was really extraordinary. Next we headed into the countryside for lunch and more tastings. It was a quaint little village and we got the inside scoop on Dom Perignon the man himself, which was very enlightening. We ended our tour with a stop at a boutique family run champagne house. This was BY FAR my favorite. Monsieur Salmon, of Salmon Champagne was adorable. Even though he didn't speak a word of English, he was charming and I very much respected the work he and his family have been doing for generations. I highly recommend this tour, as it was the perfect end to our Paris vacation!

Doing what: Small-Group Wine-Tasting Trip to the Champagne Region from Paris

Lady Di Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a wonderful tour full of interesting facts and deep down secrets of the process and history of making champagne with the added bonus of some FULL glass samples from the wineries you visit. I was lucky and got to visit my favourite champagne supplier, G.H.Mumm. Heaven. Highly recommend this tour, 11 hours is very long though. Too much time spent in the village with spare time for lunch after visiting the Reims cathedral.

Doing what: Champagne Region Day Trip from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message