Chengdu ATTRACTIONS See all

Leshan Grand Buddha

The 233-foot (71-meter) tall Grand Buddha in Leshan (also called the Leshan Giant Buddha) holds the record as both the tallest stone Buddha sculpture and one of the tallest sculptures anywhere in the world. Construction of the Buddha, carved out of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great day out. Its still hard to grasp the scale after seeing it. Great food included too

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Vladimir C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had time to do both to sail to the Buddha and to walk to it. The second is more interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Zoe X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Monastery stay is superrrr, with walking distances to restaurants, grocery stores! Highly recommended! Rachel Pan, my tour guide now we are friends! is really awesome. She is patient, and takes good care of me despite weather was not in our favor. Our driver, Jerry is also helpful and plan ahead to manage timings of trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Leshan Grand Buddha and Emei Shan including Monastery Stay

phillip s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I was met by my guide the wonderful Jeli from samtour and our driver. We drove to leshan. I chose to take the boat to the Buddha. The boat only spends about 5 mins in front of the Buddha but that was enough for a great view and some nice pictures. Aftrewards we had a very tasty lunch in a leshan restaurant. All in all another pleasant day compliments of viator and samtour

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Dennis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great 2-day excursion - Andy our personal guide was FANTASTIC!!!

Thanks so much for a wonderful experience. I will always check on Viator first when traveling!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Leshan Grand Buddha and Emei Shan including Monastery Stay

ed m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great trip! My guide Andy was excellent and spoke very good English. She was very knowledgeable about the different places and sites. The restaurants we ate at was also excellent!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Leshan Grand Buddha and Emei Shan including Monastery Stay

Susannah v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an amazing time in Leshan. Our guide, Andy, taught us so much and made it a great day. Lunch in the village was fantastic too.
Thank you!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

lisawilliamson001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Trip was fabulous, Lilian our guide was great and spoke English well. Mt Emei was awesome, well worth the trip, would highly reccommend this two day trip, bus trip up the mountain pretty hairy though. Professional service by Viator, most organised of our other day trips booked with other companies.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Leshan Grand Buddha and Emei Shan including Monastery Stay

Ana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic!!
Although the weather was not great at all (it raining during 2 days), I had a great time.
Leshan and Emei Shan areas are really worth seeing... the mist even made those places more especial.
My guide was very helpful giving me all the extra details regarding the different temples and places.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Leshan Grand Buddha and Emei Shan including Monastery Stay

Gareth J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our best guide of our Chinese trip. Very friendly and helpful. Awesome lunch too.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Amazing big buddha and great way to enjoy other aspect of SIchuan besides the pandas!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Linda T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was willing to tailor the trip to our wishes. She was informed and very pleasant her English was excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Ariane K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

both the pandas and the buddha were very special and worth visiting. My guide Joy was lovely, very down to earth. The trip to Leshan is a few hours, so it's a long, tiring day.

Doing what: Day Tour: Chengdu Panda Breeding Base and Leshan Giant Buddha

steaders

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Firstly our guide 'Coral' was excellent, very friendly, spoke good English and the driver was first class especially with the traffic and 'non existent rules of the road it would appear'. The journey to Lesham takes about 2 hours and Coral gave us an excellent commentary during this journey. Unfortunately the weather was dreadful, luckily had umbrella with us. On arrival the crowds were everywhere, good job did not arrive in height of season. Throughout the visit to the Buddha, Coral gave a good history and explanation and we had a laugh. The wait to walk down the Buddha and up again was around 2 hours so we declined due to the weather conditions but Coral made up for this with her commentary. The lunch was superb. One observation perhaps to improve this visit is to climb up and be given the commentary and visit the temples then proceed to the 'boat option' rather than waiting up to 2 hours to fully view the statue then followed by the lunch, that way everybody would see everything. The return journey to the hotel took again another 2 hours so a very full day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Merlene W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour leader and driver very good. very interesting trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Jessica M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a really great day. Its a long drive out to Leshan from Chengdu but we arrived in plenty of time to beat the big rush of people. Our guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. The actual trek itself was a little more challenging than I had anticipated, especially going up.. but with a few little breaks it was very manageable. We were very lucky with lines, we barely had to wait at all and our guide said that in peak seasons it can be a 4hr wait to see the buddha.. something people should keep in mind when booking this tour during the popular months. The included lunch was also good… Not the best food I had while in Chengdu, but warm and filling after our big climb. It was a pretty perfect day, my only complaint (and its not an overly big one) is that neither our driver or our guide wore seat belts in the car despite being on a freeway at over 100kms an hour. It made the journey a little nerve wracking, especially considering how insane traffic is in China compared to what were used to at home. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Chengdu

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

dsrosenfelt

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was an unforgettable experience--not always easy, but consistently fascinating. My guide, Andy, was well-informed, energetic, and enthusiastic. The Leshan Grand Buddha was worth the trip in itself--huge and impressive. I didn't make the long walk the down the stairway to its base--it was drizzling, and the stairs looked a bit slippery--but it was an awesome sight even from the top. The monastery at the base of Mt. Emai was serene, lovely, peaceful (or as peaceful as China gets). The ascent up Mt. Emai was a bit hair-raising--a couple of hours on steep mountain roads, many hairpin curves, and a driver who passed every vehicle we caught up with, including other tour buses--all while screaming at the other drivers for being too slow. The climb to the cable car and from the cable car to the peak was easy enough, and the ride in the cable car itself was spectacular--I gather that we were lucky, because we had a fairly clear day at least at first, and that is apparently only rarely the case. There are only a couple of minor reasons why I'm giving the tour 4 stars instead of 5. First, the description should have been more specific about what transpires on which day--I thought we were ascending the mountain on the first day and sleeping in a monastery on top--which affected when I took altitude pills. No, the monastery is at the base of the mountain. Second, my room at the monastery was deep inside it, off a conference room that a group of tourists used for meeting--very noisy--instead of on the outside, looking over the courtyard. The rooms themselves are fine, simple but comfortable, but the bathrooms are on a different level, and I did have a touch of turista--so that was a bit inconvenient. Nevertheless--a memorable experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Leshan Grand Buddha and Emei Shan including Monastery Stay

Barbara S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Very nice tour guide and amazing buddha. We thought it was a real hike but even small children can do these stairs. Don't take the boat, but line up to walk down.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Debbie A Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Be prepared for big crowds of people, the Grand Buddha is very popular. There is more then just the Grand Buddha to see, so ensure that if you want to walk down a path and see where is goes you tell the guide as there are some spots in the scenic area that people do not go to.
We skipped the very long wait in line to walk down the stairs to the foot of the Buddha and opted to take the boat instead which was extra but well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Angela B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Really worth seeing despite the queue at the entrance and the humidity, the fog and the heat. Car, driver and guide were good. Lunch was decent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Matthaeus Z

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

A great experience and really worth seeing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Karen L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Great tour, well organized and very accommodating guide and driver. The lunch was good, and we feel like we got to see and do everything we wanted. The tour guide's English was limited, but she was very patient with all of our questions. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Amelia B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide, Lilian, was very helpful and spoke English really well. She was very infomative about the history of the site. It was extremely crowded when we went, as it was during the Mid-Autumn festival, so she helped us buy tickets to see the Buddha from the river. The lunch was decent, from a little restaurant across the road and she let us help choose the meal. The only criticism I have is that my friend and I paid for a private tour and there was another lady (who also paid for a private tour) who joined us. She was pleasant, though and we all got along well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

Angela R

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

This is very impressive. For me, it was a 6 hour return journey to get there and back from the hotel, which in retrospect, I'm not sure was absolutely the best use of the limited time I had in Chengdu. having said that it is a UNESCO heritage site and I saw it and did the climb around it. It is very busy there too. I had x 2 full days in Chengdu, and with what i know now, would have done pandas on both days... the Giant Panda reserve and the centre for the cubs the next day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message