Located on Lingyun Mountain, Lingyun Temple is also referred to as the Great Buddha Temple because of its spot at the head of the Leshan Great Buddha, the largest stone Buddha in the world.On both sides of the entrance gate to the temple are four ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an amazing time in Leshan. Our guide, Andy, taught us so much and made it a great day. Lunch in the village was fantastic too.
Thank you!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our best guide of our Chinese trip. Very friendly and helpful. Awesome lunch too.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Amazing big buddha and great way to enjoy other aspect of SIchuan besides the pandas!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Very nice tour guide and amazing buddha. We thought it was a real hike but even small children can do these stairs. Don't take the boat, but line up to walk down.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Debbie A
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Be prepared for big crowds of people, the Grand Buddha is very popular. There is more then just the Grand Buddha to see, so ensure that if you want to walk down a path and see where is goes you tell the guide as there are some spots in the scenic area that people do not go to.
We skipped the very long wait in line to walk down the stairs to the foot of the Buddha and opted to take the boat instead which was extra but well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Really worth seeing despite the queue at the entrance and the humidity, the fog and the heat. Car, driver and guide were good. Lunch was decent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

A great experience and really worth seeing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Great tour, well organized and very accommodating guide and driver. The lunch was good, and we feel like we got to see and do everything we wanted. The tour guide's English was limited, but she was very patient with all of our questions. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our guide, Lilian, was very helpful and spoke English really well. She was very infomative about the history of the site. It was extremely crowded when we went, as it was during the Mid-Autumn festival, so she helped us buy tickets to see the Buddha from the river. The lunch was decent, from a little restaurant across the road and she let us help choose the meal. The only criticism I have is that my friend and I paid for a private tour and there was another lady (who also paid for a private tour) who joined us. She was pleasant, though and we all got along well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Great trip! We were picked up on time and Andy, our guide, was very personable and answered all of our questions. I think this trip is a little overpriced as all of it can be done by public transportation much more cheaply but if you are new to China or don't want to go without a guide, I would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

It was alright. Because of the number of people climbing up we only saw it from the boat which was better for photos but was short and somewhat underwhelming

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The car was excellent, the guide good. But the queue to view this were ridiculous(no fau;lt of the tour company). After waiting more than an hour to get to view, it was all too hard so we went home.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

The weather was overcast making it dificult to get a view of the Buddah. While this is booked as a full day tour, I was back at the hotel by 3 in the afternoon. I thought it was overpriced for what it was. I do understand that most of the money goes toward the long ride and the driver waiting. There should be some back-up plan if the weather does not cooperate. The tour guide was knowledgeabl but didn't know what to do to compensate for the poor visability

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to the Leshan Grand Buddha from Chengdu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message