Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding

There are few images more iconic to southwestern China than that of the giant panda. Unfortunately, despite its status as a Chinese national treasure, the giant panda population has been whittled down to just 1,000 pandas due to mass human ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We booked this tour from Viator, it was easy, safe and value for money.
In China the company that ran the tour was amazing.
Our guide Green picked us up in a private car with friendly driver. Our guide was polite, courteous, friendly and very knowledgable about ChengDu.
Our tour included: Panda Research Centre where in March we saw 6 month old panda cubs, visit to the wide and narrow alleys, lovely vegetarian lunch and look around a rarely seen Buddhist Monastery, we then proceeded to the People's Park where the retired dance and socialise. We went and had tea at a traditional tea house, where we socialised and had our ears cleaned like the locals. We finished our day with traditional snacks from a restaurant in the park where the same recipes have been used for generations.
We loved ChengDu and felt this tour allowed us to see it from a locals viewpoint, our experience was enhanced due to the openness and kindness of our wonderful guide.
Thank you Viator, tour company, but especially to Green our guide you really made this trip amazing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our main reason for visiting chengdu was to see the panda's and we weren't disappointed. Our guide was very knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic tour. Guide was amazing. She didnt rush us and explained things as we went. Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the pandas. We even got to see one playing in the water like it was giving itself a bath.
Roger and Kaye
New Zealand

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely loved this! Our guide, Kevin, was a courteous, knowledgeable and friendly companion; he gave us insights which helped us make a return visit the following day (including heading to the quieter parts of the centre). He was also very efficient in making arrangements for the highlight of the tour - meeting a young panda. He cheerfully took photos and amused us with stories and information about the centre and its inhabitants. He also shared much about life in Chengdu.

I can't recommend this tour too highly. Our guide was outstanding - thank you Kevin! And visiting the centre was an amazing, unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour leader very good. The breeding centre is very interesting, would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Andy picked us up at our hotel and took us to the Panda centre. We had wanted to have a photo with a panda and Andy organised this for us. We went on to a Buddhist monastery for lunch and Andy helped us choose foods which we would like. She then took us to a quaint tourist shopping area, then onto the peoples park where we walked around and had tea and relaxed, later in the evening we had some snacks for dinner. All in all it was a great day. Andy went out of her way to make sure the day was excellent. The day was well panned with lots of interesting things to do and see. Even our driver was great, very pleasant and always ready to pick us up and take us to the next destination. I would definitely recommend this tour, without Andy there is no way we could pack so much into one day, but having someone else do all the organising it still felt really relaxed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Chengdu Sightseeing with Panda Breeding Center Visit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Such an amazing tour! It ended up being a private tour for just the two of us, which I hadn't expected. Our guide was very friendly, great about taking us to all the good spots and extremely patient with my photo taking! She set up the panda holding for us which was amazing. So cool to be able to sit next to the panda and take pictures. Loved the breeding center as a whole, would go back in a heart beat! I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My guide, Andy, was friendly and spoke excellent English. She was informative and clearly loves her job.
Was picked up in time and going to centre early is best time to enjoy panda watching.
Panda holding was highlight of my trip to China.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely amazing experience. Our guide and driver were both incredibly friendly and polite. We got to spend a lot of time walking through the different exclosures and our guide helped us to take lots of photos. We also opted for the photo with a panda.. I wasn't sure what to expect but everyone involved was very accommodating. My mum and I both had individual photos and photos together. The staff took our cameras for us and were just snapping away the entire time. We also received amazing gift bags for our 'donations' which included framed photos of our panda cuddle, a tshirt and a panda toy which we were not expecting. The tour was also very informative about pandas and their extinction troubles. We arrived at the park at around 8.45 and we left at around 1pm. We probably could have spent more time just watching the Pandas if we had been on our own but the park was definitely starting to fill up with people by that time so it was great that we had been there so early and got such a good look at these amazing animals.
I would highly recommend for anyone who loves pandas or animals.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a wonderful experience- good guide, interesting information, fabulous experience getting to be so close to a live Panda. The organization and implementation of getting up close and personal was certainly worth the additional fee.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything you thought it should be. The guide was very good and helpful, covers a big area so a lot of walking was involved.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Great guide. Safe driver. Sam spoke excellent English. He picked us up at 7.30am to get to the base early. It's 92 acres so a fair bit of walking but Sam took us to all the best places, without a guide you may get lost! He was v informative. By 11.30 it's v crowded, get there early!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a brilliant day, we helped to look after pandas all day had a lovely lunch and my daughter and me had photos with a 2 year old panda. This tour was organised through Samtours and Sam picked us up from our hotel and looked after us all day at this wonderful place. We used Samtours all week including airport transfers. We had an excellent driver Mr Cheung and Andy, Lilleth, Rosa and Carol were our tour guides. We had a brilliant time in Chengdu with wonderful memories. Thank you Sam

Doing what: Panda Rescue Center Volunteer for a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a great experience and our Guide was very knowledgeable. Especially when having very limited time this tour is amazing as the Guide knows exactly where to go to see the pandas. The research base is enormous and we would have easily wasted a couple of hours in the park just by searching for the pandas. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time at the Chengdu Panda Breeding Center. To us, it was the main reason to visit Chengdu and we were not dissapointed. Our tourguide (Kevin) picked us up at the right time, spoke very good English and could explain all that he knew about the panda's and could guide us to all the good spots in the park. Even after the tour he dropped us of at a good spot in Chengdu he recommended. We would certainly recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Half-Day Chengdu Panda Breeding Center Tour with Optional Baby Panda Holding

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message