Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

There are few images more iconic to southwestern China than that of the giant panda. Unfortunately, despite its status as a Chinese national treasure, the giant panda population has been whittled down to just 1,000 pandas due to mass human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent experience for me and my wife. We absolutely love pandas. We had a chance to feed the pandas two different times and spend a lot of close up time with them. The panda holding was something we will remember for the rest of our lives. The whole experience was unrushed and was exclusive the day we were there. My wife is already talking about doing the experience again on a future trip to China.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was truly amazing, from my tour guide Andie (she's awesome; request her if you can, and tip her well, she's a wealth of knowledge and really sweet, with a very good command of English) to Sam, who ensured I got the airport on time after the tour. It seems pricey up front, but if you are a fan of pandas, this will be something you remember for the rest of your life. Can't recommend this highly enough.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Booked from the UK before we left, this visit was added to a different two week tour with another provider and it worked perfectly. The guide, a Panda Research Centre employee, met us at our hotel 10 minutes early, we picked up the only other couple on our tour and arrived at the Panda Research Centre ahead of the crowds. Our guide was enthusiastic, very informative and well worth the price for the trip. We had ample time to visit all the available viewing sites and he even arranged for us to meet up with our "parent" tour group who were on a locally arranged visit. It wasn't till we compared notes afterwards that we discovered what good value the Viator visit was! And, of course, the Pandas were captivating - busy eating and playing happily. We would recommend this visit to anyone lucky enough to be in Chengdu during a China holiday, but do go early - Pandas are morning creatures!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Seeing the Pandas was a once in a lifetime day. Our guide, Andy, was very informative and helped us have a great day.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Kevin was my tour guide and arrived right on time speaking wonderful English!! Making a last minute booking I did not know if it went through and it did thanks to Viator as this was to be a one time adventure. The tour was so informative and easily laid out and timing perfect. He was a great help with getting me in for the picture and on the end gave us a suggestion for the evening. Again with a pick up on time went to the opera and he arranged perfect front seats for one of the best entertainment shows Ever! We were thrilled with Kevin and the tour, money very well spent.
Sandy

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This entire experience was a bucket list for me, not only did I get to touch a Panda, but I had the chance to feed a few of the Pandas. on the down side to this tour was that I thought I was going to the Chengdu but I was in Wolong, I was nice was because it had way less tourist. You really don't hold a Panda, you sit next to them, but I totally understand, 1 1/2 year old Panda that is some what wild. overall I would do it again because I turned from 33 to a kid again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day with a wonderful informed guide... Thank you

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I booked this activity for my two teenage boys, husband and self. It was "amazing."
To be that close to the Pandas and hand feeding them was a memory we will all cherish. Well worth every dollar paid as you are taken behind the gates where the general public aren't allowed to access.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

They picked us up from our hotel right to the park.....this is a plus since we are English speaking and catching a cab is difficult. They reserve was beautiful in a very busy city.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was fantastic. Our guide, Kevin, was brilliant! Great with our kids (ages 7 and 10). Provided loads of great information and was a lovely guy. The pandas were amazing. While the cost of the baby panda holding is very high - it was amazing. A once in a lifetime experience. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An awesome experience! The English-speaking tour guide and driver were superb! Holding a baby panda gives you such a wonderful feeling that cannot be described! Well worth the extra donation! Definitely don't hesitate booking a tour through Viator!!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Awesome experience. If you want to be able to get behind the scenes and feed Pandas, prepare their bamboo food, clean up their enclosures, a volunteer day is a great way to do it. My English speaking tour guide picked me up at my hotel in the morning. It's roughly a 2 hour drive from Chengdu. When we arrived we walked around viewing Pandas for a little while before I put in the overalls and gloves and reported for 'duty'. There were 6 volunteers that day and we got bamboo ready to feed them, swept and mopped up, then it was time to take turns feeding one of the Pandas. Then I had free time for the guide to show me around the facility to view other Pandas in their enclosures. Periodically during the day I went back for more duties and feeding Pandas. Had a delicious lunch with my guide and driver across the road (with free wifi too). Whilst I would have loved to have taken a photo holding a Panda, the cost was too much for my budget. As a volunteer I was able to take as many photos as I wanted while they were being fed and feeling their warm breath on my hand while feeding them and hearing their sounds of contentment when eating the food - especially apples being their favourite was such a special experience I will treasure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Volunteer at Panda Breeding Center with Optional Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message