Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

There are few images more iconic to southwestern China than that of the giant panda. Unfortunately, despite its status as a Chinese national treasure, the giant panda population has been whittled down to just 1,000 pandas due to mass human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful experience- good guide, interesting information, fabulous experience getting to be so close to a live Panda. The organization and implementation of getting up close and personal was certainly worth the additional fee.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything you thought it should be. The guide was very good and helpful, covers a big area so a lot of walking was involved.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Great guide. Safe driver. Sam spoke excellent English. He picked us up at 7.30am to get to the base early. It's 92 acres so a fair bit of walking but Sam took us to all the best places, without a guide you may get lost! He was v informative. By 11.30 it's v crowded, get there early!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a brilliant day, we helped to look after pandas all day had a lovely lunch and my daughter and me had photos with a 2 year old panda. This tour was organised through Samtours and Sam picked us up from our hotel and looked after us all day at this wonderful place. We used Samtours all week including airport transfers. We had an excellent driver Mr Cheung and Andy, Lilleth, Rosa and Carol were our tour guides. We had a brilliant time in Chengdu with wonderful memories. Thank you Sam

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great experience and our Guide was very knowledgeable. Especially when having very limited time this tour is amazing as the Guide knows exactly where to go to see the pandas. The research base is enormous and we would have easily wasted a couple of hours in the park just by searching for the pandas. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time at the Chengdu Panda Breeding Center. To us, it was the main reason to visit Chengdu and we were not dissapointed. Our tourguide (Kevin) picked us up at the right time, spoke very good English and could explain all that he knew about the panda's and could guide us to all the good spots in the park. Even after the tour he dropped us of at a good spot in Chengdu he recommended. We would certainly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely recommend this tour. Communication was great. They picked us up at our hotel with Enflish speaking guide. Took us to panda reserve, provided tour and facilitated the extra panda interaction. Finished mid-day just as crowds were growing and brought us back to our hotel. Perfect all around!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very interesting day of work. My center guide was very knowledgeable and I learned much about the Pandas. When you volunteer to work, you work! It was a once in a lifetime experience and I was glad that I could help support the Center.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The whole experience was great. Kevin was fantastic and told us not only of the pandas but also more about Chengdu and China. Your driver was also very good and drove us around savely.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent - the guide was knowledgeable and friendly, spoke good English and picked me up on time. It's worth starting early since we saw the pandas at their best, before the massive crowds came out.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A great experience and a dream trip for a true pandaphile. My guide picked me up right on time at my hotel and we arrived at the center well before the crowds. The center was beautiful -- a Ritz Carlton for pandas -- in a lush, bamboo forested setting. My guide (Kevin) was friendly, but not overbearing, and I really enjoyed my tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was great and our guide clearly knew how and where to get the best views. He was a great character and set out from the beginning to have fun with us and get us the best Panda viewings

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This entire experience was a bucket list for me, not only did I get to touch a Panda, but I had the chance to feed a few of the Pandas. on the down side to this tour was that I thought I was going to the Chengdu but I was in Wolong, I was nice was because it had way less tourist. You really don't hold a Panda, you sit next to them, but I totally understand, 1 1/2 year old Panda that is some what wild. overall I would do it again because I turned from 33 to a kid again.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Note from Viator: Please note, the itinerary of this tour has changed since this review has been posted. The opportunity to hold a panda is no longer available to ensure the health and well-being of the animals.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Volunteering to work around the Panda's for a day was a magical experience. If you are looking for something different than the typical visit to the research center, don't hesitate to book the volunteer program.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent experience for me and my wife. We absolutely love pandas. We had a chance to feed the pandas two different times and spend a lot of close up time with them. The panda holding was something we will remember for the rest of our lives. The whole experience was unrushed and was exclusive the day we were there. My wife is already talking about doing the experience again on a future trip to China.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Note from Viator: Please note, the itinerary of this tour has changed since this review has been posted. The opportunity to hold a panda is no longer available to ensure the health and well-being of the animals.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message