Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

There are few images more iconic to southwestern China than that of the giant panda. Unfortunately, despite its status as a Chinese national treasure, the giant panda population has been whittled down to just 1,000 pandas due to mass human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing five start experience and family friendly. The staff were helpful and knowledgable, worth every penny! Def do the photo with a panda portion -- the absolute best!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Nicola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Superb tour with an excellent guide who was very knowledgeable about the pandas and the centre and allowed us as much time as we wanted to enjoy the pandas. Car used was high quality - overall would highly recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is an expensive day, especially if you have the photo too which I did and would highly recommend, plus much of that cost goes towards the wellbeing of pandas, but it is an amazing once in a lifetime, must-do, experience. cant recommend enough. This day will stay with me forever... but I do love pandas!

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Rodjack Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an amazing experience. To see the pandas up close, playing and eating, was great. Would recommend getting there early in the morning while they are awake and eating. Our guide was Andy and she was fantastic!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Renee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Just a really cool experience! I opted for the Baby Panda Holding, which as other commentators noted, is only a few minutes, and goes by really quickly. However, the whole trip was really cool, and I was really pleased with the service provider. My initial confirmation called for hotel pickup at 0730... but that didn't happen. Unfortunately, the Chinese gov't canceled the morning appointments unexpectedly they do own the pandas. However, we were rescheduled for the afternoon. My guide ended up dropping me off at the airport. On the way there, my guide and I chatted about Sichuan weather, culture, and norms. It was overall a fantastic exerience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Andy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very enjoyable tour, our guide Sam was very knowledgable about the local area and organised our day perfectly. Although the panda centre was our highlight, the monastery was very interesting and our rest in the park in the tea house was a lovely look into Chinese culture. I would recommend this tour, as we only had two days in Chengdu it was a fantastic way to spend a day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

marcella.martinez9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The baby panda holding was the best! I regret not doing the two day volunteer program.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great morning visiting the Panda Centre with Andi. Something you must do when you visit Chengdu. If you go early you can still avoid the crowds. Andi was great to talk to and gave me a better understanding of life in Chengdu.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

mliu01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is expensive but worth it! It gave my daughter and I opportunity to get close to the pandas. We had great fun feeding them...even cleaning the poop in the cage.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended. Jeli was a fantastic tour guide who was very fun and helpful. She taught me a lot about the pandas and made the whole trip an even nicer experience.

The experience of holding the panda was extremely quick and rushed, but a great moment nonetheless. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

BA pwd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

what a fantastic day - up close to the pandas! Not too many people, so perfect for those also to the pandas experiences, feeding them by hand etc. The work programme was pretty relaxed and low energy if you wanted - broke the day up nicely, great lunch in the workers canteen, excellent food! Overall a real highlight of our China/Tibet trip and highly recommended. our guide was a star, spoke excellent English and very helpful and knowledge able etc.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

phillip s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Today it was my birthday and I'm off to see the pandas. I was met by the wonderful Jeli and we set off at 07:30. Arriving at the base Jeli led the way and I was not disappointed with great views of the big cuddly ones. We then saw the younger pandas then the red pandas. As we were walking back we visited the film theatre and could see the value of getting to the centre early as there were large groups entering .A wonderful morning. We left for lunch and the sightseeing tour. Such a lovely day with tea and snacks at the end , A lovely birthday in the company of Jeli who was fantastic

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great experience and great tour. Expensive but in the end, worth every penny. Picked us up on time in the morning from hotel in a clean spacious car. We went to a panda center about 1.5 hours away which is not open to general public. Only organized tours. In 8 hours, maybe only saw another 30 tourists. No crowds but tons of pandas. We got to clean the cage a little, feed pandas, walked around and ate lunch with the local workers. The best thing was we paid the additional RMB 1,800 for our kid to sit with panda. The panda even looked over and put his paw on her at one point. Amazing. Such a wonderful day.

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this tour from Viator, it was easy, safe and value for money.
In China the company that ran the tour was amazing.
Our guide Green picked us up in a private car with friendly driver. Our guide was polite, courteous, friendly and very knowledgable about ChengDu.
Our tour included: Panda Research Centre where in March we saw 6 month old panda cubs, visit to the wide and narrow alleys, lovely vegetarian lunch and look around a rarely seen Buddhist Monastery, we then proceeded to the People's Park where the retired dance and socialise. We went and had tea at a traditional tea house, where we socialised and had our ears cleaned like the locals. We finished our day with traditional snacks from a restaurant in the park where the same recipes have been used for generations.
We loved ChengDu and felt this tour allowed us to see it from a locals viewpoint, our experience was enhanced due to the openness and kindness of our wonderful guide.
Thank you Viator, tour company, but especially to Green our guide you really made this trip amazing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

Looloo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our main reason for visiting chengdu was to see the panda's and we weren't disappointed. Our guide was very knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic tour. Guide was amazing. She didnt rush us and explained things as we went. Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the pandas. We even got to see one playing in the water like it was giving itself a bath.
Roger and Kaye
New Zealand

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely loved this! Our guide, Kevin, was a courteous, knowledgeable and friendly companion; he gave us insights which helped us make a return visit the following day (including heading to the quieter parts of the centre). He was also very efficient in making arrangements for the highlight of the tour - meeting a young panda. He cheerfully took photos and amused us with stories and information about the centre and its inhabitants. He also shared much about life in Chengdu.

I can't recommend this tour too highly. Our guide was outstanding - thank you Kevin! And visiting the centre was an amazing, unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Phillip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Andy picked us up at our hotel and took us to the Panda centre. We had wanted to have a photo with a panda and Andy organised this for us. We went on to a Buddhist monastery for lunch and Andy helped us choose foods which we would like. She then took us to a quaint tourist shopping area, then onto the peoples park where we walked around and had tea and relaxed, later in the evening we had some snacks for dinner. All in all it was a great day. Andy went out of her way to make sure the day was excellent. The day was well panned with lots of interesting things to do and see. Even our driver was great, very pleasant and always ready to pick us up and take us to the next destination. I would definitely recommend this tour, without Andy there is no way we could pack so much into one day, but having someone else do all the organising it still felt really relaxed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such an amazing tour! It ended up being a private tour for just the two of us, which I hadn't expected. Our guide was very friendly, great about taking us to all the good spots and extremely patient with my photo taking! She set up the panda holding for us which was amazing. So cool to be able to sit next to the panda and take pictures. Loved the breeding center as a whole, would go back in a heart beat! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Anita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My guide, Andy, was friendly and spoke excellent English. She was informative and clearly loves her job.
Was picked up in time and going to centre early is best time to enjoy panda watching.
Panda holding was highlight of my trip to China.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Jessica M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely amazing experience. Our guide and driver were both incredibly friendly and polite. We got to spend a lot of time walking through the different exclosures and our guide helped us to take lots of photos. We also opted for the photo with a panda.. I wasn't sure what to expect but everyone involved was very accommodating. My mum and I both had individual photos and photos together. The staff took our cameras for us and were just snapping away the entire time. We also received amazing gift bags for our 'donations' which included framed photos of our panda cuddle, a tshirt and a panda toy which we were not expecting. The tour was also very informative about pandas and their extinction troubles. We arrived at the park at around 8.45 and we left at around 1pm. We probably could have spent more time just watching the Pandas if we had been on our own but the park was definitely starting to fill up with people by that time so it was great that we had been there so early and got such a good look at these amazing animals.
I would highly recommend for anyone who loves pandas or animals.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

kvpogoda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful experience- good guide, interesting information, fabulous experience getting to be so close to a live Panda. The organization and implementation of getting up close and personal was certainly worth the additional fee.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a brilliant day, we helped to look after pandas all day had a lovely lunch and my daughter and me had photos with a 2 year old panda. This tour was organised through Samtours and Sam picked us up from our hotel and looked after us all day at this wonderful place. We used Samtours all week including airport transfers. We had an excellent driver Mr Cheung and Andy, Lilleth, Rosa and Carol were our tour guides. We had a brilliant time in Chengdu with wonderful memories. Thank you Sam

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

Katharina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great experience and our Guide was very knowledgeable. Especially when having very limited time this tour is amazing as the Guide knows exactly where to go to see the pandas. The research base is enormous and we would have easily wasted a couple of hours in the park just by searching for the pandas. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message